Rent Major League Baseball 2K7 for PS2
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K7

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.6

225 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Bugs bugs and more bugs

posted by ebowser (ALTOONA, PA) Mar 10, 2007

Member since May 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As the title clearly states, this game has some serious glitches. The overall game play is a little less than fair, but the final product takes a beating when glitches arise. Now EVERYTHING I have read indicates this game is intended for the next generation consoles. With that in mind, the PS2 version delivers another waste of time. Aside from the numerous fielding errors/glitches and the base running glitches and the game almost freezing while mid pitch, I would have to say the game freezing while saving would have to be the most frustrating glitch of all. This title is not bad if you want to pick it up and play a few innings here and there, but if you are a hard core baseball fan... look elsewhere to get your fix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The Cover Athlete isn't the only thing unchanged

posted by Hexpane (Daly City, CA) May 3, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Another disappointing year for the MLB 2k franchise. 2k7 is particularly bad because of what hasn't changed from last year is even more apparent.

The first thing most MLB fans will notice is rosters that are from the winter. While this is to be somewhat expected based on the game's ship date, it is noteworthy in that if you do not go online w/ your PS2, expect to spend a good 2 hours fixing the rosters with hundreds and hundreds of player edits, trades, FA signings and of course pitching and batting rotation fixes.

Also returning is the annoying feature where the CPU will not allow you to simply add players to a team, it will force you to allow the CPU to auto fix, otherwise edits can not be saved. For instance adding Mientenkawitz the 1B for the yanks gives them 26 players, CPU will ask to "fix" and smartly dump the weakest AA player, however by "fix" they also mean to completely restructure ALL batting and pitching lineups. Making the prompt of asking for a fix a disaster as far as roster modifications.

I mention this specifically because it indicates that lack of bug fixing that happened from 2k6. All the base hits that should be errors and errors that should have been base hits are back. Line drive to the 3B and you beat out the throw for a single? Nope, that's an error according to MLB.

The frustration continues w/ "perfect step, perfect swing" resulting in line outs time and time again. One look at the default difficulty settings demonstrates that instead of tweaking the code to make the game more realistic, they developers simply tweaked the settings. Lame isn't quite the word for how cheesy that is.

Graphically this look like a budget title. It sports 480p but no resolution will improve the dated player models and PS1 looking textures.

I was misguided hoping this year they would fix what was broken, and the only thing improved was the base running. That feature is far easier to control, but does not make up for the rest of this mess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

swing stick blows

posted by egherb65 (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i hate the swing stick. it offers no batting practice or additional help and its frustrating.this is my first try at the 2k series and i hate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yikes...not good.

posted by MDBluesfan (MANCHESTER, MD) Jun 13, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bottom line: Save your time and money.

The Good:
-pitching is fun. I like the system a lot. Placing pitches in a certain spot requires you to aim elsewhere and then throw an effective pitch that will hopefully break to you spot. I walked more batters in a week in this game than I have in my years of playing MVP '05. And pitchers get rattled in pressure situations, making it that much harder to place a pitch.

-Meaningful mound visits. Got a jittery rookie facing a non-out, bases loaded jam? Send out the manager to calm him down a bit.

-the commentary delivery. The two JM's work together well. Trivia, stories, interaction are all top notch.

-the GM mode and the Inside Edge scouting. Very deep stuff.

The Bad:
-GLITCHES. Fielders watch balls go by without moving. Wild pitches roll through the wall and into the crowd. Once, the game just skipped my pitchers at bat. I batted 8-1-2. No out, no nothing. Just no AB. You'll average more glitches than hits per game.

-The commentary itself. Delivery is great, but it's wrong more often than not. "Rolen boots it!" as he scoops up the ball and throws to first. You'll get that A LOT.

-The hit stick. Fun, but seems to provide less control of where you want to hit. With a little more work, this will be a plus.

-Fielding/baserunning control. Generally a step back from what was available 2 or 3 years ago. In fact, I think Bases Loaded 2 for the NES had far superior fielding control.

In short, the game does a few things very well, but does so many other things worse than games years older that it will have to make significant strides to make those few pluses worthwhile in the future.

Fortunately, this probably the last of the current-gen variations, and the next gen 2k7 is said to be significantly better.

Keep playing MVP '05 if you've got it. If not, spend the money on it instead. This game is not what you're looking for.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dreadful!

posted by filterthis (SHIPSHEWANA, IN) Jun 6, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

absolutely dreadful...horrible...yea- h...i agree with whoever said bring back mvp...i'm gonna check out mlb 07 the show...hopefully its better. 7 day rental...took it back after 1 day! for now im still playin mvp 2004 with my own personally updated (hours and hours) rosters...cuz the gameplay and design is far superior. spare yourself the agony.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BRING BACK MVP

posted by Ramiro (SALIDA, CA) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

2k sports should be ashamed of the awful game way they represented baseball. The comentery was clitchy and some of the names were said wrong (robinson cano's last was said wrong this year and last). I have had problems with outfielders diving at nothing of just watching the ball bouce off the fence. This game was a huge let down for the true baseball ball fans who just want a good enjoyable game to have fun playing. Im afraid until EA starts making the the mvp franchise again we are in for a long wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dawgs Thoughts

posted by dawgpound (WOOSTER, OH) Apr 22, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Graphics are good in this game and pitching is funner than hitting. Who is Brad Hawpe he is a 93, Brandon Phillips 90, J.D. Drew 100, but yet C.C Sabathia is only a 87. There is alot of no name players that are better than true superstars, that is the main problem with this game. Go to the cheat code screen and type in The M I C K don't leave spaces in between typing it this way was the only way I could post it, then go to free agents and now you can sign Mickey Mantle. This game I bought it was only 29.99, not bad for a brand new video game, since it was only 29.99, then it is a good buy, and also a good rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not to great

posted by Lapre89 (CUMBERLAND, RI) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Presentation is good but there is way too many glitches in this game. Commentators are often off with their calls, like a ball that is caught on the warning track they will call a home run even though it's not one. Also another glitch I just found was that when I saved in the middle of a game between the Red Sox and Royals and loaded it back up the next day, the field was wrong. Instead of being in the Royals stadium I was playing in the Diamondbacks stadium. I do not recommend this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it's of the hook

posted by lilman (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Apr 14, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game is so good that it's like you can do much more in this game it's so good my mom is 43 and she play it more than me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hopeless

posted by 768 (GLENDALE, AZ) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i cant even play it does it for me so dum

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty good

posted by mickey1o1 (GHENT, NY) Jul 19, 2010

Member since May 2009

I liked the game i thought it was fun except when you had to hit with the control stick

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!

posted by siva12 (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Nov 12, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!i did not get the game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet!

posted by petboy8910 (EDGEWOOD, WA) Aug 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This game is awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

When life gets rough, play baseball

posted by 123321 (LERNA, IL) Jul 31, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

I am very surprised how much mlb 2k7 has grown up from it's previous, miserable launches. For one, it's fun, two, graphics have been improved by making the players actually look real, unlike 2k6's box character- like- players, and 3, it has a likely to happen season mode. Although Joe morgan doesn't have much to say, this game is a must play for all baseball fans that only have a PS2 console, and if you have a PS3, the grace keep's coming!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MLB 2K7

posted by pizzaboy (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

This game rocks! It has a fluid hitting system using the right analog stick. When you pitch, you can aim the ball and you can do many different pitches using one button for a pitch, such as the square button for a slider or a curveball depending on the pitcher. The fielding is pretty good. I don't like how you can't control how hard you throw the ball, except while pitching. The GM Career Mode and the Franchise Mode is pretty good. I loved this game. You should rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »