Rent Major League Baseball 2K7 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K7

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, PS2, DS, PS3, GBA, Xbox
GF Rating
7.4

2486 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

2k7

posted by rcergo (BOULDER, CO) Jun 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the EA series MVP baseball, i was mad when 2K bought out the MLB market for games. This year I gave in and purchased MLB 2k7. I was pleasantly surprised in the fact that it didn't completely suck.

+ The graphics are extremely detailed on most of the players and stadiums. It nailed pretty much every stadium. This is definately the first game ive played where stadiums like the Oakland Coliseum are duplicated to the smallest of details. In previous games there would be a massive crowd with a huge green fence all along many false setups.
+ I have also found the swingstick (debuted in 2k6) a lot more realistic then pressing A.
+ John Miller and Joe Morgan are sometimes reppetitive with their commentating, but they are extremely detailed and they don't sound like recordings
+ You can save during a game so you can turn your system off and play another time
+ Good competition levels
- Pretty much everytime you try and rob a home run your outfielder does a head first dive into the wall. And if you can manage to position him to rob the ball, it's ussually to late
- The AI seems to always make a couple amazing plays against you In one game Adam Dunn robbed two homers from me and completely layed in mid air to catch a line drive
- Baserunners are slow and outfielders seem to get the ball in very quick. Victor Martinez is not fast, but i was surprised when i hit one over the centerfielders head to the wall and was thrown out at second. I was also surprised when speedy Jimmy Rollins was gunned down trying to get to second off a line drive off the right field wall
- Fielders sometimes just flat out turn away from ground balls
- Running catches in the outfield can be very awkward and may result in a dropped ball or just comnpletely missing it
- Many errors that your players make are ruled as hits

Overall It's a pretty good game, and i look forward to seeing the improved MLB 2K8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MLB 2K7 - Terrific!!

posted by WastedxEvl (KENNESAW, GA) Jul 14, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I would like to start with saying, that this has to be the baseball game for the 360. It packs great pitching, like the real players ACTUAL wind-up. The batting stances, and the power/contact that every player has in the MLB.

The new swing stick control is the greatest to make you feel, 'In the game'. It takes a short time for anyone to use. It's the best thing that 2K7 has came up with! Though, if you'd wish not give it a go, you can always change your settings to the classical, yet always fun way of playing; 'A' Button.

---------------------- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --

Finally, the ON-LINE way of playing.
If you have XBOX LIVE and love playing against other users; this is for you!! You get the chance to see yourself hit, and pitch and how well you do with the 2K7 ranking system. You can see how many singles, doubles, triples, and home runs you had for the month. And as you accumulate those, you get your batting rank. Same for pitching, strikeouts, perfect games, no hitters, is another way of putting your pitching rank up.
Finally it's put into an 'OVERALL' rank and others see how good you are. (in game microphones are enabled.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game on the xbox 360!!

posted by hegrose (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) Jul 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is by far the best game on the 360. why? because it has very good gameplay, a great franchise mode, and your skybox with minigames lik air hockey and darts. you can also pick up and play, the game doesn't have herd controls at all. im always playing this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS IS A BUY FOR ALL PEOPLE

posted by VaBalla (FAIRFAX, VA) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Major Leauge Baseball 2k7 is one of the best baseball games on the market. It has great gameplay and makes sense.

The GM mode is deep in all ways with injury managment, trades, bringging players up and down, GM goals,finding prospects, hot and cold streaks that actually affect the way you play. For example if you are on a 4 game losing streak the next game you're not going to blow out a team like the mets by eight runs.

Also the players all are realistic. The all around gameplay is great andso are the controlls. This is definately a great game and its under $40 dollars this is a definate buy.

THank you for reading me review please give honest feedback, hope you enjoy the game.

Peace

Virginia Balla Numba 21

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than 2K6, A good thing though?

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Mar 2, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

16 out of 23 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Im a huge critic of MLB2K6. The game was flawed from front to back. Loads of freezing problems, Tons of AI issues and more glitches than Japan reports at a Dice-K press conference.

Thankfully a lot of the issues that plagued last years game have been ironed out. the core game play has changed very little. The fielding has been fined tuned, though I did experience some glitches here and there, nothing major.

The great pitching/batting interface is unchanged from last year, thats a good thing. 2K nailed this feature last year so Im glad its been unchanged.

Most of the upgrade are in the graphics department, which in my opinion are phenomenal. The signature styles of many of MLB greatest are nailed to a tee this year. From Nomar and his gloves to Dontrelle Willis and his kick, they are all here.

The cut scenes are great, although there are some slowdown and exaggerated blur effects. Example, they will show the batter, who is standing next to the catcher who is completely blurred out. Its a little thing, but annoying to the eyes.

Thats the theme this year. There arent alot of major issues this time around. However there are more than a few little annoying features that I hope will get some patch work in coming weeks.

The game modes are relatively unchanged and online leagues are back as well, the very definition of replay value.

One thing I do love that they changed is the franchise menus. They are fantastic looking and simple to navigate.

Though the game is mildly hampered by minor glitches and hiccups, its still the only thing going on the 360. For that it looses a point with me. If your the only game in town you better nail it, 2K didn't, but its still worthy of a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Super

posted by YoungCity3 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Feb 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

ok this is a pretty fun game and a huge improvement from last year. (The GM mode is about the same though) The Graphics are x box 360 quality. i really enjoyed just looking at the game. The replays are top notch and makes it seem like you are looking at a real game. .....Fact is this is a good game RENT IT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HUGE Upgrade from 2k6

posted by Kritter (SALINAS, CA) Feb 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

It almost goes without saying, but the differences between MLB 2k6 and MLB 2k7 are night and day. The only thing they share is the MLB 2k name and the company that made them. Ok, some things are the same, such as the A's alternate uniform (Im an A's fan) being a little off (no white stripes and a green helmet with a gold logo on the real jersey, stripes and the black helmet on the game) However the main difference is u can actually get through a game, that's right NO FREEZING!!! And the game is very well made. I admit I have only played 2 games, but they were tough, even on pro. Check this game out if u are skeptical, and I wouldn't blame u after last year, but this is the REAL DEAL!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Baseball Through and through

posted by idman1981 (ESSEX JUNCTION, VT) Jun 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best Baseball game I have ever played with stunning visuals, great gameplay, and just fun! Messing with the sliders helps to get it to a level of play that is right for you, and once you got those settings.. simply amazing... this is nothing like 2k's last attempt... which we all know sucked... bad! HIghly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Xbox 360 VS. PS3...

posted by MistaMacc (FREMONT, CA) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Xbox 360 VS. PS3...
OK... the graphics are great, the game play is good.. and 360 its alot better than PS3's version... hands down... u can see that from the fuzzy graphics on ps3 to more smoother grapics on 360. the players are skinny on ps3 where they are full and very detailed on 360.... game play is same for both, but a few better options on 360 to play from... batting it a lil hard, got to play with it to learn it... but stadium and over all grapics are the same, but 360 is a lil more clear and crisp.... I pick the Xbox 360 over PS3 for my purchase choice... rent before u buy... both systems if u can.... you will see the big difference...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Despite Derek Jeter being on the box.......

posted by nelson71 (WESTFIELD, MA) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a good baseball game. If you can stomach looking at him everytime you turn the game on then you should have fun. There is so much going on in the franchise world. Pitching is truly different and more challenging than the EA sports baseball games and hitting is difficult on any level other than rookie until you get used to it. My only negative...the music is awful, the best you can do is sublime and a 311 song from about 5 years ago???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best

posted by ronjinx (ESSEX, MD) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the best baseball game I have ever played. The graphics are top notch. The presentation is beautiful. The game play is good. You are going to have to pinch yourself every once in a while to remind you that it is just a video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What an improvement

posted by MrMojoRsn (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Feb 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game runs laps around last years. I remember getting last years from gamefly and sending it back the same day. The gameplay is vastly improved and it has an MVP baseball feel to it. This is probably due to the MVP guru moving over to 2k for this series. Whatever it is you wont be dissapointed with this game if you pick it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Spent a day trying to figure it out, then gave up.

posted by mrkillert (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics were excellent, the game play not bad. But it didn't seem to have any tutorial modes like "Batting Practice" or "Fielding Practice" or anything like that, so it was very difficult to learn batting or fielding. There were "Tips", but you had to learn them while playing a game. After losing 20-0 over and over again, I gave up.

Some way to have learned, batting, base running, pitching and fielding would have made this game way better. If you already know how to play it, I guess you'd probably enjoy it. But I was lost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS GAME RULES

posted by Yomama8762 (GARDNERVILLE, NV) Jun 30, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty good and better on the 360 then the PS3. the graphics looked great and i diddnt find any problems with the game. If you like baseball games you should play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good

posted by bjc617 (BOSTON, MA) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game i think is way better then last year. Improved gameplayed and graphics and a whole bunch of new modes. The online is pretty solid only when someone stay the whole 9 innings. The hitting and pitching are pretty unique i would give this a rent good overall baseball game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EA Hate All U Want The Proof Is In The Pudding

posted by NEVASOBER (BRONX, NY) Mar 2, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I wiil start this off with the fact that EA doesnt run the sports ring at this point. I can validate that with saying they have reused there engines entirelly way too long. This game is like a total 360 from the issues of last years version.Base running, pitching even though alittle trick are really effective. The batting at hand is a subject on its own. Like anything empelmented into an exsisting franchise u must adapt. Taking ur time to understand the mechanics behind the hit stick to be honest i havent played on classic at all. I actually got some experience with the homerun derby batting away at balls and such. The game is about realism not arcadism. Not every hit will be big and players make mistakes too. Minor problems like no screaming fans on big hits on homeruns are almost not even heard but for me i can live with that i probably go some tunes playing any ways. also the camera can be adjusted to ur liking if the cinematic views are too close in. Also not to add assualt to injury one the top game designers from MVP left EA to come to 2k sports to add to the realism of the franchise all great things especcially with this first true nex gen installment. yes that right scrape that doodoo from last year off ur gamer boots and embrace a totally new experience. I dont even like baseball too much and i love this game honestly i love 2K sports for there animations and gameplay factor they have brought to the table. Traditions are fundemetals but greatness is acheived by passion and taking risks 2K does both that and more and for those reasons i suggest u play 2K7 with a clear mind the future is here people all u gotta do is step up to the plate!!!!!. Take care and happy gaming. Gamefly ur the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why This Game Isn't Worth Your Time

posted by Free4EVER (NEPTUNE BEACH, FL) Jun 6, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I loved this game at first.

Unlike last years game this game has never frozen on me and I really appreciate that.

Unfortunately, there is a flaw in this game that is wholly unacceptable. The flaw is that the game will randomly label all saved files as "corrupted." This isn't a Microsoft problem because if it was then my files from other Xbox 360 games would be corrupted as well; however, that isn't the case.

The game developers of this franchise are the sole owners of the right to develop official MLB titles.

With two years of complete failure Major League Baseball needs to reassess this policy ASAP. Purchase this game at your own monetary peril, rent it as your own risk.

If you have no intention of saving games, rosters, franchises or seasons then this is the game for you and you'll have a blast! All other buyers should beware and also take into consideration that my experience may vary from yours or other gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Big Let Down

posted by DtheDread (LAUREL, MD) Jun 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I very much enjoyed this game. I'm not even a baseball fan, but this game was just too awesome to stop playing. I played almost every game in a 162 game season...I even called out of work one day, just so I could make a strong push into the playoffs, the game was very exciting.

But all that excitement just lead to the biggest disapointment I've ever encountered, the game froze everytime I went to the playoffs. I don't know how many blogs and websites I went to to find out a fix for this problem. I tried everything, from turning in my original copy, to choosing a different team and season length, I even tried it on a different 360, all to no avail. The game just kept freezing up, so here I am, stuck without ever seeing how the game ended...thanks 2K Sports!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best baseball game i have ever played period!!

posted by Daman12288 (DALLAS, TX) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I'd like to start off with i got this game for $4 bucks at gamestop and wow!!! the best $4 i have ever spent. just last night i played an 18 inning game and it took me a hour and a half to finsh the game! it was the top of the 18th and my palms were sweating with fear of throwing the wrong pitch with 2 outs and the count was 1-1 knowing this hitter had no hits for the entire day i threw a change up high and inside and bam he hit it out of the park! after that the very next hitter i struck out . lol yes that's right it was either me or him that fell and in the end my pitchers fell short but just barely because i was ripped of my homerun from the computer doing a wall climb!!!! after that i couldn't get anything going and he caught me swinging on the last out.

Graphics- the best i have seen on a baseball game but, the faces don't really look a whole lot like the actual players. which i'm sure they have upgraded the faces on later verisons of the game. animations are good but, they do get a little choppy and when you go to dive sometimes he will just dive to the left or right and that's about the only flaw i have seen in the game. All the other animations like pitching, batting, and throwing the ball are just about perfect.

Gameplay- what more do i need to say since i had a 18 inning game and all the other games i have had have been 1 or 2 points difference. I heard people complaining about this game and giving it 2's and 3's but, come on what more could you ask for than an 18 inning 6 pitchers game?

Overall- Has been an amazing game and will be the best money i have spent on a game for how much i paid :). there are a few flaws here and there but, for the most part all of the other things make up for it and the batting is fun once you get use to the stick.

Definately worth the buy if you have a gamestop selling this for $4 i promise you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best sports game...possibly best game on xb360

posted by Cameron360 (LAKE JACKSON, TX) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

omg, tried playing MLB 2k8 already...complete garbage. Played MLB 2k7 and wow, its just a complete package. I was amazed by the gameplay, graphics, the pitching system is just fantastic.

I was shocked on some of the reviews of 2 and 3 ratings, read them and thought...these aren't even about the games, their about the saving files which these reviews should be about the game.

The Dynasty is fantastic, played for about, hmm...8 hours straight because it was so addicting. And yes, i have a life though i played that long, but who hasn't. The creating a player is great, just everything bout the game is great. If your not sure about baseball games, rent, but i HIGHLY recommend to buy this incredible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

TRY THESE SETTINGS ON 2K7 IF 2K8 BUMS YOU OUT

posted by Gsport (AGOURA HILLS, CA) Mar 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2003

CHEAT-Derek Jeter
UNLOCKS EVERYTHING

PLAY ANY TEAM VS THE BEST TEAMS
TO MAX THE EXPERIENCE

CONTROL SETT
FLDING CAM–BRDCAST
BAT CAM–ZM ON PITCH
ZOOM 88
PITCH CAM–BEHIND PITCHER
PITCH INT–PAYOFF
PITCH POINT–BREAKPNT
BATTING INTERFACE–SWING STICK
BATTERS EYE–OFF
B.E. FEEDBACK–OFF
VIBRATION–ON
AUTO RB–ON
ASSIST BR–OFF
SMART THROW–OFF
AUTO-RESELECT FLDER–ON
HOLD RUNNERS–NEVER HOLD
CATCHERS SUGG–ON
INGAME TIPS–OFF

GAME SETT

GAMEPLAY
INSIDE EDGE–OFF
CATCER CAM–OFF
ARGUMENTS–ON
BALL IND–DYNAMIC
AUTO DIVE BACK–OFF
FLD SPEED BOOST–ON
BROKEN BAT–SOMETIMES
IN-GAME HELP–OFF

GAME SETUP
EJECTIONS–ON
INJURIES–ON
PITCHER FAT-ON
ACTIVE BULLPEN–ON
INSIDE EDGE REMINDER–OFF

DIFF
PLAYER OPTIONS

BATTER CONTACT-50
BATTER POWER-50
raise to 100 if needed

BATTER INFL-100
POWER SWING–100
STEP INFL-100
PITCHER DIFF–100
BATTER BUNT ASSIST–50
BATTER BUNT FOR HIT–50
RUNNER BR SPD–100
RUNNER STEALING SUCCESS–70
INFLDER ERRORS–30
OUTFLDER ERRORS–30
INFLDER SPD–100
OUTFLDER SPD–100
CATCHER THROW SPEED-100
INF THROW SPD-100
OUTF THROW SPD-100
INF REACTION SPD–100
OUTF REACTION SPD-100
FLDER SPD BURST LENGTH-100
FLDER SPD BURST POWER–25
FLDING AGGRESSION–0
PITCHER FATIGUE–10
PITCHER IF SPD–100
INJURIES–50
PITCH SPD–100

AI GENERAL OTIONS
AI INFLD ERROR–0
AI OUTFLD ERROR-0
AI INFLDR SPEED–20
AI OUTFLDR SPEED-45
AI FLDING AGG–30
AI STEAL-55
AI DIVEBACK–65

AI BATTING OPTIONS
AI SKILL-50
AI CONTACT–25
AI POWER–50
AI PITCHER DIFF-100

AI PITCHING OPTIONS
AI CORNER-80
AI PITCHER FATIGUE–10
MEAT PITCH-0

PRESENTATION
GENERAL
ACTION REPLAY – NEVER
INNING HIGHLIGHTS – OFF
PLATER HIGHLIGHTS – OFF
CUTSCENES – ON
STIKE ZONE – ALWAYS OFF
PITCH BREAK INDICATOR – OFF
TOPLINE DROPDOWNS – OFF
SCORE TICKER – OFF
KEEP FIELDER IN VIEW – OFF or ON
BALL TRAIL – OFF
CHALLENGE NOT – OFF
PLAYER ICON – NONE

AUDIO
START WITH ON FLD
then change
PA VOL-10
UMPIRE-50
CHANTS-65
CROWD-65
CHATTER VOL–0
STAD MUSIC–55
GAME SFX VOL–90
PLAY ALL 9
PLAY FOR THE EXPERIENCE
WINNING AND LOSING TAKE CARE OF THEMSELVES
PLAY BALL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not terrible.. but not great.

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

Gameplay gets choppy at times and the announcers do get annoying after a while.. but overall this is not a bad title to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Flawed

posted by Chiggles (PITMAN, NJ) Feb 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I enjoyed the earlier PS2 versions of all the MLB 2K games, so I really had high hopes for this game to be good. I was dissapointed though at many things about the game, including the annoying and aggitating offense, and the "wanna break your controller" defense side of things. The 360 offers up great graphics, but that doesnt hide the fact that the game itself was not that good. Ok, lets start with the batting. This is where I started to get annoyed because the batting style of the game, makes it really hard to actually hit the ball coming at you. Then, when you do hit it, it flies directly to an outfielder everytime. So, that part I hated. On the defensive side of things, the whole outfield simulation part is also annoying because the controlling of the game is horrible. The character has a delayed movement which annoyed the heck out of me. Bottom Line, bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Baseball at it's HD best

posted by 007dude (HAHIRA, GA) Dec 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

WOW! u gotta understand last year I played 2k6 on xbox and thought it was cool but wow major step up in the graphics division. Plus with new additions when pitching instead of pressing pause u can look at a chart see how your pitchers are warming up and make it more managerial (if that's a real word) acheivements are pretty good. Online is fun also, there's this one guy on there that said he made to home plate with his girlfriend and learned about the birds and bees on a baseball game(who knew) and told me what the bases are(if u know what I mean) and after him talking about girls and baseball, well let me put it to u this way, u can get a chubby over this game. I mean BOOM chubby.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is Real Baseball..So much BETTER

posted by KyJones (MASSILLON, OH) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This game wowed me to the point that I've prob played,managed,or been involved in over a hundred thousand games, and that's not a stretch...I created myself and played until 2050 and broke every record with myself or one of my favorite atl braves...I am an avid baseball game fan, and I'll tell ya, this game is the best yet....from graphics to stadiums to commentary to the signature batting stance of your fav hitter...IF YOU'RE A BASEBALL GAMER LIKE ME I'M DROOLING FOR 08'....P.S. I never buy games, but you have to own this because of the absolute replay ability....I never leave feedback but I've been playin this game since it came out and I'm 28yrs old and very picky bout my games, but this one is tha real deal bro! Ky Jones

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse