Rent Major League Baseball 2K12 for PS3
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K12

Rent

Keep for: $8.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

253 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by hotjeremy123 (RIDGEFIELD PARK, NJ) May 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

for me this game is really good.yeah maybe the players look dumb and dont look alike it is still fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

overall liking of the game

posted by FLAMBOYANTEAGLE (GERMANTOWN, TN) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game was good because u could see actual scores from real life and u could play those games or make a pickup game with random teams. I also liked the graphics and the feel of the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most realistic baseball game

posted by nootchmyer (NEW YORK, NY) May 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I know why a lot of people spend their time "loving" The Show... its because its easy! This game has challenges at every turn. From your pitching motion to the analog hitting to tracking down a fly ball. The AI is fantastic. Batters remember how you got them out the last time and take into account your "out pitch" for that day. Pitchers learn how to navigate the floating strike zone of the umps. Its the most strategy based baseball game on the market. Thus, improving the sense of accomplishment when you do succeed. I've found the absolute best feature in this game is "My Player". It's not easy making it to the big leagues, and this game mirrors it wonderfully. If you're looking for an arcade-style baseball game that give you rewards as cheaply as a Columbian prostitute, go with "The Show". If you want to learn the art of pitching, the strategy of baseball, and how to turn losses into victories... this is your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

To Cartoon Look.

posted by Randyjr1193 (THELMA, KY) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is to cartoon like, the show is so much better. This is why i switch back to PS3 to get the better baseball game. im a basball fanactic, and i had a xbox 360 and was disappointed with the company with the MLB rights to make the game, but can't make the game seeem realistic enough compared to a company without full rights to make the game seem more life like. Buy the MLB 12 the show instead of wasting $60 on this cartoon junk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Alot better, but will never Measure up to the Show

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Mar 8, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game isn't far off from the show with the graphics, if they would just improve on the way the players look it would be almost perfect. I love the announcers and all the stats this gae shows you after each picth, its very detailed. The Parks look awesome and the gameplay isnt as smooth as the show, but it never will be. I do like this game alot. But i cant purchase this over the show. I LOVE how you can change the camera anglesin the field like the zoom and camera height, if the show would let you do that for the fielding cameras it would be awesome. This is a good game and i enjoyed playing it. As i said last year, if PS3 did not have the show, i would buy this game in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Major Disappointment!

posted by gait79 (VALLEY VILLAGE, CA) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Another reviewer said "This game isn't far off from the show with the graphics, if they would just improve on the way the players look it would be almost perfect."
DUH! The way the players look, wait isn't that the biggest part of the evaluation of gaming graphics?
1. The graphics are bad, players look boxier than even last year game, the crowd looks incredibly bad and stadiums are granulated! I don't understand why the NHL 2012 game is so amazing graphically? Why can't 2K get together with those guys?
2. The controls were supposed to be smoother, simpler and more flowing. A big miss here! Every time coach called a hit and run, I had to physically get off my couch, jump through the tv into the game and push my guy off of first base lol! He just wouldn't run for nothing! I did like the auto jumping and diving feature. It allows you to put more focus on getting to the and throwing the ball!
3. In my player mode, created players look dumb, what happened to the creativity and freedom of design for creating players? There is no training camp to start! Huh! I created the player, and then it gave me an option to either select the team I wanted to play for or randomize selection! No Spring training eval to get teams interested in you or working to try and even make a team as in years passed.

However there was a few bright spots for them to build on and really give the show a run.
1. They did a fantastic job with the batting interface! The controls were amazing and very simplified so even a beginner could get a hit.
2. commentary was great from announcers almost making you feel you were at the ball park.
3. the player evals were spot on! I liked being able to have that breakdown so I knew what I was needing to do each batter or pitcher!

So overall I gave this game a 3! I wouldn't rent or buy for myself!
I feel that they are using the 1Mil challenge to get ppl playing this game because they couldn't get people to do so on it's own merrits!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good. But not great.

posted by Wigthers (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Nov 13, 2012

Member since May 2010

I have this game for the Playstation 3 and it's somewhat of an improvement from 2K10 (graphically and the feeling of actual Baseball). Though, what I have noticed that while I was playing the My player mode that after a while, the game would crash (which is a bummer). The other issue I have with it is that the Postseason labels on the field were too small (unlike the labels in the 2K10 game). But the gameplay was quite easy to learn (though it will take a while) and the AI is far more balanced than in 2K11.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Good Game

posted by Big_Stevo (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

MLB 2K12 control system makes it easier to pitch.
Game play 9/10
Visuals are nice and stadiums are great. Could use more uniform options, and Create Player options suck. Other than that, its nice visually.
Graphics 8/10
Kruk and the the other commentators could use more lines. They get redundant before the game is over.
Commentary 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst baseball game i have ever played

posted by millwee (SPRING, TX) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

How does this game get a 7.1 rating overall is beyound me. it is realistic i will give it that but the controll of the player in the field is non responsive or pehaps since i rented it and did not get a manual on how to operate the moves like jump or dive or run. The game does not give very good instruction on how to controll the player. Thus making it frustating at best. Pitiching and hitting are good but over the top dificulte to master. I wasted to much time on a game that should be rated a 2 at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect

posted by kbtc (CORONA, CA) Jul 9, 2012

Member since May 2012

Although the graphics are the greatest and there are some glitches. The gameplay in this is my favorite.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

2k12

posted by boomer25 (FAYETTEVILLE, TN) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Mlb2k12 the good about the game is if u have ever played a 2k baseball game u will pick it up very easy but if u havent it will take u a few games to get it down pat the hardest part to get is the pitching hitting is very easy the bad although 2k12 still has its fair share of clitchs to fix the one i seem to run in to the most is when u try to steal a base and u go to trun around to go back to your orignal base it will stop u on a dime and send u right to the base u trying to steal puting u right in to an out and their isnt anything u can do to stop it and bad thing is the ai gets very easy after 10 games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alright game

posted by imaboss123u (SAN JOSE, CA) May 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

MLB 2k12 is good game but its needs better graphics and if you were looking to play my player as a pitcher dont.
be anything else but a pitch its really lame and they always hit off u

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »