Rent Major League Baseball 2K12 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K12

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Wii, PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
7.2

1062 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game

posted by nbowen419 (SOUTH HILL, VA) May 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being that this is the only choice for xbox I give MLB2K12 8.0. The only problem is the models dont look exactly like their counterparts but gameplay is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty good

posted by southernbandit (RIVERDALE, GA) May 20, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

the game is pretty good, of course there are some flaws on the creation part its cool that you can wear jewelry but the hairstyles need to be updated. also they need to add that you can have tattoos, plus it would be cool to have the crowd doing different stuff like walking to their seats going to the concession stands (be able to see the concession stands) and better home run theatrics like the fire works and the crowd yelling

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

2k12

posted by joeyace (Chicago, IL) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

everyone is a bit hard on 2k12,all i asked last year when i played 2k11 was that they please fix this horrible gameplay, don't worry about graphics next year just make it enjoyable playing baseball again and they did just that,the gameplay is 100 times better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just like last years, but with more bugs...

posted by Sullen37 (MURRIETA, CA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

2K12 is the same as 2K11, they only changed the cover. 2K12 is the only baseball game on the 360 so I have to play it, but 2K needs a serious overhaul on the whole game. Bugs are everywhere during play and players move awkwardly at times and glide around the field instead of moving. Nevertheless, this is a decent baseball game and not a home run derby like in years before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just doesnt match up

posted by CRCardo (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

2k12 just cant match what the Show is continuously doing year in and year out. I will give it to 2k when it comes to pitching and hitting interface, and even the menus, however it get absolutely destroyed on every presentation aspect. Take for instance the color palette in every episode of any 2k sports game. The color palette is not even close to real colors. In NBA2k12 the Knicks blue is WAY off, and in MLB the Red Sox blue Alternates are far too bright aswell as their caps. Simple changes like the right color scheme and brightening up day games to real world standards would bring the presentation value much closer for this dying franchise. Would it kill 2k to buy 1 copy of the Show and see all the things they are lacking in and make changes instead of releasing the same old boring game with updated rosters and a slightly new experience on the field. Animations on the Show make it watchable everytime an inning comes to an end while in 2k i just want to fast forward while the teams switch and get back to the only part of the game thats worth anything. Pitching gestures are the best invention in video game baseball and without that 2k would have near nothing over it competition. Go buy a ps3, go buy the show, and play and enjoy it till next years edition, by then 2k wont be making a baseball game anyway. This was a huge disappointment, i saw the signs but i tried it anyway... mistake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A fun baseball experience!

posted by hkymike (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Mar 6, 2012

Member since May 2011

11 out of 29 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Let me first start out by saying I own MLB: The Show 12 and 2K. This is an unbias review of my aspect of the game

I love 2k's feels and I enjoy sitting down and playing this year's 2k game. The graphics might not be as nice as The Show but no reason to even compare like most people do. 2K has great gameplay and great modes along with keeping stats very nicely.

Presentation is very nice and takes the baseball feel into the game the way it should. Online is fun especially being in a league with your buddies.

Overall I say this game deserves a strong 9 out 10. A few flaws here and there but nothing major to ruin your experience from enjoying this year's 2k game.

Have fun and play ball!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

DISAPPOINTING

posted by analya (NILES, MI) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

first off, as soon as the game begins, you see your starting pitcher warming up throwing the ball and the catcher throws it back at an extremely unrealistic pace.
the player models look ridiculous, laughable
played only half an inning and didnt even bat. after 2 wild pitches and an error throwing to 1st i just shook my head.

with nba 2k being an almost perfect game, this is a game that has no perfection. not even worth renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The M in MLB stands for MEH

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Mar 5, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game is not that different from the previous year's edition. I can't stand the look of the player models. The lighting and crowd animations are slightly improved, but the gameplay and most other features make this game little more than a roster update. I don't like the feel of the controls or the navigation of the menus. It runs smoothly so far, but a game that you don't like that runs smoothly doesn't mean much, does it?

I haven't purchased an MLB2k game since 08, and I am still playing that edition at least one game a week. The gameplay was at its best that year and it has just gone downhill since. Unfortunately, that was the buggiest year ever, so I have a game I love to play that runs like a slideshow sometimes, and on rare occasions crashes too.

I have rented MLB2K every year since 08 and been disappointed every year. I WANT to love it every year, but I guess I have to just stick to 08.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

SAD

posted by chuckied (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Mar 24, 2012

Member since May 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

One of the reasons I am against exclusive contracts is because there is no incentitive to for the developer to do his best. MLB 2K 12 is a prime example. Pure junk! I have been trying to hit more than a foul ball for 2 years with no success> The controls are awkward and slow to respond. I hard to see where the ball is going. I was standing in the circle and couldmt pick up the yellow indicator. Sad! When chasing a ball the outfield/infield moves to slow. Sad! When pitching the ball seldom crosses the plate unless it is put right down the middle. Sad! I wanted to play baseball so bad till I almost bought a playstation for " the SHOW".
I was pulling for 2k to do something special it didnt happen. I remember 2k Football before Madden's junk came out. Good game 2k baseball and basketball is junk! SAD but true. Dont gouge my pockets with junk!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ditto

posted by Diskey4 (DECATUR, IL) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am amazed at how this game is almost exactly like last year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

love the game but a lil elbow grease would be nice

posted by btrain75 (WILDOMAR, CA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I've been a fan of series since the beginning but I'm tired of seeing the same old batting stances available to use and same old windups! They havent added any new ones the last 2 yrs. they just change the name of the player to someone who is still a marquee player. Plain old laziness on their part. How about being able to customize different parts of the stances and windups that have been created like hands height, feet positioning, and let us use the stretch position of the windups that have been created for this thing called RELIEF PITCHERS that don't pitch from a windup. They just keep re-releasing the same game for almost last 3 yrs.! I wait for this game every year and I'm very disappointed in the lack of effort on players stances custom stances and custom windups. Not to mention players faces when they have a picture of them right there then you go to edit Jordan Walden and he looks like a chemotherapy patient! Get it together 2k for the love of god! Might as well just kept playin 2k10 woulda been the same. LAZINESS and no respect for the people who pay their bills!!!! We yell loud enough maybe they will put a lil effort and detail in finally and give us the game we deserve!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Copy & Paste with a "Gangsta" soundt

posted by Defiantly (SOUTHAMPTON, PA) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Same as last year, almost exactly. Granted, the at the plate mechanics are improved, which is welcome. However, if you own last years version, this will feel like a money grab. Of course, if you enjoy God aweful rap music, then you might like the revamped soundtrack... Which apparently was mistakenly added using NBA2k12 assets. Thankfully, this is 2k's last year with a choak hold on the MLB license, (and it shows) Let's see if EA revives the MVP franchise...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better Then Last Years

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Ok theres not to much to say about this one graphics are pretty I much the same as last year but the gameplay is alot smoother. I gave it a seven because 2h11 was the worst game of any baseball game ive played so overall its ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GOOD/BAD

posted by alexlipcorn (CHARLOTTE, NC) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

It's fun to play but the controls are confusing. I do exactly as it says and I miss the ball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addicting

posted by filipinopapi (DUNDALK, MD) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

So much fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Did not work

posted by marionchosay (ESSEXVILLE, MI) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Tried playing the game, but it kept freezing up on me. Noticed scratches on the disc. Sent it back same day I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

have you seen my baseball?

posted by Gameer843 (LADSON, SC) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

wow, I got this game 2 times and both times it didn't work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Alright

posted by Xman245 (LORTON, VA) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Not a big MLB fan so I'm just gonna cut to the chase. This game was a very nice game I enjoyed it. The graphics could have been better but at the same time they don't have much time to make these games so I'm gonna let that one slide. The gameplay was fun too, the controls were a little silly to me but I got use to. Nice job 2k you made a another great sports game keep it up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a great game mode

posted by coachmuscles (PITTSBURGH, PA) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I love the my player mode on this game. I only play in the my player mode i have been waiting for years for 2k sports to put something like my player in the game i recommend this game to anybody who likes baseball i am going to go out and buy this game since its not for sale on gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but has its problems

posted by Whocares111 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Sep 6, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game is somewhat fun....In 2k12 when you make your own player the beggining is diificult..Mostly because where ever you hit the ball theres somebody to catch it and i mean EVERYWHERE.The online is solid but a dedicated host makes all the diiference.When you enter the major leagues it actually becomes eaisier.Why i dont know but this game is good fun but frustrating at times
This game is fun for short time id give it 3-7 days before you get bored.Overall good solid game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by FJUNJCFnsinvsin (CENTRALIA, WA) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

cool game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

MLB2K12

posted by Sikkobassta (TOANO, VA) Jul 30, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is really good vs the competition on the PS3.

The Pros: Graphics I would give an 8 to the XBox platform is a little older and it shows.
Sound: about a 6, you here the same commentator announces alot.

Cons: Mistakes commonly made are commentators say you lost your last game that you won. A major mistake that occured to me was that I batted a run in and the game gave it to the next batter. Another error came after I hit a two run homer and after the graphic of me running through home plate the game gave the runs to the other team.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Why do people care about presentation?

posted by Thiesoneguy (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jul 24, 2012

Member since May 2011

The one thing that kills me, is how 'gamers' care more about the presentation than the actual gameplay. The Show has amazing graphics, but it lacks the actual gameplay that 2k delivers. I'd rather have a game where the CPU plays realistically and the game is actually a challenge.

Now on to 2k12 itself... It really isn't much of an improvement from last year, actually I'm not sure there is anything different. I started playing it, and I really didn't notice much of a difference.
It's a good game, but I can't give it a good review because 2k just repackaged the game from last year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

game

posted by fourbonner4 (ARLINGTON, TX) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

bored

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this game sucks

posted by bubba57 (SAINT CHARLES, MO) May 26, 2012

Member since Dec 2006

this game is the worst baseball game I've ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse