Rent Major League Baseball 2K11 for Wii
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K11

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

258 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

major league baseball 2k11

posted by dudeman196 (CRESTWOOD, KY) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

dont know what this guy is talking about ive played about 20 games and havent had any problems. its not mlb the show but for the wii its a pretty good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Appalling Fielding Ruins MLB 2K11

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Mar 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the third installment of the series that I have played, and it hasn’t gotten much better than 2K9 (with it’s god awful guess where the pitch is going batting scheme), and 2K Sports, and Take Two, have not improved anything from the previous year’s version.
You still don’t get any online play - despite the fact that their hockey and basketball games have that feature.
You still get the same graphics as before; this game looks exactly like MLB 2K9.
And you get an even worse defense than before - which angered me to no end. Far, far too often fielders will dive to the ground for NO reason whatsoever. This is prevalent in the outfield where I have the fielder fall down while chasing down a fly ball. The ball lands on the ground, and the AI gets a gift double or triple.
I’ve had fielders dive to the ground, get up, dive to the ground a second time, get up, and dive to the ground a third time - even through he‘s diving nowhere near the ball.
I’ve had a catcher wait for a pop up near home plate, then just before he catches the ball, he dives away from it, letting the batter get a double.
They say these guys a professional baseball players? With all that diving, I thought I had a team of really bad soccer players.
And all these foul ups only occur when I’m fielding; when the AI’s team is fielding, they are almost perfect; they run down fly balls and make the standard or spectacular catches.
This erratic defense takes all the fun out of the game. Why bother creating the greatest team if they can not make the simplest defensive plays? 2K Sports and Take Two has to fix this defect or the next installment will suffer.
Major League Baseball 2K11 ought to be sent back to the minors to get online play and better defensive skills. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a very good game

posted by Hitsugaya425 (SALISBURY, NC) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I wasn't impressed by the graphics or the controls. I got this game on a monday sent it back on a tuesday it was so bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Baseball Game of the new wii

posted by wayne3 (OAKLAND, CA) May 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Love the game, can't stop playing it. From the hitting to filding. Love it all. you need to get the game for all consoles!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OUTDATED SEASON

posted by papajoeg (TOMS RIVER, NJ) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

First try at this from renting to playing-dissatisfied completely-game is outdated playerwise and too time consuming to set-up as a rental. Is GameFly-more keyed to a higher performing system. Any suggestions welcome! I have a Wii system-how do I utilize via lap top PC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by kingsboro2008 (STOCKBRIDGE, MI) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This being my first Wii baseball game outside of Wii Sports I thought the game was great. I loved the pitching, with the ability to judge your pitches and dance around the strike zone. I liked the hitting, even though I really sucked but it was as true to form as a video game could be. I also enjoyed being able to choose some really old stadiums to play in off the bat.
The one thing I did not like was the lack of the ability to save a game. I am a late 30-year old father of four. Its takes some luck for me to get to sit and play a game. I would of loved to play some and come back to finish the game. Overall good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

mlb hits a triple

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and was disappointed by the controls for this game. I dont like that you need to use the WII remote and nunchuk for the pitching. The nunchuk just gets in the way and serves no other purpose other then selecting a pitch. The hitting works well with the b button and the swinging of the wii remote. The graphics on this game are not great but they are not bad. The stadiums look like there real life counterparts but the players have very little animation which makes them look a little blocky. I also dont like the fact that you have to play nine innings instead of being able to select three to six inninings. The pitchers wear down very quickly if you continue to throw fastballs. I would recommend this game as rental for baseball fans and sports gaming fans alike. 2K Sports needs to add more features to next years game as well as make the players look more life like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever

posted by ghghghrock (OLATHE, KS) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Do not get this game you'll be wasting your time.First the Game modes are terrible.Second no online play I mean come on whats a sports game without online play.And finally it just flat out stinks.Keep in mind I got this game on the Wii it may be a better experiece on X-box 360 or PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

MLB 2k11

posted by BostonRules (SALISBURY, MD) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

You always have to dive in the outfield but in 2k8 you don't dive. Good and fun game except for the diving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »