Rent Major League Baseball 2K11 for PS3
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K11

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.2

616 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

MLB 2K11

posted by xdpx (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The game plays like 2k10, but yet they haven't improved on anything. I get random freezing during games to the point where I don't want to play anymore. This shouldn't be going on with a brand new game. Batting animations are still poor. Their is a huge flaw in the pitching animations shown in slow mo. Overall, this game has to go. Not worth anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be worse, but could be WAY better.

posted by cewing (ACWORTH, GA) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the MLB 2K series, but the little things really start to get to you. I’m not sure if it’s just my copy or my console but there are several bugs. First my player’s energy never goes down. Not a real problem but it takes away from the authenticity of the game. Second and the one that bothers me the most is the way the game freezes. Today alone I tried playing two games and it froze on me three times. Twice deep into the later innings of the ball game while I was winning. Those are just two of the several bugs in the game. Fix those and this could at least be an 8/10 game instead of a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All You Haters

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Mar 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

I know alot of PS3 gamers gave this game a low rating because they are comparing it to the Show, which i love btw, but if you look at this game objectively its much much improved from last year's 2K10's disaster. Sure the players look like cartoon characters, but the game play is much improved, the pitching is really fun and the hitting is much better. This game is a 100% improvement from 2K10.
Does it match up to the awesomeness that is the Show, no it does not. But in retrospect its not a bad game, it's just different.
I have to give the 2K people credit, they made this game much better and fun to play. The camera angles were great and the game play was pretty smooth and easy to understand.
If they did not have the show, i would definetly buy this game. If i had the choice last year between 2K10 and nothing i would have picked nothing.
All i can say to all you PS3 games is give 2k11 a chance and don't compare it to the show and you'll see why its not a bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good at all

posted by baseballmv (MANHATTAN BEACH, CA) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

First of all, the graphics looked like they were from the 1990's. Thats really the main thing. There was also freezes like in the previous games and the batters seemed like they had no power at all. Don't even waste your time on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't even rent it

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

I think these games are just too hard. I get constant freezing, which is really annoying. I always play the "MLB the show" games and those are much easier. If you think these games are fun, get these games, but if your new to these, don't get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

disappointed

posted by WTTChadW (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

I was really into this game - but kept freezing in the exact same spot, 3rd inning the screen would go blank, lag for a few seconds, sometimes it would come back to the game sometimes it would not. I'm not sure if it was the disk or something else. I might try to rent another disk or just wait till 2K12 is available. My hands got really tired after throwing pitches after one game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

booooooooooooooooooo

posted by walterreed (DORCHESTER, MA) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

game keeps freezing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Okay

posted by bozo1025 (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game was not great but not bad only problem is that i sucked at it. The controls were alright however the pitching was off for some reason every pitch other than a fastball was wild IDK how that works. But overall I think it is worth at least rent and if you like it a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Needs work

posted by youdontknowme85 (NORTON, MA) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Although 2K's vision needs some work this is still a decent game. I've played MLB The show for the last 2 years and compared to The show this doesn't even come close. But I have to admit there are pros and cons of each game. There's certain features that I like in 2K better than the show and certain features are better in The Show. But at the end of the day in over all quality The Show is by far the best baseball game out there right now. Graphic quality in 2K feels very robotic and clunky but the announcers are decent and the fans look great. 2K has a great atmosphere to it. Decent game but not the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than THE SHOW, not by much but better

posted by kj461996 (NASHVILLE, IL) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

not as good as graphics but the overall game gets more into detail about the stats which i like

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What a Hit!

posted by Jayman177 (LAUDERDALE LAKES, FL) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Amazing game. Got it to compare to MLB The Show: 11 and I can't decide. Both are awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MLB 2K11

posted by Fearzum101 (CONROE, TX) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

I have played MLB 11 The Show for many years and I decided I would give MLB 2K11 a try. Well the players graphics are a little boxie. Players look like fat people. Stadium and fans look great specially when you hit a foul ball or a Homerun the fans actually try to catch the ball. Batting is cool. Just the game needs work on player graphics like in MLB 11 The Show, if they can do that with MLB 2K11 then the game would get a 9.5 or even a 10 rating from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its great

posted by fireice (NATIONAL CITY, CA) Mar 9, 2011

Member since May 2008

not one for baseball games i thought i would give this game a try and i loved it. the pitching and filding mecanics are an improvement on the last basseball game i rented (MLB05) and batting is excelent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »