Rent Major League Baseball 2K11 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Major League Baseball 2K11

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PSP Games, PS3, DS, Wii
GF Rating
7.4

2718 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Baseball Fans, Prepare for Hours of Fun

posted by timissmexy (FREMONT, CA) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2006

31 out of 33 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

MLB 2k11 is a blast. This, I will not argue. Alas, it is still plagued by the lazy mistakes that have been detrimental to the success of every MLB 2K game.

--The Graphics--

The player models are really hit or miss. Guys like Hideki Matsui look insanely accurate, while guys like Chris Carter are ambiguous at best. As for the fields and such, nothing has noticeably changed.

--Franchise Mode/My Player Mode--

The two most heavily played modes! Franchise has really improved a lot over the previous year; the new player-rating system is lovely. It really helps with the draft. The new injury-tracking system works well as well. Right now though, franchise has got some annoying things that need to be changed. If a player ends the season in a rehab stint, they must finish that rehab stint at the start of the next season. You can't just call them up in the offseason. Also, the AI in simming is pretty bad. As the number one power ranked team (96 overall), I ended the season 15 games under .500 without any injuries. Yikes.

My player mode is basically the exact same as it was last year. I haven't experienced anything different enough to mention in 3+ hours of gameplay. Still very fun.

--Gameplay--

Offense: The new "total control" hitting isn't really different than the hitting last year. Bunting is easier; drag bunting actually works now. Contact is still underwhelmed; it's still almost always a better idea to swing power. 8/10

Defense: The new defense system rocks; poor defense becomes a liability in the field. Additionally, the new throwing bar keeps you on top of your game. 9/10

Baserunning: It sucks. You have to switch between every player to make them advance bases; either that, or turn auto-run on, which then takes control of all your players and make you do stupid things. At least stealing bases is easier (and possible) in this years version. 6/10

Pitching: Perfection. I can't remember the last time I thought this much about pitching. 10/10

--Overall--

7.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but needs work.

posted by No121Else (EL CAJON, CA) Mar 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

So I had high expectations for this game and I must say it has not disappointed.

There are two many new changes/features/things to count if you would like to see them check the 2K Forums here - 2ksports()com/forums/showthread.php?t=280429

So as I said this game has not disappointed, I feel that the most notable changes came in Franchise mode but if you look the best changes came in the form of My Player mode. I have started both and I love them both. I started my franchise team with the San Diego Padres and you instantly are shown tons of new things while at first it can be confusing it really is the best part to this "strategy" of running a club.

- The Fatigue icons show when the player is too tired and by playing him you are going to risk injury.

- The injured icons show when you are either using an Injured Player in your lineup or he is sitting on the bench while you hope its something you don't have to do, sometimes you will have to play a player with a minor injury this will affect him stats wise while putting him out there to increase his injury.

There is also the addition DPRS (Player Ratings) these will start as the players Real World stats and increase or decrease just like in real life based on how you play as them. Its a great addition and adds a new level to the game.

They really took this to the next level of realism and simulation. They captured every stadiums "TV View" so when you are pitching in the stadiums it is based off of what their broadcast looks like, if you do a side by side of Petco Park in Game & Real Life, from the pitching view you will see that it is nearly identical just one more step to immerse you into the game.

I would say this is a rental & keep it for the baseball fan but check my +/-'s below.

+ Great Additions, Strategy Elements & Realism
+ 80% New Motion Captured Moves & Players
+/- Hitting System takes time to get used to.
- Graphics are not showing tons of improvement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

a step backwards

posted by deadmanmike (GROSVENOR DALE, CT) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

12 out of 24 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to the latest installment of this game. I figured they would continue to improve on what was becoming a decent baseball game after last years version. However after playing several game modes I feel that this year has taken a step back. The pitch zone is small, which in itself isn't bad however the aiming reticule for pitching is rather large making it difficult to aim your pitches well. The new fielding throwing meter is worse causing many errant throws, even with as simple a throw as 2nd baseman to 1st base. AI controlled fielders seem to have issues as well, in one play I was making fielding a ground ball with my first baseman, the pitcher coming to cover first continued to run past first right to the dugout area. Interesting. The fielders also constantly look like the are barely in control even on the simplest of plays. Many times when making catches and throws they are nearly falling over themselves. A game to rent but if you are looking for a baseball game to own, stick with MLB the show, or keep MLB 2k10 and save yourself the money on this years edition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The same old thing but still decent

posted by Majorblues (ARLINGTON, TN) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I didn't buy last years game but wished I had for the past year. So when this game was released I ran to the store. After playing a few games I was confused over the hype.

If you are not a true baseball lover and fan do not buy this game. It requires patience and skill that a non fan would not have time for. However if you truly love baseball buy the game outright. If you already have last years game and dont care about updated rosters than keep the one you have.

Its Simple:

Real Baseball Fanatic = Buy

Casual Fan = Rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addicting

posted by sabardruid (COTTONWOOD, CA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i am not much of a baseball fan, but for some reason i just can not put the controller down when i play this, the my player mode just has me continuing to play, the only negative i guess is almost all of the achievements are non simulated games which kind of blows cause i spend all of my time in my player, but it is a great game a recommend buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I think 2K11 is still pretty good.

posted by Stretch1 (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The pitching and batting feel really smooth and when you do something well you actually feel a sense of accomplishment. The fielding is good as well but sometimes I noticed the players kind of slid hovered over to the ball if they weren't in the right place. The commentary, albeit repetitive at times, is also well done.

My biggest complaint with the game is the other modes. Franchise is kind of just there and doesn't really cause me to want to put more hours into it then I already have and My Player is boring at best, tedious at it's worst. The Home Run Derby is okay but I thought it's been done better in other games. The online also lagged a little for me too.

But overall it plays a good game of baseball and the core mechanics work well so I think it's worth it in the end. If you have a PS3, I'd say get The Show, but if you have a 360, don't feel like you're getting the short end of the stick because your not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Baseball Gameplay Period.....

posted by SuperBRAIN (ISLIP TERRACE, NY) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Best Baseball Gameplay Better then Show (the show is Prettier with better graphics & Sim Vs Cpu)
MLN 2k11 Has the Better Gameplay (Which is why the Show Just Copied thier Hitting & Pitching Stick this year!!)
Great Game, Way IMproved But still great Pitching & Hitting Mechanics..........

If you want Online & Better Gameplay Then Choose MLB 2k11....

If you want a Pretty Game with Lesser Gameplay then CHoose the Show

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by keatbaby (POCATELLO, ID) Mar 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Really fun game, alot better than I expected. Alot of fun. My player is awesome. Also gameplay is much improved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Same game new rosters

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 11, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

If you really enjoyed last years version of this game, pick this one up it has new rosters. Thus ends anything different from this years and last years, or the year before and so on. They haven't changed anything, plays exactly the same as it has for years now.

The professional review of the game talks about how the pitching is much improved. They have been using this exact pitching style since the original Xbox and Playstation. For those who don't know the pitching style is pick the pitch then do a little move with the stick. If you do it right you pitch it well, if you screw up, you pitch bad. Has nothing to do with baseball but well pressing down then pushing the stick up is a fastball.

Graphically, it is exactly the same as the last three or four years of baseball games. The ground is green and you can kinda see grass, the players look roughly the same. The jerseys are distinctive only in color.

I mean really, if this was anything but baseball people would be pitching fits because it's the same game as the last one. However since it is baseball it's bought up, and unplayable for anyone that doesn't like baseball or knows baseball better than turning it on, on the TV.

This is not a rentable game, you either already went and bought the game. Now if you did buy this you hae my condolences and perhaps you should lay off the drugs. If you have not bought the game, if you have played a baseball game made in the last few to several years, you know this game. The only reason to play this is for the new rosters, anything else play the last game you bought that says baseball on the title and you have this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

so and so

posted by slugerrboy (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

this game is the bomb but it has horrible memory and bad features

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You've got to be kidding me

posted by jeffeema (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game blows! The controls, graphics, and everything else stinks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lame.

posted by AgentHotDog (SAN ANGELO, TX) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game was ok for 2 days then It was downright Lame...Mlb 12 much will better yes is(yoda)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Graphics, Great Game, but some Bad Graphics

posted by Mario3a1 (FORT PIERCE, FL) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This is a great game! It is hours of fun for up to 2 players! This was an ALMOST PERFECT game, with only some bad graphics, but all around GREAT GRAPHICS! This is MY FAVORITE GAME FOR MY X-BOX! Every team including the Ameican League and National League All Stars! If you have X-BOX Live you can play with friends!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Disappointing

posted by GeorgiaPeach (JEFFERSON, GA) May 5, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is probably one of the poorest designed baseball games ever created. Controls are cumbersome and extremely difficult to use accurately. Pitching controls are just awful. Hitting is difficult because the view of the pitcher is just too small! Much too hard to pick up the ball. Though the graphics are good, graphics really only account for less than 10% of the game play quality. EA Sports games are simply head and shoulders above anything 2K Sports has done. This game is OK to rent, but if your considering owning a baseball game. go with one from EA Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

stupid game

posted by ostenhouse (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

i played it and when the outfielder stoped i thot he was gonna catch it wrong was i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

thanks

posted by killadelhia (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

great game loved it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

2K11

posted by dudeman002 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I love baseball and was looking forward to checking out this game. Thought it would be fantastic, the game looks great and the parks are stunning. However, I found the base running and fielding to be a bit harder than it should have been. The pitching, absolutely ruined the game for me. If you can devote time to learning the mechanics of the pitching you will like this game. I found it absolutely impossible and to sensitive to allow me to be consistent. I really miss the old EA baseball games, maybe someday they will come back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

MLB 2K11

posted by macsmiff (ENDICOTT, NY) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2006

This game BLOWS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FUN

posted by ataylor1208 (WATERLOO, IA) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

It's reallyyyy funn

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Aweful Just Aweful

posted by bbhenley (LAKELAND, FL) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

It would have been a good game if it wasn't impossible to hit the ball and the pitching wasnt moronic probably one of the worst games I have played in awhile for certain

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MLB 2K11

posted by willisyodaddy (YONKERS, NY) Jan 20, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

The gameplay is good, though the My Player is seriously lacking when it comes to creating your character. There's alot of bugs in the game as the computer will sometimes take over and try to catch a ball but end up not moving at all when the ball is near them. The game needs more options.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better than ever

posted by CJMfan1287 (EVANSVILLE, IN) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

At first it doesn't tell you everything clearly about how to do everything. After you figure out all the controls, it is the best sports game I've ever played. I'm looking forward to renting 2k12.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

the worst 2k baseball game in the last 6 years

posted by craigyg (PERRYSBURG, OH) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

mlb 2k11 was the most boring 2k game i have ever played. One the game match was 2 hours long.Second of all the game has the worst career mode of any game i have ever seen yes all the 2k games and the maddens and the MLB the shows switched their careers to a type where you only play when your player is in the play. To me thats boring and stupid, as you get very little commentating and also you are involved in every single play on purpose. For example I played outfield every single play was a single right to me or a fly ball right where i was standing. The career mode is absolutely awful the franchise is boring as heck. Mlb the shows franchise is 100 times better with the options of taking sign advertisement contracts radio talk time tv, talk time and as well as your tv supporter like as in the yankees yes network type deal as well as the realistic trading.Mlb the show needs to add to that as well like being able to send draft picks as a trade or giving cash considerations to a team of lesser payroll. the game also needs to add some of those things i mentioned about mlb the show. Mlb the career modes on mlb the shows were perfect until they changed theirs as well you should be able to control the whole game otherwise its really really stupid and amazingly boring.the graphics are great the commentating needs some work as they repeat the same thing 3 to 4 times a game they need to make a option where you can select several commentators. Also on my opinion they need to bring manager ejections and arguing back i hope mlb one day reaches the most realistic baseball game ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by XXMaOuXX (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I have been playing sports games for a while and i would like to think i am a fair critic, i don't take sides just because a certain company came up with a game. Having said that this game is just okay. it is a fun game when the annoying glitches, that have plagued this franchise for a while, are not there. when they appear its just demoralizing. if you play Career Picture this: you are pitching a no-hitter and its the bottom of the 9th, a batter manages to get a bat on the ball but it looks like your shortstop can get to it if he keeps running... but he doesn't against better judgement he stops short and waits for the ball to drop before getting to it. hair disappears from running players, etc etc etc. if you are willing to overlook this small nuisances the game is pretty solid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

ok

posted by coondog (SAVAGE, MD) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

ok graphics it was probably just me but i could barely hit the ball.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse