Rent Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom for PS3
view large frontback

Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.6

701 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Absolutely charming

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

27 out of 28 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom is a fantastic adventure game that more than holds over fans of the genre while waiting for the Last Guardian to come.

It's a great blend of combat, stealth and puzzles that would normally be merely adequate. The thing that elevates the experience though is the Majin himself. Despite playing Enslaved and Prince of Persia (2008), and loving them both, Majin probably has the best "buddy system" I've seen in a game yet. It's so easy to do a good deal of things with this guy, and seeing him gain new powers regularly continues to mix it up. It more than works; it's very well done and very rewarding/fun.

I know that some people seem to have a huge problem with the Majin's voice. These people are morons with hearts made of coal - they can stick to their mainstream shooters and trashtalk each other on Xbox Live. Good riddance. This guy is awesome; a huge teddy bear who kicks butt and totally has your back. He's very much a Totoro-esque character, and a very successful character at that, so that's very high praise. The whole presentation actually pulls off that charming storybook vibe, without stylizing it as heavily as 2008's Prince of Persia. Well, there's no cel shading, but all the monster designs are top-notch. Between this and FolkLore, creature design seems to be Game Republic's strong suit. The music too is beautiful and memorable; the theme is melodic enough that you'll find yourself whistling it later on. Absolutely wonderful:)

The whole game is just so wonderful. Colorful, heartfelt, unique and well done, but above all else it's fun and memorable. If you're a total poser of a hardcore gamer, than stay away and stick to the games that Gamestop displays most prominently - there are plenty of derivative, mainstream shooters to capture your attention. But if you're a true gamer, and love memorable adventures like Ico, Shadow of the Colossus, Enslaved and Prince of Persia, then I can't recommend Majin highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't Forsake this game

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Jan 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom was an absolute delight to play. Twenty minutes after starting the game I was enjoying it and had forgotten all about the bad previews and videos I had seen.

Graphics for Majin weren't anything special, they were I would say average for what I expect from a ps3 game, couple times it took a few seconds for them to clear up after scene changes. The music i enjoyed during the game as well, I felt it set the atmosphere well. Controls were solid with the exception of the button assigned for picking up and setting down objects. Found that there was lag involved with this one command.

Story was interesting and it does have the option for two endings, with the second one being based on item collecting. The characters are always interacting during the game, sometimes the Majin will say the same line a few to many times, so that keeps it interesting. Experience based level up system for both characters, so plenty of reason to go and beat up "more and more" baddies. Lots of items, costumes, power ups and treasure, to collect in the game so plenty to side track yourself with.

Game play was pretty simple, hack and slash, for the most part with power combos and cool finishes unlock able during the game. Some of the boss battles were a little challenging but nothing was impossible if you just keep an eye out for all the power ups for the characters.

This was a fun, and not terribly difficult, game with a cute/simple story. I think this one is a good play for anyone that like platforming/puzzles with time good old hack and slash action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Highly enjoyable adventure

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Jan 3, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Namco scores again with another character driven adventure game, this time out with Game Republic's "Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom". Like Namco's prior effort with Ninja Theory ("Enslaved"), "Majin" is a single player with two characters that need to help each other through their adventure. Like Monkey and Trip in "Enslaved", Teotl and Tepeu, the Majin and the thief respectively, need to work in tandem to defeat enemies and solve puzzles as they seek to rid the kingdom of darkness. This is a fairly meaty game, as it will take you anywhere from 20-25 hours to complete their quest. Each area unlocks another of the Majin's powers, and you must defeat a boss with each. The bosses are puzzles in themselves, but once you figure out how to take them down, they're not too difficult. Enemy types are varied in both size and speed, but they are appropriately challenging for the level of the characters when you meet them. The story is well told via found memories and simply animated flashbacks. Graphics are quite nice to look at, and the changes in the Majin reflect his returning powers and the restoration of the kingdom. Voice acting is for the most part well done, though some NPCs can grate a little on the nerves. For the most part the game controls well, though at times the Majin will be slow in responding to commands. These lead to some unnecessary deaths, but these frustrations are far from gamebreaking. The end battle is fairly epic, and the game's ending may or may not surprise you, but it does leave room for a sequel. If you're a fan of games like "Ico" and "Shadow of the Colossus", and if you enjoyed "Enslaved", give this one a try. This is a highly enjoyable adventure, even with the flaws, and I hope people give it a chance. With all the endless sequels and shooters out there it's refreshing to play a good lengthy adventure game. Hopefully they will make a sequel, and if so, I for one will be glad to join Tepeu and the Majin on another trip through the kingdom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Trouble with Majin

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Dec 11, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

My Beef you get Lost No Arrow are Help that tells you what to do next- You Beat a Boss then you are just There- Like what to do next- Even after Roaming all over the Map you find the Next Mission Then you are back Lost on how to Open some Door are how to find a Item. Far as i know there is no Tip Window in the Game you are on your Own- This puts alot of Lost Moments and Lost Time- I Like the Game the Boss Fights are very Good your Big Friend is Awsome in Battles- Graphics are Good not Great more like a PS2 Game. Music is just darn Odd- I got my copy for 29.00 New so Yeah its worth that- Keep in Mind you will get Lost plus at times this will add Boring Moments- I like the Bioshock Arrow System and Tip Help so you dont get Lost and Waste time in BoreLand- It is so Bad it could be a Game Breaker for me even that i like Majin over All - But No one whats to be Lost then off to BoreLand- Its a Darn Shame Toss up Game in my View. Also i see know one has even Done a Help Guide for Majin i Wonder why Makes me Wonder if anyone can beat the game Due to Lost Boring Moments- Thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3 words for this game

posted by rextroop (BLACKSHEAR, GA) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

6 out of 29 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

really really awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by DEVDAS (FREMONT, CA) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2002

3 out of 56 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

3 words for this game!THIS GAME SUCKS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game and Easy Platinum Trophy

posted by wolfpearl (SEATTLE, WA) Apr 13, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Imagine a game with the puzzle solving and acrobatics elements of Tomb Raider and Uncharted, set in a post-apocalyptic steam-punk world. That's this game. I thought the storyline was interesting, but the overall message was FernGully-ish. This game is pretty easy with a few parts that were a little challenging. The hardest part of this game is getting all of trophies.

One of the time consuming trophies is the memory shard one: either wait at certain points for night to come, or play through the game and as soon as night falls rushed back to any area passed through with missing shards. That's what I did. This is only necessary until the last mask on the door is needed, because at that point most areas took close to half a day (in-game time) to finish, so I would just butt the finding of shards in adjoining areas together, even near dusk or dawn.

You can platinum this game in around 15-20 hours if you use guides. Once you have the costume pieces that increase friendship XP and hero XP (Bandit gear?) you should wear them until you're maxed out. That will minimize the farming you'll have to do at the end of the game. There are videos that show you great places to farm, unfortunately some locations are nullified later in the game.

This game can take a long time if you're platinuming on your own. If you just want to play the game, you'll rarely need a guide. In both cases, this game is worth your time.

I know platinuming isn't a word, get over it already.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

SLOW!!

posted by black_hawk (ELIZABETH, NJ) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

This game moves to slow for me!! spent alot of time talking to animals and it takes forever to move objects in the environment to set them up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great but needs work

posted by getsuoni (FAIRBANKS, AK) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

Graphics are a bit low for a next gen title. Puzzles are too simple, concept works great, just lacks when needed.
Voice acting is terrible. Worth a rent if you have nothing else to play for a weekend.

4 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Frustrating end.

posted by Isalon (SOUTH PORTLAND, ME) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

So I decided to play this game on easy mode to enjoy the story. I was greatly disappointed. The big lummox is so slow and clumsy it's easy for him to get lost - the entire game I felt like I was babysitting someone, NOT developing a relationship with the stupid oaf. I finally reached the final boss, and (I won't spoil it) I couldn't even beat it on easy mode. Pretty frustrating when a game rewards you with a final boss that is unreasonable in difficulty compared to the rest of the bosses, which were incredibly easy and simple to defeat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy and fun to play, but not the most thrilling

posted by Existence (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I didn't really know what to think when I first saw this game when it was initially released. It seemed pretty "G" rated, and it kind of is to an extent. It's not exactly geared towards kids, but the story itself did seem a bit like a "fairy tale" which is exactly what it wanted to do.

Gameplay is incredibly simplistic, but it works decently enough. Combat revolves around hack and slash for your main character, while ordering Majin around (most of the time you just tell him to start attacking). Majin does the majority of the damage, and the character you control is mostly used for support and to execute combo attacks/finishers as the enemy's hp goes down. It's not a perfect combat system: Majin does indeed take a bit to execute his actions on occasion, and I found myself getting thrown about a lot while getting hit, which I found annoying at times. But combat is not overwhelmingly difficult through the vast majority of the game.

The game also likes to throw in stealth and platforming sections. Again, neither of which are difficult but are incredibly easy to get a hang of and accomplish. The only aspect that they seemed to work a bit harder on were the puzzle sections. Within each area you generally have to open doors or try to get an item, and they did manage to stump me a bit (I actually had to think at times) to figure them out.

It's really a game that is really easy just to sit back and enjoy. It's not complicated, it's not difficult, which I like to see every once and a while. The one downside I felt it had was it never really seemed very exciting to me; it never really enthralled me to the point where I wanted to continuously play it. But I did like it, I absolutely love games that you can just relax with.

You'll probably end up spending around 8-12+ hours on this game, depending on how much you go and collect, or how good you are with solving things. Unfortunately there is almost no replay value.

It's a "teamwork" game, and it pulls it off decently well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty decent

posted by sero33 (LAREDO, TX) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

i wasn't expecting much but overall i felt the game delivered.

liked the story and its presentation. the whole buddy game-play was entertaining. graphics weren't that bad. combat was average(not bad but not great). liked how they mixed action with puzzles and stealth. little bit of something for everyone. the costumes were a nice little extra. if you like collectibles/loot there's plenty too find.

really only had 2 big complaints with it. the controls weren't as responsive as id liked. the animations didn't help either. jumping was hard to control and the majin kept blocking my attacks and movement. the other thing was the game would just leave me wondering where to go next. its not really a bad thing but the map wasn't good and without a hint i would just circle the map for too long.

its still a game i would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A delight

posted by Psartryn (LONGWOOD, FL) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I am a grown man that ended up talking back to the Majin through out most of the game. It was just a fun fun game. Reminded me of the original zelda, if the original had a giant special kid always telling you how great you are.

Really fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

i wanna be great

posted by Warpiest777 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

now before i start i just want to say the graphics are amazing, the game has charm at best but that's where my nice words stop the story seems thrown together i felt like i was watching an bad episode off the smurfs.
but it did have potential in a dead mega-man kind of way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very frustrating

posted by Aulifir (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Apr 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

I had a hard time giving this game more then 1 hour of my time. The game play is very glitchy, and the voice acting is grating! While the scenery was very beautiful it was very hard to navigate the world because everything looked the same. Many rooms, cracks, and outside areas would look the same so much that i would get turned around and be heading the wrong direction and not even realize. Not fun, with so many good games out and coming out this is not something to waste your time on. BOOOOO!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Hidden Gem

posted by plague35 (GLASSBORO, NJ) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Please do not over look this game, it is truly a beautiful masterpiece. Not only is the story well written but the game looks gorgeous. To top it all off every thing works very well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by HennyLo (SOUTH SETAUKET, NY) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Majin Is A Breath Of Fresh Air, I Haven't Played A Game Like This Yet, Yes There's Some Similarities With Other Games Here And There, But Definitely Not A Clone!
It Has A Great Story, Great Characters, And I Enjoy Leveling Up! I Love The Fact That The Map Is Simple And Easy To Use, And Shows You How Many Items Are In That Area, Making You Backtrack Less (Which Is Actually Helpful, Because It Levels You Up While In The Process)(ADVICE: Try To Get All The Items, You Get A Better Ending)
Controls Are Easy And The Fighting System Is Great, As Are The Graphics, Music And Character Design Work.
Don't Skip Over This Game, It Deserves To Be Played! If You Like Adventure, Puzzle And Hours Of Fun, Check It Out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Give The Majin A Chance

posted by Finjamin (DENVER, CO) Feb 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2005

I don't get the lower ratings on this game. After playing for a couple hours I realized this game is one of the best adventure-puzzle-battle games I've ever played. The graphics are really nice, the game controls are excellent, the puzzles are detailed and challenging, and everything works smoothly.

It's a co-op game in the sense that you and the Majin character have to figure out how to work together and use various powers like wind and electricity to solve puzzles and fight enemies. You control the Majin using a very intelligently designed HUD system.

Because of the Majin's voice, people are mistaking this for a children's game, maybe. The puzzles are way too complicated for children. The Majin's voice is sort of dumb, and can get a little annoying after a while, but that's relatively easy to overlook because the game is so good otherwise. There's no blood or swearing or adult themes - it's just a solid PG adventure story.

This is easily one of the best games of this type. Sort of Lara Crofty puzzles but with a better control system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, but can get annoying

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Jan 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

I had to get this game since I loved Folklore, which was made by Game Republic like this game. You'll notice the similarities between the games with art style and room/area design. Beyond those 2 factors, they're different enough in game types that it's not worth mentioning they're from the same developer.

With that said, this game is extremely easy for anyone who plays games regularly. The game feels like 1 part Prince of Persia (2008), 1 part Zelda, 1 part RPG-style grinding (if you want all the trophies/achievements) and 1 part Barney (Purple Dinosaur). It's the final part (Barney) that's annoying, with the Majin seeming to be stuck in special ed, grade 1, even though he's age 23. He's a big, lovable character, but he needs you to constantly tell him what to do, and will tell you when he falls. That happens a lot when he's following you. Get over that, and you'll enjoy the game, though you might not be able to get over enough to want to re-play.....

The PoP parts comes mostly from the story where darkness corrupts the enemies you're fighting, the fact that the playable character is the outsider who comes in to clean up the darkness, the fact you rely on an AI character as your co-op partner, and the fact that you will feel some platforming aspects to the game. Zelda parts come from the fact that this is an action adventure game where you need to get new powers to defeat the next boss.

The story is a pretty generic adventure game, but the Barney-like character makes it feel sweet/adorable/cute. You won't care much about the story, since you know enough of the story tale formiula already. But that doesn't matter, since you're still going to want to keep playing to progress the story to see it continue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »