Rent Mah Jong Quest: Expeditions for DS
view large frontback

Mah Jong Quest: Expeditions

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.8

228 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's Mah Jong...with a twist

posted by Rooney (TOLLAND, CT) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good game, the graphics are well done. Probably the best you're going to get for Mah Jong on the DS. The gameplay interface works extremely well and the variety of challenges make this an excellent choice for any Mah Jong fan, or a newbie. Music and sounds are probably the only lagging part, the music is a bit scratchy and not the best quality as opposed to PC based versions of Mah Jong. However I enjoy the peaceful Asian themed background music, would have been great if the music was cleaner, not so scratchy.

Overall this game has plenty of challenges that will keep you busy and definitely fill your Mah Jong fix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cards

posted by KatieHa (WICHITA, KS) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

cards are too small to see, i need a magnifying glass to see them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mah-jong mania

posted by foxy42 (YONKERS, NY) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found this game very entertaining. The tiles are quite small and do require concentration to identify but you couldn't really expect them much bigger on such a small apparatus. They aren't smaller than tiles on other DS games.

I liked that it had both the progressive puzzles and separate individual ones you could try that don't contribute to the quest point total.

They should explain though that you don't need to clear all the tiles as in most mah-jong games, but only find the yin and yang and free them to match.

I also thought the graphics were nice, could have lived without the "videos" but that's not a problem.

I would definitely consider buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyable

posted by lsafford34 (CALDWELL, ID) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Fun game - has some unique tiles and fun extras from the original online game. Good for a rental.
The tiles are a bit small so can be hard to read at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rather Disappointing

posted by Serenity (SYRACUSE, NY) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

As someone who has enjoyed playing Mah Jong for nearly 20 years this game was a bit disappointing. There wasn't much to make it stand out in regards to Mah Jong games on other platforms. The graphics were tiny making it hard to see even for a person with perfect eyesight. It is an ok rental if you really love the game but definitely nothing I would purchase or even rent again for that matter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mah Jong Quest: Expeditions

posted by panda65 (ROYAL PALM BEACH, FL) Jan 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

I love this game so much that I went out and bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Needs Better In-Game Help

posted by GlendaTxn (SAN ANGELO, TX) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

I enjoyed the assorted mah jong puzzles and had a great time playing thru this game . . . until I hit the wall on the Swaptastic puzzle. The in-game help provided no assistance; there is no info for this game available at gamefaqs; and nor did I find info by googling the game title.

I'm not sure if the guide that comes with the game offers puzzle-specific instructions; if so, I would buy this game without hesitation and would give it a higher rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »