Rent Magus for PS3
view large frontback

Magus

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.7

133 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

An RPG shooter to kill some time.

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Mar 5, 2014

Member since Mar 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off the game is terribly short. Most people can beat it within 2 days if not 1, which is what makes it good to kill time if you have nothing better to do. I waffled between a 4 and 5 rating but since it's not abysmal I stuck with 5.

Don't plan on getting immersed in a plot or story as there really isn't much of one. You escape from prison with an NPC partner (who has a tendency to vanish a lot an apparent bug) and pretty much go though the map shooting and killing everything you come across.

It has RPG elements like leveling up, stat increases, equipment, and various skills. You level up fairly quickly and the equipment is plentiful. However, the equipment is mostly aesthetics rather than needed for buffing your character, although it does provide some stat increases. You can also attach gems to pieces to enhance them further. Mostly though, you will convert the items to scrolls, then use the scrolls to give a permanent boost to your stats, which is turn provides better enhancements than the equipment alone.

The maps are straightforward. Go from point A to point B and hold the fire button down killing whatever is in front of you. This gives it more a shooter feel than traditional RPG.

The graphics aren't that great but for the type of game-play it really doesn't need to be loaded with eye candy.

You get various spells like firewall or black hole or raise dead just to name a few. Since leveling up is fast, obtaining most of the spells is easy.

A big issue is the small font size. It's almost impossible to clearly read the descriptions and stats of items you find even on a large TV screen. You'll find your face plastered to it trying to read what the item is and does.

THE GOOD
Easy to learn.
Easy controls.

THE BAD
Buggy partner AI
So-so graphics.

THE UGLY
Too short.
Font size WAY too small.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

easiest platinum ever?

posted by darenter (WALNUT CREEK, CA) May 19, 2014

Member since May 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ok, for all you trophy hunters, worth a few hours of your time...silly little game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

the rentable game but nothing more

posted by wlbuddy (REDLANDS, CA) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

like the other reviewers said very short. Controls are kind of choppy. The game is very repetitive. graphics are nice, but after a while the game gets very boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Ultimate RPG is here.

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Forget Skyrim. It doesn't exist any longer because a new game is here to take the crown. This game makes Skyrim look like a game from a cereal box. I am so excited to play this game when I wake up in the morning. I think i may never put it down again. I might as well quit my job because this game is all I need.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So bad its good

posted by neahcrow (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Magus is the most fun I've ever had in almost 30 years of gaming. The game makes you so overpowered that you will never die and you absolutely decimate enemies. The dialogue and characters are completely ridiculous and make for hilarious entertainment. The level design, graphics, and framerate make the original Mass Effect look like Killzone Shadow Fall. The glitches are funny. Basically, if you are looking for a 4 hour Platinum that is a blast to play, this its it. This game is so bad its good. More people need to know about this treasure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hold R1 to win!

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Oct 30, 2014

Member since Dec 2009

This game.....where do I even start. It's kinda horrible, but at the same time it's kinda fun in weird way. The basic premise is stupid so we'll just pretend that doesn't even exist. Though the dialogue choices are hilarious and let you either be mean, or really mean.

so the combat. How's the combat you ask? Well just hold R1 and circle strafe. Nothing and I mean NOTHING will stand a chance. The enemy AI loves to bunch up into groups so you can just take them down like bowling pins. Though sometimes they change it up and charge you. But just circle strafe to get them back together.

If you don't mind playing what looks like a student project from ITT Tech or Full Sail, then go for it! It also rains trophies.

Happy circle strafing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

1st person feel in a 3rd person game

posted by GamErick (JOLIET, IL) Oct 20, 2014

Member since Jun 2008

I enjoyed playing this game for the first few minutes, then I started getting the familiar head ache I get when I play first person shooters. This game is in third person, but if you get the headaches when playing first person shooters, then you may want to shy away from this game. Wish I could have played it more, but my headache caused me to call it quits without even getting out of the dungeon portion of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I didn't want to believe it but.....

posted by TerribearGames (GRAND JUNCTION, CO) Aug 1, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

I hadn't heard much positive feedback about this game and decided to play it myself. That being said... it's as bad as everyone says. Now, normally I reeeeeally dislike giving negative feedback about a game but I'm going to have to be honest: this game lacks development, creativity, and decent writing. The one positive thing: it's the easiest platinum I've ever obtained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehhh...

posted by lockerja (ROANOKE, VA) Jun 13, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

enjoyed the store line of becoming a god and fighting over gods. graphics low budget. disappointed that playable character had no live dialogue. and beated it in 6hrs of play... too short!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game is bad

posted by gatorchron (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 28, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

This game is so bad I didn't want to play no more the graphics and gameplay so ugly and really bad even the dialog story is so boring it put me to sleep the combat is so weak they die easy I haven't finish the game because so bad. If you plan rent this game dont get it dont even waste your money to buy this game. If you like get platinium then go a head rent it easy platinium but I am telling you so bad even the choose option is bad too level up system it's ok the magic it's ok not great but anyways dont get this game it's so worst game I ever play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

magus

posted by 49yroldgamer (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) May 23, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

i played this game hoping to enjoy it cause i like rpgs however the camera angles were not very cooperative and there were no instructions on how to use a health potion and the graphics were less than desirable, this is on a ps3 people i was expecting great graphics. the only decent thing was the story but even it couldnt help me with the game. i'll stick to my mass effect and diablo3 and dragon age origins and final fantasy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Play the drawing board

posted by luke723 (SALEM, NH) May 6, 2014

Member since Feb 2008

This is like an idea for a good game that someone had but you only get to play the idea and not an actual game. The RPG level ups and skills tree are done well and the game is gameplay is really fun but the entire game if just over 3 hours if your taking your time. I never play games past thenormal difficulty setting but this game on hard is still 100x easier than paris hilton on prom night, most bosses die in 5 to 10 seconds but only if your not trying. Games like this are why I'm in GF, total waste of money to buy but wicked sweet rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Yeeeaaaaa this game is pretty bad...

posted by hoss3000 (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

So I heard the usual reviews in that this game was so bad it was good but found out that...no it's bad. I'm a big fan of gems such as Two Worlds and Arcania to name a couple but I could not overlook the poor execution in Magus.

I mean there are some good ideas here such as different powers, lots of loot, interesting enemies, etc but good god is this bad. The powers which are these rapid fire balls of light seem to only differ from one another based on color, size, and spread - I can't really tell the difference. Along the same lines the aiming is just ridiculous-pretty much swerve into place to where enemies are in the line of fire.

The dialogue is bad sure but that's actually one of the good things. The protagonist looks like a doofus and talks like he is super bad. Just really strange choice there but it can be entertaining.

The loot is interesting in that what you find can be worn such as belts, amulets, rings, armor, helmets, etc. And you can assign various gems you find to make them more powerful such as increasing strength, dexterity, green power, etc.

Which reminds me of the stats and difficulty-there is absolutely no reason to upgrade anything other than strength because there are very little times where you need to worry about dexterity (defense-lol!) and vitality. Strength raises overall attack power so there is no need to worry about increasing stats in Green, Blue, or Red.

Anyway-if you want to waste an afternoon doing something go outside but if it's raining-I guess you can play this? The campaign only lasts 3-6 hours btw-so it's a short torture.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »