Rent MagnaCarta 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

MagnaCarta 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

2533 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Slow start-syndrom but great game

posted by Dread10gu (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

57 out of 61 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

The first thing I will say here is that Magna Carta 2 is leaps and bounds better than the first Magna Carta. The main character not only has a much cooler design, he also actually LOOKS like a guy on the front cover (as opposed to the misleading one from the previous game).

That being said, this game has a really slow, teetering on the edge of uninteresting/bland start to it. The voice acting AT FIRST seems lacking and really repetative, but I'd say thats thanks to the main character's sister Melissa, and the other generic characters. Everyone else in my opinion is voiced very well, but you have to survive through the boring first hour or so of play before things get good. Trust me the voice acting does get noticabley better after a certain event early in the game. And expect to hear a lot of familiar voices, especially if you're a fan of Bleach, Cowboy Bebop, Code Geass, etc.

The battle system that at first seems dull and "okay", very quickly becomes excellent as soon as you gain the ability to use different weapon styles and upgrade/learn new skills. Suddenly the stamina meter becomes less annoying, and the several characters available at that point are very cool (what I can't help it. Crocell is awesomel).

On the bad side, the cut-scenes are kind of short lived, and leave a bit to be desired.

In conclusion, I'd say try and stick with this game for a while. If you hate it, give it one more chance (I did, and ended up loving it). At least stick with it until you get the ability to upgrade skills. If you don't like it by then, it just may not be you're kind of game. But I personally find it a very rewarding experience and a satisfying rpg once things get roling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very entertaining story, expect a slow start

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Mar 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Having not played the first Magna Carta, I didn't really know what to expect from this game. Coming from a huge JRPG fan, I would rank this game as one of my top 5 on the Xbox 360, and I will tell you why.

First of all, the game's story, though predictable for the most part, is very entertaining. Depending on your level of interest in the story, you will probably fall in love with the game's main character, Juto, but will be semi-annoyed by most of the other characters, especially Celestine. The story's ending is also one that can go either way for people; personally I found it to be fitting, but not satisfying, and I was also a little annoyed at the end.

In terms of the combat, this game is very similar to Infinite Undiscovery and Phantasy Star Universe in the sense that they are all real time hack and slash type games. The weapon customization is a very fun addition to the game though, which wasn't emphasized as much in the other 2 games mentioned. The skill trees are fun to level up in the game, but there comes a point where you find many of the skills to be useless, and if you're an achievement junkie like me, you'll be disappointed in the achievements that have to do with them. If you want to get both achievements for maxing out each skill category for the characters, you have to wait until you have about 700 skill points, which is about 3/4 through the game depending on how much you grind, and then you have to reload your save after you max out one of them.

Overall, this game definitely deserved a 9/10 in my books. My favorite JRPG, Eternal Sonata, is still unmatched by Magna Carta 2, but it's definitely a very satisfying 40 hours of gameplay.

9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty good.

posted by loto128 (SHERMAN OAKS, CA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

It was pretty good overall. Good graphics, interesting fighting system, pretty standard storyline as far as jrpgs go... 100% predictable. If you're in the mood for an rpg to hold you off until the next final fantasy this ones for you.

I did, however, run into a fair share of glitches- one that broke the game entirely, and others that were mainly graphical. My main issue with the game though was that the fighting system depends so heavily on using a chaining system that is broken every time the enemy does one of those annoying cutscene attacks, and it just causes frustration and down time. Other than that, pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Yesterday's RPG

posted by haza12d (GLENDALE, CA) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

14 out of 25 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

There isn't anything new here, just your typical boy lost his memory, fighting a war, reawakening his power to save everybody kinda RPG. The graphics are pretty good, soundtrack is mediocre, and the voice acting is average. The cutscenes drag a little and the dialouge between characters don't have the best presentation. The action is a little slow and performing Chain Drives isn't really that rewarding and doesn't look impressive at all. This game isn't bad, its just that it isn't good either. I didn't even make it to the second disc before I got bored and put it down. Definitely a rental that is worth the look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun "Old-school" RPG genre game

posted by darren004 (CHARLOTTE, NC) May 1, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game immensely. Was it a bit cliched? Yes, but for this RPG genre fan, I felt that added to the game rather than detracted. It was not confusing game-play wise as some other recent RPG games are, like Dragon Age, and while it was not turn-based, it was close enough where the controls did not overwhelm you without being too basic.

Good - Classic JRPG storyline and voice overs. The story was pretty paint by numbers but had enough unique features that made the storyline fun and not get old.
Only one character had a voice that you wanted to hit mute on. While the dialouge was not exactly first rate, it was not a detrement. The "Overheat" feature was a very nice battle system that made it not just a button masher. It took some getting used to, but once you get the hang of it, it is a very nice system with few flaws. Makes for a fun game. Button mash for awhile, call a special skill, then switch to another character while the first rests. Repeat.

Bad - A little too linear. There are some missions where you are not allowed to divert to the side missions and that is annoying.
There was a LOT of dialogue. There were some parts that seemed to take forever to get through.
If you do most of the side missions, you will be very strong at the end. The whole game, there was only one enemy that gave me much of a challenge.

Ugly - The "romance" between one girl and a giant bear/wolverine creature was very weird.

In all, it was a very classic RPG game. You have a party where characters can tag in and out, you have unique weapons and skills and you have a very straight-forward strategy where you will have one masher, one healer and one long-range character most often. I enjoyed the game immensely. More of a classic RPG than most of the recent releases.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just Another RPG

posted by CG0882 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Magna Carta II to me is just the same old rpg...The new battle system is actually pretty good...Its not a constant button mash, you have to play it safe so u dont run up ur stanima.....Trying to do the chain attacks are fun and challenging...
The bad part of the game is the story and voice acting... The story somewhat has a good point but seems to be rushed over...Seems they just wanted to finsh the game...The voice acting gets so bad that will want to skip through the scenes...The girls voices are squeaky and loud.GETS ANNOYING

Graphics look good

Decent game to rent for rgp fans..buying would be a waste of money

Gameplay--7
Graphics--7
Controls--8
Replay--5
Cutscenes--5
Story--6
Overall--6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Woot Woot!

posted by Crispus (RIO RANCHO, NM) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

game was way too good, story line was awesome and don't get me started on the gameplay. If anybody has any spare time please pick up this game way too good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not worth all the praise

posted by Jayzer (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has been prasied as one of the best JRPGS to come out on this generation of consoles. Well thats not really true, while it does prove to be a very solid and decent game ive played alot better.

The story is fairly uninspired, everything you see here has been done alot better time and time again but its got a few differences from the norm to keep it from being TOO bad. Just about all of the conversations between characters are presented in the form a conversation box on the bottom of the screen and 2 characters book-end it in a fully 3D model while they talk. Each character has about 2 motions they will do over and over while talking and this gets pretty old after a while. This particular style really takes you out of the story and makes it almost impossible to feel connected with the characters and whats going on.

The battle system is the ONLY unique and original thing in this game. Without going into detail imma just say that its a button masher that restricts how many buttons you can mash by giving each character a stamina bar and when it fills up you overheat and just kinda stand there gettin beat on. BUT if you pull off a certain type of attack while in overheat mode you can switch to another character and do the smae thing and then both characters will be returned to normal stamina. Well...this starts off ungodly slow but then gets really fun when you get a proper party, but then it fizzles out again and gets really redundant.

Overall Magna Carta 2 is nothing more than mediocre in all aspects but worth playing if you've exhausted the rest of your JRPG library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great RPG for true RPG Fans

posted by WampusCRA (CHILLICOTHE, OH) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

If you are an avid fan of Rpg's this game is definately worth a look at. Its got some MMOrpg aspects to it (doing quests here and there, guess that's 100 different quests in the game). Has a skill branch just like Diablo/Too Human games like that, im only about 5 hours in and im loving it so far. The graphics are really well done, and the voice acting is good also. I never played the first Magna Carta, but im sure glad i got this game well worth a look if you enjoy leveling/questing. My only complaint is it seems to be alittle bit to easy, i haven't really found anything to challenging but im also currently only on the 2nd boss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun game that provides a nice little challenge

posted by BoyOnTop (CONVERSE, TX) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If your like me, you've played MagnaCarta1(which at times was insanely difficult). This game offers a fresh new change from the original and takes on a new plot that bears no relation to its predesessor. You start off as Juto a boy that in a sort of cliche move, has lost his memory of his former self along with a sword stigma which prevents him from touching a sword (indicating he was probably involved in some traumatic situation). Needless to say the game starts as one way and suddenly takes you into an on going global war.

As with the Original, you dont travel too far from home, with regions being somewhat reminescent of the one you were just in. I did like however that the level up system is basic in a user-friendly way, making you feel like you achieved something great without consuming your life just to get a level higher. Of course you cant, like the original just "waltz" through the game, leveling up is necessary to take down your next boss. I found myself defeated a few times but not enough to break the controller against the wall. The story will satisfy your RPG thirst in a basic yet interesting way. I wont lie to you, chances are the plot twists and climaxes are ones you may have seen on tv or another RPG.

All in all this game is what it is, fun, and filled with RPG excitement that you could expect from Magna Carta. But if you have NEVER played this franchise i recomend trying it out. Its a mild step in to a rather more intricate RPG world without taking it to some extremes like some other franchises will.

IF you like fun RPGs play this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

excellent game

posted by darklombax (LANHAM, MD) Oct 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty good beacuse of the character special attacks and because you can upgrade their fighting styles and attacks i can understand that the voice acting sucks at the start of the game but overall great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poorly Executed

posted by Xionanx (NEW ELLENTON, SC) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Mangna Carta II is a poorly executed repeat of RPG game cliche's wrapped up in an interesting combat system. Why poorly executed? Bugs! Having played through the entirety of the game I can say without a doubt that on multiple occcasions I wanted to kill someone due to the buggy combat system. When you characters execute a special ability that moves them "off the map" so they become stuck and unresponsive. When bossess interrupt your casters healing abilities by starting a "Cut-scene" ability.. loads of fun there.

There are multiple abilities that either dont work as expected, have no usefull function in game, or simply get interrupted or bugged so often that they become unusable. Understanding that when you go into the game "may" help smooth it over some when these things happen to you. Also I must point out that there are multiple cutscenes that appear to be missing some scenes and or were simply poorly edited and make no sense in relations to each other.

Having said that, I still stuck through the game long enough to beat it. I'm just glad I didn't buy the game, its an OK rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

for rpg fans

posted by ormsby (EASLEY, SC) Nov 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First of i will say is if you like rpg games you will love this one its the best rpg i have played in a long time. its your standerd rpg game but what really shines here is its great battle system, it alone will keep you hooked till the end. the story wasent bad either plenty of strange twists in the plot. another thing i thought was great about this game is the side quests it offers, there a great break from the main story line and very fun and rewarding, you will have to do sidequest to get some of the characters best weapons, id say there are about 100 sidequest to do.

the only bad thing i could find about this game is a akward camera angle every so often but not enuf to ruin the game.there is also a crafting system its not the best but its there you have to find recipes to craft an item they are usually found during side quest,and you can upgrade your weapons by placing kamonds in them u will understand once you play. to sum it up this is a must buy for rpg fans there is about 40+ hours of gameplay, great combat system and plenty of side quest to do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good RPG

posted by mrrwbrown (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of RPGs then this is a game you should definitely play. While it isnt the best one out there, and will likely get lost in the shuffle quickly with Dragon Age and FF13 coming out soon, this one most definitely helped me get my fix.

The battles are more action based, you get plenty of characters to play with and best of all, those not in your party get 70% battle and 100% quest experience so it helps bring down the grind for those who like to fully explore each characters abilities.

There are plenty of side-quests to be had, with decent rewards, and the dialogue between characters is almost fully voice over. The voice acting is decent, but not stellar.

Overall, for an RPG it is pretty good, but as a few other reviews stated, it takes awhile to get into the meat and potatoes of the game play. So just stick with it and you should find yourself pulling off chain drives in no time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse than the first game.

posted by Aradace (LANSING, MI) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

7 out of 28 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I am just so utterly infuriated at how awful this game is that words cannot describe it, but Im going to attempt to anyway....

I'll start with the ONLY good point of the game: The side quests. That's it. There's tons of them, and you shouldnt have any problem leveling your character(s). However, that doesnt help you during one of the boss fights in the second disc (I wont give it away but trust me, you'll get just as mad as I did after your first 10 times trying to beat him/her).

I could go on all day about what makes this game absolutely rancid but I'll only touch on what comes to mind. First, and foremost, the combat engine. NEVER have I seen an RPG's combat engine look and feel so clunky, awkward, and rushed in my entire life. The stamina system was not only a bad idea, but was out and out poorly executed all together.

The story was pretty horrible too. Read some of the other reviews on this aspect and they'll say everything that needs to be said about it...But most importantly above all else: IT'S PREDICTABLE and that = BAD STORY.

The graphics are ok...I've seen ALOT better though. You might have fun with the game after a while but once you get to the second disc and encounter that above mentioned boss fight...You WILL get frustrated because you WILL die multiple times on it. My party was level 60+ and was still only doing 1 point of damage to him/her...And my chain attacks werent even breaking 100 points of damage. It's like the devs WANTED you to get frustrated at the game and quit.

Case in point...If you like RPGs where you have to sit on one single boss for hours on end trying to come up with some way to cheat the system or a way around it to beat him/her, then this is the game for you....Otherwise, I honestly wouldnt even bother with this one unless you LIKE banging your head against the wall out of sheer frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MagnaCarta 2

posted by onmars (NASHVILLE, TN) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it was a good game and it was fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Guess maybe JRPGs aren't for everyone...

posted by volemus (SUN PRAIRIE, WI) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

RPGs are my genre of choice because if (IMO) they're worthwhile they'll absorb me. This one didn't. I hated the battles because they were tedious and cumbersome, and I never really felt like I was the one in there fighting. Although it was real-time it felt more to me like turn-based, which I dislike. I had a hard time getting the hang of all the chain-type attacks, it's pretty involved to do it right and frankly I just didn't even care enough about the game up to that point to even continue. The side quests were lame too. Some of the graphics were fairly good; others (like the trees & vegetation) were some of the worst I've ever seen anywhere. And you can't save when or where you want, leaving you to endure cutscenes again (which you can't bypass) with characters artificially gliding in & out of view like some ridiculous paper-doll puppet show. Oh well, at least the voice acting was halfway decent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hmmm...

posted by Remy21 (WARWICK, RI) Aug 6, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

Has been in my queue for a couple weeks now, with "high" "medium" and "available now" for the availability.. yet still never sent. This isn't the only game in my queue where this is happening. It shouldn't take 3 weeks to send 1 game (that ends up being 3 years old because I couldn't get anything else) ..Time to cancel this sad excuse for a game service.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this one is better then the first one also awesome

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Mar 22, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

i like this game alot. it is a 2 disc game, and the game looks great and the combat is a challenge. this game is very challanging. the combat is real time combat and it has alot of things to know and remember. luckily there is a tutorial reference in this game where you can check and remind yourself if you don't understand or forget the combat.

the story: it is helping people and your pretty much in a war between south and north forces.
characters remind me of final fantasy.
as for this game itself, yes i recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MagnaCarta 2

posted by L26 (HIALEAH, FL) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Awesome sequel to this franchise. It takes gaming to the next level. A must have for fans of RPG.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game but bad saving

posted by stickboy99 (JACKSON, GA) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Well the game has an addicting story but the game did have to many cut scenes that talked way to much but it did go into the nitty gritty with detail about the story and any person that plays RPG'S and loves to hear every detail about the story line this game is for you.

The save spots in the game are known as memory savers so the main character can save his memory through out the game sorry spoiler but its not that big of a spoiler but it is not important to the story.

The game will tell you to save every change you get and please follow that, it is really important to save every chance you get because if you die you have to go all the way back to your last save point and that made me very mad so really try to save when ever you can.

Another crucial thing to remember is that your characters have levels to defeat the monsters, you need to make sure you are all ways a higher level than your opponent so as soon as you are able to fight you need to try and might as many monsters as possible, so you can get to a higher level so you can fight against all the tough monsters later in the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible, horrible, etc

posted by Soraz (WESTON, FL) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

So literally FIVE MINUTES in this game, i know what to do, but i'm bored out of my mind, i give it a chance though because i'm hoping the gameplay would be really great like one of the tales games or anything in relation to it. It wasn't. The fighting system was COMPLETELY TERRIBLE. i gave it a second chance and continued maybe 10 more minutes into the game, and yet i was still bored out of my mind and completely HATED the fighting system, also i started to hate the storyline because it was cliche'.I hated it so much that literally on the day i got it from gamefly, I put it back where it belonged and i mailed it back. I rate this game 0.5/10 Sorry game. But you bored me with your horrible gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect reminder

posted by tyler2326 (PACIFIC GROVE, CA) Feb 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Of how games used to be back in the day. It has a good story, lets you grow into an awesome character, and it is actually about the main character, AND to top it all off he is at the end your go to guy to get things done. Only complaint is the end, but if it were up to me it wouldn't have ended. I love the combat system, it makes good use of the free roaming battle system and keeps things pretty simple, but still difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Game So Far

posted by Dragonus2012 (YAKIMA, WA) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I've never played part one. From what I hear it's not as good as part 2. I only have a couple complaints about this game. First off my system almost couldn't read the disk. The second issue would be that the overheat is annoying. They shouldn't have put that into it at all. It hinders the game play and almost makes it where ya don't wanna play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

In depth review

posted by DreKane (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Story: the story is fun its got good qualities to it that keep you thinking and guessing whats going on but it has a drawn out ending that leaves you kind of just wanting to get it done with.
Gameplay: the gameplay is pretty fun you have a large world to explore and tons of monsters to fight the combat system is mildly enjoyable but its simple and easy and gets boring. There's not much variety to the gameplay there's just exploring and fighting.
This game is fun for any fan of old school rpgs were its kinda basic and heavily story driven will love it. most anyone else who likes rpgs will enjoy it. if only rpgs you've like are like oblivion and fallout3 you might not like this game at all.
my real rating is a 7.2 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse