Rent Mafia for Xbox
view large frontback

Mafia

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.3

659 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

zombie reviews mafia

posted by zombie45 (HILLARD, FL) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

mafia is not the prettiest of games but has good cut scenes and great voice acting i woild say its kind of a gamefly rent then a buy because there is no replay value i like the game because of the story so if you like a game with a story and a mafia game well there you are. ps:this is just my opinion this is not a professionals words

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Story, Lacking Gameplay

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Nov 7, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a little hard to rate. I'll Start off with the story. It's good and their are some really emersive moments. The characters are interesting, and their are lots of cars to unlock. The city is rather big but lacking in flavor. The controls are okay and driving isn't great but I've seen worse. There's a good variety of mission styles but checkpoints are few and far between. To top that off healthpacks are quite scarce. Another annoying aspect was that cops get onto you for speeding, but you can just press the black button to stay under the speed limit. The most annoying part of the gameplay was the targeting. This game is OK I guess but there are better. I give it a 5, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An offer you can't refuse... well, maybe you can

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 26, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Admit it: you always wanted to play a gangster. Well, that's exactly what Mafia offers. You play a cabbie named Tommy who gets mixed up with Don Salieri and his crew in a city strangely reminiscent of (but not quite) New York.
Now, while the game is playable and enjoyable overall, you'll still find yourself noticing flaws. First, the most obvious, is that this is not an open-ended adventure like a GTA. While you have a city to explore, it's just there to traverse for your individual missions. Very few optional missions are presented and they only offer additional cars. Speaking of cars, the handling of these vehicles is pretty rocky. While on foot, you'll note that aiming is imprecise and your health can drop to zero pretty easily.
The morality in the game is a bit off. You can run over pedestrians and the cops won't bat an eye, but run a red light and they're all over you.
But if I had to gripe about one portion of the game, it would be the race. The racing car you control has trouble turning, skids out constantly and flips over if it hits a raised mounds of dirt. This section is annoying, even if your opponents are super easy.
The story is fitting and works in the context of the game. It's also worth note that the 20 missions in the game proved many hours of gameplay.
While the game falls squarely into the "okay" category, the glaring problem is that it falls far behind Godfather: The Game, which offers far more in every category. I'd highly recommend it over this game. But if you've already played it and want to live out your Sopranos fantasy further, Mafia's got an offer for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wow Mafia is a good game

posted by Kritic (BOURBONNAIS, IL) Oct 7, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is the beast game i've ever played about a mobster who died a long time ago. but it has some hard missions with some really cool parts the only problem i had was that you cant run fast so sometimes it takes a long time to get around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible..don't waste your time with this!

posted by TallGuy (BOONVILLE, IN) Aug 2, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is boring, yeah the cut scenes and the voice acting are all good but I can't stand how slow this game is. In the beginning you have to lose a guy that's chasing you and it feels like your going 10 miles an hour. This game is more frusterating to me than anything and I just think that you would be better off renting The Incredibles or something...anything to avoid this waste!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by mafiahit (CALLAHAN, FL) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game sucks more the godfather and more then gta3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it

posted by Ageman (PHILLIPSBURG, NJ) Apr 20, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Really good story fun gameplay and one of the best Mafia games I have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mafia: Superb

posted by 007Dj25 (PASS CHRISTIAN, MS) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I know it is rather late for writing a review of one of the best games I have played but, I will anyways. It may of had bad graphics but, every game back in the early 2000s pretty much did. I loved the acting and even the driving. It actually has more detail than you may think. You play as a cabbie, Thomas "Tommy" Angelo who was "used" by Don Ennio Salieri's 2 best men, Paulie, a Soldato and Sam, a Caporegime when they are being chased by some of there sworn enemy, Don Morello's men. He then is offered to join the family and is given time to think about it. I loved this game through it hardest and easiest times and I connected with it since I am a Mafia crazed fan. I recommend this game to everyone, even if it is 2011, I would still have this if it worked for the Xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

mafia

posted by juggalo666 (DELAWARE, OH) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

lame

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

will this game ship

posted by frund (EAST QUOGUE, NY) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

i loved this game so much but it says it s low will i ever get it someone reply

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by popkin (JESUP, GA) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

GOD THIS GAME IS AMAZING i played it forever it was so much fun i loved it i could play it for hours a day :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

mafia

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

GAMEPLAY: 7
GRAPHICS: 6

Not quite GTA, but in a cool time period and a good story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Needs more Godfather...

posted by Thechubby1 (SNOW CAMP, NC) Apr 3, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

...but nonetheless a solid title. The graphics aren't Xbox standard but the voice acting is great. The story is well written and is pretty easy to follow. The missions follow the same formula. Drive, get out, cap some peeps, drive. The missions are fun but why do you have a mission where you collect taxi fares? Aside from that there is one problem. Load times. Sometimes you have to load during a mission. I recommend a rental, it's great fun but no replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

loooooooooading time

posted by October30 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 8, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

play the godfather instead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »