Rent Mafia II for PS3
view large frontback

Mafia II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.5

10263 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game, pros and cons

posted by LastNight5 (DENVILLE, NJ) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

188 out of 201 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Although Mafia 2 is a big improvement from the original, there are still a few pitfalls in the new squeal. I'll start with the Pros.

Pros
-Great graphics. Ironically, even though one would think the graphics may be better on PS3, many of the small details were missing (I played it on Xbox and PS3 and the comparisons were slightly different).
-Awesome story. Without giving anything away, the story is definitely worth playing the game.
-Simple and to the point. Unlike GTAIV or Red Dead Redemption, the storyline focuses on one mission at a time and there are no side plots that may distract or throw off the story.
-If you play the PS3 version, you'll have access to the DLC "Betrayal of Jimmy", which is a ton of fun, adding 25 missions to the game. It's free with purchase, or $9.99 otherwise.
-Great handling of cars. You'll love the ability to slide/drift into turns, unlike similar games where the handbrake slows you down.

Now the Cons
-Although I named this as a pro, it can also be a con depending on what type of gaming you enjoy. The story-line is very linear, with no side-missions or story-lines. This makes the game move quickly, maybe a little too quick.
-Melee is simply mashing buttons, with no real fighting technique.
-The city itself feels like an accessible playground when you first begin. Towards the end, you'll feel like a hamster in a wheel, going nowhere with nothing to do.
-Lack of collectibles makes the game feel one-dimensional.
-While some may love this aspect, others may hate it. The police are very realistic, such as pulling you over for speeding or hitting another car. This may slow down the game for you and allow you to enjoy the scenes, but it can also be annoying and redundant.

Five pros, and five cons. It is well worth renting, but for $59.99, it lacks replay value and the achievements/trophies do not garner a second play-through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not great

posted by FlikViktor (BETHLEHEM, PA) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

41 out of 46 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Graphics 8/10
Sound 9/10
Control 8/10
Story 8/10
Replay Value 1/10

Time to Beat : Roughly 10 - 12 Hours (not including searching for collectables)

Recommendation : Rent

The graphics for the game are not bad, didn't come across any glitches, and the details for well everything is pretty well done. The sounds works out great especially for the music with time that the game is set. The controls are very easy to learn, even for a rookie going into a shooting type game can very easily pick up the controller and have an enjoyable game on the medium difficulty.

The story is pretty good at getting across what the game wants to. While it would be nice to have had some control over your Vito's decisions the game wasn't meant to give the player the options to change things. The story does however lack one key thing, making the player actually care about some of the main/supporting characters. Without spoiling anything, when your sister comes crying to you later on, you've had no contact with her since the beginning of the game so you really don't care. The only character who could actually grow on you is Joe, and that's because he's pretty much with you throughout the whole game. And he's pretty much eh.

The replay ability is what hurts the game the most. Like I stated above you have no control over Vito's decisions so whether you play on easy, normal, or hard your getting the same story. Only difference is you need to play on Hard to be able to collect the pin-ups. But really who cares about some random hidden collectables that have no effect on the game. Also no online mode.

Side Note:
While a lot of people complain about the "lack" of open world setting in the game. The world is actually open to explore. However your not going to be all that impressed if you do decide to do that. The map is pretty small, and there's not really anything to do. The chapter system isn't a bad thing, they just need to be longer and give some side stuff to actually d

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Playable and mostly enjoyable

posted by Exilo (EL PASO, TX) Aug 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok so im a huge fan of old time crime games where the criminals had class this was fantastic with sticking to that i liked the missions alot reading some of these reviews it makes me sad really play grand theft auto and think this will be the same its not this one to me is more realistic and i loved it real life cops will stop you for speeding but in the game theres a neat feature if you press a certain button you gain a speed limiter which doesnt let you go pass a certain limit and for me driving from one part of town to the other with a time limit while avoiding not getting caught by the cops takes skill altho its not an easy game for most (especially if your used to grand theft autos speeding around with idiotic cops) its enjoyable the cars are beautiful the story is decent i wont give it a ten because it did lack a few things like a nice selection of clothes but i guess mafia members only really do need one set of clothing a nice trench coat lol. My advice for anyone looking at this is if your intrested in something different yet fun this is a good game to rent in my opinion but dont take my word for it rent it and check it for yourself! =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good But Short

posted by Chris75189 (ROCKWALL, TX) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2006

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

First of all this game was quite short if you ask me, I beat the game in 11hrs and 19mins i was hoping for more playing time, Storyline was ok graphics were good to a point there was some choppy on some scenes but over all pretty good, driving controls were pretty choppy i guess per say, Its a good game to play don't get me wrong, but like I said it was short playing time, the map on this game and gta match, At first I thought it was something i was seeing but i actually printed this map and gta map out over lined each other and it was a perfect match..... i say its a good rent, i wouldn't buy it though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very good, but no lasting power.

posted by RAMBOsM60 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of The Godfather and The Sopranos, so when I heard that the demo was out for this game, I played it. After playing it I knew that is game would be great. Playing the game feels good and real. The story and voice acting are at the level of GTA IV and Heavy Rain, the story is a great mobster story that should last you a few days to finish. The cover system and weapon system feel very much like Uncharted system. Besides the main story there's not much else to do, you can buy new clothes, upgrade you car to outrun cop,and buy weapons. This is the only bad thing I can say about this game, there are no side missions. Once you beat the main story there's nothing else to do, I recommend only renting this game. I am giving this game a 9 because there are no side mission unlike other open-world games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pick up the Tommy Gun leave the Canoli

posted by Deadman619 (LAKESIDE, CA) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

16 out of 24 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Mafia 2 is the newest game to come from 2K Czech. Now I'm not going to spoil anything, but from what I have seen so far this is the bomb. It has all the classic elements seen in movies like Godfather, Good Fellows, and the rest of gangster films. The missions and guns are varied and authentic to the 1940s and 1950s. Everything about this game I love. The amount of car customization and character customization is great. It really feels like you're in a gangster film. The classic Tommy Gun was also a nice touch as well as the music. Though the only problem I have with the game is that the cops get a little to trigger happy towards you. But, if you can look past this problem this a game I recommend to all who love the Godfather films.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Mafia 2(best story line ever!!!)

posted by donmega300 (SANTA ANA, CA) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game has one of the best story lines i have ever played,number one in my books the best mafia game i played i say its better that the godfather games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Watered Down GTA4

posted by angelfan16 (COVINA, CA) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok let me say first that this game had ALOT of bugs. Doors not opening, "saving game" sign in corner of screen that wont go away, cars flying through the air (only got that 1 time), all of which forced me to quit then re-insert the disk to continue playing. Mind you I got this game NEW from gamelfy NOT used.

That being said the bugs in this game weren't so unforgivable that you couldnt appreciate a good game. (Though a little beta testing might have been a good idea)

This game is basically a watered down GTA4. Ok player models with dull surounding, actions and driving controls a bit stiff, and music that would drive anyone other than my grandmother absolutly crazy! Though the game does create a rather effective 1940-50's feel and the blood throughought the game looks great.

All in all the story is nothing special and was typical of any mafia game to date. Thankfully it was good enough to were I wanted to keep playing (as most sandbox games make me want to just run around shooting everything). Expect alot of driving as there was no teleporter in the game. Also dont expect to do to many things at your own liesure as the game is constantly telling you were to go and what to do. Unlike GTA4 were you do missions in any order you like.

SO my advice is this game is a rent not a buy BUT its a decent rent I'll give it that....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

mafia 2

posted by bigkirk (METAIRIE, LA) Aug 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I really want to love this game. I have been playing off and on for three days and I am into the story line but I just want more from this game. I do not need it to be GTA but I would like a litte side action. This is why I use gamefly. I was so stoked this game was coming out. I like it just fine but it does not have the replay power for me to pay 60 bucks for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Driving Miss Daisy

posted by Macroceph (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What Mafia II needed was an editor to cut out the dead wood, because while the dialogue and voice acting are outstanding, the story is good, and the cover-based shooting is mostly decent, the game is padded out to a ridiculous degree by driving.

Not, mind you, by gameplay that INVOLVES driving, like, say, high-speed chase sequences, though there are a few of those, but simply by hours upon hours of tedious driving from one place to another with mushy controls and dull cars. Ready to start your next mission? Odds are you'll have to drive somewhere to get your marching orders and then drive somewhere else to actually start the mission itself. And after it's over, you may have to drop a fellow mobster off at his apartment, and you'll almost certainly have to drive back to your own home to finally complete the mission. There's no fast travel, and the game's city of Empire Bay is huge, so if you want to finish the game, you'll have to do a TON of driving, mostly covering the same turf over and over again as you do more and more missions, and believe me, it gets really, really old.

The game does do a good job of dramatizing both the ups and the downs of the criminal life, and the atmosphere, courtesy of excellent production design and fantastic period radio stations, is outstanding. The cover lock, though, doesn't always work well, and sometimes Vito will pop up and aim in random directions. It can also be hard to tell where gunshots are coming from. And if you die, well, you may have yet more driving to suffer through, because checkpoints are generally few and far between, so a lot of times you'll find yourself back where you got your mission briefing.

Worse yet for people with CRT HDTVs, the game doesn't do 1080i, and the visual degradation in 480p is HORRENDOUS. The path line on the mini-map winks in and out of existence, enemies at any real distance are almost impossible to make out, text is headache-inducingly hard to read, etc.

In short, a very, very mixed bag.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

At first I was like :) Then I was like :|

posted by steppin (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is awful. It crashed on me three times within the first 25% of the campaign, once after a particularly difficult part that forced me to replay the entire scene because the save points in this game are obnoxious. Frequently, dying from a rogue bullet will cause you to have to sit through a long cut scene all over again, and many times this is not a skippable option.

Graphics are sub-par. I really wish developers would spend less time bumbling their attempt at rendering a perfect face while trying, instead, to create some vivid textures and a brighter color palate--especially when working with a game that is primarily a shooter.

Sound acting is okay, but I really wish NPC's wouldn't just repeat the same two canned phrases repeatedly. Music on the radio stations is a good selection, perhaps the game's only saving grace.

AI is annoying. Shooting opponents are good, but the police are irritating and arbitrary in their responses. Sometimes they harass you for speeding, but apparently you can sideswipe them or run a red light right in front of them and they might not even notice. They are fairly easy to evade, but quite numerous, to the point of being downright nuisances.

Driving mechanics are adequate, considering this is not a racer. Shooting mechanics are poor, which is sad, since this game depends on shooting so often. Auto aim is a chore and turning it off makes for sluggish response.

The story line seems intriguing so far, but a game needs more than intrigue to peak its replayability. So far, it is barely compelling, especially considering how many gopher missions you need to go on. We're talking "go here, shoot this dude, go home." Then proceeding to spend two minutes driving a lame car to the destination to do the deed and return to the other side of town a few moments later.

This is worth a rental, but only for Mafia fans. Others would be better served by GTA4, which is sadly superior to this game and includes decent multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Big empty city.

posted by LazarusNYC (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Boring. Unimaginitive. Plagued by all the same unfixed problems with Grand Theft Auto. Not really worth the time. It's a shame their artists spent so much time on such a large and detailed city that's pretty much devoid of content, save "the story", which is luke-warm at best.

This is why I love Gamefly. I don't feel suckered out of $60.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Waste of time

posted by 0celot (FRANKFORT, IL) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is just like GTA except no side mini games or anything exciting to do in free roam. Just story quest, story quest, story quest. Yeah the graphics are good but it doesn't save the game. Story is mediocre at best for a game that seems to rely much on the quality of the story to keep your attention. I found the hardest part of the game was driving to the mission places cuz it takes forever and if you get in a car accident at high speed BOOM INSTANT DEATH (kinda realistic but ghey). Dont worry about getting money in this game either, you dont really need it, just loot the weapons off bad guys and ur good. LAWL at peeps that bought this game for 60 cuz it is very short with no replay value

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

this game was more hyped up than what it was

posted by gamerkingG (PELHAM, NY) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i bought this game and it could of been a lot better. the story mode was stupid with too many random turns and twists. it was like a combination of the 2 godfather games and gta. u don't make any money in this game and the money that u do make u lose or use it 2 pay off debts. u cannot free roam after the game besides with the betrayal of jimmy. the ending to this game is stupid and pointless, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, rent it if u feel like playing it. i thought this game was going 2 be amazing but it was bad THE 1st AND 2nd Godfather were a lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much talk. . .

posted by tsampson (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Graphics cool, but takes way too long for game to get going; may take a while to get into. I wouldn't recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by rx7mike (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Came get stuck in endless loading at multiple chapters, 2,6,8,11, 14. Only way to fix is not to redo the chapter prior but to start fresh from the begining and not do anything but the exact mishion, ie no buying stuff going to gas station robbing store buying clothes ect ect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game is messed up and won't load

posted by Boyko (TAMPA, FL) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

On one of the begnning missions the game feezes in a load screen and so far I have found nothing that will bypass it. So much for a neat idea of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lame...

posted by Misenwrath (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 7, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Boring.... VERY VERY VERY Boring... Rather play The Godfather....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Game is okay but it has a major glitch.

posted by gamer1984 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Mafia 2 is an okay game but it has a couple of problems that detract from the fun of playing it. Its storyline is interesting and the missions you do are fun for the most part and I think that overall the game was worth playing especially if you like mob movies like I do. That being said there were 2 major problems that I had with this game. 1 and this is a big one, there is a glitch in the 2nd to last chapter that breaks the game so you can't go on, before you see the final cut scene of the chapter there is a glitch in which if you did something wrong in a previous mission you cannot initiate the final cut-scene of the chapter. This prevents you from going forward in the storyline,(I went online to the forums and found that a lot of people had this problem for both 360 and Ps3 versions of the game). To fix it you have to go back and play the whole chapter over again( and not do certain things which the mission tells you to do) which for me took maybe an hour and a half to two hours(I was tired and it was well past midnight when I did this). I downloaded every update for the game that I could when I got it and it was still broken when I played it. So I ended up replaying 1.5 to 2 hours of game play in a 14 hour long game and that REALLY annoyed me. The second problem I had was all the driving the game makes you do. You constantly drive for 3 or 4 minutes sometimes more to get to something to see one scene and then drive somewhere else to see another then do a mission. All of the missions involve this to a certain degree wherever you are in the game. It just annoyed me after a while. So that's it the game looks pretty good for the most part and the story is entertaining but the drive for 4 minute then see a cut-scene formula and the game breaking glitch at the end of the 2nd to last chapter really take away from the fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good voice acting, slow gameplay.

posted by Jertanner (CIRCLE PINES, MN) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While the Mafia II story is amusing enough, and the voice acting is good, the gameplay is simply too slow. You spend half the game driving to the next "job" and when you get there it's often simple and dull (ex. walking around getting money from dockworkers). At least in the beginning you rarely get into gun fights, and the fist fights are not very impressive. Also there are just too many cut scenes. You wake up, walk to a phone, and then sit through a cut scene. Also, you are able to finish missions, w/out actually beating them. I don't get that at all.

On the plus side, the stuff these guys say is really funny and well voiced. And the music is good. If you are a fan of story-based games and like watching cut scenes, this is your game. Otherwise I recommend looking elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Slowly Paced

posted by ranford30 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Light on action, heavy on cutscenes and long drives. Mafia II takes a long time to get going, and even then it doesn't go very far. There are very few action sequences in the first half of the game, though there are plenty of cutscenes (and long ones at that). The story is decent enough, but I'd rather be shooting up mob hitmen. It still has its high points -- the artwork is fantastic, the physics are good, and the last few battles are fun. But so much of the game is spent driving from one side of the city to the other or watching cutscenes that it gets tedious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I Hate This Game

posted by TheCooF (KEISER, AR) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought this game would be a lot better than it is. I've seen people comparing it to GTA4, but it isn't even as good as Godfather 2. Driving on snow is stupid and repetitive and just makes you take longer. The camera angles are sometimes awful especially during the silly melee fights. GTA San Andreas had better fighting moves and that was what 5 or 6 years ago? A couple of hours into the game I realized I hadn't really done anything except watch fat Italians spit out cliche godfather lines. The camera angle while aiming is bad, and sometimes people can kill you with one shot (a guy on the other side of the room in a warehouse sniped me with a shotgun!). I really hate this game. It's like if you fed the Godfather 2 game to a grizzly bear, he'd squirt Mafia 2 out. I knew it wouldn't be the best game ever, but I feel disappointed that the developers didn't try harder.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Im not finished yet so my opionion might change

posted by KMA2k10 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This games story is what the game is all about which i personally love. I hate how so many games out now just make it all action & gameplay & try to sprinkle a little story into it at the last minute.

Pros:
-There is a great story
-The game looks amazing

Cons:
-The controls are horible, i literealy had to walk around a door for a full minute to get the action button to come up.
-The camera is just as bad as the controls, you have to hit r3 to center the camera, which is anoying, why coudnt the camera auto center like other games, or at least auto horizontal center, there is nothing worse than trying to shoot someone but the camera is fixed on your feet

Again i havent finished the game yet so im sure my opinoion will change once im done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Very Repetative

posted by bstorey92 (STRASBURG, VA) May 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Not very good. Story line was great but the actual gameplay was not fun at all. Driving is annoying and boring and you end up doing it 75% of the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Driving sim.

posted by Chiasm (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Want to be a member of the mafia? Well to be time to drive people around with horrible controls. Fun moments ruined by lackluster forced driving missions. Spent more time driving and running than playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse