Rent Madden NFL 13 for PS Vita
view large frontback

Madden NFL 13

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, Wii U
GF Rating
7.2

204 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Easy to Pick Up & Play

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Nov 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Madden 13 is easy to pick up and play for first time portable football gamers. The control schemes are easy to use and very much like Madden of previous years. The frame rate on the vita is very choppy but other than that it is definitely worth a look if you are looking for a portable way of play football or if you can pick it up for cheap online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WAY TOO MANY CRASHES TO COUNT!!!!!!!

posted by FreedumbFuct (FLORENCE, KY) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

EA released this game way too early. They nowhere near had all the bugs worked out. It crashes more than any game I've ever played. You los your progress every time it crashes too. The game crashes so much it drives me cazy! IF EA ever releases an update to fix this, it'll be an awesome game! But until then, it a complete waste of your time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The first REAL handheld football game

posted by banky74 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Sep 4, 2012

Member since May 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'll start with the bad. NO, it's not Madden '13 as we know it on the PS3 and Xbox 360. It doesn't have the new physics engine and it doesn't look as pretty. Visually, it looks about 90% as good as Madden '12 on the consoles. So, this is basically Madden '12 with updated rosters.

That being said, it's STILL madden in the palm of your hand when you're on the go. I travel a lot for work and any taste of home while you're on a plane or in a hotel bed is a very, very good thing. In that regard, Madden '13 for the Vita absolutely delivers. It's a solid football experience and it gets even better when you remind yourself that you've never been able to have a portable football experience like this before.

I just got back home after flying for six hours straight. Being able to get in four games of my season with my beloved (and horrible) Vikes made it feel like two hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good... But Not That Good

posted by tgraves1996 (LATHRUP VILLAGE, MI) Aug 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It Lags for one, Its doesn't have the new physics engine (Infinity Engine). Doesn't have very intelligent hosts like the console variants. But the only good thing it has is Graphics. But not worth paying for; I think you should give it a try but do not buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I think its a great portable football game

posted by SGarcia2 (KING CITY, CA) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game does have its flaws and minor glitches that may cause you to call a timeout to fix. But that only happened once to me. Overall I think its a great football game. Good graphics and smooth game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fumble!

posted by virtuahonus (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

It's no secret, the Madden series has struggled to perform ever since it became the only NFL game on the market. Considering the Vita version is essentially a slightly stripped down port of an already problematic game, it was fighting an uphill battle from the get go. All the things that has plagued the series through Madden 12 are here. Once you get over the, hey this is pretty cool I'm playing Madden on a mini Playstation feeling, reality sets in and you realize the game just isn't very good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Could use more

posted by gsize19 (MORROW, OH) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2010

Love the Madden series, but would have like to see it connected like MLB The Show so I could continue my season while I am out and about. Then as a Bengals fan, some small things, but the old Bengals logo at midfield. I know there isn't much you can do with the small size of space on the disc, but would be nice if it was closer to the PS3 versionand definitely the ability to play mobile and connect your PS3 season.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Can't wait until next year

posted by StTrdamus (BROWNSBURG, IN) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

Looks like EA needed to leave this one in the oven for a few more months. The core gameplay is there, but the periphery is a mess. Moving between menus is a pain, and makes the game nearly unplayable. Once you are on the field, it's good...but getting there, and doing all the things required of career mode is painful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pretty good...but could be better

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2009

Overview
=================
The "Madden 13" label is a little misleading. The two biggest changes for "Madden 13" are connected careers (replacement for franchise & superstar modes) and the physics engine. The Vita version doesn't get either of these changes.

Overall it is a good game of Madden (and without a doubt the best portable version so far). It just could have been better. It is a good rent. It could even be a good buy....

One positive is that it doesn't need an online pass to play online. I don't think Fifa Soccer for Vita did either so EA seems to be skipping it for Vita (at least for now).

The other good news is they fixed most of the lag and choppiness from the demo.... It will lag a little, but much better.

Pros
==============
1) Graphics are good (especially for a portable)
2) Best portable madden game
3) Controls work well (at least standard controls....I skipped the touch contols for the most part).

Cons
==============
1) Missing key new features in console Madden 13
2) little lag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If it's right leave it alone

posted by CDoherty (SAINT PAUL PARK, MN) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Maybe it's just me but I think they keep screwing with Madden every year and making it worse, just update the rosters and be done with it. I'd rather have Madden 12 with updated rosters than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »