Rent Madden NFL 13 for PS3
view large frontback

Madden NFL 13

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

1763 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not Great

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good game but not great game because they took some things out that they shouldn't have and left in some things that shouldn't be in the game first the things they took out that they shouldn't have, They took out importing a player from NCAA football and they shouldn't have they took out playing a Franchise even thought it says you still can you really cant. They Left in the insane ability of Defensive Back and Linebackers to jump 10 ft off the ground when no Human ever can jump that high they also kept the running backs that run straight into a defensive player even when there is a hole big enough to drive a truck through right in front of them and they dance around instead of running the ball. Good Game just don't believe all the Hype

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Best football sim...

posted by tallyn88 (BEAVERTON, OR) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Did come out this year! It's called NCAA 13. This poor NFL Version goes on and on about its new features, but tells you nothing about all the great ones it took away.

I will preface this with the reason I play the Madden games. Being a GM/coach. I rarely ever play the game Madden just to play football, I don't really enjoy online play and not a lot of my friends play Madden as much as me so I don't have any in person competition.

The Football playing is MUCH improved this year, defenses no longer have 360 degree vision, control of where you throw it is improved and all that but the AI still has a lot of problems mainly in the receiver route running section. A DB will NEVER misplay a ball in the air, if it is possible for them to make the play, they will. A WR will often run their route behind a stationary DB, and will almost never play the ball at the highest point. Even given those glaring problems, just for playing a single football game, this is the best Madden.

The real problem is the revamping of the "Franchise mode" into Connected Careers. Incredibly important features were removed that made this game the sports title I own copies of from 2001-2012. First you cannot actually use your custom rosters in this mode, so creating you or your friends into the game is only possible by importing draft classes. Second, you cannot fantasy draft a team anymore, meaning the only possible team combinations are those starting with the NFL right now to wherever you take it after you start the career. Third, the player version of connected careers is INCREDIBLY tedious, I made myself a top pick QB and couldn't surpass Alex Smith for the starting job even into my second season, because I couldn't improve more then 1-2 overall points per season. Fourth, simulating practices as a coach or player gains you NOTHING meaning you basically have to do it or you dont get better.

Character limit is cutting me off. Save yourself money, buy NCAA 13.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Freezes on me and forced play style is really bad

posted by BrianKane (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2009

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

The new "physics" brings on some better looking tackles and catches but after a play everybody has a "rag doll" effect to them to which they just flop around falling all over each other. Pretty funny but in a dumb way. The Franchise mode brought back individual manual player upgrades which is great. You can turn a rookie QB into a superstar in 1 season. The Coach and Player legends are fun to use. Then there are some major annoyances. They slightly cut down on the Superman linebackers who use to fly 20 feet in the air to block passes but they didn't totally get rid of it. In place of that they made every defensive back and linebacker with a Jerry Rice catching rating. I swear it's not my passing game, it's the CPU. They will easily intercept 10 passes a game. I had to go into the options and lower the interception rating for the CPU. While setting up your franchise options you can turn the Play Calling from Gameflow to Conventional but this does absolutely nothing. Every game I have to go into the options and change it to conventional. Also, depending on the team you pick, they force you to use a specific type of offense and defense which affects your player's ratings. Example: I use the Vikings which uses a West Coast offense and a Tampa 2 defense and no matter which playbooks I choose or coach I have they still rate your players on the West Coast and Tampa 2 which means that in order to get the highest rating out of my players I need to pick up players that strictly fit into the set offense and defense whether I like it or not. You can go into a Strategy Menu and change some things around such as a speedy DT or Man 2 Man coverage for you DBs but it will always switch it back to what your teams set offense and defense is. Very annoying and pointless to have. The Auto Save never works which may not seem like a problem except for the fact that THE GAME CONSTANTLY FREEZES so I have to start everything all over again. Just because of this I'm ready to sell it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disapointment

posted by sportslover120 (CLARENCE, NY) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I have been buying madden since 2001 every year and I can say I wont be buying this madden for anythign more then 30 or 40 bucks it just isnt worth it . I have a hard time to explain why I dont like the game I find it kind of boring... The coach mode/player mode just isnt fun . The coach mode is suppose to be the new franchise mode but I dont like havin to make up a coach. I find it to be a lot of work for nothing. The gameplay seems to keep gettin worse every year . The linebackers are just way to intuative. All in all its the only football game out there so I will buy it eventually because I love football so much but madden is a dying franchise while yet the new NHL 13 game is absolutly amazing. Maybe EA should fire the madden developers and put the NHL ones to make the next madden lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So,so

posted by Itsfroggybaby (CURTIS BAY, MD) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Gameplay is fantastic. but how fun can a game be if you dont have your favorite options?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not That Good

posted by urbaneremite (DENVER, CO) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I have to say I am not a fan of football but I do like sports games and have even owned a Madden title in the past. This one just seemed cheesy and sluggish compared to older titles.
Here is a laundry list of things I noticed:
1. Button presses in the menus take forever
2. Every time a player touches the group, grass clippings spray into the air and look ridiculous.
3. Must has been said about the new collision engine, but honestly it is horrible, you touch your own player and you hit the ground almost immediately, 10 of the opposing players touch you and it is like you are covered in teflon, you just slip away.
4. Removing franchise mode was a mistake. I thought I was going to like the new system, but I would take franchise mode in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Can't believe I WASTED $64 on this garbage!

posted by fullert0465 (DARIEN, WI) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

You know everything you loved about the Madden Franchise? Well, forget it. It's all gone. You can't edit your players in Connected Careers, you can't create a fantasy team and use them in Connected Careers, and you don't get the enjoyable fun that Franchise Mode offers you in Madden 12. Instead you get either Superstar Mode or NFL Head Coach. I'm sorry but didn't NFL Head Coach fail...TWICE?! The graphics are pretty sure, but the animations are junk. Oh and good luck throwing the ball! On ROOKIE difficulty I threw 7 INT's in the first 3 minutes of a game! Are you serious?! A wide open receiver has their pass taken from them? Whiskey Tango Fox?!

do NOT waste your time on this craptacular game. If you bought the game, call EA Sports at 650-628-1001 and choose option 1 and tell them you want your money back. They will email you a return address label for you to mail your openned copy of Madden 13 to them and then you will recieve an unopenned copy for you to return to the store! SONY told me that every 3rd call was about Madden 13 and how bad of a game it is. EA refused to admit they dropped the ball worse than when the Lions went 0-16!

Madden 13 deserves a negative rating. An overall of 1 out of 10 is too high!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lacking something

posted by Jtw717 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Sep 4, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Great physics. Great gameplay. Great graphics. But not being able to create a player and give him the ratings I want and put him in my own customizable dynasty is a HUGE downfall for me with this game. I can only use a created player in exhibition? That's weak.

Connected careers is awesome....I have no problem building up a character......but I'd also like to have fun and play the game as my created player, in my own dynasty and build my team in a franchise as well.

Online......well it's fun.....but as soon as you get to the higher levels it becomes hit or miss with the cheeser, exploiters and arcade style madden players.....going for it every fourth down, onside kicks every kick off, bomb every other play, gimmick plays.....I've already seen the madden glitches....why is it that some people can call one play and it works nearly all the time....or they call three plays that work all game......when you say the AI has improved, why is it that my defense can't react accordingly and know to stop all three variations of a play that's called?

Because online I have to deal with cheeses and exploits I get frustrated.....because I have to play madden 24/7 to get my players ratings up in connected careers, without being able to create my own dynasty with created players I truly feel the game is a disappointment because I am limited in the fun I can have. I guess after months of connected career when my qb finally gets good then maybe I'll have more fun......but why can't I have the experience of my created player being good now....why can't I control the players and the coaching in a franchise.....

Madden gets a rating of 6.....the game is fun, but after awhile it's the little stuff that pisses me off.....humans and their gimmicks....I'd rather play the computer for a straight up game of football....but my options against the CPU are limited and that ruins the experience.....big fail EA when you actually made great strides in gameplay.....

I'd rent but not b

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Madden in many years

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 1, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Overview
=================
The big changes for Madden 13 are connected careers (replacement for franchise and superstar modes) and the new physics engine.

Many people are missing features like create a player and franchise draft that no longer exist. I honestly don't miss them, but something to be aware of.

I really enjoy the connected careers mode as it has a new practice mode which allows you to gain XP and upgrade your players. The XP thing has really hooked me as it is like playing an online shooter or RPG in terms of a progression system. Ultimately this is what sold this version for me. The physics engine makes things feel more realistic too.

I'm keeping the rented copy (so worth a buy to me).

Pros
===============
1) Connected Careers Mode (XP for the RPG/shooter fan)
2) new physics engine (gives more realistic feel)
3) I like the new menu system too

Cons
===============
1) some wonky fall downs with the new physics engine
2) noticed a few bugs (particular crazy one is in preseason games in connected careers the AI punter couldn't kick more than 10 yards)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really?? No Franchise Mode

posted by clev333333 (HOPEDALE, MA) Sep 28, 2012

Member since May 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Madden since day 1. Its the one franchise that I have bought every year without fail. Sad to say my streak is about to be broken. All I like to do is play franchise mode. Thats it. I do the same thing with NHL. I just want to play a full season with the correct rosters and have fun. Dont care about online play. Dont care about trading cards. Dont care about boosting a players attributes so he can make arcade like stats. That being said, I know alot of people do like all those things and if I had one thing to say to the people at EA....Don't forget the people who helped make this franchise what it is (WAS) today. STOP MESSING WITH STUFF!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not worth the wait

posted by lilybird11 (VICTORVILLE, CA) Sep 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is quite possible the worst Madden game ive ever played way toooooooooooo much emphasis on online play graphics not muc of an improvement from last years and the tackling physics made me feel like i was playing tecmo bowl or 10 yard fight on the NES

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST madden EVER!!

posted by WiKKiD (FONTANA, CA) Sep 1, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

No 2-player offline franchise mode. You have been warned gamers. Only ONE player per console in Connected Careers Mode (a wanna-be franchise mode). So if you, like myself, USE to enjoy playing with a friend or family member at home in franchise, forget about it. No point in ever even renting this game. Thanks EA, you just lost two longtime Madden gamers (Madden '96). Goodbye and thanks for nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Madden Down the Toilet

posted by MacL3od77 (CREAM RIDGE, NJ) Oct 8, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have been playing Madden since 1989. This is, by FAR, the worst Madden I have ever played. The new graphics engine is horrible and it is very "clunky". NCAA Football is much smoother. It is so slow on Madden in comparison.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

No Franchise Mode?! RETURNED!

posted by SirMacalot (CARROLLTON, TX) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

don't get me wrong - it's still a fun game. Graphics are decent and gameplay is relatively smooth and realistic. However, one crucial thing is missing: Franchise Mode.

Yes, you can do something called "Connected Career" and pick Coach Mode and it's pretty much like franchise mode except you have so much more responsibilities and decisions to make. Another drawback is your can't use custom rosters in this mode. I used to love to create myself as a QB for the Cowboys and then take them thru season by season. Now I have to do this Connected Career Coach Mode game with Tony Romo. Sigh.

Also, the officiating is awful. I get called for facemasks when I can clearly see on the replay that my defender NEVER put his hands near the opponents helmet. I also get a lot of out of bound/in bounds discrepencies. Even after challenging and CLEARLY seeing that the opponent caught the pass out of bounds, the officials will rule it inbounds and I'll lose a timeout. Half of the time, I can't even call challenge. It just disappears as an option.

Again, it's overall still a very entertaining game. But after all the things I've listed, I'm ready to return it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worst Madden yet

posted by RonaiSnzer (WAYNE, WV) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

No franchise mode(don't give me that coach bs either, No college imports or draft. I have seen people call the points system RPG like, No, No it's not.

Physics engine that causes goofy bs moments constantly such as legs spinning 360 degrees and tripping over grass.

Madden, Thank God I removed you from my Amazon list and got you from gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Total Letdown

posted by RdSWaZH3r3 (FRONT ROYAL, VA) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Worst Madden yet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

GARBAGE AGAIN GG EA

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I just have one thing to say NO FANTASY DRAFTS are you fking kidding me. The only reason I buy this game is for the updated rosters and doing drafts. You take that out and this game is useless. People at EA are idiots bottom line. I refuse to buy next years unless im gurrenteed a draft. Til then this piece of trash collecting dust in my drawer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madden Sucks

posted by ergreen (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

I cant believe that their is no franchise mode in this years madden. Don't waste your time in getting this game. Mo fantasy draft or create a player. In the coach mode AKA the new franchise you cannot control any trades, pick players in the draft, or do free agency, the computer simulates all of this. Loomis or whatever the new producer on this game is should be fired. What a great way to ruin a good thing because the gameplay is actually the best it has been in years, but with the way the franchise mode is this is a waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

madden 13

posted by Ostop (MADISON, CT) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Talk about killing one of the greatest video game franchises ever.! In the last 5 years the Madden franchise has gotten worse and worse until now. It cant get any worse ! They have hit rock bottom in 2013. Although the visuals and gameplay are average to good, with some definite glitch repair and visual upgrades from the past, the rest of the game is horrible. Like so many(if not all) of the games that come out now, this one is made for online play. Video game companies no longer care about the single player modes. Everything is geared toward online play, online leagues , online rewards, unlockables and leagues. Cant edit a player and use him in Franchise mode. Cant cut Terrel Owens off the Seahawks, cant update rosters or make trades. Cant customize anything....unless...you plan to play online. It stinks, they should just make an online version. Its bad enough we have to pay $60 per video game and then have to struggle to "unlock" half of the content to enjoy it.. Just give us ALL the players, uniforms, stadiums ect. and let us play the game the way we want...we paid our money....game sucks ...stay away !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game looks Great!!!

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Aug 30, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2003

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Best Looking football Game ever Period!!!! But the AI Is still kind of dumb. At times things dont Run smooth as it should. I do like the Upgrade s you can do with the players. The people in the stands look as dumb as ever. Over all a very good game worth trying, Great Rent toss-up Buy. Dumb AI Haunts the game. Sorry folks..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NO, THERE IS NO FRANCHISE MODE OR FANTASY DRAFT!!

posted by GRACEandTRUTH (RENTON, WA) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Connected Careers SUCK majorly!!! I'm a loyal Madden fan and I've been on deck since the very beginning, when Madden didn't even have the year behind the name and I'm EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED! Not only can you not have a fantasy draft, you can't even edit a team and take them into the career mode. I want the freedom to do anything I want and EA took that away from us like we don't matter at all! Its like they're force feeding me something that I'm allergic too and they don't care. If you're a fan of freedom to do what you like stay far away and please don't purchase it! You'll be returning it just like everyone else! I would give this Madden a 0 if I could, thank you again Mr Looman and EA staff for turning me against a game I loved since a child...NOT COOL!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dont fix whats not broken

posted by sancheezmo (OCEANSIDE, CA) Aug 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The only thing they fixed was the gameplay engine...good
They took away player editing...garbage
they took away fantasy drafting...garbage
No more draft classes from the ncaa football series...garbage
to play with a legend in the connected career u have to find the legends game card in the MUT mode...garbage
ohh yea and navigating the menus is garbage... it takes like 5 minutes to propose a trade and then see if it got accepted bucuz u gotta go 2 diferent screens...ive never been this disapointed in a madden game and i doubt they will fix any of this with patches becuz they never fix what customers complain about...for the fist time im hopeing they arent allowed to renegotiate a new license witht the nflpa because 2kmine previously made better football games and i think they will make a better one again.

They need some comletition from

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE GAME

posted by johnnysass40 (MUSKEGO, WI) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is by far the worst Madden game to date, and quite possibly the worst game I have ever put in my system.
Countless bugs, crashes, and glitches destroy what decency is in this game.
With NO fantasy draft, terrible navigation, and no music to listen to, you couldn't pay me to play this game again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

madden 13 sucks

posted by jmoney3213 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Sep 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

when i put it in it didnt work at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Gameplay, Amazing Improvements. Game Modes not so.

posted by mauneykj (DENVER, CO) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After finding out there is no longer roster editing, imported draft classes, fantasy drafts, I switched back to play last years game. First time I have done this in my Madden playing career. Since 94.. What were they thinking?.. I would give a zero if the player progression system and gameplay weren't amazing. The names and numbers behind the players are just as important.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse