Rent Madden NFL 13 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Madden NFL 13

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, PS3, Wii, Wii U
GF Rating
6.9

2558 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Madden Ever ... NFL needs to go to TakeTwo

posted by ChemtrailInhale (AMELIA, OH) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was ridiculous. How could they abandon the Franchise Mode this way? Connected Careers was ridiculous and I found after a few weeks I was insanely bored.

I read the bad reviews ... bought a cheap, USED copy to give it a try, and it sucked just as bad as everyone said it would.

Gameplay is good. Graphics are very nice in my opinion.

And what is with the music? Madden had become epic for the cool tracks? I was waiting for them to open it up so that I could import/attach my own Music and play that as part of the game and instead the morons botched it all and now I listen to annoying, repetitive symphony strings over and over and over and over.

If you are a simple-minded video game player, this is fine. If you like any sense of depth, strategy, manipulation and creativity, this is HANDS DOWN the most disappointing sports title ever.

My offseason just became that much more boring. Grrrrrrrr.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why???

posted by panda61bear (DEARBORN, MI) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No fantasy drafts, no franchise mode :( Why would EA do this to us?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Madden Who?

posted by Playmakers (JUPITER, FL) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't know what happen to this game, but it is garbage! Madden, Because EA Sports knows nobody else produces a football game, have made this game about money! It's about ultimate Football, the card buying team building money wasted part of Madden!
I mean thy are selling virtual cards to field a team to play on Madden. Really? At least when I collected cards, I actually got a card to hold, here you get nothing! The following year after you blow money fielding a team, EA sports is nice enough to give you a few lousy carry overs in points to get new cards the next year! People need to stop buying this game and force EA sports to change the game! Not even worth playing, turned on and off! Rather kick dirt by myself than play this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Weak

posted by cstr4068 (EL DORADO, AR) Feb 17, 2013

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In my opinion this game just seems to get away from where they were on this francise, took out francise mode , no draft. Only appeal is if you play it onlinr which I don't! So EA you need to rethink what you are doing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I Expected Better

posted by thecoz77 (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played two franchise seasons and realized that was more than enough. I usually take a lousy team and build them up, and tried that in this game. Well, to start, forget running the ball. Aside from the occasional pitch, you won't amass a ton of yards. Passing is worse, AI sacks the QB regularly, when the phantom interceptions are not happening. The funny thing is, defense is the same. The AI offense gets nowhere against even the worst defenses. I will stick to NCAA going forward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not that great

posted by Goldman419 (CLEARWATER, FL) Dec 4, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Easily the worst Madden for All Madden difficulty ever!! not only does it make the computer AI very good (which is all that should be done) it takes it a step farther in lowering the skills of all your players to near peewee level. Loved the game play but the dificulty setting pretty much ruined it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Madden ever made!!!

posted by Mikey3512 (HIALEAH, FL) Nov 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I received it in the mail I was skeptical because all of the bad reviews I had read online. Well let me tell you.... they were all right!! This is by far the worst game I have ever played!! They removed my favorite part of the game, the career mode. I know they came up with some other thing but it is nowhere near the same. Graphics look incredible but gameplay sucks. Linebackers can still jump 15ft in the air and grab an interception. Played it for 20 mins and put it back in its sleeve to send it back. Take it off your game Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Sucks

posted by suckafree_101 (FREMONT, CA) Jan 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I, for one, can understand why I rarely play football on xbox, but every other sport. This is the worst madden game I've played. I think I had this game for a week and played it a couple of times in hopes that maybe it would improve. It did not. Gameplay is just horrible. I see why the price on this game dropped so fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

They could've done better

posted by yoderandre (MILLERSBURG, OH) Oct 28, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The makers seem to be headed the wrong direction, they took away quite a few features that i really liked, no more editing a players position. no more linking up with NCAA and continuing your carer. Some new features were nice. the realistic tackling was one. cant really think of anything else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not as good as I would have thought.

posted by xPANDORAx (KEENE, NH) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was not as good as it could have been. Lots of issues and problems. Some of my largest concerns where achievements. I would not get them once I achieved the task. Another big issue was, how easy it was to pass the ball and make completions. I would toss the ball down range and it would bounce off 3 receivers heads before another player dived in and snagged the ball right before it hits the ground. Game is very unrealistic and graphics are horrible. This was lucky to get my 3 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same ol madden just another year

posted by corybaker1020 (GOODVIEW, VA) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Same ol madden, i really don't like the ea sports pass idea. if you ea sports want to come out with a game every year and charge people 60 dollars try coming out with a new madden every other year and just do roster updates. glad i rented it, guess i am going to get my free 2 days of ea sports pass then send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Meh...its just another year

posted by szulander (COLUMBUS, OH) Oct 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Another year...another Madden...another waste of $60.00 - Nothing changes ever...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Impressed

posted by buzzser25 (WINTER PARK, FL) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For all the hype about the new system and graphics, they continue to miss the mark. Countless times I dumped a screen pass to my receiver in the bottom and, although he had plenty of room to turn and gain a couple, he ran instead right at the defender off to the side losing yards. Instead of the RB just running into his own guys and going no where, now he trips over them and falls down. At the end of the play it looks like Blitz with players falling all over from bumping into each other. I cringed a few times during hits and after as the players bent in places that weren't supposed to bend and/or more than they should be bending. Fix the game first, then polish it! stop polishing garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why can't you make a good nfl game???

posted by joeschmo (FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really don't care how perfectly you've mastered every players face. Why'd you take out franchise mode?? I can't edit players and make my team cool. If i create a player that i can be a gypsy with at all of his stats at 99 i can only use him in play now mode. Why do you suck so bad EA???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unfortunate

posted by JT_90 (MAPLE SHADE, NJ) Oct 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Sadly this game is a quick send-back. I have been a Madden covet-er since my first experience in 2001. And since that time the game franchise has made many large leaps in regards to the gameplay, features, and graphics. It was getting really good right up until about 2009 when the features started changing. The game quickly began heading towards an online-heavy audience and leaving many of us "offline enthusiasts" left wanting. Understandably this is how extra monatary assest are obtained but it almost betrays the convenient user. They almost had me fooled in 2012 when we saw shades of old Madden re-appear, but unfortunately the men/women behind Madden got greedy again and took away many of the features that are not just loved by regular players, but by ALL players.

Until the garunteed return of Fantasy Draft, standard Franchise mode, and competent in-game analysts (seriously? Simms and Nantz? talk about going cheap) I will not rent, let alone purchase, this series any longer.

Here's to hoping Madden gets a clue, or 2K makes a comeback!

-JT-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

One Step Forward, 3 steps back.

posted by CarolinaCody (BLOUNTVILLE, TN) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The new Madden 13 game takes away Franchise Mode, replacing it with connected careers, which sucks. Trade logic is horrible. NO fantasy draft, no import draft class from NCAA 13 (best feature), no edit players, which is annoying when you have multiple Left Tackle's Etc.

Now I don't care much about editing players, but you can have 4 receivers with the exact same number. and guess what there is no work-around, your stuck. The trade logic is horrid. YouTube a video on it, there is evidence of trades no one in their right mind would object to, but the computer is unwilling to trade.

Connected Careers will not allow you to play a franchise mode with a friend, so if you run a franchise with a friend every year like i used to, the ability is now gone, unless of course you want two Xbox's in your house with two copies of Madden.

Madden Ultimate Team is the only good mode left, and sad to say the rewards for completing collections have gotten worse. I only get 5,000 coins for getting ALL the jersey's in the NFL?? and only 17,000 for collecting a 35 player Seahawks core collection? Come on! those used to be 25,000 or 50,000
EA has gotten money grabby. I for one won't stand for it.
@Josh_Looman is the one we should all be complaining to, head thief... at EASports
Save your money...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

End or begining of an era.

posted by Lost4daze1 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This is kind of a tough call for me to make. On the one hand I want to be positive and constructive while at the same time I also have to point out that this is litterally a 'once a year' franchise. Depending on the point of view the gamer uses, this is about greed or it's about the passion only a true sports fanatic really understands. I support neither one. I enjoy football as much as the next red blooded american but greed means nothing to me. In the past, Madden football simulations have always been plagued by one truly bad flaw. THE GAME PLAY SUX!!! Now don't get me wrong, as a video game it delivers what it promises. As a football simulation however it traditionally fails across the board. To be clear I do not blame EA for that. They are sadly limited by the level of software technology of the day. (it was 2011 before they could even TRY to put cheerleaders in for crimany sakes). No, the selling point of this title has always been to re-create, as a couch QB, the season of the game we are passionate about. With the Madden 25th just around the corner. This 2013 version seems lacking. All of the better basic gameplay is now online access only. Although the graphics continue to improve, you can still expect idiotic AI, that virtually insures the predictable 105-3 final score. They need to spend less Ram on big name commentators and do something about the stupid glitches that allow big turnovers for no logical reason.

Just my two cents.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing

posted by eoj (DACULA, GA) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

21 out of 26 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This years madden has better gameplay all around, and nice presentation. But, I prefer madden 12 or 11, or 10. Why? Because my primary play mode is fantasy drafted franchise mode. Yes, the connected careers is an interesting concept, but why not let me draft a team as my coach in my fantasy world?

I have heard that editable players is a possibility, but as of now, the feature is not present.

Adding and tweaking features is great, but don't cut features out right unless they become redundant.

If you like playing season without editing your roster, or you like playing online, you will enjoy this madden.
Unfortunately, if you like to build a team through drafting the league or importing ncaa rosters, you're out of luck this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth the buy.

posted by Jambigrunge (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

21 out of 26 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

As is expected, this year's Madden game finds another way to disappoint anyone who went out & bought it. In the the couple of months leading up to its release, all you heard about was how this was going to be the most ambitious Madden game in the series, & how they were working the game from the ground up. Well all of that hard work doesn't seem to have paid off as we're left with the exact same copy of Madden we've been playing for the last few years. There's no originality, there's no worthwhile innovations, there's no real enjoyable experience anywhere in the game. The revamped trajectory system seemed completely pointless as only the most seasoned Madden fans will even notice it & the new tackling physics are completely ridiculous, just try accidentally grazing one of your offensive linemen as you try & run it up the middle & watch your tailback fall to the floor as if he'd been hit by a bus.

Aside from the core gameplay, the commentators are just as bad as they've been every other year. While the dialogue may seem fresh for a game or two, it quickly becomes just as repetitive as it has been in every past installment & it seems like there's even less new commentary than there usually is. If the repetition doesn't get to you the outdated graphics will. When's the last time Madden received a graphics update? The players all look just like they did last year, & the year before, & the year before that, etc. There's zero detail in the facial animations & the players all look like robots. All in all, this game is definitely a let-down to Football fans everywhere & is better avoided. Save your money & rent the game rather than buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre

posted by JJFunkyFresh (PORTAGE, IN) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

You'll notice that franchise is gone and has been combined with Superstar mode. Which was huge for me because I loved franchise mode. I loved the addition in last years game to be able to edit your players in franchise mode; can't do that in this year's. No fantasy draft in "coach" mode or whatever. Can only control one team. Chad Ochocinco is still in the game, and his rating is legit booty. This game just sucked for me. I'll stick with Madden 11 and just keep updating the roster.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Time to give someone else a try EA.

posted by unclejed (ERIE, CO) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2005

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

Reading reviews of the new madden I have come to a conclusion . We need to end the exclusive licensing thing that EA sports has with the NFL. The competition would be a really good thing for Professional football video games a breath of fresh air if you will! Seems the only game EA is good at doing is MONOPOLY!!!! Just think NFL 2K14 cool huh? JD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

a shame

posted by mrmyles (JONESBORO, GA) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

so all that hype just for nothing i feel like i got trick but i should of seen it coming from EA. i been playing madden since the being and i never seen something so bad the only way to enjoy this game is by playing online and even that has it own problems....... PLZ 2K GET THE RIGHTS TO THE NFL AND MAKE A BETTER FOOTBALL GAME PLZZZZZ

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

IM PLAYING 2K FOOTBALL ON THE PS2

posted by jj5102010 (SAN PABLO, CA) Nov 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

WHEN THE GAME FIRST CAME OUT IM THINKING OH NEW TACKLES,CATCHES,AND NCAA 13.BUT YOU CANT EVEN IMPORT PLAYERS THAT WAS LIKE THE WHOLE POINT OF PLAYING FRANCHISE OOH WAIT EXCUSE ME ITS CONNECTED CAREERS

AND THEN THEIRS NO MORE FANTASY DRAFT WHICH WAS KINDA COOL WHO EVER SAID 'OOH NO ITS OK TAKE EVERYTHING THAT EVERYBODY LIKES OUT AND REPLACE IT WITH SOMETHING CRAPY

AND THEN THEIRS MUT IT WAS FUN IN 12 NUT NOW THEY MADE IT VERY CLEAR THAT THEY JUST WANT YOUR MONEY

NEVER IN MY LIFE HAVE I NOT LIKED MADDEN IM GOING TO BUY A PS2 PLAY WHAT WAS GOOD IN THE OLD DAYS NFL STREET,BLITZ AND [2K FOOTBALL] PLZ GET THE RIGHTS 2k

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another step in the wrong direction

posted by Drutang (POLK CITY, IA) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2004

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

It doesn't even seem like this years game was made by the same company, or even anybody that has ever watched a real football game!!! I am so disappointed in this game! Hey I have an idea lets make a game with really pretty graphics that plays like junk!! Hey i have another idea, lets take all the things that everyone has liked about our game and change it. Such as taking the ability to edit franchise players. (Oh its not even called franchise anymore and they had to put a hint system in the game so people could find it) I always change players positions in franchise! that is one of the most fun things to do, maybe see if Eric berry would be a better outside linebacker! I was signing a few LT free agents right, i ended up with 5 of them on my roster! So you say that's fine if you cant change the position just change the depth chart! oh yeah did i mention that the depth chart is restricted as well? Oh how about that stupid gameplan play call system that no one that is worth a #2 uses? I cant even figure out how set the playcall system to conventional without having to do it every single time!! such a big pile of dog dung! that is ok i didn't need to waste all year playing football anyway. I don't think that i have ever returned a Madden game so fast in my life, but it is GONE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Where art thou NFL2K?

posted by ZombieCo (BOISE, ID) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Goofy in game running mechanics, buggy online play, EA makes you pay to play ranked matches online if you rent the game...

NFL 2k is still better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse