Rent Madden NFL 12 for PS3
view large frontback

Madden NFL 12

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

GF Rating
7.7

3114 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

excellent year for football!

posted by dtrimble1015 (PATTON, PA) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

having played ncaa 2012 and loving the controls and everything that went with the game I picked up madde 12 and it was the same feeling the controls were so insynch with the game it almost felt like playing a blitz or a street football game
alot of my experiences with maddens in the past have left me feeling like the controls were robotic and it was hard to get into the game the closes one to this one that i can think of is 2000 with faulk on the cover

awesome game ! excellent year for football!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Madden 2012

posted by topnotchstud (ROSWELL, NM) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved the game! I had been anticipating it's release and I was definitely not disappointed. I really enjoy how you can transfer a player from NCAA 2012, awesome addition to an already amazing game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Upgrade over last season

posted by Rolexus24 (BATESVILLE, MS) Aug 29, 2011

Member since May 2006

18 out of 23 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The game is similar to last seasons title, but with enhanced graphics and AI. Blockers do a much better job of downfield blocking and defenders seem to jump routes much more, especially if you call the same play often. The gameplay is a bit faster as well, with runners seeming to get upfield much quicker. Definitely worth a rent, but personally I'd buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Even Worth a Rental

posted by BCouey (MONTGOMERY, TX) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Like many people I have been a Madden fan for years, I've purchased most of the titles, thankfully this year I decided to rent Madden 12 from Gamefly. This year's title is a huge let-down, not for the new additions to the game such as the cut days and free agent bidding, but for the parts of the game that need attention. The commentary may be a small part of a huge game, but honestly play a few games with the same team and you'll quickly find that the opening statements by Chris Collinsworth are the same each and every game, by the end of the season you'll probably even have it memorized. Since when is EVERY team a great match-up, and every home stadium one of the most difficult places for away teams to win? Yes even the Chiefs versus the Packers, a great match-up. Issues far more pertinent than the commentary though, the franchise mode menus, why can't they make a user-friendly menu? Every time you close a menu it returns you to your game of the week, which is aggravating when all you want to do is make some trades, look up several stats, or manage your team. The system for Coaches' Challenges needs assistance, regardless of what fact is being challenged(options would be a nice upgrade too) the camera angles showing the replay often don't show you anything, or cut off the part of the play being challenged. As with most Madden games the best part truly is the game-play, which is the only portion of this game worth a decent rating. This game is not worth the rental if you own previous versions of Madden, and even if you don't you may just be better off picking something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is This Madden 12?

posted by Maturesun (RALEIGH, NC) Sep 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I am so happy that Gamefly exist or else I would be upset at having spent $60 on this. I gave it a couple tries but it is the same game as 11. There are some minor tweeks to it but overall not worth spending the money on it. I like the tackling and the enhanced defense but it is basically a rehashed 11. Rent it don't buy, I have sent mine back since I own 11 and will be playing that until next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Madden in a while!

posted by RAZORBURN (BIDDEFORD, ME) Sep 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I own Madden 08, 09, 10, and 11, and bought Madden 12 on release day. Madden 11 was terrible, I played it a few times and once I realized how awful the defensive aspect of the game was and how it was easy to get screwed over that I decided to stop playing it. The Best Buy I work at held an employee tournament and I participated and I had so much fun with it that I bought it the day of its release! They have improved on many things such as the blocking and the over all game play is much more realistic. The new tackling system is much more realistic and makes more sense. I always thought of Madden as a game that EA slightly improves each year and suckers people into buying it but this year they have drastically improved it and made it playable for hours!
Theres not many problems with this game but one thing that annoys me are the announcers. They tend to call out the players numbers more than their name unless its Tom Brady or another big time player like him. Also the announcers can be very delayed sometimes like they will be like "Number 12 throws the ball!..." and while you're picking the next play or are lining up for it after picking they will finish the line, it bugs me but the gameplay is awesome!

My favorite parts of this game has to be the new tackling system, and how well your offense will pick up blocks. It makes running the ball alot easier because you can now run behind a play and feel safe knowing he will pick up the would-be tackler. This is a must-buy Madden!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Madden 12 (EA Drops the ball yet again)

posted by ManiaC00L (WHITE HAVEN, PA) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

With the capabilities of the PS3 and X360 YOU WOULD EXPECT to see a monumental accomplishment of smooth game play with a new fresh unique style.. Well it's a new and unique alright but as far as organized and enjoyable good luck. The controls once you spend the first month mastering them are a complete let down. The graphics remind me of something out of the Dreamcast era and don't even get me started on the commentary. They get about 2 out of three calls right literally. By far EA's worst but somehow most highly acclaimed release. I was thoroughly disappointed and have decided to boycott EA games. This abysmal release along with the fact that they have the audacity to make you purchase their titles to get online enabled has done me in for good on there entire Madden Franchise. It's completely ridiculous that a team of game designers who specifically handle Madden each year can't get it right.. I mean come on guys your loosing so much support that's why you invested so much into the release of this year's trash because you new people would be weary and we we're right to be.. Please please please for the love of god...... someone out there (who actually cares about FOOTBALL and not greed) start designing sports games. Specifically Football and compete with the conglomerate monopoly that has become EA Sports.
Save your money. I seriously enjoyed Madden 11 for PS2 10x more then this garbage for PS3..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old madded new bugs

posted by datfirejak (OCALA, FL) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

overall there are some nice improvements to the game this year. i really liked how the running game felt as well as the tackling system.

The problem is the ai is still flukey. If your a hardcore madden fan expect to customize your playbook because the plays the ai calls are really bad at times. When turning up the difficulty the game doesn't challenge you it just screws you over just like in years past. The ai will make amazing plays that you could never do as a human.

As for online the few games i played laged just like old maddens which is a shame since its a 1vs 1 game.

The otp or online team play mode which is 3 on 3 football was a huge disappointment. Coming from the nhl series and how well the otp system works, madden has a long way to go. Overall it suffered from lag issues as well as the over all feel just felt off.

The major disappointments are the bugs in this game. New bugs have arisen that have not been in the madden series with menus freezing and locking up, players disappearing , the game not recognizing the proper nfl rules(2 teams are tied in ot in playoffs it continues not just ends), and to top it off the commentary is still average at best.

overall madden 12 is plagued with bugs and issues that have plagued it for years. some nice improvements with the running game and tackiling are nice but i just don't see the quality i use to back from the ps2 days . Too many features have been cut out and to many basic mistakes overall. In my opinion i am glade i have game fly to remind me why i stopped buying the madden series 8 years ago.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best sport game ever

posted by zacharyeryn (crystal lake, IL) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this is one of the funnist most best graphic game i have ever played in my live i love all of the mini games that you can do. and you can make like the best team in the world and you can play a season and i know you can do that in almost every single madden game but this one is the best the only thing that stinks is that if you make an amazing team if it is to good you can not play a season with that team.but if you get this game it will change your life with madden.so that is why i rate this game a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ALMOST the Best Madden Ever!!!

posted by Sonic211 (THE WOODLANDS, TX) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Okay, Madden NFL '12 is awesome!!! Graphics are better than ever, New Tackling system is great, and a more realistic running game this year! Plus, I like all the different uniform options. The 100+ changes to Franchise Mode really paid off for EA. Also, the Superstar Mode is nice.

Overall i gave it a 9. I would have gave it a 10, but there is ONE thing I don't like, the commentary. The commentary in Madden '12 is JUST PLAIN BAD!!!!! It's always late, and every phrase by Gus Johnson has a different pitch, so it sounds horrible when it's brought together in a sentence.

So anyway, I'm rating this game a 9.5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

EA's latest pull threw

posted by johnwaynecarter (WHITEVILLE, TN) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Finally, I have been waiting for this game to come out since my last birthday. I have been a fan of the madden series since i could walk. The last madden game i enjoyed was madden 07 and it was because of the superstar mode.

PRO's : great defensive plays. make's running the ball easier.
Franchise mode is updated big time. settings are great. gameplay fun. time to relax and play some football to finally beat yr son at something! major updates

CON's : Graphics (which shocked me) weren't as good this year. Hard to catch a ball if your the WR.

In conclusion madden 12 is an all around fun game. definitly a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

hope you weren't looking for 2011-12

posted by william007 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not trades or free agents that have been made in real life. I understand with the lock out that would be hard but it was fairly understood that guys like Namdi would be availible yet he is not. Kolb has 0 trade value even though it was understood there were many offers for him once the lockout was over.

Aside from those issues I also have a few game play issues. Running QBs are close to pointless as you can't tuck and run and there is no acceleration. The game decides when you accelerate which ends up making guys like Deshaun Jackson seem to have the same speed as everyone else. Other than that it's the same game it has been for a while.

Avg game won't blow you away. IMO NCAA beats it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MADDEN NUFF SAID

posted by gaming_genius (CLEVELAND, OH) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's madden people. another year another gem. some will like it some won't. i'm one of those guys ho only buys madden every few years because it's madden you can't make it but so much better from year to year. i haven't played a maddden since 09 so i thoroughly enjoyed so much i had to click keep in my q. NUFF SAID

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Can someone please challenge EA?!!!!

posted by arod2222 (GRYGLA, MN) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

they aren't even trying anymore. it's the same steaming pile polished up year after year. they add a few animations and box it up. terrible voice work. after the first two games i wanted to strangle chris collinsworth. just terrible. if ea isn't going to put a decent product out will someone PLEASE challenge them. their exclusive contract has got to be ending soon. PLEASE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Madden 12 Is Wack !!!

posted by solidbrown57 (SAN PEDRO, CA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Madden is a BIG let-down. "free agent bidding" is cool. Commentary in SuperStar mode is wack, need more and better commentary. A SuperStar can be traded to any team that the Superstar wants to go to if he dont like his current team. Game menu, is hard to use and confusing. Coaches Challenge mode is wack, camera angles dont show you what your Challenge is about and the replay don't show you anything that was challenged. Dont rent the game, its not worth the rental. NBA 2K12 is a much, much better pick if you like sports games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Madden 11 all over again

posted by GameCritic101 (MORGANTON, NC) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Exactly the same as madden 11

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

madden12

posted by armidajuarez (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

one of the most hard hitting speed hitting games in all nfl history.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by Dcrack24 (MADISON, MS) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Problem being I play with the Titan's and every time I score it will say Touchdown Washington? Especially when I score with Kenny Britt? This makes no sense?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Really EA

posted by Slyfox43 (EL PASO, TX) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I guess you have to be a hardcore madden gamer to really like this title cause it just seemed all the same from the past three maddens. Sure the graphics are cool but the gameplay still had me scratching my head. I imported my superstar from NCAA 12 and I was just disappointed how Madden made him into a superstar after 3 games. I don't know what else to write since I packaged this game and sent it back the same day I received it. Play at your own risk I guess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Madden 12, fantasy football on the console

posted by dtigertron (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Madden 12 can be a lot of fun. There is a lot of real Football in this game. However, most of the time, I feel like I am playing a 3rd person action video game.

When I watch football on the weekend, weather it be Friday, Saturday, or Sunday, I see the same sport. They have minor rules differences, and more skill as you get to the pro level, but as a whole it is the same game.

I feel we will never experience that on a console, unless we are only allowed to control 1 player and we can not move that player before the snap. I would also like a first person camera.

Finally, all football video games have been lacking in one HUGE area. You want to make a realistic football game, this should be where you start ! I will call it dynamic blocking. Any one who watches the O-Line and D-Line knows, that some players can not be blocked by one player. Some guys will even beat 2 players consistently. We need to replicate gaps and double teams on passing downs as well as running downs. I know this madden has double teams on running downs, now lets get players like Suh blowing up double teams on passing downs.

What does this have to do with Madden 12, it is what is lacking in my opinion. We have never had all of this work realistically in any video game, so should we compare it with past maddens, 2k, and back breakers? I don't think that is helpful, I think we need to find what to fix and move on.

Worst of all, is online play. Make people not move until the snap ! That is where most glitches come from!

Things I like about Madden 12

Graphics (I am not an expert, but it doesn't hurt to look at to me)

AI (what ?! Yes, your teammates play much more true to there ratings then ever before! You have to remember, real life players will leave you scratching your heads pretty often too!)

All routes are now usable, in past some were guaranteed to be pic.

Running the ball most realistic blocking and pursuit yet, though pursuit for high rated players needs to be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Madden since 2005

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Madden 12 blows the rest of the Madden games for the current generation of consoles out of the water. Madden 2005 Collectors edition for PS2 was the last good Madden EA made. Madden 06 to 11 were pretty lame, Madden 11 was so lame I stuck with Madden 10 for 2 years waiting for Madden 12 to come out, and it sure was worth the wait. EA has really improved this years edition, in many many ways. This is a MUST BUY game for all Madden fans, and if you can get your hands on the Hall of Fame edition I highly recommend it because you get a couple of extras and you get a "hand signed" Marshal Faulk players card. Very happy to see EA finally improved Madden to the next level. MADDEN 12 ROCKS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A true Football Game

posted by mike1976 (BUFFALO, NY) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I'm going to talk about the thing that i did not like
_________________________________________

Every time you make a catch on the sidelines or in the back of the end zone the officals go and confirm that it was a catch or touchdown to meny times. I Don't have a problem with the two people calling the game but the do the same lines over and over. And yes the grass is 3D but you don't notice it inless they go to a cut sene or you go to replay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lets Talk madden 12

posted by mouse9 (RIALTO, CA) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I absolutely love this game!!!!!! first off i am a madden fan and has brought the game since i was in middle school and still continue to purshace the game every year. This year version is as close to madden 2005 (when Ray Lewis was on the cover, which is considered the best madden ever made) i like the changes they have made for this years madden, the changes are not major but are very noticeable to a gamer that plays every year. Its almost to the point to if you don’t like this years madden with the changes; new tackling system, zone defenses, and the way the game forces the user to be more in control (like making your own tackles; not letting the computer play for you) then i doubt you will ever be a true fan of the series..... this is as real as it get, I honestly cant wait till madden 13 to see what changes or tweaks the madden team makes for next years madden game... playstation 3 gamer tag CAREER-ENDA9 add me.. my record is 20-3 online so far

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game sucked

posted by MrPro (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

EA has totally lost it. This was the worse Madden I've played since like 98. The graphics were awesome, but that's about it. They should improve gameplay and features or stop making games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

madden 12 bunk

posted by mw2995 (MINOOKA, IL) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i will not get this game until madden 13 comes out this is bunk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse