Rent Madden NFL 12 for PS3
view large frontback

Madden NFL 12

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.7

3115 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE GAME

posted by bangstiks1985 (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

THIS GAME IS NO DIFFERENT FROM MADDEN 11, 10, 09, ECT.....PLEASE LET 2K TAKE OVER THE NFL GAME DEVELOPMENT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madden 12 Sucks

posted by buumoj2 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

Madden 12 Sucks! EA promised all these new features and not a single one of them worked, not to mention the game is very glitchy and unrealistic. Extra players, wonderful but you can't develop them on a practice squad so it is just a waste of time. Player roles? it didn't work the first time and it didn't work this time, it just makes the players worse at football, or makes it unfair for the defense covering them.

Things that need to be fixed:
1. Add practice squads to develop players
2. Work on your animation it looks like ps2 graphics at best.
3. The chain animation prevent it from working as a football game, if I have one player who breaks a tackle there is one way he can do it and only one way the player reacts, these things are the same as madden 95, they don't look realistic at all, this game is really just awful you need something better than chain animation because every game plays the same, my FB will always miss the same tackle on the same linebacker when there is no one else for him to block.
4. Presentation, seriously there is none, no pregame, halftime or postgame, they are lame and if they do exist to repetitive to watch.
5. Commentary, this is awful even when you change commentators they still have nothing to say, how about you just use all the recorded broadcasts from a year of real football and adapt them to your game.
6. every year either the DB's or WR are incapable of covering or getting open.

SO in closing, this game has gone majorly downhill to the point where it is not worth buying anymore because it barely offers a challenge and even if it does it is because the players are not reacting correctly and glitching five yards to make an impossible tackle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

madden 12

posted by shorts_t (MAGNOLIA, DE) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

i turned this in but it still have it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Big let down.

posted by boobearkittie (SURPRISE, AZ) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I have been a Madden fan for years, and sadly haven't rented or played one since probably 09, so being the fan I was you could see my anticipation for playing this game since I had gotten my gamefly account. Sadly though, I was let down in every way.

Normally I would begin with the pro's of the game but in this case i don't feel like wasting the one sentence I would have to think 20 minutes to get. I remember a game where you could create characters and import them to your favorite team to play seasons with. When I heard you could create a whole team, i got all excited and put this game in my #1 slot in my GF Q. It wasn't till I recieved the game that I found out that there is no season mode anymore. They mixxed the franchise mode where you could only control your teams off field actions with season mode, and I still can not figure out how to get my toon onto my created team. I don;t know if they had just added so many options in the last few years that I missed a piece i needed or if you just can't. Either way, I am lost in this game and can not just set up a simple season to play and it is very aggravating. I must have spent at least 4 hours just trying to figure out what game modes are what and what you can do on each.

I have been playing this game for 2 days and about 12 hours and still have no idea how to get a created player on a team to play with for anything other than an exhibition game.

That being said, the gameplay is horrible. I would pull out the pocket as a QB and stand still and throw to a guy and not even throw anywhere near where he was standing. I broke a controller while playing this game cuz it was so random how your passes would play out.

When I rented this game I had the illusion that i could create a few players to represent me and my friends i play flag football with and have them on my team to do a few seasons with and collects some stats. Turns out that this is not applicable to this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

madden 2012

posted by upset_user (TRENTON, MO) Jan 13, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

i just recieved this game after a 2 week wait. i insert the disk and it reads unable to play. ...... be careful about these games cause you are paying money for playable games and some wont. this is my second game outta 5 that wont play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth the money

posted by bamaisme (long beach, ca) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Ok football fans madden will never improve period because they don't have competition and we as ppl will keep buying... we want that sport the most i give it a 1 rating because there's nothing different in this game but tackling they say they listened to fans well i think they were the wrong ones to listen too... the only reason i play the game to try out sliders setting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game

posted by isaacaz (EL CAJON, CA) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game madden 12 never was delivered to my house only one of the two games was delivered to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

madden 12 bunk

posted by mw2995 (MINOOKA, IL) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i will not get this game until madden 13 comes out this is bunk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Wasted $60

posted by cglabb (Bristol, Ct) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Last year was waaaaayyy more tolerable in respect to scouting, drafting and smooth game play. What the heck is up with the camera spacing out when you have a play on the sideline? The action is choppy at best and the commentary was phoned in and rehashed to DEATH! Where's the originality that justifies the spent money. Somewhere someone is laughing their butts off all the way to the bank for a half baked product. Maybe Ubisoft or Rockstar can come up with a better offering. Good luck, maybe next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

EA Retire From Football

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 12, 2012

Member since Sep 2006

I have been a Madden fan for I don't know how long. I have wasted lots of money paying 60 dollars for this garbage each year. They take our money and give us the same game with updated rosters. This game flat out is awful. The defenders don't guard, the game is pre-determined before you even start and if you don't get the early start you lose. Throw a bad pick games over. Playing the CPU is just as awful they are slow and if you play on all madden like I do it's unreal how fake one game can be. You get sacked or hit everytime and running the ball a complete joke.

Overall game sucks they take our money each year and is worse with every year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Madden 11 all over again

posted by GameCritic101 (MORGANTON, NC) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Exactly the same as madden 11

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game sucked

posted by MrPro (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

EA has totally lost it. This was the worse Madden I've played since like 98. The graphics were awesome, but that's about it. They should improve gameplay and features or stop making games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

An Awful game that's a downgrade from Madden 11

posted by LTS55 (TOPEKA, KS) May 17, 2012

Member since May 2011

Madden 12 is truly innovative. EA Sports shows us how innovative they can be in being poor developers. The game is a huge downgrade from Madden NFL 11, which was pretty solid. Of the 'new features' included, the most striking one was upgraded grass models for stadiums. Yeah, individual blades of grass. The other ones, an expanded 75 team off season roster and working IR (two things that I can't believe it took 22 editions of Madden before being a feature) aren't that great.

75 team off season roster is negated by the fact that you don't get to fill the roster with extra guys. the AI automatically fills it with pre-generated (read, not representative of real people) players, most of which are rated in the 30-50's overall. So when cut day comes, you'd be an idiot to keep any of them, since they suck so much. Plus, without a practice squad feature (a feature that's been in Madden 12 for PSP for 4 years now), expanded rosters are pretty much worthless.

A working IR is finally here (in previous games, you could place a player on IR, forcing them out for the season, but they still counted towards the roster space, unlike in the real NFL, where they don't), and it's underwhelming. A poor interface just slaps an IR logo in them instead of removing them from your depth chart, etc.

The commentary isn't as bad as previous games, mostly because it's almost non-existent. I didn't even know the game had commentary until the announcers randomly started talking in the 3rd quarter of a game.

There are a huge amount of small-to medium size glitches & bugs that have been in Madden for years that I hoped they would have figured out by now, but of course, they all remain.

PROS:
-Presentation is upgraded, giving the game a more life-like feel
-the grass detail looks good, you can see individual blades, and graphics have been updated.
-a working injured reserve in Franchise mode

CONS:
-Many glitches left unfixed from last year
-a few new features practically wort

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good and really BAD

posted by ishKiia (LODI, CA) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game seems to have a lot of depth and potential, though I wouldn't know really how to get there! I love NFL football, I totally understand the game and the ins-and-outs of the game.

That being said, this game assumes you know the interface and know how to play the game! Where the heck is the tutorials? It was like walking into a room full of PHDs and me being a 2 year old. Sure I figured out quite a bit but what a let-down!

Very BAD business to not take care of people learning out to use the software you create. I had planned on buying the game because I love football, but no way now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Can someone please challenge EA?!!!!

posted by arod2222 (ROSEAU, MN) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

they aren't even trying anymore. it's the same steaming pile polished up year after year. they add a few animations and box it up. terrible voice work. after the first two games i wanted to strangle chris collinsworth. just terrible. if ea isn't going to put a decent product out will someone PLEASE challenge them. their exclusive contract has got to be ending soon. PLEASE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Madden 12 Is Wack !!!

posted by solidbrown57 (SAN PEDRO, CA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Madden is a BIG let-down. "free agent bidding" is cool. Commentary in SuperStar mode is wack, need more and better commentary. A SuperStar can be traded to any team that the Superstar wants to go to if he dont like his current team. Game menu, is hard to use and confusing. Coaches Challenge mode is wack, camera angles dont show you what your Challenge is about and the replay don't show you anything that was challenged. Dont rent the game, its not worth the rental. NBA 2K12 is a much, much better pick if you like sports games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Madden 12 (EA Drops the ball yet again)

posted by ManiaC00L (WHITE HAVEN, PA) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

With the capabilities of the PS3 and X360 YOU WOULD EXPECT to see a monumental accomplishment of smooth game play with a new fresh unique style.. Well it's a new and unique alright but as far as organized and enjoyable good luck. The controls once you spend the first month mastering them are a complete let down. The graphics remind me of something out of the Dreamcast era and don't even get me started on the commentary. They get about 2 out of three calls right literally. By far EA's worst but somehow most highly acclaimed release. I was thoroughly disappointed and have decided to boycott EA games. This abysmal release along with the fact that they have the audacity to make you purchase their titles to get online enabled has done me in for good on there entire Madden Franchise. It's completely ridiculous that a team of game designers who specifically handle Madden each year can't get it right.. I mean come on guys your loosing so much support that's why you invested so much into the release of this year's trash because you new people would be weary and we we're right to be.. Please please please for the love of god...... someone out there (who actually cares about FOOTBALL and not greed) start designing sports games. Specifically Football and compete with the conglomerate monopoly that has become EA Sports.
Save your money. I seriously enjoyed Madden 11 for PS2 10x more then this garbage for PS3..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WTFeezie!

posted by gamerboy510 (LIVERMORE, CA) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Garbage! No updated rosters, just like playing last year version, no autosave, and a plethora of glitches. I really can't stand this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Failure on PS3... badly

posted by alin0s (PALATINE, IL) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Madden NFL 2012 by EA… Well, it's not what I expected… This game Fails miserably unlike the Madden Franchise I used to play on my good old purple Gamecube.

This game fails on epic proportion because of its Gameplay and high Frustration issues, only someone who has hours to memorize the control sets will be able to play this game worth any entertainment value that will last more than 2 hours. Yes that's two hors and its back in the envelope to be mailed back.

Graphics are really awesome, in fact my father walked in and asked me how are the chargers playing during off season, and how did you get practice video footage did you buy the all access package from comcast!?!??! and I told him it was a VIDEO GAME. That just shows you the graphics are TV realistic.

Gameplay is difficult but super realistic and simulation like, if you will appreciate memorizing play books and actually playing out the game as it is supposed to be then you will enjoy this but if your looking for an arcadeish feeling game that you can just pick up and play automatically, forget it, this is not your average arcade thrill of football. Don't get me started on how Madden for the Gamecube was 10 times better in terms of controls, it just was. EA has since then resorted to ruining the controls for the game, oh well back in the mail you go!

Frustration is insanely high as you fight the controls and fight the other team there is no tutorial or anything.

Overall this game gets a 5 I am not going to slam it's rating to horrendous level but still. EA what were you thinking making 5 different controller mappings and not including a tutorial!?! The graphics are great but the game… Not so great. Oh well so is the day that I mail this back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

You'll want to read this!

posted by boogieman833 (SPRINGDALE, AR) May 30, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

Now that I've got your attention, I'm so sick of Madden games. It's the same thing in all of em, and them greedy bastards bought all the rights so I HAVE to play Madden to get my NFL fix. About the game: The rookie scouting in Franchise is confusing, The superstar mode is pointless and very boring. The announcers repeat themselves frequent and there is a replay after every play, big or not. The one thing I was looking forward too - official team entrances - are not what they could have been. In fact, I watch it once from each team and can't bring my self to watch em again. The dumb PA announcer will even introduce the wrong player in Franchise mode if it's not who you started with. EXAMPLE: If you get rid of Peyton Manning and draft a new QB, the PA announces the new guy as Manning. The only thing positive about this game for me, was the fact that it is NOT Madden 11. I'll just continue playing Madden 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NOT GOOD

posted by S_R (LOVES PARK, IL) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Madden 12 is a big disappointment. With the exception of slightly better graphics the game falls short compared to Madden 11. I have a feeling that its more arcade type football. I will be playing Madden 11 untill Madden 13 is out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Madden 2012

posted by alritedare23 (SYOSSET, NY) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game is a good game, the one flaw is that it does not come with an EA sports code so you can only play online for a 2 day trial period unless you want to spend 10 dollars to buy a pass. I feel that Gamefly should have something worked out with EA Sports because most of the people rent this game to play against friends or randoms via the Online services. This was a major flaw, i kept the game for the 2 day trial period and returned it after since there was no code that I could use. I would not recommend renting if your main purpose is for online bc you will be restricted of those privileges after 48 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh!!

posted by langleytrinity (LYNNWOOD, WA) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game doesn't cater to the casual gamer who plays sports games on occasion. Maybe a four vs four mode or some other alternative game mode or a situational training mode to help newer players understand the strategy of the game would give this game more play time. I haven't played the series in awhile and upon renting it i felt like it was a bunch of the same issues from past instalments. Rent it play a game or two and send it back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Even Worth a Rental

posted by BCouey (MONTGOMERY, TX) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

12 out of 16 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Like many people I have been a Madden fan for years, I've purchased most of the titles, thankfully this year I decided to rent Madden 12 from Gamefly. This year's title is a huge let-down, not for the new additions to the game such as the cut days and free agent bidding, but for the parts of the game that need attention. The commentary may be a small part of a huge game, but honestly play a few games with the same team and you'll quickly find that the opening statements by Chris Collinsworth are the same each and every game, by the end of the season you'll probably even have it memorized. Since when is EVERY team a great match-up, and every home stadium one of the most difficult places for away teams to win? Yes even the Chiefs versus the Packers, a great match-up. Issues far more pertinent than the commentary though, the franchise mode menus, why can't they make a user-friendly menu? Every time you close a menu it returns you to your game of the week, which is aggravating when all you want to do is make some trades, look up several stats, or manage your team. The system for Coaches' Challenges needs assistance, regardless of what fact is being challenged(options would be a nice upgrade too) the camera angles showing the replay often don't show you anything, or cut off the part of the play being challenged. As with most Madden games the best part truly is the game-play, which is the only portion of this game worth a decent rating. This game is not worth the rental if you own previous versions of Madden, and even if you don't you may just be better off picking something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse