Rent Madden NFL 12 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Madden NFL 12

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $12.99

Also on:PS2, PSP Games, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
7.7

5015 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Up To Par (Yet)

posted by washamur1 (MIDLAND, TX) Sep 3, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

37 out of 39 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

First and foremost, yes Madden 12 is better than last years installment.

Graphically, it is FAR superior to anything done to date. The presentation almost has the feel of a TV broadcast.

However, the commentary absolutely kills that experience. This area needs to be completely reworked, and possibly some new voices / talent brought in.

On top of that, evidently testers didn't do their job. From the Tennessee Titans actually being called the "New York Titans" ... to commentators not even saying a players name ... and worst yet, every single pregame discussion is about the visiting team having a hard time playing away from home.

One of the worst bugs however, and possibly a game killer has to be the fact that, yes you can import your draft class ... however, Madden 12 doesn't show your class. It makes up names and players completely. Draft Class Importing is completely broke.

Granted, a lot of this stuff can and hopefully will be fixed with patches ... but why do we have to wait? Shouldn't this stuff work right out of the package? It is getting a bit tiresome ... a company makes a game with flaws KNOWING they can just fix it later with updates / patches.

I'm not surprised at EA ... they're getting their money. But they have a LOT to fix before this installment gets any higher of a ranking from myself and many others that feels the same way.

If you do some searching around and adjust your sliders to your liking ... there is an enjoyable NFL game to play here. Somewhere ....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

How???

posted by chemicalss (BAYONNE, NJ) May 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

How does a game developed over years and years actually get worse???

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the game we were promised...yet again

posted by Morty (E DUMMERSTON, VT) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

OK, let me start off by saying that this game is good but NOT great. The mechanics, game play, some of the presentation, and general feel are really great. I am not sure they can really refine the mechanics any more than they have (except for the blocking...why is my guy trying to race the defender rather than block him?). Even with the decent upgrades in overall feel of the game, the developers still missed the mark on the franchise mode and overall feel of the game. Franchise is STILL really shallow and, well to be frank, boring. Whether I play the season out or not, I do not see any difference in their rating, thus begging the question "why put in all that time in the games?". Plus, the scouting is still really poorly handled. I am fairly certain that every GM in the league knows every single minor and major detail their is to know about a player, especially if it can be measured, timed, or gauged. Sure, the potential rating is always a guessing game (to some degree) but everything else? Come on! I shouldn't have to unlock someone's 40 time. Plus, well, the draft and off season just simply do not measure up to the high bar set by Head Coach 09'. Yep, that's right, I said 09'. A game with its fair share of flaws seemed to have captured the look, feel, excitement, and energy of the NFL off season better than Madden has to date. The menus were better, the feel was better, the drafting was better, the freaking commentary was way better. and it made me feel like a real head coach/gm. Oh, and don't let me forget that god awful commentary in this game. Wow, do those guys actually get paid to do that? Where do I sign up?! Maybe EA knows they can just cash in at this point and don't really care. After all, who can blame them? We are sheep's being lead to our own slaughter.

Overall: C- for poor commentary, lame menus, poor in game blocking, poorly done draft/off season, and lame contract signings (no real control).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Have die-hard football fans played this?

posted by TygerWolf (MERRITT ISLAND, FL) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

All the reviews I keep seeing say how great the improvements are, well for one yes, they did improve the defense, for example a Defensive Back will actually track down the ball in the air, a Linebacker will play the run more diligently, the problem is it seems as if these defensive improvements, have come at the cost to the offense, receivers don't track down the ball anymore, they just put their hands up and hope the ball comes to them, if their is a defensive player in the way of their route, they will run around them, instead of trying to get in front of them, if an Offensive lineman misses a block they stand there, instead of trying to get in front of the guy he missed, or help another guy, they stand there. EA said they put a better emphasis on player ratings, and player's playing closer to the ratings, I don't see it, for example, Colt McCoy, who is rated as a fairly accurate QB with a lesser throwing power, constantly overthrows receivers by a far. In all, some of the improvements are nice, but the fact that the improvements had to cost the offense is pathetic and thus, as a real football fan, and former lover of madden, this game get's a lower rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Recycling..great for the environment, bad for EA

posted by dalion82 (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

It's the same game and has been since they cornered the market. Not to mention that the rosters aren't accurate (thanks lockout) and if I didn't mention it.... NOTHING HAS CHANGED. I understand that EA has exclusive rights to the NFL but that doesn't mean that you don't have to try and make a better game each year. This is the reason that NBA 2K and Live series get better every year...they have competition. When all you have to compete against is "Blitz: The league" and "Backbreaker football" I can see why you'd get a little complacent. I used to love when Madden came out and was inovative (widow pane passing all the way to the hit stick) but now it's as boring as waiting for Al Davis to die so the Raiders can be relevant again. Come on EA you do preety well with NCAA (loved NCAA12) but fall shorter than Darren Sproles when it comes to the NFL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Big Disappointment

posted by mygosh123 (MCKINNEY, TX) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

hey I'm Michael i played madden for years now, but this madden i was told was going to be the best game of the year but it wasn't. my favorite thing was to do is play NFL Superstar that was awesome back in madden 2007-2010 it got worse as the years went by, i used to love it because in madden 2007 u got to pick your parents got an apartment when you did good you got sponsor's,more agents and bigger and better houses, now its like whatever its boring. another thing is when you create a team they kept the same team logos boring and they don't even say the team name, like for instance if i picked hawks thats a common name right but instead they say home team that sucks no fun for anybody,Don'tnt get me wrong its still fun to play because its new rosters new players new stadiums but overall same game. Graphics real good scored to me about 8.5 out of 10 Max Overall Game 7.5 out of 10
Theres alot room for effort. i think they could done alot better with this thdidn'tdnt take as much time just to add tLittletle things so theres inputput hope you liked, sorry Madden Fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WASTE OF TIME

posted by youngwild17 (COLUMBUS, GA) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is the same every year.. The only difference i see is the entrances and roster updates.. oh wait you have to pay for that and be able to play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Waste of time

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 2, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I'm going to talk the good and don't blink it's fast. Graphically it's improved, by a teensy tiny margin over last year. They got rid of some of the options and added pointless options. Just so they can say it's new and improved graphics.

Now for the bad. When you are just playing, kicks are side view. Think old arcade game called Tecmo Bowl and that is kick offs without the fun. So moving on to to the indepth improved game play. When you do the legend/superstar/whatever the heck they want to call it this year mode and pick defense. You are not able to just wander around and do it like you want, you follow the arrow. You don't always get to go your own way even when you are pushing on the stick. Things will happen to you no matter what you do so the AI is still deciding everything.

This is not a game of player skill or screwing up, this is a game of trying to do something and the Ai saying yes or no. Offensively it's really not all that much better, though at least you don't just follow the arrow. Not that it matters, the coach you have is a complete moron and rarely says anything useful. Your offensive line can't block most of the time. Yet when you are doing defense it's rare for them to not block quite well. Anything you didn't like in last years, is in this years. I don't even know why they keep upping the number on the game, it's the same game as five years ago. Seriously, think of something bad five years ago and it's in this game, just hidden a little tiny bit better.

EA isn't updating the game, they update the roster and alter small things to call it a new game. They then demand the 60 and want you to spend even more money online. They aren't game designers, they are closer to blackmailers. Think about it for a minute. Don't rent, don't buy just ignore football games for a few years until EA says we give up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Same game from last year

posted by Ricangamer (BRONX, NY) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Played it for one day and it was enough to send it right back , This game is just Madden 11 with better graphical and alot of more bug and glitch

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Same Every Year.

posted by Specials (LEVITTOWN, NY) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its a good game but they never change anything. The only difference with 2011 is the menu music and the camera views. Nothing really special. But if your a franchise guy that doesn't play online allot then rent it because they have allot new features in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What a waste of anticipation

posted by HoustonTexans (MISSOURI CITY, TX) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was a serious let down, of course the madden series is great, but then when our options are limited to just madden i can see why. Dont get me wrong though this is a good game, however as far as making the game better is a joke. The interactivity in franchise mode and superstar is mediocre. i just dont like the fact that they hyped up this game so much like it was gonna be so much more awesome than before. i played franchise and superstar and already drained the fun out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring sorry but it is

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2003

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Think most of these reviews on here are Fanboys,, Madden 2012 looks great . but it plays out the same as last year'' maybe the ground game is a little better but everything else seems the same. Worth a Rent are 20 bucks but full price noo way'' Sorry Fanboys Madden football is getting old its the truth sorry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sad day in Madden history...

posted by Playmakers (JUPITER, FL) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The Madden game besides look and feel has gotten worse over the years! I don't recall what year, might be 2009 had the best franchise mode. As the years pass franchise mode has gotten worse. I get it, I could always get head coach but for me Franchise mode on Madden was the bomb! Franchise mode has just gotten less involved and boring! And Ultimate Team has gotten much much more play! Why?? Cause you have to pay to play! They make tons, hand over fist on Ultimate. So in reality, EA with Madden(no competition, whole 'nother topic) made it about money and not the Madden as we may know it! I know people that dumped thousands into that ultimate mode and were salivating at the mouth for 2012!! Stupid? Yes! Waste of Money? stupid money! I know there will always be people that don't like the game and some that love it. Over the years, I have fallen out of love with Madden and no longer care to play! Thanks to all the reviews that had my same sentiments. For this reason, I am not buying the game! Or even renting it! Just removed from my Q.
Please send me NCAA 12, hear that's a much better game! Seriously, please I just moved it up to #1.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Expected something as good as NCAA 12.. nope.

posted by Piratespee (HOOD RIVER, OR) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Going from NCAA 11/12 to Madden 12 was disappointing.

The announcers are awful, often saying inappropriate things based on what is going on in the game. Many times I've been in the end-zone and they're talking about a 'big gain,' or something equal miss. Collinsworth's commentary is too generic and applies it to too many players.

Also, the in-game controls are confusing. I would have thought they would be very similar to NCAA 12, but there are more menus to go through at the line, which causes too much delay.

The difficulty was off, too. I can beat very good teams handily, and most of the time 0 them on defense.

Franchise mode is confusing and non-straightforward. The system of potential and cuts in pre-season could be more clear.

Overall, very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

New engine= new gameplay

posted by Shogun456 (Atlanta, GA) Sep 3, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The game play is totally different from last year's edition of madden.

Passing is stupid and unless the QB youre playing with has a 90 n up rating on short, mid, n long accuracy, your pass is going to end up on the opposite side of the field from the intended receiver.

If you plan on throwing it, push the button 2 secs before you want to or else you will get sacked or your receiver will not be open (regardless of how open he looks).

The running feels more free.
The kicking meter is stupid. Its been made to see how lucky you can get kicking a 47 yarder with 6 mph winds blowing against you. Youre probably better off going for it (4th n 25?).

Playing as a defensive linemen is probably the hardest thing to do unless youve already mastered how to use them. It really plays to how each linemen is in reality. So Freeney will make your tackle look stupid with his spin move, while Suh blows up the middle with his power.

New addition in franchise mode, superstar, and ultimate team is a major plus.

All in all the game is still the game. 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

!! EA HAS REDEEMED ITSELf !!

posted by python650 (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For at least most of you renting this (already have my copy), your either going to keep this or "loose" it.

the graphics has gotten better, animations are great and makes more sense than last year. UI is much better now, last year it was sluggish and a bit glitchy. Now it is really smooth, and the UI is much more attractive compared to last year where it seemed a bit hurried. The songs as usual is still great and well balanced.

The feature that makes this the best madden ever is the custom playbook option. I was so psyched on how you can form your playbook to how you uniquely play, which was very satisfying.

Pros:
-Animation (tackles, break tackles, inters...etc) are much refined compared to last year.
-Past features helped Madden's redemption.

Cons: Haven't play thoroughly enough to state any thing significantly bad. I'm a sports nut and will let the "hardcore" gamers who cares about graphics and discreet issues to post em.

Other than that I'm satisfied and hope they make a better one next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SO Sluggish

posted by theBOOT (NEWLLANO, LA) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is a cool game because its madden but it is just so sluggish EA just seems to care about everything but the game play these days...Juts a rent nothing else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW.

posted by GameFlyAllStar1 (HOLLY, MI) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

9 out of 22 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

For all those sports fans that got tired of the Madden games because of the same old boring gameplay, here's 3 words for you: RENT THIS GAME, because the Madden franchise has just redeemed itself. With the all new collision system, a new and improved Gameflow System and the best graphics of all time, You might just fall in love with Madden again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Your Crazy not to be this...

posted by shawnscott15 (HARVEY, LA) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Madden NFL 12 is one of the best maddens in the entire series i rememeber play madden 2001-2007 and for someone to say this one sucks its just unexceptable if you were a true madden fan you'd know i bet the people with the bad reviews are just people that dont know how to properly execute the controls of the game.. or they just suck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

:|

posted by FailNet (INMAN, SC) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

not the game that needs a 1 gamefly or mail needs a 1.. or 0 cause it was mailed out last friday still dont got it :\

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Madden 2012

posted by travelboy1 (BRANDAMORE, PA) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I did really like the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a waste of time great game

posted by raider117 (TEMECULA, CA) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I can't believe you people, this is a great game and you want to kill it because "it looks the same" and the "commentary sucks". Are you serious??? Number one, if you want it to be different tell EA!! They can't read your minds people!!! It's a football game not halo! How else is it gonna be even better than it is! What do you want, Peyton manning to pull out an Uzi and shoot Tom Brady? For the commentary, if you don't like it there is an option to turn it off or at least lower their talk time. I love this game, the realistic feel, polished look, and much more. Also, if you want the turbo button stop being lazy because if you actually look you can turn it on. This is an awesome game and If you wanna play online pay the measly ten dollars or just go buy the game because it is well worth it for an avid football fan like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by MikeinVT (RUTLAND, VT) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Worst Madden game yet. It seem the people at EA don't have a clue what they are doing with this franchise anymore the game just gets worse every year!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome

posted by Jayvonne (BRONX, NY) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

8 out of 29 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

So Good Rent Or Buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Yet

posted by CRCardo (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

This is easily the best Madden/football game EVER.

Its got it all, the front end, the graphics, physics, good controls EVERYTHING. Plus they seriously updated the Franchise Mode, well worth a buy. Gonna be playing this one till next august 20th.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse