Rent Madden NFL 11 for PS3
view large frontback

Madden NFL 11

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

3682 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A true review from a true gamer

posted by RayD13 (TEMECULA, CA) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok first of all i see a lot of reviews on here that are the same.." its to hard the game is horrible cant play" or like this too "the play calling system calls awful plays" well dont play the game if you dont know how to play.. this game is made for the true gamers not little girls who complain about games they cant play other than call of duty or battlefield. madden gets better each year and this madden is the best of them all, its got killer graphics the gameplay is very smooth and realistic and you can also choose to have the computer call the plays for you which i do use sometimes and there very effective plays, only thing i dont like is online gameply its to laggy and glitchy and i cant even finish a game cuz the other player backs out of it.. also to those who dont like the playcallling system or the auto sprint you can take them off in the options menu, duhhh! play this game guys its the best madden yet. see you on the field!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tried to like it...

posted by teler2 (ELMENDORF AFB, AK) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

22 out of 31 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I buy madden every year. Dont' know why, haven't liked one since '02 or something...

This year boasts a "new" play-calling system to improve the flow of the game. Basically you press "x" and the computer calls you a play. Not really new, considering the computer has been calling your plays in Superstar mode for years...and the "Ask Madden" feature serves roughly the same purpose. Biggest problem with letting the computer call your plays is, well, it calls awful plays.

Superstar mode is almost entirely unchanged this year. Franchise mode continues to get worse every year it seems. Miss the old days when you actually controlled things like, how much your charging for popcorn in your stadium. Long gone. Only boring remains. This year's offers little in the ways of ownership responsibilities, if any.

Difficulty settings still driving me crazy on this year's madden. Pro is too easy, All-Pro--not so much. All-Madden is out of the question. Is it feasible to create a "realistic" difficulty setting, where everything kinda happens the way it's supposed to? No 12 interceptions in the first half which I may have done the first time I tried playing All-Madden mode....Just saying...I'd like everything to act the way it SHOULD.

New online feature this year is "Ultimate Team." Idea is kinda cool, you buy packs of cards containing players that you assemble into a team, which you compete with against other players. Unfortunately, I tend to experience freezes and crashes after completing games, but before, apparently, they award any credit for playing the game. So no coins, no evidence you played the game at all. Which brings me to the coins--there aren't enough of them. It's tough to keep your team going. But fear not, EA has your solution. Cash-money for coins, for your convenience. Topping out at $49.99 for 200,000 coins. Greedy much?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same old, Same old.

posted by wytebud (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

22 out of 32 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This is pretty much the exact same game as last years. They changed VERY LITTLE. Except now apparently they don't want you choosing the plays anymore. I already know that the computer likes to cheat when playing on all-madden or my skill level. Which is actually harder than all madden. And now that cheating computer gets to choose my plays? No thanks! I'll stick with conventional play calling.
Graphics look a little better. Really I'm just stoked to be playing as Tim Tebow. Sure it's the same madden as last year, but they've always done that. Make you think you're getting a different game when they should just update the roster on last years so we can all keep playing without buying the new Madden.
Play calling gets mixed up a little. Now there's a guy who sounds like an announcer but he tries too much. And the things he says are the same thing the announcers said last year.
I get Madden every year and this year I don't know if I'll buy it or not. They need to throw workouts back in franchise mode so it seems like there's a purpose to the off-season.
There should be a better updating roster and music support. It would be nice to see more single player game modes too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What the...

posted by Hadouken81 (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I didn't play last year's Madden, so I was surprised to see they stripped down the franchise & superstar modes. I have no interest in playing this online, so all I can say is I'm glad I got this from Gamefly and didn't actually buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another head scratcher

posted by bmyze316 (WATERVLIET, NY) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

31 out of 50 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

As a hard core Madden fanatic I am extremely disappointed with this piece of garbage. I only rate it a 1 to counteract the IDIOTS that give this an 8,9, or 10. My real rating would be a 5 or 6.

Where is the my music option that is available in NHL2010? That game is EA as well, there is no excuse for this. It is the year 2010 now and I still can't put my own music in the game, completely MIND BOGGLING.

NCAA has a great no huddle feature, when you run no huddle your plays pop up on the screen allowing you to have access to your whole playbook just like in the real game. But for some weird reason this AWESOME feature is totally missing in Madden. Instead you have about 4 or 5 choices of plays and your opponent if your playing on the same system can see exactly what you pick. My highschool football team had more play options during the hurry up than the NFL teams on Madden, WHY?

The strategy pad is an absolute FAIL. Instead of pressing triangle, L1, or L2 for hot routes, Line audibles, etc. they have added another 2 steps to this process making it harder to make quick pre-play adjustments before the snap. Even after the experienced Madden player gets used to this they have still added 2 more steps no matter how you look at it. Plus EA has made it hard to get used to both NCAA and Madden, not exactly a great business model.

The menus once again are SLOW. We want fast menus that change with a quick tap of the L2 or L1. we do not want to hold the L2 then press down to get to the position in the depth chart, VERY annoying but this problem is not specific to this years madden it has existed ever since the conversion to PS3/360.

dropped i.n.t.'s, horrible zone coverage, messed up ratings, and many other problems i could name. The Madden for PS2 that had QB vision remains the best Madden ever. Complex, hard on All Madden and making the qb actually look where he is passing. but maybe the elementary school kids will have fun with this SIMPLE madden. adults
stick w/NCAA

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I was hopeing for a little more :(

posted by DarkBishop (STERLING, VA) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2004

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Like many, I am a huge fan of the Madden series. This installment of the game is awesome in its own way but veteran players will find these new features/options annoying. Lets start with Game Flow. If you are new to the game this will be an incredible feature, something that no other football game offers, however if you are a veteran of the series it will just frustrate you. Veterans of the series should be able to quickly navigate through the options and disable this feature like I did upon starting the game, I knew upfront I would not like this feature. Considering that Game Flow is new technology, it should be given a chance to mature into something everyone will appreciate.

Next is the Auto Turbo and Auto Strafe feature. If you are new to the game this feature when turned on will allow a more enjoyable experience when playing. For veterans, just turn the darn thing off.

Visually the game is outstanding, the graphics could not have been better. Veterans of the game will wish EA had spent a little more time focusing on game play rather than making it pretty.

The addition of Gus Johnson to commentate is questionable, he can get a little annoying at times for both new players and veterans.

Where to start with game play, this installment was definitely designed for the casual player. It seems that every skill level was lowered to make the game more enjoyable for the casual player. I am in no way a great Madden player but I should not have to increase the skill level to All Madden to be challenged. In earlier installments the Pro level was fun and challenging. Now on Pro, I consistently beat the computer with an average score of 67 to 10. Considering this even a new player will find this boring after a franchise year. Also many aspects of the game seem to run a little slower than usual i.e. menus, play calling and game play.

There is a lot more to rant about but no characters left. I can't comment on online play because I don't do much of it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

they dont care

posted by LarsLuzak (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

madden 10 was actually better. the whole time im playing madden 11 it feels like its one long animation it goes so slow. everything is slow,play calling, animations, oh and thanks for taking away speed burst. thats what the game really needed...less control. ncaa 11 is miles ahead of this game. trust me if u r thinking of getting a football game get ncaa.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't be fooled!!

posted by JoshBols (AUBURN, CA) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I am a hardcore EA gamer. I have loved all their titles dating way back from the super nintendo. But trust me... So far all the '11 titles SUCK. EA sports has gotten rid of all the features we have grown to love over the years. You have to pay for online play?!? WHAT IS THAT?? The headset feature they are pushing on this madden...YOU CANT USE IT ON TWO PLAYER??? So what is the point of having this?? Do yourself a favor...get this as a rental, DON'T pay the extra for the ea online code. And after you're done with it (it will only take a few days) just retrun it. Stick with the EA '10 games...trust me you will be MUCH better off

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weakest madden ever

posted by grizzle (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Get this game for your 5 year old son. The gameplay is super dumbed down, and super slow (with constant useless highlights that makes the playcalling screen come up slow. They try to take away your ability to call plays, use TURBO, and strafe. How does the computer know when i want to strafe or turn around and run, let alone when I want to burst to hit a hole.

They did nothing to the Franchise mode - very disappointing

Didnt incorporate the NCAA playcalling scheme. Could be the best advancement in football games within the last 5 years. Just left out.

Bad Music. I dont want to hear a bunch of classic rock. Its like they made this game for under 10 and over 50, WHAT ABOUT THE HARDCORE GAMERS, EA SPORTS? They have forgotten us.

They even overhauled the pre snap adjustments. I would say great job, but they added more steps in most cases. If you have played this game in years past, your "madden instincts" will actually hinder your performance. No longer can a 10 year madden vet mash buttons pre snap without even thinking, instead you have to bring up menus and show your opponent the audibles you have to choose from.

I never like NCAA over madden, but I have to say, if you want a real football game get NCAA college football... or stick to last years madden.

I gave it a 4 because the graphics are quite impressive. But who cares? Give me great gameplay with responsive feel and I dont care what the players look like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

garbage

posted by BallzyDAN (PALM BAY, FL) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is complete garbage.. Same as last year with about 4 exceptions that don't even matter, they put another 20 hours in to the game outside the roster and try to sell it for $60. I hope really bad things happen to these people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

not bad.

posted by novaf150 (SPRINGFIELD, TN) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

very good game, i love the gameflow option, the graphics are great, and the gameplay and controls are fairly easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

nfl 11

posted by ch9246 (BUFFALO, NY) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it a very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

eh

posted by deebs12 (CROSS PLAINS, WI) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

awesome game like always but disc was scratched......... sweet........ almost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

dmccloud

posted by dmccloud (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is sooooooooo! awsome and realistic. I mean these graphics are cool. And its like you are there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Madden Junkie thinks Madden 11 is Junk

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2005

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

To begin with, I started a new franchise mode and the dates for the games are wrong, not accurate with the NFL's official schedule. EA has not improved a thing in Madden 11, I'd say the Madden progress that we have seen in recent years has regressed and Madden 11 is just another ploy to display shotty advertising schemes in-game. I want a real Madden game again, a game about FOOTBALL, not this corporate BS we get today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sick of the haters

posted by jmdaddy (PLYMOUTH, OH) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

anyone who gave this game a 1 is absolutely ridiculous. a score of 1 is reserved for only the worst of the worst and say what you want, but this year's Madden IS improved from last years game and is actually pretty awesome. Anyone complaining about gameflow has obviously never played the freaking game - its OPTIONAL!!!!!! press square and pick your plays like always and shut up. and if you dont like the plays it calls , use the gameplanning and it will only call plays you pick. I happen to like the gameflow feature. its not perfect , and i still like calling my own defensive plays , but i like the way it streamlines the offense and it works pretty well if you take the time to gameplan.
I am not some Madden-crazed fanboys who thinks the game is god-like, there are some flaws. The franchise mode is deeply disappointing this year as it is completely untouched. why is it that the franchise mode from ps2 madden games from 5 years ago are more in depth and engaging than the newest, shiniest, next gen offering available? I know that EA listens to its fans and this seems to be a common gripe with this years game, so hopefully we will se an all new franchise mode in Madden 12 , with minicamps, combines,and just more depth overall. Franchise mode is what i play the most and its terrible that it sexactly the same as Madden 10's franchise mode.
Are people really playing this game and still complaining about the turbo being removed? or do they just read stuff and gripe about it? I think it works really well the way it manages your sprinting in and out of cuts and it makes the ground game awesome. The blocking is much improved and actually works ( finally, draw plays are effective). The presentation elements are great as well , Gus johnson is welcome addition to the commentary, and it seems like EA is getting the presentation better last 2 years.
The bottom line is this , people will continue playing this cuz its the only NFL game available. And its pretty freakin good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sadly Lack Luster

posted by FlikViktor (BETHLEHEM, PA) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

First and Foremost My review is based on Superstar Mode Only!

Every year I've picked up (or rented) the Madden series because it's quite frankly the only football game of the year. I always start off the same, I get NCAA and play threw there Road to Glory mode (or Superstar Mode if you will), play threw my 3 or 4 years of college and transfer my data into Madden.

Sadly this year the Superstar Mode is worse then ever. I played a QB from USC and got drafted to the Vikings, kinda surprising to me considering they still have Brett Favre on the active roster. Threw out the preseason I started the games, and he finished them. First game of the season against the New Orleans Saints, at a whooping overall of 67 instead of starting Favre, or even Jackson, the new rookie (my character) is starting. I see this as a serious problem, surely yes the game is meant to be played, but basic intellegence suggests you don't start the rookie over the seasoned vet. Anyways I somehow manage a victory, and sim to the next week. Then it hit me the e-mail function which was pointless is gone. After playing threw the different menus I realized that Madden is not longer ment to be played solo. The Superstar mode is only there for the people who play threw NCAA and wanna continue. However what's the point, with the lack luster interface, and the complete lack of any effort in the mode what so ever it becomes extremely boring quickly.

In Closing, I have to say I'm really disappointed with this game. I can't believe that EA can justify putting in a few tweeks to the graphics and fix some of last years glitches, and put a game out claiming to be a new one. I"d much prefer more game play, then smoother more realistic character models. Make the game more interesting, not more pretty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

madden these days are just horrible

posted by JRuiz87 (BROWNSVILLE, TX) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

i bought this game i didnt rent it but still i felt like i could at least wright i review...first off the main reason i bought was online...online is just horrible it lags and i have a fast connection... the fight for fumble is n/a anymore its alwasy seems like ppl are glitching or cheating. madden used to be fun and now that every year they come out its more suckier than previous years. online i rate it a 1 main reason is cause if your winning you get disconnected and receive a lost or its like you didnt play the game and you wasted time playing a game that didnt even count madden online is just stupid and its not fun or anything....
ofline
offline seeems to be alot more better reason why i gave this game a 3. the graphics are nice the presentation is super and the feel for the game is awesome to bad it couldnt transfer to online. this game is cool just not online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game (many reviews are misleading)

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Overview
=======================
The 2011 version of Madden is a good game. The biggest complaints are the GameFlow (automatic play calling) feature & removal of the turbo button. The complaints are misleading and weak as both of those features can be changed back to how they worked in 2010.

The biggest complaint is probably it just isn't very compelling to buy it since there aren't many really nice advancements from previous versions.

Pros
===============
1) Gameflow (if you want to speed up the game)
2) new physics engine helps better run ability

Cons
===============
1) audibles are now harder (more steps)
2) not much for improvement from 2011

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EA SCREWED US

posted by jmacgo (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

9 out of 25 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

EA SPORTS knew this was going to be the worst product yet, and they overhyped it to lure us in with false hopes. We want REAL football, not this BLITZ wannabe. The biggest bust in Madden history, and the sad thing is people wont know it until they buy this and hand over their money to EASPORTS. Cartoon graphics, no control anymore, all realism out the window. Worst Madden EVER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If You Dont like Madden

posted by MoetHenn (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 30, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Send it back So I can give it a TRY> stop whining.. send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the same

posted by Claudner (MIAMI, FL) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Im a hardcore madden fan and by far this piece of garbage is the same as last year. They made it more complicated when changing your routes nd coverage etc. Who need GAME FLOW!!! their is already ask madden Feature, i just dont see the point.EA keep making these games for casual gamers and players like me get the garbage. IF 2k 11 is garbage as 2k 10 my ps3 is going up for sale

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just a thought

posted by nando1986 (BRUNSWICK, GA) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have only played the demo of this game so i just put a 1 rating rating because i haven't experienced the whole thing. I would just like to bring something to thought. I hope someone would agree with me. I was just thinking how you use the right stick to control the running back with the leaning and everything. What if you could control a tackler the same way? If as a pursuing tackler you could use the right stick to place your head on the side of the ball carrier you want. Maybe that could make a forced fumble more realistic. You could purposefully put your head on the side of the ball or make a better tackle. I just noticed this while playing the demo. I thought the demo was pretty good overall as far as having control over the runner with the right stick. I kind of like to auto strafe and auto turbo. I can remember a many of times missing tackles and having runners run past me because i held the strafe button down. The auto turbo is not so bad and you can always turn it off. Just my opinion. There were also some new tackle animations I thought were neat. If madden adopted the euphoria engine like on backbreaker, man what a game that would be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just not great anymore.

posted by tanatastic (SANTA ROSA, CA) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I used to be obsessed with madden and play all night in 04-05-06. these next gen maddens are just too slow for me really. The gameplay feels like running in sand, the graphics are great sure but it just feels wrong. this games interface is so convoluted compared to past games its silly. It used to be so easy to audible hot routes, change d-line assignments, man press or lay off coverage. i could select a play on D and change 5 different assignments in 3 seconds. Now I go thru heck just to get one guy manned up on another. Gameflow is just ask madden with a new name, and just as lame. I layed one game and returned this, its just too slow, not user friendly and im just done w madden I guess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Madden NFL 11 for the PS3

posted by ULtmitgamr (WEST COVINA, CA) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Overall on a scale of 1 to 10 this game was an 8. The controls feel great, the players you control actually go where you want them to plus they are intelligent and don’t dive away from the ball like in previous installments of Madden, graphics are great, the only thing i didn't like is the removal of the sprint button. I understand it makes it more realistic and creates better movement with the right stick but when you need that break away speed it's not there. I would definitely recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse