Rent Madden NFL 11 for Wii
view large frontback

Madden NFL 11

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.4

534 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Decent NFL action for the Wii

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 18, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, at least they gave us a Franchise Mode ready to go from the start - something that last year’s Madden for the Wii didn’t have.
Not only that, they put some thought into that mode. You have three advisors, and you have to meet several goals over the course of the season. The first goal you have to meet is the season expectations that range from winning record to Super Bowl appearance.
The second goal you have to meet is make a certain amount of money in a season.
And the last is get a certain number of ticket sales at the home games. If you meet these goals, you are on your way to making a legendary team.
To meet the goals, you are the GM and engage in contract negotiations with some players through the draft or other players who contracts are going to expire. (or you can have the AI do it for you).
Also, you can set the prices on several other things: Tickets, souvenirs, concessions, and so on.
But it’s the winning that counts the most. If you win a lot, the three goals become much easier. And as the seasons pass, the expectations grow as you try to build a legendary team.
Another improvement over last year’s version is the inclusion of snowy weather - that looks like snowy weather on the field.
But the gameplay is the same as before, and I mostly enjoyed playing the NFL games as any team.
But not all is perfect for Madden 11 on the Wii: the point and press pass controls can get muddled, the gesture only passing controls takes a lot of the decision making out of the player’s hands, and the graphics outside the weather has not improved very much.
The 5 on 5 is completely forgettable as is most of the training drills and the Game Situations attached to those drills.
Still, Madden 11 is a solid game, and a vast improvement over last year’s version. It’s definitely worth a rent, and some pigskin fanatics will want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ok?

posted by xN3ed2Kill (RIVERDALE, GA) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I Haven't Played This Game Yet.......Only Because Of The Way The Game Looks And Plays. But After I Played It Over My Friends House I Started To Like It. It's Fun To Play 5 vs 5 Against The Computer And A Friend/Rival. But I Won't Ever Judge A Game By Looks Again, Rolf

(Hopefully This Review Is Better Than That Other Dude's >.>)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

what happened to Madden

posted by axelrodpug (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Point and pass is cool but thats all the new Madden is got going for it. Chris Collinsworth commentary is worse than John's. Also, its the same 4 songs playing over and over. The only mode you can do on your own is franchise mode, the other modes are multiplayer. Superstar mode is gone and so is the ability to create players. There is no more points for practice or scouting of players, Madden has became pretty childish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Madden 11...

posted by calebgodwin (LILBURN, GA) Jan 31, 2012

Member since May 2011

Is a great game. For the Wii it has awesome graphics and great gameplay. I rated this a 2 because... IT BROKE MY WII! I can't play any games on my Wii. It just says, "Cannot read disc". I would have rated it 1, but the game itself is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could Be Better

posted by Hotreels10 (MANDEVILLE, LA) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

All and all not to bad. Fun to play but the graphics are not very good for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Madden NFL 11

posted by taylorchicks (AXTON, VA) Jul 21, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Awesome Game!!!!!!!!!!!! If I could change one thing it would be that I could be able to choose my own music. Other than that, it rocks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever

posted by 123456789a (WILSONVILLE, OR) Jul 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Never buy this game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Madden 2011 Review

posted by OrangeMane (LONG BEACH, CA) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

If you have played Madden on PS then its not worth your time on wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wat Better than 2010...

posted by jobesp (PARKER, PA) Jan 29, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I'm overall happy with the game and sooo glad they brought franchise mode back, though I do wish franchise mode had some more user interaction like the older versions....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont Get This Game!

posted by k12stabler (SUISUN CITY, CA) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game sucks on the Wii!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as bad as you would think...

posted by stocious (LA MESA, CA) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

So I have a PS3 and I havent really been into Madden since I used to play it on my N64. This Wii version is perfect for those of us who just want to pick up the controller every now and then to get a game in. Not a big fan of the complexity of the new football games on the PS3 and the 360. This gets me my football fix even if the graphics are pretty kid like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by CampPen33 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This game really is horrible. If you want to play Madden, get yourself a PS3 or XBOX 360... you will regret getting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak if you like console version

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Sep 30, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

There is a lot of wrist flipping and arm movement if you enjoy that aspect of Wii, but it's not real football motions. If you really enjoy Madden, skip it. If you really enjoy your Wii, go for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Madden 11 for the Wii

posted by manufan89 (PEABODY, MA) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

Madden 11 is a good game. Nothing more and nothing less. Once again EA has gone with a cartoon style to the design of the game which works for the Wii. It's fun for people who haven't played a lot of games and doesn't scare them away with amazing graphics like the ones on the PS3 and XBox360. But not too childish that make more hard-core fans feel like they are playing a game for their young brother. They put a Franchise Mode that doesn't need to be unlocked and it works and somewhat fun. The EA Trax are also fun and go with the game.

Though this is a fun game, it still a many annoying problems. First, the controls still are awful. You still have the two options of "point and click" or swing the remote as you were throwing a football. Point and click is the better one, but still is really frustrating to use. It hard to point to a receiver while trying to doge defenders. It is ok when you are running easy routes, but once they get a bit more complicated, it's like hitting a fly. The Franchise Mode doesn't have to much depth to it. If you are not into all the different options you could do in the older versions that fine. But for those who like all the details, it hard to play it for a long time. And I know I said that the design was fine, but it is hard to look at for at a long time without getting sick of it.

Also the 5vs5 is alright. Though I think a 7vs7 would work better. It would allow you one more o-lineman and a TE for offence. And Defense you could get another d-lineman and another linebacker.

I would say rent it, then hope that with the improvements they made this year will continue and be improved on even more in next years installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »