Rent Madden NFL 11 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Madden NFL 11

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
7.6

5708 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Madden 10 with a few minor adjustments...

posted by JonnyBoiii (VAN NUYS, CA) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

49 out of 64 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

1 Redefining Madden NFL Online: This is a very very cool feature. You get to play 3v3 games online. If you have played any other ea sports game, it is essentially Team Play So you could be the quarterback, your friend a wide receiver, and your other bud a running back. Same goes for defense.

2 From 350 Plays Down to 1- This feature isn't very necessary at all. It is essentially ask madden. The only really astounding thing about this feature is that the coach talks to you through your headset and tells you what to look for on offense and defense.

3 Play Games in Half the Time- I'm not going to say this feature isn't handy to have. But there were far greater problems with this game besides how long it took. Now you can play 2 games in the time it took for 1.

4 Don’t Just Play It…Feel It- This isn't as clear as the others, so I will explain it for you. First they "added" new locomotion, which basically new animations that make your character move. It is refreshing to see this because it brings momentum into the game and the players acceleration comes into play as well as their speed and agility. Sideline catches are awesome, as well.
They also added the dual stick control. Supposedly, your upper body is the right stick and your lower body is the left. So if you press forward on the right stick your body will lean forward. This isn't very noticeable during the game though.

5 See It. Hear It. Feel It.- The last update is probably the most noticeable. You can tell they're still trying to improve the presentation the most. They improved graphics(such as lighting and player's faces). They added team chants and fight songs when your team runs out on the field.
Lastly, they added Gus Johnson. He is just a bundle of energy. He screams as you run down the sideline for a TD. And it makes the game exciting.

The problem is that the game play is still flawed. AI is still ridiculous, Pro-Tak doesn't work, etc. You will have fun playing this game, but it is not a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointed...

posted by coco2739 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Aug 16, 2010

Member since May 2010

12 out of 17 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I am disappointed with this year’s madden, after last years, which I thought was pretty good, I has high hopes for this one and they let me down again. It is fairly similar to the last madden there are some different things like the online team play where multiple people can play on one team, and the gameflow, which I think is cool, but I don’t use it because I like to pick my own plays regardless. The negatives, are that you its really wasy to score at any level, meaning that players like adrian peterson and chris johnson can just run over your team all game. It is easy to return kick-offs, just yesterday I played a guy who was the vikings and he returned 4 touchdowns off my kick-offs…um not realistic. The players movements are unrealistic as to how quickly they can change directions. I am just very disappointed with this game I cant wait till ea’s rights to the nfl r up because I am sick of seein the same game if not worse every year. They have no competition, so y make a great game when u don’t need to. If you want to play madden if u havent bought it, I suggest renting it and seeing the disappointment before u waste ur money again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointing, Pathetic. Should I say more?

posted by DarkOne213 (DENVER, CO) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

25 out of 39 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This Madden 11 game has good online play but... You have have to pay for the good stuff. In Madden 11 nothing has changed much offline, Expect minor adjustment's to the throwing game, running game, and this thing called "Gameflow" Franchise mode is the same as madden 10, noting new. And what is disappointing to me the most is Superstar mode nothing has changed from madden 10.. Superstar mode has potential to be great, but EA (to me) is lazy. Gave this game a "4" instead of a 3 only because, the music. Avoid buying this game, you'll only waste your money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Madden NFL 11 - A Broken Game

posted by PocketDan (SCHAUMBURG, IL) Oct 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The way I review games is to start every game at a perfect 10 and deduct or award points based on what I like and don't like. Here goes.

Let's start with what's most obvious upon starting your first game in Madden 11. The announcers are atrocious! Most of the dialogue you hear will sound all too familiar to anyone who played last year's edition.
-1 point

Upon further play, you begin to realize how ridiculously often animations and dialogue are repeated, and the overall presentation of the game could have used some work.
-1 point

The voicing and presentation only gets worse from there. Whether it's the tiring repetition of big play animations or trying your very best to skip through the exact same pre game routines, the game gets tiring. It takes you out of the experience of feeling like your'e playing a televised game and reminds you that you are playing a rushed to release video game. The silliest flaw is that no matter what happens; a fumble recovery, a 1yd run, or an incomplete pass, if it happens at the 50yd line, the announcers exclaim it as if a player were going the distance.
-2 points, AT MIDFIELD!!!

Being an NFL fan, I watch most of Sunday's games. Nothing I do in my career has anything to do with football. I don't make NFL games. So when I hear players' names being pronounced incorrectly I have to wonder how that could ever happen. On the Bears alone, at least three key players have their name pronounced incorrectly. Robbie Gould is Robbie "Ghoul'd", Israel Idonije is Israel "Ee-doe-Knee-Jay", and I can't even comprehend how Zach Bowman got messed up.
-2 points

The game modes outside of Franchise mode feel tacked on and uninteresting.
-1 point

The gameplay is not bad and definitely the best of any Madden game to date. Locomotion works very well.
+1 points

If you play this game, save often. You learn pretty quickly that the game could freeze at any loading screen. Got me 3 times in one night. Ridiculous.
-1 point

Madden NFL 11 gets a pitiful 3/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Another Horrible Madden Game

posted by 25TaLife (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

34 out of 56 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Wow, another year another POS Madden title. It's too bad EA bought off the NFL and we have NO competition for our football game dollars. As I mostly play online, this game is once again a major disappointment. If you rent from GF then you can ONLY play online for 7 days then you have to PAY $10 to keep playing online (I already pay for XBL) as EA has gotten greedy and is charging for online play now (same as NCAA football). There is an obvious lag while playing. Kick-offs are hard as well as passing because of a lag which I think is about .5 to 1 second lag (this can be huge) . Defense is atrocious. There is NO defense in this game whatsoever (the middle of the field is ALWAYS open on passing plays) and whoever has the ball last will win around 90% of the time. I just played an online game against a guy who was using the Cowboys and Romo was as fast as Mike Vick going sideline to sideline. He could also throw right (across his body) while running left with a defender draped all over him (This is a bunch of BS). If you want a football simulation, you are looking at the wrong game. If you want an arcade style football game, then this is perfect. 2012 is the year the agreement with the NFL and EA is over, hopefully we can finally get a REAL football game. There is NO Sprint button anymore and calling Line Shifts is done thru the D-Pad (HORRIBLE Decision). Even trying to call an audible is a lesson in futility. I have not bought a Madden game in 5 years and glad I did not waste $ on this junk. Received it today from GF and it will go back to GF tomorrow morning:(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I've given up on Madden

posted by bash91 (MOUNT AIRY, MD) Feb 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The EA sports crew is a group of lazy whiners who can't deliever anything as promised and have not for years. For example, they promised receivers who actually looked at the ball a couple years back. The funny thing is, that was not added into the game that year and hasn't since.

Granted the gameplay has gotten better, there are key elements that should have been 1st priority adds that just haven't been added.

EA sports ahs yet to be able to make this game fun and still challenging. I can never find a happy medium where I'm not getting crushed on every play or I'm not scoring on every play.

I hate this game, and will never waste my time with it or Madden ever again.

As someone who has supported Madden since 02, this game has just become so obviously complacent and its extremely annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Advertising, advertising, advertising!

posted by DiscoStu (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I have never written a game review before but Madden 11 inspired me to pop my review cherry! I was excited to dive into this game, I was playing Madden 08 while I waited for the 2011 version to arrive. Holy cow was I disappointed! Its the same game with a few minor changes! There is advertising all over this game! Everything you do is sponsored by some big corporation! There are pop up adds for jack in the box and others all game long! You can not play the game for longer than a min. without having some type of advertisement shoved down your throat! Every change they made was simply to make them more money! You have to PAY MONEY to get the full online experience! Come on EA! I have lost all respect for you!

EA has joined many other game developers in ripping the public off! It is sad that it is very rare to buy a complete game! So many titles are released than a week later they release DLC (New maps, guns, teams, characters, ect..) that should of came with the game you just payed 60 bucks for!

The fact that EA charges for the full online experience when you already have to pay for xbox live is very disturbing! Dont pay it! Dont let this trend gain momentum!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is the (....same) EXTRA POINT

posted by PhRoZyN311 (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Madden NFL:

Pros:
- Better Animation
- Better Commentation
- I rather enjoy the Gameflo feature.
- Updated rosters

Cons:
- Not a whole lot of improvement from Madden 10
- Defending is tough! The quarterback is able to throw accurate passes even when getting completely wrecked by the defense.
- Unrealistic plays happen. (i.e. a qb will throw way in front or behind receiver, yet they somehow boost speed or impossibly catch the ball).
- THIS IS MY BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT - The EXTRA POINT during Franchise Mode is the EXACT SAME. Are you kidding me? No enhancements? I loved the Extra Point in Madden 10, but that doesn't mean I want it to be the same from Madden to Madden. Do something cool with it... Somehow make it better. NOTHING. Say dialogue same EVERYTHING! WEAK.

Madden 11 is cool, I like the coach speaking before the play happens, but it isn't a whole lot different from Madden 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Thank God for 2012!!!

posted by ReviewThis (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Aug 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

18 out of 30 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

2012 we can all rejoice IF the NFL does not renew it's contract with EA.

I agree 100% with 25TaLife. This game is so watered down now, it's not even worth it to me. You want to play football then get NCAA Football 11. It is leaps and bounds better than Madden. If you want more details then read 25TaLife's review because it's spot on.

Audibles are horrific. No huddle in NCAA is where it's at.

D-pad Hot Routes, Dline shifts, LB shifts and DB shifts while NCAA sticks with the buttons?! WTH!!!

Don't worry about playing defense. Just make sure your the last one with the ball.

Thanks for trying EA even though you didn't.

BRING BACK NFL2k!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Tired of the same old Madden? Me too...

posted by Ve6a5 (PLYMOUTH, MA) Feb 20, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I picked up Madden after a 3 year hiatus and you know what...? I remember why it took a few years off. Madden 11 is exactly like every other Madden game that's been released on this generation of consoles. It's pretty similar to last generations too. Nothing has fundamentally changed in 10+ years.

It's just boring now. From 00-05 Madden was my favorite game, but EA clearly has a system in place that makes them money and they're not looking to innovate or change. They haven't made the Madden experience better in years. Yes they've added things like online play, but Madden at it's core is the same boring game I played a decade ago.

What's worse is I hear EA and the NFL have extended their exclusive deal with each other. So I guess we'll continue to get the same tired experience for a few more years.

I'll be taking another leave of absence from the franchise until EA decides to take a leap forward in gameplay, visuals, or another developer comes along to challenge EA's dominance.

Thank God for Gamefly rentals... It saved me $60. Madden 11 is worth a rental if you're a fan of the franchise, but if you want a lasting enjoyable 6 month experience consider Fantasy Football or just watching the real thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

NEW IS NEEEDED

posted by biglsuka (CRESTVIEW, FL) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

24 out of 42 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

WE need a new football game besides madden PERIOD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What??!!?!?!?

posted by luckyisastud (PITTSBURG, CA) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What happend? Arent gaems supposed to get better? This game is bad! Bad graphics,blurry, and just all around bad. This is a big dissapointment. Have you ever seen the gamefly commercial? Exactly my reaction to this game. Thumbs down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Aug 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

19 out of 35 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

11 is sweet..o lines block and open holes for a running back..fullbacks block appropriately...sideline catches are awesome..the ai is ok sometimes not too bad..the game flow feature shortens the games down which i like a lot cause I hated how slow the old maddens took and u can put ur own plays into your own playbook..if u don't like game flow u can use ur standard play calling in mid game...there's a lot of depth for hardcore fans..such as audibles, changing d coverage with d pad, bluff plays, flip plays, sending players in motion or Golding the a button to have ur defensive player follow the correct path of the d play call

Madden 11 is a great fresh madden...the commentary is bad..gus Johnson is cool but is to slow to react and collinsworth blows at life..

And remember u need a pass to play online...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

RENT ONLY!

posted by isamiam117 (LOCKPORT, IL) Nov 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if you want a football game to buy then go with madden 10 or 09 its cheaper and pretty much the same.. poor gameplay poor graphics.not alot of effort seems to go into making these games, so dont waste your money and please by all means do not support EA lets end stuff like madden 11 buy something else and maybe we can get a new football game made by someone who likes football.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hey he broke another tackle

posted by sportslife (PALMETTO, GA) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

8 out of 17 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

i got this game at midnight last night. i came home to play a terrible game. every single time u go for a tackle they break it. u have to have atleast 2 people there to tackle anyone. doesnt matter if hes 4th string or not. they didnt do any adjustments for franchise or star mode. it seems like ea is dieing a slow death. thats pissing me off. i used to love playing madden but it just keeps getting worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same Ol' Same

posted by NoFaith13 (PORT JEFFERSON STATION, NY) May 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Same old game.

Graphics were possibly worse in-game.

Career modem is garbage and boring.

I had it at home for 2 days and returned it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

fan 4 ages, but disappointed!

posted by Kydoimos (ROUND ROCK, TX) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i've played madden since 98, but let me tell you, im glad i never bought this one, this madden is a slap in the face to all fans of the game, you have to pay 10 bucks to play the game online??! what a joke, the online games lag by 1 sec, so your kicking and passing game are off.
does anyone else besides me miss ESPN's games for NFL, get a grip and dont destory madden

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game even with low expectations

posted by sgtsyko (ASHBURN, VA) Dec 7, 2010

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game might just be the worst football game (both arcade and simulation) i have ever played. I have been playing football games since Madden 2003 and this fails on every level of game play. Instead of making progress this game regresses on so many levels. The movement is so bad and clunky. EA still can't have a battle in the trenches properly. They ball physics were better on the PS1. The game won't let you assist in a tackle if the ball carrier is already engaged in a tackle leading into many big plays.

This is what a bunch of my friends keep telling me to get instead of a playing backbreaker which is also flawed slightly in the passing game and doesn't come close to madden in terms of presentation but its overall game play is incredible despite flaws.

In conclusion if you want A.D.D or highlight real football then maybe you will like this game if you can get past the abundance of game play problems. How ever if you want a true football simulation get backbreaker it has a learning curve but so does football.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

EA sports= lazy

posted by multikilla (SPENCER, OH) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well this game has virtually nothing new i was so excited i pre-ordered this game and even picked up at midnight release only to see that basically they prettied up the game with better graphics the online has killer lag the franchise seems to be about the same as madden 09 sadly superstar mode i dont think they've changed that part of the game since releasing it i love football but this game really isnt worth buying it's almost like you pay for roster updates really that's the only reason i play my copy is the roster updates

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

madden same game

posted by sacrifice (ANOKA, MN) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

not much change from madden 10 to madden 11
online franchise not touched
a lot the same bugs online where your guys wont block a lot morphing and time shifting in the game.

gameplay sometimes you players act so stupid where they dont know who to block and they start going block player 1 lets say and when he gets close he will change his mind and turn around and try block player b lets say then he will change his mind and turn around again and try block player a when he does all this he could at least block a plaer instead runing and turning around and run up and down the field then he dont even block one person.

this game need a lot fixing but to me the madden team dont care since they sell the same game and get there money while they get suckers to buy it and you guys all waste money on a game that its the same game from a year ago beside the roster update

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wow, what a disappointment

posted by royalhinkle1 (WINDBER, PA) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Out of the four major sports this EA game is the worst. It was apparently put out solely for the name. The graphics were fine, but the game play is slow. The content doesn't compare to how far basketball and hockey have come with their "become a pro" features, which is my favorite aspect. If you just like head-to-head this game will serve the purpose, but thats about all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Are people playing the same madden I am???

posted by Shiznit709 (CLEARWATER, FL) Sep 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best Madden game to be released. I have had many of the past games, but this is the most realistic. Yes, there are some similarities between 2011 and 2010, but when you release a new game every year they cant change everything.

The running game is totally revamped and is so realistic I cried tears of joy. I could actually follow blockers and cut through holes. The new commentator is kind of scary at times, but he is 100% better than the last guy from 2010. And bye-bye boring Superbowl cutscene. The past Maddens would have a silent Superbowl celebration after you had won....so boring and atrocious! In Madden 11 it was done very, very well. I was satisfied with it, so much so I actually cared about winning the Superbowl again. Anyone who has rated this lower than a 7.5-8 has no idea the little things Madden has fixed. Not perfect, but the best Madden yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Simply Amazing!!!

posted by Jcavatar (FRUITPORT, MI) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

After Last years striped down, watered down version of Madden (Franchise mode was gutted of everything that was put in the game for the last 8 years) I was expecting a more promising game.

Okay this year they claim to have built on what they changed last year, but in reality they didnt do much. The new GAMEFLOW is mislabled, It's the Madden Plays, you know the crapy same plays in your playbook from pervious years where if you select ask madden and he throws a play suggestion at you. Although you can change your gameplan in the main menu, it allows you to set up the plays to be used in certain situations. This is boring and tedious to set this up just how you want it and after messing with it a few times, i'd rather just play the old way. NFL Teams use a scripted 15 play format for the first part of a game, to guage how the other team reacts and planing on thier weaknesses. Gameflow feels nothing like that, no does it adjust in the second half as most teams in the nfl do.

The tried to have auto-sprint, and failed, often you'll see a CP defender racing at you and your player is still running at half speed, luckily you can turn this off.

The AI... seems dummer this year, You'll see the football sail in front of your defender and he wont even flinch, but the CP will make that play in a heart beat, Also when selecting nearest player to make a tackle the game often mis calls it and your left getting a player who already missed the play, and has no way of making a tackle.

The all new commentary is laughable, it's 90% the old stuff with the new guy, and he is not a good voice acter, he often comes off as a William Shatner impersonater, HE GOES UP TOP(all hyper), and it will be 3rrrd down(long drawn out and boring) in a matter of seconds.

The new streamlined formation adjustments are now on the d-pad, and DONT feel streamlined, they add another step.they went old school with the kicking, Very lame, licked the analog kicking, hat the three a button mash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madden!?????

posted by dematlboyz (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Man....don't waste your time on this game! The game play sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

More Fun than Recent Maddens

posted by TDBears (LITITZ, PA) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Everyone has probably heard the complaints about what they changed and I just want to quickly put it in perspective

Pros:

- better graphics, better animations, good gameplay feel
- essentially its still madden, it's never really that different

"Cons"

- Strategy pad. It's not really different than using the other buttons, you just need to get used to it. I have played about 15 games and dont even notice it. So yeah they changed how you make preplay adjustments, but not really after a few hours--it's not important enough to not like the game
- gameflow - calls plays for you based on what that team does in real life or based on the plays you can set up in the menu to match your style. you dont have to use it, you can turn it off, and you can always audible to a play you set as an audible. Bottom line it gives you more freedom, not less. also you can blow through games with non-stop action in about 30 min which makes you play more football and pick plays less. I am a fan

Bottom line i am old and have been playing madden since '90. This is the best one yet. It's fast, the graphics are awesome, the announcing is as good as any sports game and I can play a game in less time than it takes to watch a 30 min tv show. if you got fed up with madden thse past few years, i would definitely rent this one and you might be surprised about the amount of time you spend running plays and having fun versus picking plays.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse