Rent Madden NFL 10 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Madden NFL 10

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, Wii, PS3, PS2
GF Rating
7.8

6839 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally!! Madden gets it right

posted by KayotixTX (CANYON LAKE, TX) Aug 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

102 out of 124 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

This years Madden finally brings everything together that is the NFL.

Just running down pros and cons, if you like the NFL though and want a true NFL feel, this year Madden 10 is it!!

Pros
------
1.Graphics are amazing
2.Players actually have some weight and momentum this year
3.Pro-tak works!! Gang tackles, forward momentum to gain a few extra yards its all here.
4."Pocket" passing, no more dropping back 20 yrds to throw a 60 yard TD pass....you dont stay in or around the pocket you will be punished.
5.Presentation, Finally Madden gets some TV feeling to it games. After the game interviews with players, refs on the field, chain gangs to measure, halftime reports, week to week reports via a TV broadcast and more.
6.More indepth player ratings make everyone feel different and more like there real life counter part.

Cons
------
1. Comentary is still kinda repetative and off sometimes but overall its not that bad but they do need to work on it for next year.
2. Speed of the game, i like it slow and its slower this year but some may not like it. YOU CAN change the speed of the game in the settings.
3.Some slowdown if you run it off the disc, install to HDD if you can to make it run a bit smoother and make loading better.

Madden 10 is by far the best Madden ever released, they finally got their act together this year and made a fantastic football game.If you stopped playing Madden becasue it all felt the same then try this game!! You wont regret it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pay to play

posted by Dazen01 (ODESSA, TX) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

The fact they want more money from me for an activation code to open up some feature to play online and to open up madden mode is insane. EA's marketing decision here is the straw that broke my back. I for one will not be buying any other EA game till they stop this kind of markiting on the gaming community. It is great to have game addons but you dont release a game with half of the content gone and offer the other half on opening day as addons, That's ripping us all off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I ended up buying this

posted by sheehanje (SCHENECTADY, NY) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

24 out of 40 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was in a quandary. Should I buy Madden or not? I have issues with EA, and the fact they cut the PC version of the game. It used to be nice to bring my laptop around to play with other people, and I don't have that option anymore. I also don't like the fact that EA has an exclusive NFL license. In fact, I think exclusive licensing hurts consumers most of all and should be illegal in any form. I'm still stuck with NFL Sunday Ticket on DirectTV, and I hate DirectTV lately and have no other options but to stick with their sub par customer service and equipment if I want to watch my team play on Sunday....

Anyways, with my pet peeves taking a backseat to my enjoyment of playing a good NFL football game, I didn't wait for Gamefly and bought the game the first day it was available. I swore I wouldn't do it this year because I've been disappointed with most of the Maddens released this past decade. But I'm a video game addict, and one of the biggest addictions is to football games. I remember staying up for days at a time playing Front Page Sports Football back in the day.

Well, after a whole weekend playing the game, I must say that I am very impressed with the game play. I feel like I'm actually controlling an NFL game. The past few years have felt like the game was a cross between the older Maddens and NFL Blitz. I was sick an tired of playing against people that had no clue what good football was, and could beat people with 2 or 3 plays. No more of that, because this game gets football right. The Pro-Tak system is more than it sounds. The running game is more realistic than any other football game I've played.

The commentary is horrible, as is the half time show. But with such good gameplay, it doesn't really matter. My biggest complaint is EA's nickle and diming everyone for extras. Online Franchise, extra if you don't buy the game new. Cheat codes (they don't call them this), extra. Very tacky. With that said, the base game is worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a good game

posted by Romofan9 (SIOUX CITY, IA) May 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Madden 2010 is not a good game. To me it feel like the same game as the last 2 years. To me it seems that this game was made so anyone could pick it up and play good

Pros- D-lines moves, i like how you use the right stick to do speed or power moves.

Franchise mode- the franchise mode is ALOT better then last years. half time and weekly shows are pretty good not great but good.

Cons-Run blocking- there is ZERO run blocking in the game your o-line just lets the d-line go right when you get to them

The deep pass- You can not pass it deep, the DB will just jump up and defend the pass and tackle the WR at the same time. needs alot of work.

PRO TAK- Alot of people may THINK its good but it really not. You cant jump in and try to make the tackle you'll either fly right past the guy or bounce off the players.pretty much when the tackle starts you cant do anything.

man and zone coverage-both are broken you can pass all day vs the cpu or human player and cant really stop the passing game either it need alot of work.

the cpu running game- The cpu just cant run the ball for some reason. I guess if you work on sliders for a while they might be able to.

The GLITCHES- The glitches are really the only things thats "in the game" way to many glitches you'd think they could fix them but i guess thats to much for EA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BIG dissapointment

posted by baseball14 (WHITMORE LAKE, MI) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I've really never liked any madden games but I thought this one was going to be great. The game has no defense what so ever and the gameplay wasn't all that great. The legend mode was terrible and really slow. When you went to practice you just did the same play over and over again. In order to switch the play you need to call a timeout which i think is stupid. In all, terrible gameplay, terrible modes, and just a terrible year for madden!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lazy effort

posted by Bernard286 (OGLESBY, IL) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This Madden game was a huge set back. The Offical conferences and first down measurements were stupid, even when the play was clear. Replays were weak at best, kick off return replays start just in time to see your guy run away from the field. Bottom line, just because you slap Maddan on the box, doesn't mean your job is done. Poor game, have never returned a football game so fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS, PERIOD.

posted by NET2KG720 (BELLFLOWER, CA) Sep 11, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

EA is just cashing in again and again and again, ETC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just a Number

posted by eke826s (BROOKLINE STATION, MO) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Didn't they insist the game was changing this year? Well they lied. I didn't play 09, but this game isn't really different from 08. Oh, and you can't play online franchises if you don't have the code that comes on the manual for the game. That is unless you want to pay an additional $10 to get an activation code. That's just stupid.

The same problems exist. Your players get no rush, your offensive line cannot block. Your D-backs don't react to passes, however the AI's D-backs jump every route.

It's just a bad game that hasn't gotten any better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Did I get the same game as these high reviews?

posted by James95023 (HOLLISTER, CA) Aug 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2003

23 out of 43 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This game while better than last years, doesn't seem a whole lot different than last years. I am beginning to think that no competition, EA just rubber stamps the thing, and sends it out the door. It seemed like passing was way to easy, running didn't really work that well, but better than last year. I turned off the fight for fumble feature, was crazy, and I never even won one, and I had like 4 or 5 in one game. Also it seems like the compute goes crazy in spurts, if your doing well and decides to score, there is virtually no way to stop it. So I'll be returning it, and be glad Gamefly helped me avoid the sixty dollar pit trap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Not What I Expected

posted by Majorblues (ARLINGTON, TN) Jan 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I love Madden games but this one needs help. For one the achievements force you to play at all pro from the start. I always like to play on Rookie and enjoy the game and controls before having to increase difficulty. Second the halftime show sucks and is pointless. Very disapointed and may never play Madden again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

more money

posted by oecox74 (LAVEEN, AZ) Aug 17, 2009

Member since May 2009

13 out of 25 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

this game just wants more money if you like to play online expect to pay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

online franchise may cost extra!

posted by Scorp318 (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

13 out of 25 gamers (52%) found this review helpful

Gameplay is good, but EA did not get everything right yet. I for one rented this so that I could play in online franchises. When I got it I found out I couldn't use online franchises unless I purchased it. To purchase the right to play in online franchises it costs 800 MS points. Is it worth it? I don't know, because I am not dishing out $10 to purchase the online franchise content which I believe should be part of the original programming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Blah

posted by Doeboi214 (MESQUITE, TX) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is just getting old - Thank you Gamefly for allowing me to rent this on the first day. Very thankful I didn't pay 60 for it. Like another reviewer, I kept the 60 dollar roster update, and more money for other aspects, for 2 days and have gladly sent it back so someone else can try and enjoy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Are we all talking about the Same GAME.

posted by Jmackchica (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 28, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok this is a little bit better then madden09 But this game still sucks, I think if nfl blitz and more plays and players on the field , this game could maybe beat madden, LOL I mean NFL2k5 was better then Madden thats why EAsports took the Nfl rights away so 2k sports couldn't take out the big bad madden just like NBA2k took out Nba live. This madden is a joke how can a Linebacker catch up to a Fast receiver and pick him off 15 to 20 yards away, and sometime one handed pick what a joke. I can't clown this game too much i went and brought this on the first day like everyone else but i love football and this was the only football game out ,so stop given this game a 10 just because its Madden. Bring back NFL2k . Xbox Live Gamer Tag: Jmackchicago24

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Piece of trash!

posted by MJ2320 (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is not worth renting or buying! I made the sad mistake of believing the "Everything you see on Sundays" sales pitch. Boy was I fooled. You can't even shade your defensive backs to the inside or outside on this game. I bought this piece of trash but thank god Gamefly let me trade this game in to at least get some of my money back on this game. Bottom line if you want an arcade game this is for you, but if you want a more authentic re-creation of NFL gameplay just buy ESPN NFL 2K5 for ninety nine cents. It's a shame a game made five years ago on inferior hardware still runs rings around all the Madden Games from 2004 until the present. THIS GAME IS DISGUSTING!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst ever

posted by antdogmc39 (CONVERSE, TX) Aug 28, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this has to be the worst madden ever. it not better than 09 in any way. i feel like in watching a cartoon. you only control the game about 4 seconds on any play. its animation for the huddle and walk up to the line, then you play, then even before the play ends it animation again. what were these people thinking. i have purchased madden since 1992 and this game is the worst since 08. what a joke. im glad i have gamefly because if i had bought this game i would have been angry( gamefly would not let me use the word i wanted to use)! and by the way i rented both copies 360 and ps3. a complete waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

same old game

posted by gamerguru1 (PASO ROBLES, CA) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

madden 10 is the same virtual game as all the others while some people believe the graphicks are tremendous in my eyes they look almost the same just a little better on the actual players however the graphicks on the crowd are just down rite terrible like they didnt even try on them. gameplay is alright but has many flaws interceptions are way to unrealistically often about 40% my pass plays are intercepted its almost immposible to win a fumble pile up and the commentarys more annoying then ever because they had to throw chris collensworths dumbass in there and online franchise is a dlc for 800mp about $10 in english i deafenentley would not recommend you to spend $60 on this game or even rent it but give it a shot and rent it you might have a diffrent opinion on it than me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Madden 10 more Hype than Game

posted by EternalOne (RAMONA, CA) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I heard that this was the best Madden ever and I was so excited to get it until I stuck it into my Xbox 360. I am not impressed AT ALL... Game is "OK" but not great. You dont get to draft your own 2009 college draft, and when you make your own SuperStar, you cant edit your stats at all from the basic FEW points that you are allowed to start with. I sent back NCAA Football so I could play Madden and now just cant wait to get NCAA back. VERY DISAPOINTED !!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Madden Blows Again

posted by SmotPoker (Miami, FL) Aug 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What do they do at EA besides put new players and a new year on the cover and pretend they made the game better.

Running is terrible. Passing is too easy until the system thinks you are winning too much. Then you either get pressured like crazy or even LB's are covering your receivers amazingly.

On Defense, if you are playing well and beating a team, even Detroit can come back and score a few times withoiut any trouble. The FUMBLE fighting garbage nevers even gives you a chance to win and good luck trying to sack the QB with the nice side stepping every opposing QB has mastered. I think if Drew Bledsoe was around you probably couldn't sack him.

Not to dissapointed though because '09 wasnt good either. '08 was the last good Madden and most likely done plaing for good.

Thanks EA for killing the game and competition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hey, its Madden again!

posted by DarkDream (BRATTLEBORO, VT) Aug 19, 2009

Member since May 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Madden always has been and always will be the biggest cash-in EA sports has. It does not matter what they do with there game, it will sell in the Millions. However does that make it a bad game?

Graphics - I must say the polish and animations in this game a rock solid the fans, refs, the field, they really put time and effort into the little things in this game which is nice, you can finally say it actually LOOKS different from the previous year. On the other side of that though the less known players all have generic faces that you can't distinguish from one another. 8/10

Sound - On the field everything is as good as ever. Yet the announcers Oh wow did they drop the ball on the announcers, Nearly everything they say seems cut and pasted so nothing flows and the sheer amount of silence that comes from the booth is enough to drive me insane. 5/10

Story - ....pfft ?/10

Gamemodes - I can make this short and sweet, if you have liked what madden has offered in the past than you will like what they offer now...little to no change.

Gameplay - Here's where it counts right? If you're a madden fan you have wanted it to change for years OR you have wanted it to stay the exact same like it has sense it hit the ps2. Guess what, It's still the same!! Mostly...Kinda...Well they tried to change it, and in my eyes failed. Running is better MUCH better, It's hard without being punishingly hard. As in if you call the right run play you're going to get yards, if not. Good luck.

Madden hits a wall for me when I'm passing for playing on Defense. Passing is once again way to easy, there is never a play where someone does not break open so basically is your looking at the screen you will complete a pass, and the defense. Defense is awful unless you know how to play every position. on All-pro or higher your AI teammates can not stop anything!!!! You need to control everything and, it becomes way to frustrating.

Madden is back and its the same as ever if you like that, YAY!! 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

THIS GAME SUCKS

posted by Grantimus (EAU CLAIRE, WI) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

8 out of 17 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

Oh my GOD! This game is HORRID. You can customize a player, you can customize a jersey, you can customize a TEAM, but when you customize the team, you CAN'T DRAFT PLAYERS??? It RANDOMIZES your team!!! THAT'S RIDICULOUS! People are saying that this year's is a real NFL feel, BULL! It's OBVIOUSLY not anywhere NEAR real NFL IF YOU CAN'T DRAFT PEOPLE ONTO YOUR TEAM!!! I mean SERIOUSLY. I can't believe all of the good reviews for this game! THE PEOPLE RUN LIKE THEY'RE IDIOTS. When they run they just flail around like MORONS. I mean c'mon Madden 07 and 08 are the best so far in my opinion! I mean sure when you're customizing your team there is a LOT more options, but if you can't even DRAFT PEOPLE ONTO YOUR TEAM then that's OBVIOUSLY NOT MAKING A TEAM. I'm just glad I got this for 9 and a half dollars at Best Buy! I'M STILL UPSET I HAD TO PAY 9 AND A HALF DOLLARS TO GET THIS!!! PLEASE TO EVERYONE WHO READS THIS DO NOT SPEND ANY MONEY ON THIS GAME!!!! This is absolutely RIDICULOUS!!!! Seriously EA you're making yourselves look like FOOLS!!! I mean it's ridiculous that you're games are getting WORSE every year than getting BETTER! I would NOT in a MILLION years EVER recommend this to ANYONE. Oh, and I wonder how many people from EA are writing reviews for this game on here? Hmm...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad game last 2009 was better

posted by kevo7711 (STILLWATER, OK) May 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'd say the worst part of Madden 2010 that no one is talking about is the rating of the players..Its ridiculous. Half the players that were rated in the 70s should be 85 at worst.. its ridiculous and not fun to play.Matt Shaub for instance is far better than his rating.. Madden 2010 is just not worth playing..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

thats not madden....

posted by Churgers (CARLSBAD, CA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

absolutely terrible version of madden. i now realize why i prefer the ps2 version over any xbox version. virtually no running game, no defense, and pass happy games. Too slow and just not fun. They missed big time this year. Don't waste your time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ai

posted by marqman (BREMERTON, WA) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the games ai is awful. here is an example of what i mean. i was doing a superstar season in the superbowl, i hit the fourth quarter. i have 1:40 left on the clock down by 7. i lead a game tying drive or so i think. since i am the qb after i throw the td pass i had to sim the extra point. well so i click the sim button and low and behold the kicker misses the the extra point. now if thats not terrible ai i dont know what is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nickle-and-Dime

posted by BrckaLo (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me preface this review by saying that I've been a Madden fan since the Sega Genesis days.

The breakdown:

The ups:
-- Graphics are marginally better than the previous edition.
-- Interface is slightly improved, a little more user friendly.

The downs:
-- There is now a heavier reliance on online gameplay.
-- You can't earn all the awards in the game or unlock all the content without paying additionally for it.
-- In-game dynamic advertising... not just a snickers banner here and a Old Spice red zone analysis there. Now a search engine banner on loading screens, domain-name sales ad during menu transition, etc.

My humble opinion:
Franchise mode is a husk of what it could be. Superstar mode is a joke.... oh, and that's really it unless you wanna get online through xbox live. The minigames are trivialized. The trainer is absolutely lame.

This game has soooo many good ideas but the execution is just awful. I feel like I am playing a game they worked on two years ago, stripped away the developing team and kept on one animation guy and set it on autopilot.

It's actually kinda painful to watch. EA games are just getting worse by the day. They have a lot of good franchises and they are moving in a disappointing direction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse