Rent Madden NFL 10 for PS3
view large frontback

Madden NFL 10

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.0

3502 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Madden 10 (Same old thing)

posted by Stutheit28 (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Madden 10 gets the football part down. Other than that, it's dreadful. Online play is sluggish. Graphics are good in HD, if you are still using a 4:3 TV it seems like your playing a PS2. Tackles get repetitive, same thing over and over again. Franchise mode isn't very detailed from last year, just a repeat. My Player mode is just boring, it no longer keeps track of your road to the HOF.

EA needs to stop trying to make the grass look better and just make the game play something that you have never seen before in a Madden game. I am looking forward to Madden 11 to see if they have changed anything.

6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ENTERTAINING UMM SURE BUT SO FREAKING AGRIVATING!!

posted by dabeast23 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) May 23, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

!!!PROS!!!
-fun and very long( that's what she said) franchise
-challenging trophies
-a whole ton of stats on players
-fun to face friends online
-realistic financing in franchise
-the hit stick is amazing
!!!CONS!!!
-very lame 2nd half comebacks by cpu
-receivers litterly teleport to catch a ball for cpu
-running online is overpowered but running offline sucks
-no one passes the ball online
-different controls than other maddens
-one game takes 45 min long
-audibles are annoying when the quarterback keeps saying "Z Z" over and over again
-blocks are complete BS
-it so freaking impossible to sack the quarterback because everytime u get close the qb (for the cpu) throws it away and ur like " CUMON!!"
-you have about 2 seconds in the pocket then your forced to scramble out leaving qb's like peyton useless
!!!OVERALL!!!
the first week i got this i loved it, but after that there were so many plays were i felt like screaming "BULL $H!+!!!"at the tv .. no seriously this game is okay and keeps u entertain for an hour but in that hour you will get very frustrated .. the first half your like " yah check me out im wooping butt" but 2nd half is when it gets really gsy, receivers make impossible catches , tackling becomes a challenge, they convert every 3rd down ugh very aggravating .. online is fun WHEN YOUR PLAYING YOUR FRIENDS!!! if your not, all they do is screen pass and run
i sure hope madden 11 is going to fix these problems because right now madden 10 is not that "Great" madden game we were hoping for , well for me at least

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Huge Madden Fan, most of the time

posted by dtigertron (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Lets face it, Madden has had issues and still is far from perfect. However this is my favorite madden. All the positions (except kickers) have more stats, they make sence, and add realism (especialy QB). How many times have we heard analists say that a quarterback can drop a ball in the basket 30 yards down the field, but needs to work on accuracy between the hashes. This game has stats for both.
Most importantly for me, you can play online with a team that you draft. Online franchise is a long time dream of mine, and while it is unfinished, it is a start. Renters beware though, if you didn't buy the game you have to pay 10 dollars to download the Online Franchise code from the playstation store.
All in all a great step forward, hopefully by next year we will have an online financial system, a better trade system, a way to play a scrimage game with your drafted team, a better online drafting system (java any one?), a way to que players while drafting, and a way to create your own plays for your online franchise.
Any one who loves to play football video games will enjoy this Madden, especialy offline. The future is promising for online, but the gaming world still needs faster internet protocals if posible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Madden NFL 10 is the best in its series...

posted by porters821 (FARMINGTON, MI) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

19 out of 23 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that I am a HUGE fan of 2K Sports and I've been upset with EA for the last 5 years ...but I am also a HUGE American Football fan so I can't seem to stay away from Madden.

Every year I compare Madden to NFL 2K5 and every year I'm disappointed because Madden seems to never improve anything...until this year. I still think that NFL 2K5 is the best American Football game I've ever played (and I've played the last 10 Madden games), but this year I didn't find myself wishing that EA Sports would just go away.

I really enjoyed the slower gameplay, it makes the game look and feel much more realistic. The graphics are amazing and EA Sports added a new halftime show which isn't half bad. A lot of people have been complaining about the gameplay being slower - they say that they can't start their run before getting tackled or that they can't get the QB to release the ball before getting sacked ...my suggestion to them is that they play on an easier mode until they get use to the new gameplay. You have to approach playing this Madden as if you were playing in an actual football game. You have to read the opposing defense/offense so that you know what to expect. If you're not football savvy or a "gamer" then you'll probably have tough time with this year's Madden. (BTW: I don't consider myself a "gamer" but I do like to think that I am football savvy.)

I think the new "fight for every yard" thing is my favorite feature though. It's not a walk in the park, but it definitely makes the game more enjoyable because the fate of the game is truly in your hands. It's no longer all about trying to run straight through the defense in order to break a tackle, now you can actually get into a bit of a shoving match and "fight for every yard".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The madden regression!

posted by shadthedad (DESOTO, TX) Aug 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Let me first and foremost state my affiliation..... I am a Madden hardcore fanatic. I've been playing madden football since its first entry on the Super Nintendo. What hurts me the most is the fact that they hyped this game up as the end all be all of madden, and its not! You will here all the hype about how great the presentation is, its not. All the players on the sideling wear 00 jerseys, the crowd is focused elsewhere in the stadium vs the action, and coaches and players yell at the wrong players! The halftime show is extremely vanilla, and the commentary is putrid! Can someone explain to me how the madden released in 2004 can have better situational commentary then a game released in 2009?

The gameplay is average as well. I had a guy run goal line sweep the entire game. Any one who says this game is realistic is highly dillusional. I tried a wr screen, and my wideout was sucked into the defensive line.

It saddens me that I defended the release of this title. In my opinion, the series best was 2004 and 2005, and was on the road to a comeback in 2008. Ea sports needs to step their game up, because this years madden is unacceptable!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Madden Yet!!!

posted by tone28 (EIELSON AFB, AK) Aug 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

25 out of 32 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

First off I would like to say that I have been playing Madden since it was on the Sega and I am able to compare this Madden to others. Madden 2010 is truly the best one yet from the presentation to the gameplay it does not let down.

The graphics are just as detailed as last year but tiburon took it a step further by adding authintic Jerseys and QB movements that means when you play as Eli Manning the animation when you throw the ball mirrors the real Eli Manning.

The game play is where tiburon concentrated on the most. You all remember in 2009 when a person would just hike the ball and drop back 30 yards to throw a 60 yard bomb or just immediatly roll outside the pocket? Well that is no more pocket pressence is key in the passing game if you do not stay in it you are done!! Running the ball is now very realistic big backs take more than one person to bring down and the gang tackles look like you are watching the real thing. There are no more magnet tackles and "super" dive tackles. The game speed has been slowed down a lot from last year which is a big improvement. The game now feels much more realistic and it does not look like the players are skating on ice.

I would talk about game modes but we all know that gamers only really care about the graphics and the game play. So I hope that I have coverd enough for you all. So stop reading my review and go get the game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better but a LONG ways off..

posted by True2Life (MOODY, AL) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I'll start with the pluses. The animations are tight. I mean I can't believe they got the tackling animations, the catches, heck you can even tell when a guy commits a penalty because of the graphics engine. It's great... graphics wise. The gameplay itself has gotten slightly better, which was reported in the game informer (the whole reason for me renting it). You can get the ball off with a guy in your face, your receivers can be knocked off their routes, guys can break tackles more fluidly, it's easier to get off blocks, and DBs don't inherently know where the ball is going. So for that EA I applaud you.

Now the minuses. What idiot thought putting the co-op mode in the game would best be suited by nfl star/campus challenge type cameras. Dumbest idea ever. Once on defense you can't tell where the heck the guys are (once they get behind you). Also, on offense whoever has the greatest lag will be your weakest link - just a bad idea all the way around. The Madden IQ is also a novel idea that doesn't work. Once your IQ in the game moves up (based on your gameplay), the computer will simply call more penalties against you or create more turnovers against you. Some of the graphics get a little tiring as well. How many times do we have to see a QB on the phone with someone? If your RB scores, it shows the QB talking to someone. If a guy gets injured, then he limps off the field and the QB talks to someone. Did a QB help develop this game? I've also noticed that regardless of how much speed your WR has, he can't beat someone deep. It's almost as if the Safety inherits Mercury's shoes to catch up to him. The O-line does a little better blocking on the lower level, but if you put it on All Madden... you might as well turn it off. They'll be in the backfield before you can select a play. Granted the sliders help, but honestly... how hard is to make the game right to begin with?!? EA really needs to listen to the people who buy this junk before releasing the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A step forward, but a small one.

posted by bmyze316 (WATERVLIET, NY) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Madden 2010 has taken a step in the right direction. The tackling is the biggest and best improvement. There are many more tackles and Runners can bust out for a long run just when you think you have him wrapped up. use the hit stick the right way. For instance if brandon Jacobs is running you better press down on the right stick to hit him low, or else you WILL get run over. pressing up will cause fumbles, injuries, and big hits.

The Wildcat is realistic and fun. Finally the soundtrack is fun to listen to with 2-pac, nirvana, cypress hill, and Korn just to name a few. We now get a superbowl celebration! bout time. Overall the franchise mode is much improved.

Now for the negatives. and there is plenty.
the zone coverage has always been HORRIBLE. In real football the defense covers the man in their zone. In madden the player will sit in his zone and watch a receiver catch a pass 5 yards away when no one else is anywhere near him. How hard is it for the player to play man on a guy until he leaves his zone??? thats how they teach you to do it in real life.
D-Backs drop WAY to many interceptions, it's been that way in madden forever, FIX IT!
The camera is a bit shaky during pass plays and the cameras positioning during passes is inconsistent.

No option to change the button configuration, WHY???

the pass game has taken a step back. it is hard to make a "touch" pass over the head of a defender, especially on the deep ball. if you throw it hard on the deep ball it will be too low, if you lob it the DB will catch up to it. Also all ranked games are played with 5 min. qtrs and an accelerated clock. Give us some options! i hate getting only 1 offensive possession a quarter.

I love the nfl so i enjoy the game. but as a madden fan i want more. every year they repeat mistakes, which leaves me less excited about the improvements. Overall I am encouraged about the direction the game is headed and their should be some Great maddens in the future. Go Giants!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

2nd and 7 ?

posted by JordanRush (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Does anyone else notice this glitch? The play-by-play announcer always says 2nd and 7 when it's 2nd and 10. Get's a little annoying after a while.

On the plus side, this game is compatible with 1080i so it looks much better, graphics wise, compared to NCAA 10 which only does 720p which means that on a 1080i TV it will convert down to 480p. (which looks terrible) This only applies to those with 1080i TV's, like myself.

I don't understand why the fans in the stands look like old Atari characters (during intant replays) This is supposed to be Next Gen gaming! What's the problem?

For the next Madden, EA please make the players line up in play formation, like the real players do! Why do they "glide" into position? Why can't they take small steps like in real life? They look like table football pieces.

Sadly, this IS the best next gen football game available. Maybe if there was some competition from 2K sports, EA wouldn't keep turning out mediocre sports games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Much improved this year.

posted by nathan1 (LAKE WORTH, FL) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Madden 10 is the best and most serious attempt made by EA at football yet. You can really see how the franchise is evolving from that gamey feel to a more simulated experience. I don't know if you remember from a couple years back but they used to have that QB vision mechanic and then those stupid icons for star players. Well thats all gone now and thank god.

First the most important aspect, gameplay. Madden 10 delivers a much more authentic feel with the slower pace and more realistic play progression. You can really read the plays now and sit in the pocket. The first thing you will notice is the change in QB throwing ability. It is way softer of a passing game now and the ball stays in the air much longer, especially on deep balls. This may be frustrating at first but you will get used to it and appreciate the differences between arm strengths of different QBs. You're really going to love having a Cutler or Palmer as opposed to the softer throwers.

As mentioned the Pro-Tak system excels. The running game, although still difficult, improves with the Pro-Tak engine and its blocking mechanics. You can really feel the benifit of having a highly rated O-line.

There are more positives but i will point out some gameplay nuances that i find annoying. First the floating balls that QB's leave up when they're almost sacked is over-the-top. 25% of the time the ball is intercepted by a D-lineman and its just annoying. They should tuck and take the sack more like in real life.

Also, there are some problems with the O-lineman and they're blocking where they simply let rushers get by and you either get sacked or they tackle you're running back before he gets the ball. It's a glitch too, not the consequence of bad play calling.

Now, the graphics look even better this year. The lighting and weather effects feel great. To bad they do not have progressive lighting though. If you play a dusk game it will stay that way the entire time.

Well im out of characters so..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Poor Controls, Poor Updates

posted by VerdicAyse (ALBRIGHTSVILLE, PA) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've never in my life thought i'd ever say what i'm about to say about a Madden Game. However, Madden NFL 2010 is absolutely horrible. While it has a beautiful presentation, lots of modes and supposedly far superior control, i've found myself having to relearn the game all over again. However, EA has made a terrible assumption. They assume I have nothing better to do in life than figure out the control changes of yet another Madden game just because they "felt" like changing it. Sorry, but I have a wife and family now and I don't have the time to relearn the feel of the formula. This game was a complete waste of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Madden Yet

posted by djztheman (THURMONT, MD) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

By far the best Madden to date. Everything from the gameplay, options, and graphics. Paying for some accelerators online makes no sense, but who does that anyway?

Watching your running back get ganged tackled is the best.. and then watching him move the pack across the first down marker is way awesome... and then.. after all that... have a guy like Michael Turner break one of those 5 man tackles and go 90 yards for a score......... who won't see that this season on TV? It'll happen people.......

For those of us who like the simulation aspect, the accelerated clock is wonderful. You can decide how many seconds to run off after a play is picked.... so really, you can play a real 60 min game in an hour or less, and have all your stats match what it would be like if you were looking at a box score come Monday morning.

If you expect to win on this game, you have to know what plays do what, make sure you have your audibles memorized, which players are where, matchups, use defensive playmakers and coverage audibles.

I'm looking at some of the low reviews and I don't quite understand where those "gamers" are getting there info. For a GAME.... this is the best Madden. If this was REAL football.... might be a few problems... but what makes football REAL... are the people playing it. Not digitized pixels or humans behind a controller. They do what you tell them to do.. so if your not getting rid of the ball fast enough.. press the button sooner... or play on rookie. If running is hard.. hey.. there is a practice field where you can take your team and playbook and practice.

Madden 10 is the best to date. No question about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Madden yet!

posted by Jarhead24 (TACOMA, WA) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This Madden is by far the best one in the series by offering an immersive experience. Multiple new camera angles mimic a t.v. broadcast and also pregame warmups that feature star players kicking throwing and running. Graphics are solid with player movements more realistic than ever before thanks to the new game engine that allows multiple players to tackle and the movement of players seems to be more realisticly based on the size and weight of players. Online franchise is very cool even though I did not spend a lot of time on it. Now lets get to the not so good things about Madden. I mentioned the graphics above and dont get me wrong they are good but when it comes to some of the cut scenes player detail diminishes such as when the coaches shake hands at the end of the game or when the quarterback stops for an interview. The graphics just look sloppy and when you see the crowd in the background they look flat. When your the quarterback talks on the phone or to himself he almost looks horse-like with his gums and teeth protruding haha. Although these are not important aspect of gameplay I felt they could ahve been better and not so sloppy. The announcers become repetitive during the game saying the same phrases many times in one game. Despite all of this, I dont play Madden for all the extra goodies. I play Madden to get my game on! I give this game a 8.5 out of 10 and is worth a rental. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

same madden

posted by MATTROCKS (SOUTHGATE, MI) Aug 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

I've been really mad at EA sports since madden 08 came out and i got really mad this time... 1. its the SAME THING AS MADDEN 09 just the graphics are better and roster updates... its just a rip off, you have to pay for almost every game mode, you have to pay for franchise online... better linesmen, EA is just trying to rip there fans off... this is just a bunch of BS... i would rather but madden 09 for 8 dollars then pay 60 bucks for madden 10... i am returning it NOW!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

New whistles, same old Madden

posted by bigweeso (MANTUA, NJ) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'll start with the good: this game is much better than last year's version. The problem is, that isn't saying much. The same glitches still exist that have existed for several years. Your return man does not let the ball drop on punts that will land inside the 10 and tries to bring kicks out that would land 9 yards deep in the endzone. The computer controlled team's AI blows the user controlled team's AI out of the water. Computer DBs seem to literally have eyes in the back of their heads and super glue on their gloves. My defense can't catch a cold and wouldn't react to a ball not thrown to their man if their lives depended on it. Computer controlled players seem to be much more highly skilled than user's players. For example, Vincent Jackson (83 ovr) toasted Cortland Finnegan (92) for an entire game. In the same game, Calvin Johnson (92) was shut down by Dunta Robinson (85). The big, new thing is this gang tacking. I have had little success. It has actually been essentially counterproductive. Sort of like when they first introduced the hit stick and warned that flying in with it while a teammate was making a tackle, the gang tackling results in more big than run stops. Speaking of big plays, that is apparently the only way the computer can score. I have given up more 60 yrd + plays than a care to admit and have only given up a few TDs on actual drives. Overall, the game is fun for a few days with buddies, but I quickly got tired of the same old routine. Oh, and Chris Collinsworth, who I think is a very good announcer in real life, says the same 3 or 4 lines over and over. He actually makes Madden's old one liners sound good. Game was on mute by the 3rd time I played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not begginer friendly

posted by Swerve (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow what a waste of time. I have been a gamer for along time and though I haven't been into sports game per say since I was around 12, I recently got into watching football again and thought maybe it would be fun to play this game. Well apparently there is no room for the begginng player in Madden games. Tried to find a decent tutorial, or anything that would show me how to play the game with no success. Well aparently unless you are a football superfan that knows everything about the game then screw you. Well I don't and I won't be wasting my time with Madden games in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Demo is better than Full version

posted by ZiNgXX (SPRING, TX) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

7 out of 16 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The demo is way better than the full version! Seriously!

On the demo I am able to throw the ball and had more time to look for open receivers on the field but this full verison my offense tacklers will not block the defense linemen real well and allow them them to sack my QB! No time to throw my reciever and find opening spot. Even my RB couldn't find room to run as I did on Demo version! I just found out that we are suppose to buy the upgrade every postion skills in playstation store in order for every players to do well as the demo does. It cost around $9.99 for total package for that. Geez buy the game and plus that? That's crazy! Offense linemen sucks... I even had to trade my offense tackles for better tacklers and that still does not work at all!!! This sure sucks man.

Graphics and everything else is great but not happy with the way EA did this to us to buy to upgrade player's skills.

BRING BACK 2KSPORTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! EA sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

CALL ME CRAZY BUT....

posted by Rko619 (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2004

7 out of 19 gamers (37%) found this review helpful

I may be the only person who doesnt really like this game... :(. But I cant say I HATE it per say. I got the game and frm looking at the main menu and stuff, it gives u the idea that, aww heck ya this is gonna rock!!! Well, let me tell u whats good about this game this year. I love the new halftime show idea. I think that to me is the banner thing to come out of the game. They also have the updated rosters. Thats an up. Graphics are SO detailed. The franchise mode has been improved alot. Although, here are the downers to me.... First off is the gameplay... the rushing to me is terrible. This whole "fight for every yard" thing needs to go. The rushing has been made so much harder then before, if u like challenges, be my guest. The next thing is the roster rankings. The EA guys were way to tough on the players... I mean really? Matt Schaub a 76? nah uh. We all know hes' way better than that. But this is with a buncha players. And the overall gameplay is worse than last year. Everyone runs like their feet r on fire. I cant elaborate easily on that, you have to see for yourself. I think buying the 09 game for 8 bucks is a way better deal than this. Let me know what u think

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

dropped the ball

posted by RonaiSnzer (WAYNE, WV) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

There are a lot of bugs and regression in this year. I gotta say Ncaa took it this year. Pro-Tackle is bugged and in need of a patch.

passing has many "turbo" moments and pro-tackle magic moments such as full mid air momentm switch. the line will let people just walts on through and the line has mostly high percentge coverage and awareness? Come on ea.

superstar mode is very bland this go around, no weight room, sprints nothing. unlike ncaa you cant save your superstar road videos or photos. you have to purchase online franchise for ten dollars.

exibition is ok but has the same pro-tackle, line, passing issues not to mention the commentary in this year is kinda heart breaking.

graphics:8
sound:7
controls:7
story/campaign:5
overall:7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Okay, not great...

posted by mrw2004 (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 31, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

One of the better Maddens recently. I know sales are down this year but it looks great and plays well. I think they need to go back to the roots of the franchise and add more user options but it's still a buy. Next year pick ONE cover athlete though!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Same Old Madden, Same Online Cheaters

posted by GaMeRZD (MARIETTA, GA) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game doesn't improve on much other than the graphics and the way a few different things work. I tried playing online but like any previous year of the Madden series my opponents find the cheapest plays to pass, run or blitz with. Overall if you like previous madden games you'll love this but it's the same recycled game again! I give it 1 out of 10 for originality! Overall a 2 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Nice Release

posted by Bl4ck3n3d (ARMAGH, PA) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I am a long time Madden player (since the mid 90s) and this is not you "average old Madden upgrade." Several things about the game are different and I like the direction they are taking it.

First, the graphics are fantastic. The lighting is great. The uniforms are way more dynamic, it even adds Super Bowl logos to jerseys when you play in it.

Next, the game is slower than previous Madden releases. This was done to be more like real life and it is pretty accurate. As I was running an interception back for a touchdown I counted the seconds over the last 40 yards and it was between 4 and 5, which is exactly the speed the player in real life would run it.

The Pro Tak tackling is great. It looks so much better than before, and the fight for every yard can get you an extra yard or two when carrying the ball (and also vice versa on defense). The new fumbling system is fun but, its nothing more than a quicktime event. Even so having more control over the pile up is a good thing.

The game is hard on offense if you aren't hard core about it (which I am so I got it down after a few hours). You have to stay in the pocket and correctly execute pre-snap reads and hot routes. On defense your blitzes have to be the correct calls to work. It's much more like a real life simulation now, which I like. You no longer drop back 30 yards and throw a 75 yard bomb, you get destroyed if you try that.

My only complaint is that I had to $5 to get All-Madden mode and $2 for my super star to actually get better. The micro payments suck, no other way to put it. But, you can play without them.

All in all this is a good release, and one of the better Madden games in this decade in my opinion. Definitely worth a rental and, if you are any kind of football fan at all, a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GOOD GAME, TOO SLOW

posted by jaydollar (COLUMBIA, SC) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I BOUGHT THE PS2 VERSION OF MADDEN AND I CAN SAY THE PS3 IS SLOWER AND HARDER TO PLAY. IT LOOKS BETTER BY FAR AND MORE REAL LOOKING BUT PLAYING IT. NOT THE BEST AS THE PS2. SO I AM GOING TO HATE WHEN THEY DO STOP MAKING ALL PS2 GAMES BECAUSE I THINK THE GAMES ARE JUST TOO SLOW FOR THE PS3 MAYBE CAUSE ITS SO REAL AND ALOT MORE IN DEEP BUT WHO KNOWS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best madden since it went downhill

posted by James2014 (VIENNA, WV) Nov 18, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

After madden nfl 10,it just went down after this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

amazing graphics!

posted by giovanni (DECATUR, AR) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

the graphics are down right insane in this game, very good graphics.. and over all the game is awesome. very easy to play and lots of new stuff.. i recommend it if you like football games, its the best one ive played in a while..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse