Rent Madden NFL 10 for Wii
view large frontback

Madden NFL 10

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

839 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

nothing to see here

posted by fraskew (MATTHEWS, NC) Aug 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

if you've enjoyed the madden games in the past, or like the nfl, then you will be greatly disappointed in this offering. they have morphed the game down to a collection of silly mini-game modes, and in doing so, have eliminated most of the details that true nfl fans would want. franchise mode is a buggy, slapped on afterthought, no polish or shine to it. the commentary is disinteresting, at best, and worthy of mute. historic teams are gone, uniform choices are home, away and the alternate. uniform editor is gone. create a team is gone. even the ability to choose weather is gone. you may choose day or night, wind or no wind. if you are looking for an updated football game to play this season, this aint it...by far. if you are in the mood to play wacky-style football-themed mini-games with no depth, then you'll love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What were they thinking?

posted by jharper (CHANDLER, AZ) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Overall I find this to be the weakest version of Madden yet for the Wii. I unfortunately got rid of my previous versions of Madden before purchasing this.

Aside from the cartoony graphics EA has totally gutted the game for the Wii. Gone are Franchise and Career mode. Instead there've added mini-games and party games. Road to the Superbowl play is ok, but not nearly as engaging as Franchise mode of the past.

On the plus side the controls are much nicer. Point and Pass works much better than the previous passing system. If EA would add these controls to an updated version of Madden 08 Wii they may have a game worth owning.

I've been contemplating buying a PS3. This game may have just pushed me over the fence. I was looking forward to taking the Steelers to a 7th Super Bowl win in franchise mode and the Wii version of Madden just doesn't cut it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too much fluff and not enough substance

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

There's really not many sports that can compete with the NFL for the sheer excitement of the season. Every one of the 16 games is crucial (unlike in baseball, hockey and basketball where teams can lose several games and still be considered the best in the league.)
When I got Madden NFL 10, I was hoping for the same sort of excitement; take any team, play through the season, and see how far I can get. Especially with the great controls that are utilized in this game.
However, Madden NFL 10 really irritates me because I can’t do play a season without strings attached.
The only mode that lets me do that is the “Road to the Super Bowl”. You pick a team and go through a season.
But you’re sacked with a fan meter. Do well, and you can continue playing the season. Do badly, and you could find yourself losing games for no reason whatsoever.
The first game of the season, I lost at the Giants 10-0. I won the second game against the Rams 17-7, and lost at Detroit (yes, that team) 17-14.
When I got to the fourth game, I played the Bucs and was losing 7-0 late first half when the game declared one of my players was going to get benched, and right there I lost the game. I could’ve gotten back in the game in the second half, but the AI would not let me. Why?
The other modes let you play only one game, play a bunch of simple minigames, play one game where other players knock down opposing team players like in Super Mario Galaxy, and a betting game where you bet on who will get the most first downs, rushing yards, and so on.
It's high time EA Sports realizes that not all Wii owners want mini game compilations and gimmicks with the single game mode.
Give us the ability to form leauges - or at least play through a season with our favorite team.
Madden NFL 10 is not the football simulator I was looking for, and I'm afraid future installments in the franchise for the Wii will suffer because they have to put in a lot of party games. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORSE THAN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE

posted by phlsfan86 (HARRISBURG, PA) Jun 18, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The first time I got this game, I figured there would be a lot of changes. However, the changes I saw shocked me. You can't create a team, the controls are weird, especially the point and pass feature, you can't create a player of your own or create a stadium. Also, nearly all of the NFL players have the same facial features. You can rent this game and see for yourself but I wouldn't recommend you buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could be better!

posted by squishdrgn (JEANNETTE, PA) Sep 25, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Madden is the best football game, don't get me wrong. I just don't like the controlls for the wii at all. We should able to use the classic wii controller if we wanted to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Improved, but not perfect

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Aug 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The last Madden i played for the Wii was Madden 08. And that Madden wasnt really clear on how you play the game. On this Madden it tells you much better on how your supposed to play the game. The graphics are a bit better. I dont remember if Madden 08 had online, but online in this game is much appriciated and is very fun. In this game a few big add ons were put into effect. The big one was Coop which is pretty fun and you can do that online aswell. Although the camera on Coop is really screwed up and annoying. EA says they slowed the gameplay down a bit in this game, but i could tell no difference. Also this game has a lot of the features from Madden 09, but theyre a lot harder to find in this game for some reason. So overall this Madden is the best yet, but Madden games really arent very different from each other. So if your stretched for money buy Madden 09 or 08, because its basically the same. If you have $50 to blow, buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Big Step Down

posted by pasha43 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the only other madden game i've ever owned besides this one is madden 09 for the wii. i was so excited when i got madden 10 in the mail. luckily i kept madden 09. the players look like cartoons, when ever you go in for a tackle it's broken or you fall two feet short, you can't edit rosters or gameplay, the plays are simple and bad ( i always pick my plays but with this game i just let madden pick,) i can't complete a pass, and worst of all the game it's self is like a abstract watercolor that was made for seven year olds. there were few but some pros: no more celebration mini games, better party mode, a little more difficult, and 5 on 5 is in a real stadium.
Note: i've game for two hours only trying party mode, some of a pickup game, and 5 on 5. These two hours has frustrated me enough, mainly with the computer breaking every tackle, to write this review.
P.S. all gameplay was single player

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Madden 2010 Sucks

posted by xeus24 (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

WORST Madden! from all the years Madden has been out by far this is the worst one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

O.K. game

posted by garner21 (MACHESNEY PARK, IL) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

We had some fun with this game, the options are really fun.
Game is geared more for the novice football fan IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointed

posted by punxof2day (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is not like any of the other Madden football games i have played. I was majorly disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

madden 2010

posted by cameron817 (WHITE PINE, TN) Sep 1, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is over-rated! You can only choose from three plays...its nothing like playstation edition........i was very disaponited!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Madden 2010

posted by slapnutz (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game starts off a little hard to play if you're new to the wii or have never played a game with the type of controlling this uses.
Once you get the hang of it which shouldn't take more than 1 or 2 games of 5 minute quarters it becomes very simple & alot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Weak Sauce.

posted by SilentBob5 (HONOLULU, HI) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I have played Madden games since I had them on PC in the late 90's. This is by far the worst version of Madden I have ever played. 09 was such a great game, and it seams like they just took away all the good things from that game. I'll stick to 09 for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHY?

posted by steve2722 (JAMESTOWN, NY) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Why would EA Sports take out the Franchise in the Wii version. I would be so made if I just paid $60.00.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok

posted by eware3000 (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Game control take a while to get use to. After a day of play, my wrist was throbbing. This was my 1st time trying a game like this on the Wii. If you are up for the challenge, go for it. Otherwise get this on another console. I just got it on PS3, LOVE It on Ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madden 2010 wii

posted by KRYPT0NITE (KYLE, TX) Sep 16, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was excited of getting the new madden game for the Wii cause of the fun gameplay from Madden 2009 the same, a somewhat graphics improved. But gameplay and WROST graphics then 2009 is not the reason for a 1 rating. There is no i mean NO CREATIVE MODE AT ALL. For example if I change Demarcus Wares ablity points his number would switch from 94 to 54 with no way of swicthing it back same with WR with jersey number in 10s would swicth to a 80 number. And the roster update sucks, not like the 360s update they have no pic for alot of players and dont release players at all.

So dont get this game for the Wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

please read this its very helpful

posted by wildbeast2 (PALATKA, FL) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

EA, did a good job on the controls ,but could done better on the the gaphics there are alright ,but not good as but I still like it. it is better than any of the baseball games for the wii even the Bigs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

madden 2010 on wii

posted by HungWaLow (GILMER, TX) May 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

football just aint the same on the wii i love to play it just not on the wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Be careful

posted by Breakey177 (MILLIS, MA) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 of the games GameFly owns some body ruined so try not to get mad and send it back and put it close to the top good luck NOT getting the same copy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WHAT HAPPENED TO FRANCHISE MODE

posted by Patsfan1 (HOPE VALLEY, RI) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

Madden10 is an okay if you like to just do "Quick Play". If you are like me and like to do the "Franchise Mode" then you will be very disappointed. It's not even like it has a bad Franchise mode, IT DOSEN'T HAVE ONE AT ALL. The game has a season mode, which isn't much fun, if you play poorly they "bench" you and you can't even play the game. the graphics are terrible, all the players look like they are wearing shoulders pads that are way to big for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Madden 10 Wii disappointment

posted by ctryder (SYKESVILLE, MD) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

As a longtime Madden player, first on early Nintendo and up through the PS2, I was anxious to put the franchise to the test with my new Wii system. I found the graphics more cartoonish, I found less playing options (could not find a Franchise, or season mode) and the other gaming options (5 on 5) were almost compelling, but they were not what I enjoy Madden for, which is football. At best, I found the controls awkward, and at the worst I found them unresponsive. I was able to hook up online for a game with another player (this was easy and cool), but could not get my quarterback to throw the ball. My 9 year old son, was frustrated by the way in which you could not help but watch what play your opponent was setting up. Executing audibles, or line adjustments often times ran out the play clock. In the end, I was disappointed in the game, but thankful for GAMEFLY, which lets me try before I buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

it is allright

posted by eguy86 (HAGERSTOWN, MD) Apr 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

if you want to play in franchise mode you will need to do the code teamplayer and situation mode you need to do the code youcallit
superstar mode tipe in egoboost the super bowl stadium code is
thebigshow and the pro bowl stadium code is allstars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by tgarvey (DELRAN, NJ) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

i felt like i was playing backyard football. this is not real at all. dont get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Different than what I thought

posted by cruller (AFTON, VA) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

So, I went out to the store to buy this game right after X-Mas. I couldn't rent it because it was unavailable. I had read the reviews, thinking this wouldn't be any different than most of the games. But, I had lost my old one from a few years ago, so I decided to get a new one.
Everyone said it was extremely hard. Well, I put it on Pro difficulty (medium) and normal controls and started to play. Wow, everyone else was wrong. I won my first gam 33-2. Then, I won another one 34-0. This game is awesome. Plus the online play is fantastic. I don't have extremely fast internet, but wow. It lagged a little, but I got the live rosters and played some online, which was a bit of a challenge, since I had just got this game and there are many players better than me.
Overall, I give this game an 8/10, There were a few things missing that I was looking for: Play Creator, Player/Team Maker, fantasy draft in season.
Pros: Great multiplayer, easy to jump in the game, good for beginners or veterans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Step Back

posted by Roanewolf (KNOXVILLE, TN) Aug 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game is a step down from Madden 08. The graphics are more cartoon like NFL Blitz. Players are almost freakishly out of proportion. The modes are different now using mini games like the Tiger Woods series is doing. The only thing I did like is they have a point and pass option that allows you to point the remote at the receiver you want to pass to and press the button. That is nice. I wish they had that in 08. Overall game play is good. Computer opponents are easy to beat however. Game is good for younger players or if you like simple controls as they do have easy modes as an option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »