Rent Madden NFL 09 for PSP Games
view large frontback

Madden NFL 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS2, Wii, PS3, Xbox 360, Xbox
GF Rating
7.5

499 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Madden 09 was the Greatest game ever.

posted by bigzig06 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Madden 09 was just plain amazing. The game had great graphics for a PSP game. The gameplay is great in the aspect of realistic plays and great passing. The game was another great addition.

Yours Truely

BigZig06

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!!

posted by Gregorios (TONAWANDA, NY) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Gameplay is great and it gives you a choice before every game, rookie, mode, or advanced mode, rookie mode enables you to hit the x button while running and the runner will perform a highlight move. AWESOME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by C4Jeep (YORKVILLE, IL) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is my first Madden on PSP so I really have no complaints about it. Excellent job making this game portable now I can play Madden anywhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by VipSphinx (EL PASO, TX) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I bought the PSP earlier this year and I haven't play any sports games untill now. The game looks very decent taking in consideration that the system is portable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Two words: Q A

posted by StTrdamus (BROWNSBURG, IN) Aug 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I don't know who needs to get canned at EA sports, but this game is buggy with bold, italicized, capitalized B. Wow.

I can handle bugs if the game itself is good, but it's just not fun to play. I was under the assumption that the PSP did nothing but good sports games. I played Virtua Tennis (loved it), Hot Shots 1 and 2 (loved them) and MLB 08: The Show (incredible...best portable game ever), so I figured Madden would be in league with those. Uh...no.

Thank God for Gamefly, or I would have probably purchased this thing and hated myself for doing it.

Some things to think about for Madden Oh-10

Franchise mode needs to have about 7 less mini-games. It shouldn't take two hours to work your way through training camp drills.

Games should be quicker. It's a portable game fellas. No need for the whole shootin' match.

When I put the game into stand-by, it shouldn't crash my PSP. Again, portable game fellas. Way to take away one of the only reasons to go with this version over the consoles.

When I drop back to pass and roll out, my QB shouldn't hit himself in the back of the helmet with the football.

How about just a little graphical niceness. The game looks like it should be one of those bonus games packed with the console edition...like buy Madden 09 and get Madden 93 for free. The game looks like it it was ported from the N64.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stop thinking and just buy it.

posted by October30 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Aug 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Yes! It's just that hot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Like the PS2 version much better

posted by MissDahkme (Murfreesboro, TN) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok so maybe I should not be comparing PS2 to PSP, but having played and owned EVERY Madden since its conception, this game needs work. John Madden scolds you for being behind when you are actually ahead. I had a 17 play, 86 yard drive and it told me to run my QB some more.

The advice does not sync with what is happening in game. I do like the way they have the X button to be used for everything (passing, juke moves etc...), this helps me teach my 7 yr old grandson how to play without really understand football. I play on the advance.

PSP has a superstar mode, but its simply different game situations and goals you have to achieve. Like kick a FG with 3 seconds remaining, and then win the game in OT. I beat all of them in less than an hour.

There is no create a player/team. You can edit players on a roster (just not their name). There is franchise mode.

Practice is relatively the same. Game play is the same. Graphics could improve (see below)

Music-I am not a big fan of today's music, but soundtrack was fine.

Graphics, could use a zoom feature so that you can see who has the ball in a pile. Numbers on backs of jerseys are hard to distinguish. I played Seatle v Vikes and Vikes were in their all white w/purple numbers-Seahawks all white w/blue-green numbers and it was hard at times to tell which player was on which team.

I do not play online, so can't comment on that.

Overall it has replayability, which is a must in my household. Also be advised this review is by the oldest female member of most gamer boards. I am 50. I give it a 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just like 08

posted by underarmor (OAKLAND, TX) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is just like 08 madden the only things that changed is rosters. this game is Just like madden 08 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not For Fantasy Fun

posted by KMACLegend (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

If you get joy from playing Franchise Mode, and feeling like your favorite team is strong and powerful, this is not the title or should I say Platform for you, and here's why...

Games on the PSP seem to have a hard time saving correctly if the save file is of large size and grows to even larger size, thus with EA Sports Titles, so when you save your franchise mode, if you don't have an ever-growing memory card, your save file gets terribly corrupted, as I had the personal experience of only being able to "Simulate" my franchise, only ONE game into the pre-season, as the file size grew from 1.4kb to 3.5kb after the second save and corrupted (i'm assuming/best guess) the save information, making Franchise Mode, impossible for me to play correctly...

If you want a quick, highly editable matchup for say Watching the same game on TV and playing it as well with virtually the same timing, then this is for you, or if you want some quick Football fun while at the Doctor's office or something, then this is the game, I gave it a 7 out of 10 becuase I do like the fantasy aspect and at a doctor's office would like to just pick up my save and continue feeling like I rule the field. But that was lost so I personally am choosing to go with something with a lighter save size and if that drops no big deal, and I have chosen NFL Street 3, as my next choice for rental on Gamefly.

I should mention I have a great understanding of Football, but am not an NFL nut who lives and breathes the draft pick. But I do like all sports video games and football is one of my best known, and Madden of course is the leader in that field, that is why I went a grabbed this. So its up to you depending on how you like to play...

7 out of 10 Stars!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I Love football

posted by StratMan (MIAMI, FL) Jun 2, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

And Madden delivers again. More like a roster update than a more features but I still enjoyed the game for two season then I turned to Monster Hunter while watching football on TV (sad).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not a Bad Game...

posted by Gamegirly (CANAL WINCHESTER, OH) Apr 4, 2009

Member since May 2008

This isn't a bad football game at all. I played NCAA 09 on the PSP and it was terrible. With Madden 09 the stadiums are the actual stadiums where the teams play. This game is very easy to pick up and play. The graphics are pretty good.
There are a few bugs in the game but I would think its because its the PSP and it can only load and hold so much data.
This is a very good game for anyone who enjoys being able to pick up and play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

madden 09

posted by bfg123 (PALM COAST, FL) Dec 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

For a 40 dollar game this madden sure does not have a lot of firepower as a matter of fact the only reason why this game is selling is because of the online mode this is the best and most realistic part of this game if they did not have the online mode no one would even look at this game as for the rest of the game it sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Madden 09 for PSP

posted by papelbon (PORTLAND, ME) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

I just bought a PSP & this was my first game ever played on it & I gootta say I am really dissappointed with this game, it has way too many glitches I can handle a few, but this game is way overboard, the gameplay is slow...EA SPORTS should be ashamed of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

madden 09

posted by videohead0 (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

let down just like 08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

madden 09

posted by desmond01 (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

the game is a little different than last year version, u cannot challenge the calls anymore!
the sprint button is now right trigger instead of X! but overall its ok!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by ETBART (FAIRFIELD, CA) Aug 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I really liked playing this game and think it is one of the best. If you want a better camera view you can go to the menu, settings, camera view, and you can change the views.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Stick with 08

posted by nysportfan (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Madden 09 on the PSP is a step in the wrong direction. In my opinion, 08 was better in every way. Accelerated clock has been removed. On defense, you now have to wait about 10 seconds before you see how many RBs and WRs the offense has on the field. There is also a blue/gray football icon in the lower right of the screen during gameplay that is very distracting and I don't think it can be disabled.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

B.....O.....R....I....N..- ..G

posted by ragingamer (NEW CASTLE, KY) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

i WAS KINDA EXCITED TO PKAY DIS CUZ I RECIVED DIS A DAY AFTA IT CAME OUT. poped it in played i thought hmm pretty fun gameplay. an hour lata i returned it bcuz i was bored outta my mind no fun game modes and it was very repetive it was bad.Fun for an hour or so .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »