Rent Madden NFL 09 for PS3
view large frontback

Madden NFL 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

3365 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Takes getting used 2!

posted by Raymet (HIALEAH, FL) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the Game weve been waiting for. or is it?...

Game starts by making you do a virtual reality Madden Test. This was really fun... but it also showed what to expect from a Flawed defensive game... Well the new "my skill" is really awesome. I can happily have any of my friends over, and have a competitive game. The games Menu's feel like a refurbished Madden 08... but honestly i can careless about menu's, lets go to Game play.

Graphics are above par. Simply said this game looks great... Animations have gotten so much better,You can be half way to the ground and Stiff arm (X) and your player will still be trying to release of the tackle and the best part is, he does. The controls are free. If you feel it you can do it. OFFENSE!! Now the reason i was frustrated. DEFENSE. Camera angles, ridiculous missed tackles, Drop int's when they hit u square in the hands, all continue to b frustrating part of madden. With that said I love how the Screen shakes when you lay a solid hit... Problem is getting an angle to lay that hit... Madden 09 offensive play with madden 05 defense???? o0o0 to DREAM!...

The play by play calling is pretty good, though it gets boring i think the best part is when they show you what u did wrong and how u can beat it next time.

Pretty much everything else is worthless in this game. Superstar and Franchise are the same as they've always been. and the new rewind system? Is Garbage. Just a new thing added for noobs! Online gaming is a non stop lag on the ps3, so that pretty much goes out the window.

Overall You will enjoy this madden, just give it some time to get used to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Madden game to date.

posted by jcbball55 (BALTIMORE, MD) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Honestly, this is the best game I have ever played. I have been playing this game since the year 2000, and have seen it go through the progression. I was extremely disappointed in the '08 venison because of the ridiculous "abilities" that specifically wide receivers had. That has now been scaled back and the defense is much more realistic than last year. Also, the game plays better and looks amazing. The fields and the stadiums are great. The control over the players is great. The running game is something that many have to get use to, but is more realistic to the game. I am a person that likes to see the realism of the NFL to be in the Madden game, and this game does that more than any other game yet to come out of the Madden collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i dont even like football games......

posted by MrMunk (KENDALLVILLE, IN) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

ill have to admit that this is probably the most complete Madden game to date. the Madden IQ, imho, is one of the most ingenious additions. i used to have to go in and edit all the settings so i could get a decent game, but now the IQ does that for me. i had a little trouble with the mini-game training, so after a few times, i avoided them. i havent been able to enjoy a Madden game since EA monopolized the NFL franchising in games, yet i found this one very enjoyable to play from all aspects. like i said, i dont like football games anymore, and i was almost thinking about buying this one. this is definitely worth the buy for a fan or just your average gamer who wants a solid football game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

better, but still lacking

posted by pops19137 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Madden 2006, the first next gen football game. This was a sight to behold, graphics were good, gameplay was smooth, it wasnt a perfect game, but it showed what the future holds in next gen gaming. Ever since, i have been extremely disappointed, and have gone from a diehard madden fan, to a diehard madden skeptic.

I cant buy these games without renting them anymore. Where is the new physics engine? the new graphics? the better gameplay? the realistic-ness of football? 2009 is the first real attempt at doing something different with the gameplay, the graphics, the realistic-ness. As good as a lot of the reviews are for this game, in my opinion, it still falls short.

I am not an online gamer, that aspect of any game is a low priority to me. I am a franchise playing fanatic. Although madden has gotten better, it still hasnt done enough with the actual reason people buy and play these games, for the football. Who cares about the new features! All you need to see is a replay of 1 play and you'll realize its not realistic .I dont know how the quarterback throws the ball when hes not even touching it, the physics look awful. Wanna make it more realistic? How about having the quarterback actually grip the ball and go through a real throwing motion. That might be something to work on in place of the virtual trainer. How bout a crowd that looks real and interacts as the game goes on in place of the madden IQ. How bout having them run with the ball like actual humans instead of twitchy robots in place of the rewind feature, and whatever happened to the actual coaches on the sidelines?

But there are good qualities to this game. Yes, the graphics are better. The stadiums look better. The players actually look like themselves, stadium/team specific TD celebrations, seamless transition from a spin to a juke. Overall, its better, but still lacking

EA shouldnt have exclusive rights to the NFL..competition breeds excellence..2K is better where it matters..in game physics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Madden so far!

posted by Dynex222 (WIMBERLEY, TX) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

16 out of 28 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

With new plays, players, and graphics, Madden 09 takes the cake. I just got the game this afternoon and have not stopped playing yet. I am even playing as I type this up. Even if you don't like football at all, you will probably still have fun with this game. The controls are great, the graphics are amazing and the game play is fun. Bottom line is that this game rocks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

All the hype for this?

posted by Silentme (O FALLON, MO) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I haven't played a football game in quite some time, i really dont enjoy football but i enjoy the challenge of sports. Its really a down time for games right now so i had nothing in my queue and i thought id give it a try. I am 100% disappointed. everything i read up to getting it was how great it was or how great it was going to be.

As others have said it has major issues but besides all of that, the game play is simply not fun. Superstar mode is a joke compared to MLB-the show where you really get to do alot with your player such as playing in a lesser league and working your way up. You start off as pretty much a superstar regardless of what you do up to the draft. Playing offense you get alot of influence where it is really hard to gain influence even when you force a 4th down punt. Its very uneven depending on if your offense or defense.

I am sending this game back right away, i will play MLB-The Show until NHL 09 is out next month and i can play a real career again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same Old Madden

posted by matackett (COLUMBUS, OH) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I just got madden 09 and well,...I was not impressed at all!

Gameplay: Grade: B

The gameplay for the most part was pretty good. at 60 frames per second, it is very smooth.

Features: Grade: B-

With a few new features including a new adaption feature, the features are nice but very similar to last year. With a new feature involving the players celebrating, seeing T.O. do the Soulja Boy "crank dat" dance does get repetitive. There is a new "rewind" feature which kinda gives you a 2nd chance if you make a mistake on an important play,

Sound: Grade: C+

Madden has mostly the same sound as last year with the exception of the 2 new announcers. In Chris Collinsworth and Tom Hammond. John Madden is used very sparingly as the open commentator and the closing commentator. However, the voice of Hammond and Collinsworth do get annoying very fast.

Graphics: Grade: A-

There is a new graphics engine that madden has put in this year which is nice. It gives the game a nice feel when playing. I think it is alot better than last years graphics.

Bottom Line: Grade: B-

If you are looking for a new and exciting game of madden this year, well, maybe next year. This game for the most part is very similar to Madden 08. With a few new features and upgrades, this years madden is nice but nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Madden is just another game

posted by keepitreal (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

first off I would like everyone to take 5 min and take a look at the review at just add an M to make com because they won't let me type it out on this review
gamespot.co/p- s2/sports/espnnflfootball- 2005/video/6103202/espn- nfl- 2k5- video- review?tag=;sd;3

Now after watching that is it even disputable that Madden NFL football on all next Gen systems has actually taken steps backwards. This is 5 years later, if I stuck you and 200 other people in an office for 5 years and I said improve this game and make it the best it can be. Do you think that the final product would be this junk that we call madden 09 today. NOT A CHANCE every year I have highest of expectations for the people at EA to come up with something amazing something great. Every year I say to myself next year is gonna be money next year is going to be amazing and Every year they have disappointed. Sure there is no doubt that this is a good solid game of football with many improvements to core gameplay from year to year and each year is better. but is it really what we deserve as gamers? that have to spend $60 every year for the same thing, No WAY! next year is madden 2010 they've already figured othe new features for that. When you were a played madden 95 did you not say to yourself "Man this game is great but 10 years from now this is going to be like playing real football." Now to me madden 09 is the same junk as madden 95 it's just a more rounded game and the gameplay is the same. The point here is I'm am sick of playing Video game football I want the real thing I need more emotion from the crowd, more emotion from players, I need realistic tackling, penalty's, fumbles, sacks, line blocking,commentary, player disputes, and pregame shows. As far as I'm concerned the people who developed 2k5 had all this down and more they were on the right track and EA took it away now it seems as if it'll be another 5 years before we can get back to where football games were when nfl 2k5 was champion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Madden NFL '09

posted by dcese242 (GLENDALE, CA) Aug 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Graphics are decent, however, could use some work. Choppy and spotty, I expected much smoother frame rates and more realistic running. Compare for yourself the virtual mode vs. game play. At times blue squares, rectangles, and other objects will appear every so often when in the endzone. One player continued to run through the stands... then showed up on the injury report.
Graphics Grade: ccc

I guess I expected a lot more from the 20th anniversary. Controls are familiar, easy and managable for non-gamers. [My Dad {55} is interested and he's never played a game in his life]
Game Play Grade: B- (this is, afterall, Madden, and it's still fun)

Potential and built-in features: C
I'm sure several add-ons are in the works for trades and the like... their jinxed-cover needs a uni...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Terrible and heres why

posted by RJ2000 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just when I thought it couldn’t get worse… It does. Instead of fixing tiny things like breaking a tackle and going back 4 yards behind the first down marker, like catching it and running out of bounds when they have 3 steps, like running a route so they are running out of bounds. Instead EA has decided to add a bunch more junk.

Madden Test: waste of time that helps me decide what difficulty I should play on. Honestly, when I start winning by 30-40 I will up the difficulty, and it doesn’t take a “feature” to help me pick my difficulty.
Rewinds: add cheats, they decide to bring back the old school mulligan which is just plain stupid that they would promote this.
Online Leagues: finally a brilliant idea (2 years late), but it would be nice if it didn’t freeze every day. I have played it for about 4 hours online roughly and had it freeze 3 times.

Overall the graphics are alright. If no one is moving, it is flat out amazing, but EA Sports still does not have a grip on the PS3 and probably never will. They just don’t give a … Sony needs to step in and give them a hand and walk them through like M$ did by walking them through using Direct X. (Yes that is what the 360 uses which is why it is the X box). In the end, don’t buy this game. The most popular American sport will never have a good game to go with it as long as EA owns the rights.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kinda Disappointed

posted by irishred (FLEETWOOD, PA) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros: the new madden iq is a good idea
sweet graphics (especially the stadiums)
good gameplay
superstar and franchise modes (very deep)

Cons: lack of game presentation (there isn't any
when compared to this year's ncaa or
previous maddens)
i might be knit picking here, but what
happened to all the uniform options,
camera options, stadium options - the
game options seem to be stripped down

BOTTOM LINE - I like NCAA 09 better than MADDEN 09

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Much of the same old game.

posted by fliboy (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I FINALLY FEEL LIKE THIS IS FAR TOO REPETATIVE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not Great

posted by uselessson (PARKER, CO) Aug 17, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you like all of the older Maddens, this one will not disapoint. Same old gameplay with some new (useless) features. The graphics are amazing. It is just so smooth.

The madden IQ is just a complete waste of time on the other hand. If i start beating teams by more than 21 points or more regularly i will move up the difficulty.

I would have thought this game was perfect if they would have changed some small things like the announcers.(they are better then what is was last year but that's not saying much at all) EA should take the time and get John Madden and Al Michaels as the announcers. That may be to much to ask for though. And maybe have more than 10 lines for the announcers to say.

I have always hated the player development in the game. I think if you have a huge year in the game your player should show that the next season in a much higher rating. I hate to also through this in also but they should do what Head Coach 09 does. Just because a player is good, that doesn't mean that he will be a good fit for you team. Madden should change player ratings to fit your teams personality.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Huge Letdown for 2009

posted by Craig84 (LAKEWOOD, OH) Aug 16, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game has some nice new things that the other maddens didnt. With the addition of "Madden IQ" better realistic looking tackles and player motions. But This Madden has the worst play calling and announcers out of all the maddens, i think madden 92 had better announcing, thats a huge part of the game for me as i love the realistic, feel-like your in the game kinda feeling. Another issue i had was that Linebackers are able to jump like two feet in the air and catch the ball on the tip of their fingers, thats ridiculously unrealistic. another thing thats fustraiting is playing on the EA server gets you kicked a lot, i havnt played to many online games that weren't EA games but i never had online issues till i popped in an EA game and clicked online.

I haven't played anything else besides online and single player so the other features might be cool but im an online player and im glad im only renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Madden 09... Almost There Fellas

posted by marisdaman (LAWNSIDE, NJ) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Not the perfect game, but its getting close to it. I am finally satisfied with this ps3 version of the game. It runs smooth and graphics are top of the line. But it still lacks at the DB & Wr control and although def hot routes have been tweeked as far as i can tell EA hasn't given us individual DB press & coverage options back to us yet. I like the presentation, Chris Collingsworth is good and Tom Hammond is jus ok (he's better on mlb2k8..umm Thinks that him?) would rather have joe buck & collingsworth but anything better than the radio guy. Overall I gave it a 9 on effort.. jus on the fact that the past 3 games were slop! and didn't deserve the madden name that was attached to it... It seems like they went to the drawing board and actually worked on the madden 09 this year..I bought the ps3 for Madden especially and now 3 years, 3 game down the road I finally got a Good football game that cost me $780.00 ps3/madden games.. tax and plasma not included..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madden NFL 09? Yeah right!

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Oct 4, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This is rediculous the graphics for peoples faces are just plain dumb( same with fans)gameplay sucks man.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A must have

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 15 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

Madden 09 is the best NFL game out there. No one should pass this game up it's better than NCAA 09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Madden

posted by Carrot1136 (KREMMLING, CO) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

Over time Madden has made some format changes which in fact hindered the controls. I always thought it was wrong to stiff arm with L2/R2, and juke with L1/R1. Maybe it was just me but I always I thought they should be reversed. Only makes sense to use upper for arms, lower for feet. Also believe it would have been nice to know which move the Lineman would make as far as spin or swim. Seemed like it would more depend on which lineman and where he was positioned more than relying on which control button was activated. Even though I would have enjoyed it even more, I believe they were headed in right direction. Now I must say that I enjoy the new graphics I think they totally screwed up with the new controller formats. Totally sucks, I know most of U think I just didn't give it enough time or effort. Well I tried it time after time to enjoy the new game only to be more upset and frustrated with each play. I'm 50+ and have been playing madden since the original. It's sad that the number 1 game in my arsenal has been so screwed up that I don't even care to see another Madden game in my collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

My first Madden since PS2

posted by vadgemonta (Williamsport, PA) Jan 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

This is my first Madden since I got my PS3. The first thing that threw me off was the controls. They switched some of the basic controls from the PS2 and I personally don't like it. I have played Madden 10 and I think it's a little better than Madden 09. The control change really threw me off. I also don't like the tackling in 09. It seems a lot harder to tackle, maybe it's because of the controls. This is a game to rent, not to buy. I will always be a Madden fan but I think switching back to the PS2 controls would be the best for the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

worth it!

posted by alk512 (REDFORD, MI) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

this is definitely worth $9.99

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it;ll get better

posted by timsmoove (DETROIT, MI) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

1ts off ita madden keep that in mind but i also love how my DETROIT LIONS can match up wit any one. the game is wornderfuly balanced controls threw me for a loop when they changed the stiif arm button and the spped burst button but beside that nooooo complains here franchines is soso the superstar gets boring online is he REAL competion it i cud add 1 idea 2 mad it would be that u create a team expantion draft like ( LA is dyein for a team anyway) and gotta build it up from ground up it;ll test real madden players thats real franchines mode there and the dam super stat all ya gotta go it create a qb put it in rookie mode and jus thro bombs sunday after sunday i did it and won mvp for 5 str8 yrs in the 8 yrs i played superstar hall of fame was beatind down the door any way it was fun as long as u have competion i still play now only on line 8 outta 10 for me its simple 2 pick up the rewind is a good learning tool and ANYONE can play no kidding my son is 8 and put up 21 points on me and ive been playin since 91 NOTE my son still lost 55-21 my settings stay on madden level his rookie and it makes it a real challege trust me ...see me AT psn, MOTOWNZFINEZT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice graphics but game is too easy

posted by Barkron (HONEY CREEK, IA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

I like the madden series and played them quite abit. This one has a major flaw. The running is too easy. As a Rooking (in superstar mode) I average 230 yards per game and usually 3 to 6 TDs. This takes away from the game substantially. With only 4 games played I have 900+ yards rushing and 16 touchdowns. This would pretty much make me a superstar as a rookie. I will finish out my 1st year and see what type of contract I can get but other than that I dont believe I will be playing much more on this game. I want a some challenge in a game.

I would not buy but its probably worth renting once just so you can see the stadiums. They look great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

a little less obama ads a little more content

posted by flexypoo (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

the game should focus on giving back to the consumer and fix lags and sluggish internet play - also BRING BACK COMMENTARY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Maden NFL 09

posted by Connor747 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) May 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

When i bought my PS3 i bought Madden 08. It was the worst game. If you bought Madden 08 on Ps3 then you have to get Madden 09 because it it a much more solid game and much more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

same ol'e

posted by castro3250 (KINGSVILLE, TX) May 15, 2009

Member since May 2009

the same old game i thouht it would be better and with cris collisworth commetary it just make the game drag even longer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse