Rent Madden NFL 09 for PS2
view large frontback

Madden NFL 09

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.2

779 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

SAME AS LAST YEAR!

posted by jbos1995 (VALRICO, FL) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I first rented this game thinking that it was going to have updated graphics and franchise mode. But I put it into my play station and I thought I was still playing madden 08. First off the only thing they changed was the rosters! Unlike on the xbox 360 and the ps3. Where they added new commentators, the madden IQ, new graphics and the online play. The ps2 has no changes, the graphics are exactly the same and when someone knocks your helmet off, the player looks nothing like their real life counterparts. So i'm going to send this game straight back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME

posted by gaminigpro (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS game is the best madden yet it interacts with new players and it makes the rly good players even better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great...

posted by cmac2010 (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 12, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great football game. if you want to have brett favre on the gets, u have to connect to ps2 online and download the roster update which is really not a big deal. this is one of the best madden games yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

alright

posted by LilSmurf13 (DALLAS, TX) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is ok itself, the graphics is better or almost same as 08, and the game play is the same also. But something that i really did not like was the players every single player i saw look like they weight 300 pounds. they are too bulky and they dont even look alike. also the loading part, it takes a long time to load and it pauses for about 5second when every play ends. For me the game its kind of slow, and thats the reason why i gave it a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good not great

posted by gamefreak3 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Aug 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is a series that has seen itself focus more on the new generation consoles. this is only for newbies that are looking for an entertaining time. hardcore fans of madden like myself will still enjoy it, but not as much as it has the potential to be great. not very different from last year; this game is practically a roster update, and you have to update some signings yourself. i recommend this game, because you still can't take away that genuine madden experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No Change

posted by scoopbypiz (JACKSON, MS) Nov 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

No significant change at all from 08, what a let down. Improved graphics would be a start, considering today's technology it should not be that difficult. More off field activities would be a good addition as well, such as locker room, players house, Hall of Fame etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

so close to perfect

posted by bigfoot12 (NORTH EAST, MD) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is 75% better than madden 08. I love the defensive upgrade and graphics are AMAZING, it looks just like real football. The reason it is not a 10 is because it is hard to find the play you want to call.You should enjoy the best madden EVER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Madden Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by buck98 (KENNESAW, GA) Aug 27, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Madden 09 is the best Madden ever made! I've played it on the hd version of the ps3 and the graphics rocked!! I think you should rent it from gamefly or buy it from your nearest game store. My opinion is get this game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

madden 09

posted by zmoskey (MARQUETTE, MI) Aug 13, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

is very very fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Where is my yellow marker?

posted by laidoff (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 30, 2009

Member since May 2009

Great game, the controls are easy, great fun for hours on end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Madden NFL 08 Pt 2

posted by dsava008 (CHERITON, VA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game is almost the exact same as the 08 edition. The super sim feature is good for sim lovers, but not enough to go and buy a new copy if you have 08. No upgrade gameplay wise, just basically a roster update of the same game. Rent it, return it, and move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent

posted by gamer219 (URBANDALE, IA) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

To me, this is the best madden yet. It is more along the line of actually being in the NFL rather than just messing around with created players. It is more real because you can't change the depth chart to your liking so it makes you work your way up. If you want it to be even more fun, upload your NCAA 09 player so that way he is already loaded in attributes so you can dominate in the NFL. Very good overall gameplay and graphics. I would deffinitly recomend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Madden 09...a little step up

posted by tsb2247 (VENTURA, CA) May 28, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

Although Madden 09 looks a lot like Madden 08, this is because it has reached the PS2's ability as far as graphics are concerned. The play is smoother and a little easier to control and at least the players now try to catch the ball inbounds. It is a good game and worth a rent if you havent rented or played 08 but if you have seriously its not worth going out and buying it. Its fun but after a while you mix up wether you are playing 08 or 09. I like this game, dont get me wrong but im just disappointed that they(EA) arent making an effort to make the games a big step forward

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

pathetic just pathetic

posted by bfxmas (FREDERICK, MD) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

i liked madden 08 better. madden 09 has bad graphics and its way 2 easy. i beat it on hall of fame mode. save ur self the trouble and don't rent it. please don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Almost Exactly Like Madden NFL 08

posted by Spider (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 31, 2008

Member since May 2006

This is almost exactly like Madden NFL 08. All that is really different is the rosters.

This game has the rosters of the 2008 NFL season. This is, again, almost exactly like Madden NFL 08. Same graphics. Like one new feature, a stupid one, called Family Play. Another problem: while the PS2 version is all same-old same-old, the PS3 version is all brand-new. The only thing better about the PS2 version of this game is that the graphics in the PS3 version seam chunky and slow. But PS3 has new commentators, different graphics, features not included on the PS2 version, and more.

So why did I give this a 6? Because it's Madden and I'm a big NFL fan. I recommend this to all NFL fans. I give it 6 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best football game ever

posted by skywalker3 (KINGWOOD, TX) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

Ive played 08,07 and 09.09 is the best and if you want to make your own player or team its in my madden or features.Whether its sacking the qb or running a touchdown its awesome football

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Keeping it real

posted by Knockout24 (HIALEAH, FL) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2006

Let me first start off by saying I am a loyal Madden fan since '88 when it was just call John Madden Football. I just have to be honest this years version was weak. EA made the game totally wack this year. First of all they made the game to easy, I'm sorry but if people who never played Madden wanted to play and want to learn just do like the rest of america and just play. Madden 09 was so easy I had to set it to All Madden level. Normally Pro is my level of choice. The addition of the new draft class is the only thing EA did to better the game. EA didn't change one other thing in the game, the graphics weren't tight and they still kept that annoying first person view and only you participation scheme in the road to the hall game mode. Anyone who has Madden 08 should just stay playing it try to update your roster. Oh and don't get me started on rosters. This year there were so many roster updates it was ridicules starting with the Brett Farve thing. Honestly I felt like I got an incomplete game from EA like they just rushed it. Like I said before I've been a loyal Madden fan since '88 and I just ain't jumping for joy over this year's product I've come to expected more out of Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Madden should be shot

posted by baphipps (ANTELOPE, CA) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Jun 2003

Madden should be shot for screwing up football video games for everyone... putting Favre on the cover and not in the game is a screwup worthy of W. Maybe they shouldn't be allowed to put out a game months before the season starts, so the info is invariably wrong. Maybe they should make it inthe fall, and release it a christmas!... Online, huh? guess you have to be 'hooked' into your 'grid' to recieve the full experience of the game, but i purchased my game wanting to play THE GAME, not online idiots... every year, they (the makers & madden) screw it up more and more, sacrificing easy ways of doing things for what??? better graphics? they still can't even get people's skin colors right! and I for one am done...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

verrry good 9+

posted by Drew3789 (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Oct 24, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

verrry good 9+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Superstar mode has changed in mechanics, not looks

posted by superstar3 (SALEM, OR) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

To start off I like to say that I don't like the limitation on the amount of created players on the "Create-a-team."

The rest of this review is about the superstar mode. They made it so now you have a reason to do training camp now. Plus the practice between games can improve stats everyday! There is no use for the performance institute now. I max-ed now before I got the agent I needed. Oh, and they have given a choice on the agent you want, and have supplied a great many more. Here is a tip: if you have a pass friendly team, pass for a touchdown. You still get the points even if you don't do anything. Half-back is the easiest position to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Really Bad

posted by blkprince (LACEY, WA) Oct 10, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Do yourself a favor and invest in a PS3 or Xbox 360!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Madden 09

posted by Jtonic83 (ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Well Well ,
It finally came out and I've Been playing it for awhile now with friends and all... I as well as my friends are kinda disappointed I thought the game would be very different from the others '08 '07 '06 But it seems very much little change and similar to the others .. Oh well maybe 2010 will be a shocker! :-) I do like some of the New features like The New Menu options , Touchdown celebrations , and few other neat little specs .. Overall the game is Good and You always have to have the Newest Madden If you enjoy playing Madden by yourself or with friends !!!!! I say Play it overall...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Same old...

posted by Wryder (MODESTO, CA) Sep 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

PS2 Review of Madden 09: It's obvious all the hype and work has been put into the next gen (ps3 and 360) versions of the Madden. The only real change for the ps2 is new rosters (which, as always, are already outdated when the season begins). Good for a rental, but if you already have 08 just keep playing it (or purchase 08 instead).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

08 IS BETTER

posted by MCSMITTY (Indianapolis, IN) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

YEA THE GAMES OK BUT THEY CHANGED SUPERSTAR MODE NOW IF YOUR 3RD STRING YOU GET NO PLAY TIME OTHER THAN THAT ITS OK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

its the same

posted by adman228 (ROCKY RIVER, OH) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

i feel as if you dont care for the characters that it's the same as the year before, or an other football game. the graphics are ok but if you don't have a ps2 or x box 360, i feel you dont get the full affect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »