Rent Madden NFL 09 All-Play for Wii
view large frontback

Madden NFL 09 All-Play

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

1146 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

"Madden" Wii edition: best played on line

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It's been a while since I've played a version of Madden NFL - the last time was at least ten years ago on the PC.
There are many ways to play this game - off line you've got your play one game, play a season, a few quirky party games, a superstar mode where you take a rookie from unknown to super stardom, and drills including 3 on 3 and 5 on 5.
These features are okay, but I really want to play eleven on eleven football.
The AI isn't very good - on the initial setting I won each of five games by an average of 40 points. Even when I bump up the difficulty to All Pro, I still won each of six games by an average of 20 points. If you want a challenge go on line.
That's if you can live with a bit of lag that causes bad kicks and difficulty in selecting any plays.
But once I got past the lag, I had a great time playing against friends or strangers on line, and this is the best part of Madden. In fact, this is probably why most people will buy Madden NFL 09 All Play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wow!

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I normally don't like sports games. but due to Bret Farve being on the cover and me being from green bay i had to give this one a whirl. and i was impressed with it. the controls were easy and the game was just plain fun to play. the graphic were good for the wii and the different game modes and ways you can experience the game just adds to its re-playability. i went out and bought this game after renting it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really an 8.5 is the score

posted by jdsampson (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Jan 26, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really appreciated this games effort in trying to make a unique football experience for the wii. My two favorite parts of the game that they have added is the in depth online experience which makes the game really fun. The second thing that I thought was a big improvement was the Call your own shot feature. To be able to look at the defense and see what type of coverage they were running and draw exactly where you want your receivers to go was very empowering. The only thing that they need to improve on for it is an advanced way for the defense to do the same thing. My wife really liked the trivia bc it allowed her to get to know a little more about the sport in a way that was pretty friendly. Though for serious football fans the questions are pretty elementary. The 5 on 5 was a nice change of pace to the normal game but it needs to gain a lot more depth before it can really be considered a real advantage to the game. For example, having only 4 plays to call is not nearly enough. I do have one gripe about the madden wii games that I wish they would change. When you are playing a game with a friend locally they need to change it to where they do not know exactly what play you are calling. Maybe if it is between 4 plays that would be a little better. That is really just a side note though. A good experience all together. I will purchase this game after it drops in price unless the next madden just has some amazing features that I do not want to miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

All-Play Makes Easy For Beginners, Not For Veteran

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 17, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This years Madden attempts to level the playing field between those who may have played little before and those who have played every year. It sorta succeeds but at a price.

Controls are very natural for the novice and the wiggling of the Wiimote to make a power hit almost comes without thinking as you are trying to chase down the play and your hands start moving around. Folks who have never touched a game controller before can find themselves playing in 10 mins or so.

For the more journeyman QBs out there there is the custom route feature which allows you to draw your receivers route on the screen, pressing A for each section of the route, so you can enter zig zag cutbacks - this is well implemented for the most part, but of course your oppo can see this in a 2P local game. There is a tendency for this not to go exactly to your plan tho when you factor in the QB throwing....

The QB throwing is, shall we say, not exactly how you would expect. You can look at the routes on the play, you will see circles over the receivers heads turn green or orange depending whether the game thinks they are open BUT come the throw you can try and throw a specific receiver but this player had a hard time making that stick especially when more than one receiver is green. Balls go to players you were not expecting and when it does go to the guy you can find yourself mysteriously throwing downfield or to the sideline when the route did not look that way - your guy simply chases it down - a little frustrating.

On defense, one of my favorite tactics was to take a lineman out of the line and drop him outside the tight end to rush from there while I go back to control another - with all-play this will fail as the guy will go back to his spot when you move the cursor off him.

These few things marked the game down for me as well as the ease with which I crushed my first game - I aint that good.

For multiplayer with newbies this should be a big hit. For veterans not so hot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Madden 09

posted by Cowboys (SANTA FE, NM) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is the best game i have ever played its awsome and if you want a challange set the game level to All-Madden that's pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME ROCKS

posted by unrated999 (HAZLETON, PA) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

FIRST OFF I HAVE PLAYED EVERY MADDEN GAME THAT EVER CAME OUT . NOW AS FAR AS THIS GOES I THINK IT IS THE BEST EVER . NOW THE PS3 AND XBOX HAVE DIFFERT THINGS THAT THE WII DOES NOT HAVE BUT THE WII MAKES IT BETER AS FAR AS GETTING IN THE GAME AS YOU NEED TO PULL THE REMOTE BACK TO HIKE THE BALL AND THROWING IS AS FAST AS YOU THROW THE REMOTE SO IF YOU WANT A LOB PASS JUST SLOW THE THROW WITH THE REMOTE IN HAND , IF YOU WANT THE BALL THROWEN FASTER TO THE PLAYER THEN WITH THE REMOTE IN HAND MOVE YOUR ARM FASTER WITH THE REMOTE IN HAND

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Madden O9 - no go

posted by boydandena (LODI, OH) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

first problem I faced was that so far in to the game it popped up an error in the disk - second is the controls for the game. I found them very complex and difficult to enjoy the game because your so busy do a hundred other things.

I wouldn't recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

it did not work

posted by chandulal (BEDFORD, VA) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game did not work for me i was really hoping to play it but when it loaads for a match it keeps saying error has occured i also cleaned disk a couple of time PLEASE I ASK YOU READ THIS REVIEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

For Children and Novices Only

posted by slmansha (CARY, NC) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Like many other seasoned Madden players, I found this game disappointing.

The presentation is extremely weak, hardly improved over orginal Xbox games like Madden 02. No replays, no intro sequences, wooden characters in the stands, and Mii refs (?!?) take away from the authenticity of the game experience.

More importantly, much of your control over the game has been removed -- passing is a matter of luck, running is simply pointing at an open space and hoping you're faster than the defense. The "custom" moves (such as stiff-arms and pump fakes) are extremely difficult to pull off at game speed, yet somehow the game still comes off as entirely too easy. 100-point scores are easy to accomplish, and that's not a good thing.

The one big upside to this game is that it's accessible to young children. My 10-year-old has never been able to compete in a Madden game until now -- and he finds it almost too easy. Bright colors, cute characters and super-simplified gameplay make this a good option for kids too young for the 360 or PS3 versions.

If you are a Madden vet, keep moving. If this is your first go-round with a football game, give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE IT

posted by daddyhulk (NORRIDGEWOCK, ME) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so awesome and loved it to the point that I went out and bought one myself.
I don't have anything bad to say except that I cant build a player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very fun

posted by SL4Y3R (CLEVELAND, OH) Aug 15, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

good for casual gamers best football game ive ever played, very fun with 2 people!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by duhisbdj (NORTH KINGSTOWN, RI) Feb 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

THIS GAME IS AWESOME. Graphics are so much better then 12. Its easy and simple.You have to get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

my experince

posted by werty30 (BROKEN BOW, NE) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

The game I got would only let me play 5 on 5, i couldn't complete a regular game because it was scratched, it was fun though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Madden NFL 09' All Play

posted by njsgamer11 (CHASEBURG, WI) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Good game for playing with a friend(take it from an 11 year old). It gets kind of boring without someone to play against because like half the game is two player mode. The best thing to do alone is probably 5 on 5. You pick any 2 teams, choose one to control, and they give you 2 receivers, 1 lineman, 1 quarterback, and 1 halfback. That is pretty fun and all the players have big heads. You can't lose by yourself; it is so easy. The best thing to do with 2 people is Party Mode. You can have this big tournament and pick lots of mini-games and compete against a friend. I would give it an 8.8 out of 10. Get it if your looking for some random game. The bad thing about it is there isn't all that much action. You throw the ball and snap it, but that's about it. If your one of those people who have a Wii so you can move around, this isn't the game for you. Pretty good game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

NOT Madden

posted by stone338 (JACKSON, GA) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

I'm a Madden junkie. This just isn't representative of Madden. It could be a children's throwback version. The controls are insulting. The graphics have degraded 10 years. If Madden ever becomes a legitimate Wii game, it didn't happen in '09.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst Madden game I've played

posted by Alpine (MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I've been playing Madden games since the early 90's, and I have to say this was the worst edition I've played in all that time.

The controls are terrible. The novelty of snapping the ball with the remote ends within a minute. It almost feels like the devs took the control of the players out of our hands. The game does not feel right.

The game itself seems geared towards 6 year olds. Those of us who have been playing these games for a long time can easily see how horrid this game is.

First time I only played for an hour then said I'm done with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not on wii

posted by partyof5 (SAN JOSE, CA) May 19, 2009

Member since May 2009

I don't know what I expected from Madden on a wii but not a good combo in my opinion. I am used to the awesome images from madden 2009 on PS3 and with the wii it just wasnt the same. don't recomend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

love (>:

posted by donnyboy (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) May 19, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

do you believe in love at first site?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

OK

posted by dannyboy5 (LITTLE ELM, TX) May 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

It was an alright game but the controls were way to simple. all-play just isn't my style

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

madden nfl 09

posted by loakie (DURHAM, CA) Apr 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

awesome game and would suggest to rent it.
The only bad thing is from shaking the remote so much it shook something lose and i had to get another remote.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game

posted by Rampage3 (CREST HILL, IL) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

We enjoyed this game & I dont even like football, but it too was difficult to play without the directions especially for my 9 yr old, got boring quickly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DONT WASTE YOUR TIME!!

posted by jaydollar (COLUMBIA, SC) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

It all started with the GAMECUBE!!! I love the fist madden i ever played longtime ago..The graphics did get alot better clearer and cooler but why did they fade out the GAMECUBE??? The wii is cool i guess with some games but its mostly for littler kids i think.. I rented this game for the wii and the psp. I was very upset with the wii game but i love the psp game. so if you like it cool if not thats fine. This is my take on it. Madden 2010 8/11/09 at gamestop..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for "first timers" bad for "serious gamers".

posted by FanofSox (ROCHESTER, NY) Feb 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

As this being my first Madden game, I thought it was a good game overall. It was definetly made for "a wii audience" so for those who have gotten every Madden since it came out and was looking for a competitive Madden you have got the wrong game.
It is very easy to play. When you are the quarter back all you need to do is flick your wrist and you will automatically throw the ball to the most open receiver, a nice touch for first time Madden players. It automaticaly catches for you also.
Franchise mode is fun and so is Career mode. I thought that career mode was fun except it was hard to get better and it automaticaly puts you on a team. In both Franchise and Career mode, when you win the SuperBowl there is no celebration. NONE. It plays it like its a "normal" game, which I thought took some of the fun out of it.
Overall this game is good for first time "Maddeners" but if you are a "pro" Madden player, the game is more complex for other systems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game for wii is great!

posted by Mocker (KINGWOOD, TX) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

The game ovrally for ii is great and the best on for wii so far. Madden couldn't have gotten much better for wii. Alot of issues about the game wasn't really that wii features wernt their, it was the actual game this time. I think many are getting a little illustrated with Madden being the same almost each year which is making players fade away from it. Overally though this game is perfect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

What happen Madden?

posted by Donavon101 (BEAUMONT, TX) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

Madden NFL 09 is a fun game, but to me it is not the same. One of the biggest disappointment is replays. Where are they? Another thing is that I can not challenge some plays that I know that I can. Last thing is that it does not feel like I am playing a football game because it does not have a good beginning to it.

If I had a choice of which Madden game to play for the Wii, it would be Madden NFL 08.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse