Rent Madden NFL 08 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Madden NFL 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PSP Games, Xbox, PS2, PS3, DS, GC

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.8

6334 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

easy achievements

posted by yelkcubnwa (TEXARKANA, TX) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is an easy game for easy achievements, no online ones and most can be gotten from simulating quick play games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Madden 05 (in a sexier skirt)

posted by gorgeousp (HAMPTON, VA) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

41 out of 49 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Much better than the last 2 Maddens (should we even call it "Madden" anymore since he has basically been phased out of the game?). Of course EA likes to delete modes for 2 years then bring them back claiming they are new (cough cough, owner mode). Here are my pro's and con's:

PRO's
-Graphics animations: very nice if you have a 360, if you dont expect to be disappointed especially PS3 owners
-Weapons: come in handy with actual NFL players, dont know how this works for your future draft picks in franchise mode i guess we will see wont we?
-Gameplay: is much better
-NO HALL OF FAMERS IN YOUR FRANCHISE THANK GOODNESS
-Superstar mode is much mmore user friendly. Your no longer stuck being a defensive back only getting to make a play once or twice a game cause your camera view sucks

CONS
-Announcer blows tail, you'er better off putting your IPOD/CD changer on random and listening to your favorite tunes while playing
-Crowd sucks as always
-Some players still missing from rosters, but expect an update when the season kicks off
-online leagues, or lack there of but i'm not a big online person so to each his (or her) own.

BUY- If you are a Madden junkie, franchise + superstar + online will keep you busy longer than gamefly would like to have thier limited copies sitting in your living room

RENT- If you want to test drive and see if this is a roster update or a better game than 07, but dont hog it from the other people lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Madden 08 - Better than 07 - Where's the Announcer

posted by McGuyver (BATAVIA, OH) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Pro's:
Excellent Graphics
The A.I. keeps it challenging
Emergence of Weapons - Relievers, QB, etc.
Variation of Catches, Tackles, Moves
Lots of Pre-Snap Options
Franchise Mode - Solid
Superstar Mode - Create one or Take your Idol

Con's:
Pre-Game by Marshal Faulk - Is Weak
Ask Madden - Doesn't always match suggestion
Same EA announcer - Where's the Real Announcers
Online League Play - This would be a Huge Addition

This game is just as highly enjoyable as last years release. The upgrades this year make the actual game play as simple or advanced as you would like to make it. The emergence of Weapons make it easy to spot which key players you or your opponent will be utilizing. Weapons are players that excel in key areas (i.e. Chad Johnson making spectacular catches). If used correctly these weapons make for great distractions for making plays with other players.

There have been noticeable changes to the animations for tackles and catches. One hand catches and high-low tackles make this game look as real as ever. When you see a receiver jump over a defender for a one-handed catch you can't help but say "Wow". There are more pre-snap options than some would know what to do with. This allows players to customize their plays after selection. Don't get caught calling the same play too often, or the QB or DB will be able to read your play.(LT+RB)

Franchise mode allows you to customize your involvement with drafting and depth charts. Superstar mode is very similar and allows you to take a current player instead of creating one.

Overall this game is very enjoyable, and with a few changes (broadcasting, and Online Leagues) the next addition could be near perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Madden does it again!

posted by DeathAK (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

32 out of 47 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I stood in line in a back town walmart for this game, that alone tells you that the hype for this game was huge. With all that hype could madden possibly live up to it? They can and did! This game adds a much more personal touch to madden allowing you to again create a superstar and take him to the promised land. On top of that they allow you to seamlessly take your NCAA 08 character and plug him right into all the pre-draft shenanigans. like last years version you go through some individual workouts with much more added content and a more direct and personal training regiment set out for your specific talent. In addition to the outstanding graphics intense new hit animations and a level of detail that will leave your head spinning it allows you now to create a team or even just do the plain and simple franchise mode. In franchise mode though they have added far more detailed tweaking and the ability to spot a "Gem" or a "Bust" after the draft, and the situations you put them in will either cement the pick as the Gem or turn his bad luck around and remove the Bust label. The only reason I didn't give this game a 10 is because I thought they should have incorporated some of the good things they did in NCAA 08 like a more "superstar" specific trophy room where only your individual you created trophies were stored, instead they are all very generic and somewhat arcade like. Also the icons underneath each player in the field, are necessary for identifying players strengths and weaknesses but are also a little arcade like for a hardcore fan. Extreme simulation junkies may find some of the more elaborate arcade like features a little annoying, while the average madden fan should LOVE the new additions and enjoy the vast on line capabilities. All in all madden is doing nothing to dissuade the masses from standing in line next year and grabbing this gem!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

1000 pt game

posted by owtkast (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Jul 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Still the best football game running. Awesome in every way. And for you point horders, 1000 pts come easy. Definately a game worth keeping til 09 comes out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Since there is no choice....

posted by XisRAW (CRESTWOOD, IL) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Every year you wait for EA to release an actual NFL Football game. Instead every year you just get another $60.00 roster update. When you look at some of EA's other titles (eg. Godfather, Command & Conquer, Battlefield) you see the quality of work they have put in to make it sell over the competitor. With Madden, we all know there is no other NFL Football game available so I feel they don't put forth the same effort. There is so much more they can do with this license but they just redecorate the same package, slap a $60 plus tag on it, ship it and we run out like lemmings and buy it year after year. The graphics are OK. The music is OK only because of the NFL Films music being available. Other than that there is nothing new or great about this title. Because the people that have the resources have lost the ability to be creative, we will have to wait until the contract between EA and the NFL expires and hope the NFL doesn't make the same mistake twice.

Happy Gaming!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the review of Madden 08

posted by iknomigame (EAST LANSING, MI) Sep 29, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i loved Madden 08! it combines the best graphics with the sharpest sounds and it is all around, a sweet game! i would definitely suggest this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Madden so Far.

posted by goodman (LEBANON, PA) Sep 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is the first Madden I have bought. This is worth the extra mile to buy because you just don't have enough time to play every mode if you rent it the only thing wrong with this game is you don't get pick the time of each quarter or the difficulty during Superstar Mode. Although they entered the new system where you can pick a Rookie to be your superstar eliminating the need to create a character. Overall this game rocks go out and buy it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

More refried-Madden please!

posted by saintzFAN (WEST PALM BEACH, FL) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Here it is again, another year, another Madden game. I've gotten to the point where it's not how innovative Madden's become, it's more like how much did they rehash into another game this year? I thought things would be nicer with the slight competition of All Pro Football 2k8 being out there, but that only encouraged Madden to actually work on their game, and what did they do? Well they changed the menu so you knew it was 08 and not 07, but they practically left the gameplay alone. Sure they did add more pre-snap commands, now they've got enough to even confuse Peyton Manning, congrats! There's pretty much no turbo button now which is JUST what a football game needs, no turbo! They replaced 'turbo' with 'sprint' sounds the same right? Well it's not, apparently 'sprinting' is covering the ball with both hands and running slower, wow, now THAT'S an upgrade. They did tweak the Super Star mode camera so you can see more, but ever since they changed it from when they originally put it in, it's never been as good. Also with this, again, new camera angle, as you close into a ball carrier on defense, the camera will rotate like a kid on pixie sticks, causing you to miss your tackle almost always. Most of the interface looks identical to last years model, that's cuz most of it is taken from 07. Super Star mode is basically the same again, doing the combine and draft and stuff to get your player 'stat pts' to get better with. Nothing you haven't already seen. The sole shining achievement, is the achievements. They're all in game, no need to spend 4 weeks strait of your life getting them all, as they're all 'in-game' ach's. A good/bad, depending on who you are, you can get all of the ach's with 2 players playing, so you can easily "help yourself". Real innovative EA, glad you got that license, now we can have vanilla-only flavored football. Thanks for yours simple ach's, but other than that don't bother me again.

Play Time: 2 days (that was long enough)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Impressed.... :(

posted by CarlaGirl (FORT WAYNE, IN) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game Looks and Feels exactly Like the old arcade game "Blitz". EA and The NFL need to really stick to what has worked. This new next gen edge that they were aiming for has stolen the "Blitz" formula and tried to dress it up with some weird football game. It looks good graphically, But In trying to do to Much they Totally missed the mark. You may wanna skip Madden this year.

I Know that They usually try to make it better than years past, So i guess we all have alot to look forward to for the next few years to come. Cause this game is so-so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Read before any other one.

posted by Durque (ATLANTA, GA) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

OK the visuals the updates and the game modes are good, but the actual gameplay is bad. The turnovers works for you and against you. You will have at least 3 or more turnovers every game...... For each turnover. Fumbles and interceptions. When do you ever see a fumble on a kickoff to a receiver? Rarely. When do you ever make an interception, run all the way back to the one and get tackled in the enzone and you fumble the ball when you jump in? Turnovers can change how the game plays. The radio announcer dude sucks. No commentary, No Special Announcements. Nothing where's John and Michael? Where's the play by play commentary? Where the drive summary that you see while you playing? Where are all the other things that people took for granted on PS2 and Xbox, but they miss on next gen? Like simple things. Only random pass plays when practicing? The onscreen fumble and interception tag? You only get a chance to see the turnovers when the screen flips to the other team. The first down hot routes that when you need that first down you can use? What about when you can run any special team back for a touchdown? On Next Gen you have no chance. The Fan View when you score a touchdown? The fake field goal and punt passes and runs? Two minute drills? Where are all those things and more? Where did they go? You have Three Powerful Next-Gen systems but you can't reach expectations? They getting slack. Madden 08 is a great game but the overall gameplay needs a lot more work then what all these other people are saying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Finally...Next Gen Madden

posted by arcangelgx (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is what we've been waiting for. True next-gen graphics, gameplay. What took you so long EA? Thank goodness!

The only beef I have with this years Madden (that's down to 1 from last years 50+) is that there's no newspaper like there is in the college game. I love the newspaper! EA, make this fanboy smile and add a newspaper option in a game update before the season starts!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST EVER

posted by treadx (MOUNTAIN HOME, ID) Sep 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the worst madden game i have ever played. it does not want you to be able to throw the football at all. very inconsistent. it is not very fun in any way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yawn, Same old Game

posted by October30 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There no entertainment factor here. I'm still playing NFL 2K5 for the entertainment factor that EA is to lazy to bring us on the 360. Where is the play by play commentators? Why dose this game look like Madden O7? When are they gonna make a NFL game for the next gen? I know it runs at 60FPS, but shouldn't be the standard. That like saying "I take care of my kids."We as gamers are suppose to get top quality with our too expensive game consoles. I payed a fist full of dollars for a game system whose games look pretty, yet lack substance. Come on EA, get on the ball. I guess I'll have to wait until 2010 and microsofts next,next genconsole to get a real hot NFL game. Until the I'm gonna load up with ESPN 2K5. The Eagle were a better team then anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What is the big stink about?

posted by captainANV (NORTHFIELD, OH) Sep 13, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I found this game to be quite dreadful. I am a huge fan of the Madden series, so I thought maybe I just don't like football games on my new 360. I therefore rented the new NCAA game and it blew this game out of the water!
It really is hard to explain unless you play them both. I just found it nearly impossible to pass or rush. I was constantly getting picked off.
Granted this review doesn't go to indepth about my Madden experience. It is more of a reaching out to those who just don't like this game for some reason and are lookning for a fun one. There is one out there and it is the new NCAA game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I LIVE FOR THIS!!

posted by DETHKLOK (RICHMOND, TX) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THIS YEARS MADDEN WAS A SURPRISE FOR ME BECAUSE MOST OF THE TIME MADDEN DOESNT DO MUCH YEAR FROM YEAR. THIS YEAR SUPERSTAR MODE FOR ME IS REALLY FUN TO PLAY BECAUSE IN 07 I COULDNT STAND TO PLAY IT. THE CAMERA ANGLE WAS SO LAME I DIDNT BOTHER WITH IT, BUT THIS YEAR IT IS SO MUCH IMPROVED I CANT STOP PLAYING IT! THE GAME LOOKS SHARP AND EVEN THOUGH I HAVE ONLY HAD THE GAME ABOUT A WEEK NOW,IT HAS TO BE THE BEST MADDEN YET. IM LOOKING FORWARD TO GEARING UP AND HITTING THE ONLINE MODE TO BEAT DOWN CHILDREN UNDER 7!! :) HA!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I thought 07 coundn't get any better...I was wrong

posted by Ps24life (BOISE, ID) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

08 rocks i loved 07 and said what more can you add to it. well they found a couple of changes. like the player types like larry jonson and shuan alexander running over people at truck backs. LT and warrick dunn run around and under defences. and ed reed and roy williams as big hitters will knock any one out. watching steve smith fitzgerald owens holt and chambers doing miracle one handed and tip pass.watching tom brady and manning read the defenes as smart qbs.the game is smoother the tackles harder the graphics more relistic and clear. al though passing is a little more tougher with corners and lb being smart in coverage you might throw a lot of pics your first time out. the ring builder and marshall faulk predicted scores inhases madden levels its awesome and the trophie battles puts a little ncaa in it. its all the maddens exept 06 because it sucks morfed into the best GAME ever!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cool

posted by jacbo123 (LAKESIDE, CA) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Radio announcer??????

posted by newjack (GREENWOOD, SC) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All i have to say is, great game, but what is up with that silly radio announcer. Why did they do that?? It takes away from an otherwise perfect game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

madden has lost it

posted by brianb007 (LAKESIDE, CA) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is extremely pretty unfortunately the game paly is not as good as it used to be.

The fumbles and interceptions happen way way too often and it really takes the fun out of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Falls short of the hype... again.

posted by JackSpades (HANSCOM AFB, MA) Aug 26, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I buy Madden each year that it comes out and each year I am dissapointed. It is almost ike the developers are trying to think of ways to make the menu more frustating to navigate each year. So immediately, my impression of 08 was soured. The graphics seemed on par with 07 except for a few new animations-- a little skip before a player starts into a jog off the field, and better tackling. Madden 08 changed up the play book menu again, so it took some time to get it back to the way I play it (by formation type). The achievements for this title are extremely easy, you can pick up a perfect 1000 in a weekend or less.They still have the EA sports radio announcer guy, but this year they added Marshall Faulk as a commentator (pregame and postgame commentating) One strange thing I noticed is that this game freezes on me all the time. Brand new, out of the case and I can't make it 3 games without a freeze. I checked it out online and apparently there are numerous others who have been plagued with this same problem. Because Madden requires you to manually save after each game by default, if you forget, you may need to replay the last few games of your season -- Frustating!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better then the last two

posted by mars188 (BRISTOW, OK) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

11 out of 26 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

the game on the field plays well, scores are close the AI does well. i bought the wii madden and rented the 360 to see the diffrents, the 360 shines, and its better then the last two years, still the same i dont see how EA can keep the game going year to year, only so much you can do, i do think its worth buying, worse thing on the 360 is the dumb radio guy talking that is cheap of EA, some radio guy doing the football talk so cheap. get someone, EA trying to save money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Where in the world is...John Madden?!

posted by Durtycurty (BOISE, ID) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

So I jumped the game Q and bought Madden 08 in store. I have to say many improvements have been made to game play. All aspects of game play are more realistic. I even think the soundtrack and display screens are better. However, the same annoying problems still exist. Once again this year the officials are no where to be found, that is again probably why all of the penalty calls are still phantom. they did a good job of adding Pro quality announcers like Marshal Faulk to explain the mini games and talk to you in pregame. Once I started a game though my joy turned to shame as not only do they have the same Johnny Nobody in game announcer but, they pretty much recycled all his dialog from the 07 Madden and regurgitated into Madden 08. Where is John Madden? for the second year in a row he no shows! oh wait there he is again in the ask Madden section of the playbook . A section where he may or may not say anything about the jumble of random plays he has selected for you to use. 08 also fails to show goal post nets or the sufficient likeness of a NFL crowd. This game is highly over rated. EA sports proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that they need competition to be great or maybe just a spokesman who is willing to put in the time. Jimmy Johnson NFL 09 anyone?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

rocks

posted by thegamas (KELLER, TX) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this rocks, and has no flas, superstar rocks, and makes 07 a board game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lame, GG EA Sports yet again...

posted by Shootist (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok seriously. It's bad... really bad.

I'm a huge football video game fan, always have been. Madden, never been my favorite, but I have liked some of them..

Madden 08 though, don't bother. Yes it's the only game that has actual NFL teams, which is a travesty, but the gameplay is just bad... very bad. The game is glitchy like crazy.

Presentation is absolutely horrible. I still don't know why they still have the EA Sports Radio network junk. The replays using the "mock jumbotron" are pathetic looking.

I will say the graphics are nice, but that's the only good thing I can say about it.

The "weapon" icons are nothing but annoying popping up all over the scren during your play...

Do yourself a favor and get All Pro Football 2k8. No NFL teams but at least it's a fun game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse