Rent Madden NFL 08 for Wii
view large frontback

Madden NFL 08

Not Rentable

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

1282 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

EA Messed UP 08, 07 was the Best

posted by DadMac (COLONIA, NJ) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Madden 07 for the Wii was the best football video game I had played since ESPN NFL 2K5 for the original XBOX.

What made 07 great was the use of the wii remote and nunchuk. 07 controls were mapped in a way that felt like you were really playing football. It was almost like virtual reality when you would bust through the line with your running back pushing forward your wii remote and nunchuk, then immediately stiff-arm the safety as you ran for a touchdown.

Now on 08, I pushed forward my remote without the nunchuk to break tackles and my back tries to stiff arm. I then try to stiff arm and my player surges forward to break tackles.

Then EA takes the sprint button away from the nunchuck and puts it on the wii remote and as I am sprinting to the end zone my player starts to celebrate and gets tackled because they mapped celebration on the same button.

EA took the best football game made last year and ruined it for this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

EA disappointed me this year

posted by PDMChubby (CHARLEVOIX, MI) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I love Madden. I was psyched for this year's football season, and I wanted to play Madden like I do every year.

From when I began playing it, I enjoyed it. I mean, it felt like 07 did, which is good. The gameplay is just like it always has been; close to top notch.

New this year is a party mode where you can play minigames with your friends. I played it a bit with a friend, and it was alright, but I wouldn't mind if it was scrapped next year. The games were fun and kept our attention for a few minutes, but after a while they got dull and repetitive so we switched back to regular gameplay.

The graphics in the game are moderate. They look little or no better than 07's, which is a little surprising. Glitches are existent as well, such as throwing the ball right after a snap without intending to and having a player run nonstop during minigames. There were a lot more glitches I read about, but didn't have experience with.

This year, EA left out some core features that I really loved, like create-a-play and a character editor/creator. I was completely disappointed with this. But it didn't matter to me very much, because the real draw for me this year was online play.

This is where the game really fails. There was no problem getting online, and the format seemed really great and easy to use. I tried to start a game, someone joined, so I started it up. Then I got disconnected from the opponent. I tried getting into a game for about an hour one night, and then an hour the next night. I kept getting disconnected from the opponent. I went on the Madden 08 forums to see what the deal was and everyone else was having the same problem. After two hours of attempts to get online, I only got into one game, and I was disconnected within the first minute of the game.

This game isn't worth trying. It's glitchy, doesn't even have working online play, missing features, and barely a change from 07. This game only gets a 6 is in hopes that online will eventually work.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Some improvements, but some problems as well...

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Before discussing Madden 08 for the Wii, let me first say that some people have reported bugs and glitches, but as of this review, I have yet to see any of these problems. Some games may be faulty, but mine is not, and thus I am writing a review only on the gameplay through my own experience.

Madden 08 is a lot of the same with a few changes and improvements. Graphically, there isn't much difference between this and EA's 07 attempt with the console launch. Not what you'd expect from the Wii, but nothing to be too worried about either.

Sound is the same, as well. More of the same. Lines repeated, but not so much that it becomes painful. If you've been okay with the sound and graphics of the previous versions, there won't be any surprises here.

Essentially, it all boils down to gameplay. The motion controls GENERALLY work well. There is an adjustment period, because it's not your typical gamepad Madden, but it's pretty easy to pick up. The dumbed-down control mode is good for players new to the series, as well, although I don't find it to be that useful.

Superstar mode can be fun, although extremely frustrating in my case--I picked a receiver, so my "superstar" only plays sometimes. And from what I can tell, there is no way of calling for the ball (requesting a pass from your QB) so there's no guarantee that when you're in you'll even REALLY get involved in the play.

These problems aside, the online mode is the newest feature to the Wii version of the game, which uses EA Nation to organize and coordinate the game. It seems like, after a week or two, this will be a good quality online game. The communication is minimal, but there are no friend codes, and the lobby system seems sufficient for finding friends or opponents.

The online game does lag a bit at this point. I think after EA finishes work on their servers, there should be no problem, however. After the online game starts running better, this will get my approval for a quality Madden outing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Thank You EA

posted by gorilla91 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Madden returns and is ONLINE!!!! The graphics are subpar when compared to the 360 and PS3, but the gameplay is still fantastic. The controls are simple to learn and with two playing options, everyone can play. Online play is smooth and the controls will respond well as long as your connection is strong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

There are no glitches... it's human error

posted by Raider4L (BARSTOW, CA) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Let me clarify something. I have experienced NO glitches whatsoever from this or any of my friends Wii Madden 08's although my friends swear they have glitches. It is all in how you hold the controls and such.

Now to the review. I think this game is awesome. I have not tried online play yet because I'm a franchise mode person. But with the controls being the way they are it gives you a little more realistic feel to the game. The controls do take some getting used to and I think that is why certain people are experiencing glitches. The game brings all of the same excitement that Madden always brings but is just so much more fun, and in my opinon, realistic than before. All in all it is Madden with the same improvements that come along every year they release Madden.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Step Up from 07

posted by RKDynamic (PLANO, IL) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rented Madden 07 last year, and I decided to take a pass (no pun intended) on the game after I played it for a week or so. It was fun with the motion controls, but it was lacking still. The main issues that I had with Madden 07 were: 1) No online support, and 2) Kicking was way harder than it should have been, 3) The graphics could have been better, and 4) My favorite team (da Bears) weren't as good as I would have liked.

So I rented '08, and they fixed 75% of my issues. The motion controls were still fun, they aren't overused or forced, and the game just got better. 1)EA added Online support. I've only played one online game, but it was almost issue free (except that I got my butt kicked). 2) Kicking field goals is easier this year and doesn't feel complicated. 4) The Bears are awesome. My one complaint (#3) is that the graphics still could be better... they look almost the same as 07.

Madden 08 has lots of depth in the Franchise mode and Superstar modes. Plus they've added party mode (which is kinda fun in bigger groups). And they added a more simplistic control scheme (the nunchuck isn't required for this control scheme) that makes it possible for my non-gamer wife to play the game with me and have a good time.

Football fans definitely need to check this game out. EA definitely spent some time improving this game. It doesn't feel like the same regurgitated game from last year with the additions (some of which I have neglected to mention here).

My only question is why is it so difficult to just play a season mode of some type? It seems like this is hidden inside Franchise mode after skipping training camp.

I liked it so much that I kept it. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EA Steps It Up In A Big Way! Make Fifa 08This WAY!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Aug 18, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I gave 07 an 8 and this real steps it up (perfectly tweaked).

I am European (German) and perfer soccer but the quality in this game; from the graphics to the controls, to the details are what every sports game for the Wii should be!!

I will definitly buy Fifa 08 if they put this same focus they did into Madden into Fifa; WOW!

If you love football then this is what to get!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Played it and went out and bought it

posted by iFixMac (VILLA PARK, IL) Jan 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Played it with my friends one evening and went to the store and bought it next day..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Gameplay, OK Graphics and Presentation

posted by RaiderGame (PETALUMA, CA) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wii knew, the selling point for this game was the presentation. i got a big plasma tv and the game looks pretty good. nothing to write home about though. but the moment u pick up the wiimote one thing is clear playing the game is more realistic than playing with the xbox 360. sure the graphics look a lil step above the ps2, and there is room for improvement which i hope to see on the madden 09. but from the second u hike the ball, u scan around the defense u pick a receiver and u throw the ball, u catch the ball, juke/plow ur man and then u in the redzone. it's so good i can't sit down while playin it i gotta be standing up throwing strikes. It does take a lil while to get used to the speed of the game and the motion controls but once u are good. it feels like second nature. i wished they included spectacular catch receivers though. this wii version they beware of the sideline but they don't do crazy one handed catches that often.
so here's the breakdown of the madden for wii.

Presentation: 7-they could've added the stuff from the next gen consoles and made the game more realistic, even if it's not HD.
Graphics: 7- looks good but could look a better.
Gameplay: 10-hike, scan, throw catch TD!
Depth: 10 online play, many mini games, trivia, party mode, a telestrator!
Sound: 9- crowd is better than previous years.

I give it an 8, it is fun to play once u get used to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by WiiBoy95 (LOVELAND, CO) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If you have other systems get this first its the best madden game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This is horrible...

posted by djinjekted (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Seriously, you can't even control your players half the time. Trying to make my players run left, and they run right. Trying to hike the ball, and it won't hike. Trying to throw the ball, and it won't throw. Basically, once you pick the play, the game does the rest for you. Boooo... I'm glad I rent this before buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible gameplay

posted by giants59 (PLAINVIEW, NY) Aug 16, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I expected a lot more from this game, the controls are terrible, i figured the wii mote would be used often but to even have to swing it back to hike the ball is stupid. then throwing the ball kicking it running, basically you can only play this game if you have full energy and even then theres so many things to learn i dont think its worth it unless your a crazy wii fan, anyway im buying this on ps2 because i dont have a ps3 but i would NOT recommend madden on wii to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best wii football game

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

madden 08 triumphs all of the current wii football games, depending on which type of game you like!!
madden 08 has amazing gameplay, and great announcing. however, people who dont play football wont love it, and the multiplayer is just average. but since the game has such a good franchise and superstar mode, you will get really hooked playing by yourself. in franchise mode, there is really in depth managing and trades and stuff like that. its really amazing, especially during the "offseason". super star mode is great too, except that you cant sign contracts. other than that, its really fun to create your own player on your team and try to do achievements to get into the hall of fame. however, after a few seasons, this can get a bit old, but its still a great mode.
bottom line: this madden 08 video game is for gamers who like realistic football games. it has the best football graphics for the wii, but the multiplayer really isnt in depth. for a fun football game, pick up madden 08

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

missing a good link

posted by Black1997 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

to tell the truth i was hoping for some thing better then this it has good controls and the graphics are great but what i was really hoping on was to create your own team/player like on madden 08 for the ps2 but i get slapped in the face with a big fat NO. but even with out the crate part i still think this game deserves a 6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

game controllers

posted by johnejones (LANCASTER, PA) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

I do not like the fact that when you play this game you have to use the Nunchuk controller when you play the season. It makes it more difficult for the average player. There is less control and more chance of throwing the controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

2 crazy

posted by awesum34 (NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

i play madden all the time on ds. it nuthin like wii version. only play this game if u r experienced with other madden games 4 wii or u will b sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by jojo1976 (JOLIET, IL) Sep 10, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Very easy and fun to play. I thought it would be hard using this game with the wii system, but I was wrong. I reccomend this game for rent or purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AAAGGG GLITCHES

posted by SOLIDHYENA (SAN CARLOS, CA) Aug 16, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This is so frustrating! And the worst of it is it is an excellent game if it would run well consistently. these are not a little freezing of the screen, these are game destroying crashes. I feel like EA got sloppy in their production process. Trying to meet a time line that did not lend itself to glitch removal (a problem with the entire idea of a yearly game). There are football games that will not put you through the trauma of having the screen freeze in a tied game with thirty seconds on the clock at the fifty yard line. I should clarify that the 8 I gave is to the the quality of play which I found very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great fun!

posted by lcg7505 (FORT STEWART, GA) Jul 15, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I've played this game on both the Wii console and the PS3. Though I am used to the PS game pad I found that I enjoyed it on the Wii more simply because I had more control and it put me into the action. You don't just push a button but go through the motions of throwing the ball, strong arming, and so on...

The only downside is that the controls can be touchy until you get used to them. A great rental and a definite buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jul 2, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

Madden games are very fun and they slightly change them every year. Now they even have madden games for the wii and it has many more interactive features to use. You can throw the ball, tackle people and some other stuff using the wiimote so its like your actually at the stadium making millions. The WiFi connection is pretty good with this. I think it still needs some tweeking because you might not do anything and it registers it that you did do something. But its really fun and a Wii classic since you can throw the ball and stuff. This is a must try and a good buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WII MADDEN 08

posted by sanjayb (MIRAMAR, FL) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Madden 08 is as about Realistic as you can get?
Superstar mode was good , they could have added more features..
Franchise mode needed more features;just like superstar mode.Went Madden 09 comes out EA should make a better version..
Game in self is great(8.8 out of 10)
but remember my fellow readers this is best you will get at a Football game...

Game Review
Sanjay B

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Madden 08 review-Wii's best sports game?

posted by malmsteen (WONDER LAKE, IL) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

So I played Madden with low expectations, after all, the Bigs (baseball) was horrible control wise). This game not only had fine tuned controls, but game play, graphics where very tight. the sound was like the game. It's as close as your gonna get for the Wii at this point.
It has online play, and I didn't get good enough to play anyone online, so not sure how the wi-fi works on this game. but it was a blast to play with multi-player. 20 min of the control tutorial, and you are in!!! I am not a football fan and really loved this game, it's worth checking out. The voice-overs are somewhat repetitive. You have an option to play with the wii remote only, but it's not fun cause it's too easy, the computer does everything for you, but a good option if your grandma is playing you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

poor graphics, game play so-so

posted by arzoman (EMERYVILLE, CA) May 8, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I was dissapointed with the graphics. Even though Wii can only display 480P (which I have), it was still very pixilated.

Also, the gameplay, especially the running, is very confusing, and is too fast. It's a bit difficult to figure out what's going on out there until the play is over.

That being said, the passing via Wii remote is incredibly fun, and that, in and of itself, does make the game rentable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Gamplay & Good Graphics

posted by Bluejimi (MABLETON, GA) Apr 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I'm a big Madden fan. I've been playing Madden for many years on many platforms. I have to say I was pleased with the graphics. They won't blow you away, but they don't take away from the experience either. Madden's not a graphically stunning game on any platform though.

The controls, while interesting and easy to learn, did not really change the game that much. It's fun to run and juke with the nunchuck, but throwing seemed rather mundane. I found it somewhat difficult to select a different receiver during the play as well, but I'm sure that just takes time to get used to.

Overall the game was not disappointing, but the motion control doesn't quite add enough to make me prefer Madden on the Wii as opposed to other consoles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Madden 08 on Wii

posted by JBREID (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

What a nice change up, especially during the offseason to play a little madden. I have had no issues with my game and actually like the game play with the Wii Remote, the only reason why I may buy Madden 09 on the xbox 360 console is because of the online gaming community. The graphics for me are always secondary, I want the best game play possible, and so far the Madden 08 Wii has given me a nice change up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse