Rent Madden NFL 08 for PS3
view large frontback

Madden NFL 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.1

1781 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Madden since the game was created PS3!

posted by EltonG33 (PALMDALE, CA) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I waited 2hours to buy this game while playing in a Madden 08 tournament. I see why they didn't allow us to play the PS3 version only the 360. The patented controls are horrible, no qb vison, the game runs at a much slower rate then the 360, it's not fun to play against friends, the game is very choppy and the game has so many sponsors after a touchdown i fall asleep. I returned this horrible game the very next day not getting my full money back. Please resort back to the Xbox 2007 version of madden and start from there great game, great online game please. don't take our money again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This Madden Is Off Da Chain!

posted by Lovaman85 (GREENVILLE, TX) Aug 14, 2007

Member since May 2006

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

(Of Course, the roster is updated before trade deadline of 2007-08 NFL season.) First, the "Hit Stick 2.0" is a great update for Madden 08. Smaller corner backs can submarine dive at the legs on huge running backs! (ex: corner back Fred Smoot Washington Redskins vs. Larry Johnson for Kansas City Chiefs) The Design of the likeness of players and statiums are unmatch. The intelligence of A.I. for figuring out your plays on defense and offense is unreal. The franchise finally brought back the lateral or fake lateral button back! Its been about 10 years since that that happened. Special players have the their unique ways of effecting the plays on the game. (ex: Both Denver Broncos players Wide Receiver Javon Walker has great hands and can catch the ball spectatularly and corner back Champ Bailey is known as your shout-down corner by not allowing any opposing receiver catch the ball at will.) What sucks about this game is the "mini-game" its the same and I personally loved it better on the PS2 with their "mini-game". So, it's simply 9-10 and sports game of the year. Unless, NBA Live 08 take the show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

whats wrong with EA sports?

posted by jbdet65 (HILTON, NY) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I just spend 64 bucks on madden 08 on ps3 and expecting one of the best looking games i have ever seen. But instead Madden 08 has the look and feel of the madden games of the late 90's. gameplay is slow hard to control and uninteresting. Aspects of the old madden games that we all love are now gone such as QB vision and the controls are completly different such as r2 is spirt and X is stift arm and so on. this game is not even fun to play with a friend because when u pick ur play u no longer have the old play book but now a list of plays and a cusor to pick ur play makingit impossible to fool ur friend to bite on play action and making screens and draws impossible this game is more like Blitz and makes me wonder if i can return it somehow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not A Bad Game... but not Great

posted by Kleintime7 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have been a Madden fan for years. I own every one of the games. This year's game on PS3 is way better than the 07, however it still feels incomplete.

The menus are easy to navigate, and the game is pretty straight forward if you have played past Madden games.

Up Sides: 1. The game looks great, and while it is not as fast or smooth as the Xbox version, the speed issues do not really hold the game back. 2. The franchise mode is great in this version with the addition of Hall of Fame players, ability to remove caps, and Fantasy draft. (At last Tampa Bay got a decent QB in Carson Palmer). 3. The in game trash talking and post play reactions of players is very life like.

Down Sides: 1 Create a Superstar is lacking once again this year. Quite sad, because the Create a Legend in NCAA is wicked. This game seems to want you to play with all players, not just a player you want to create. 2. Faulk calling the plays leaves something to be desired. I miss the old days with Madden and Al calling the plays. 3. If you play on the All-Madden setting, it is almost like the game knows exactly what you are going to run, before you even pick the play. All-Pro seems to be the best setting for a fair game.

All in all, I think this is a great game if you like to be able to control everything on the field. If you are looking for a game where you are in control of a "Superstar" get NCAA 08. I say rent both and then decide on which game meets your fun requirements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Is this ment to be NFL?

posted by manicpaw (ELWOOD, IN) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game looks pretty good but thats where the good things end! Playing as a runnig back in superstar mode I have no sprint, I have assigned sprint to every button on the pad and my player will not sprint in fact he looks like he goes slower so I cant even come close to a big gain cause I get outrun way to easy, the offencive line NEVER create an opening for you and you fumble nearly every tackle even on rookie setting! and If I try the runblock feature my running back get tackled anyway. This is without a doubt the worst Madden I have ever seen, I'd have more fun being a Ball Boy lol! Either get it right EA or dont make anymore Football games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ps3 version

posted by suffi12345 (ARLINGTON, VA) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros: Itz a solid game, graphics are great, more options, online gameplay is fun, players look real, the beginning to the game is probably the most intense ever, game speed is fine even though itz slower than xbox, and tackling motions are cool, plus the td celebs are funnie...

Cons: Players open field running motions are awkward, play book is still not amazing (although the pre play motion helps), you can run right up the gut of teams like the ravens even if you call the same hb dive like 4 times. no precision passing no concept of hitting quick routes n' recievers in strides, but i do like the fact that hitting the deep ball is harder against good cb's

Overall itz not perfect but itz still fun to play and that is the point of the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

madden sucks now

posted by hjason (HERNANDO, FL) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is horrible, the only thing that is good about this game is that they put in field noise and sounds.
other then that the graphics are arcdey.
and everything else is so unlike this series that if they don't stepup their designing they will probably not make this game anymore.
which is a shame since it has been going since nintendo.
and every year it got better and better.
and now it is going back to nintendo days it looks like.

so if the same guy has made this one from 2005 or 06 game then get rid of this guy he is ruining the game.
be smart ea kick him to the curb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Save money and get Madden 07

posted by dodgerblue (SANTA ANA, CA) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

H. E. double hockey sticks... its basically the same game, but with some tweaks that are not worth $59.99. I'm glad I rented it because I can return it as quickly as I got it and get something more fun. The frame rate makes a big difference in my opinion. I think they either need to start from scratch for 09 or else don't even bother with another version just update the rosters every year and play the same game. Tiburon/EA shame on you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Madden in its history I want a REFUND.....

posted by bam917 (SAN LORENZO, CA) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I bought this game waited to pick it up after midnight and man after less then half of the first game played I thought to my self I wish I could get a refund. Playing it online is a complete waste of time unless u are prepared for the worst connection in you life. Even with Cable direct connection to ps3 your gonna have a horrible connection.....why did i pay $500 for ps3 and get a lower grade quality game compared to the xbox360 version???
Guess I will be posting my madden on ebay soon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Shouldn't even rent this

posted by waltercros (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

They had a good Idea with this game, but the PS3 Version totally sucks.

For one thing you fumble way to much!, even just running and suddenly the ball could pop out!.
Plus the framerate is Horrible, to do a spin there is a 2 second or so delay before you spin., Graphics arent to bad but not as good as the XBOX 360's version.

This game was Rushed for the PS3, It's not even worth renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this is it?

posted by Ndru000 (ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

9 out of 25 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

pros - roster

cons - the whole game

madden 08 is a franchise that should have ended a long time ago, just stop EA, this game is horrible. the hitstick, the graphics the gameplay its all so old, with no future in getting better. this is just the time to end it and start over with a different company and title.

import you character and play the rookie mode if you dare, no matter what your stats say whether 99 in speed or what have you, it just doesnt matter they will catch you just like in blitz actually the whole game feels like blitz except blitz was so much funner to play.

the graphics, you know there are so many things bad about this game that graphics arent a concern.

the movements feel murky and almost have to do a load before the action is perfromed, its not smooth at all.

roster well its madden the game is just an updated roster.

they changed the controls again, choose one set and be done, has stiff arm now been assigned default to every button in this franchise history.

load times still long but we've become so accustumed to them do they think we still dont notice them.

so either play against computer or online because choosing your plays when playing someone at your house, is like telling them the play you are gonna do, no chance for catching them off quard or faking them, unless their asleep and with the load time and the sheer bordom of the game thats not that far-fetched.

i mean obviously this game has the exclusive nfl rights so no competition, so what do they care. if you want a decent or rather a better football experience play ncaa but no nfl roster and its not perfect either just better then madden.

dont buy it!!!!
rent it if your aching for a football game that will last 15 mins.

there is so much wrong with this game theres not enough space.

graphics - 6
gamplay - 3
roster - 9
rookie mode - 2
other modes - 3
multiplayer - 2
online - couldnt stand the gameplay to try
madden franchise - 0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Is this Madden for XBOX?

posted by Hoboken74 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Sony never ceases to disgust me. I buy a Playstation 3 to have a Playstation 3. Just like last year, they release Madden 08 for PS3 with the button configuration completely different from the normal Playstation line. It IS however, almost EXACTLY like the XBOX version of Madden. Why would they do something like that? If I wanted an XBOX I would have bought one... DO NOT BOTHER renting this game. Rent the Playstation 2 version, same controls as ALWAYS and graphics are very close.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game is HORRIBLE

posted by rfuen11 (RICHLAND HILLS, TX) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 23 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

this is the 2nd madden game on the PS3 and i HATE it. this game is so far behind the PS2 and regular Xbox versions its not even funny.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The PS3 version isn't great for this game.

posted by ZiNg31 (AMARILLO, TX) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I am very disappointed to see this game's game play isn't smooth. I was told it's 30 frame per second maybe it explains why it wasn't smooth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Very Good

posted by golfer3 (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 19 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

Madden 08 is very very good. The new hit stick and highlight stick is awesome. Plus you get to play with all the new rookies, like Calvin Johnson, Brady Quinn, just to name a few. It's also the first Madden for the Playstation 3. I bet this is the most waited for game this year and it will become very very popular.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game was good

posted by tdang26 (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

The game play and the graphics for the ps3 were good. The only thing that I really did not like was the lag between the menu screens. There is a lot of new features that the game has and you can also play as the hall of famers if you choose to do a fantasy draft. The game isn't perfect, but it is better then the 2k8 all-pro game. The game is fun, and the graphics are nice, but the lag between screens and menus brings this game down some.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

madden 08

posted by ottis8 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

same ol'game.nothing has changed in a decade. everything new is old. time to end this games franchise!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

madden 08-maddens worst mistake

posted by Nathanial (HEPHZIBAH, GA) Jun 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

There are many words to discribe the madden series. Some say epic and amazing while others sadly disagree. This was one situation where the game was incredibly horrid. Besides the fact that the players are unrealisticly fast the graphs cause it to look like it was created in 2003. The fact that you can load a draft class makes it a little better. The inability to load recent rosters sucks to say in a nice way.Even the prvious maddens were better than this. All around this game was a pain to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YA MAN MADDEN 08

posted by PS3man4456 (RAMONA, CA) Oct 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This game was sick.the radio was a good kind of things i like in video games . Thats how i want the MLB games to be. It has really good gaphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was a solid game but nothing was different todo

posted by cronom (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

nothing amazing mostly just decent no tries at something new it just stuck to the point which was to make it a playable football game. i always rate each dimension of the games i review so here is what i like to call the report card.
controls:7.0
gameplay:5.0
mini-games:8.0
graphics:7.5
overall it wasn't a bust it just didn't quite reach the expectations i had. i think this franchise needs to add kind of extra feature that is really fun. like a really good mini game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Game!!!!

posted by Gamer22318 (MIDLAND, MI) May 9, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

This game is very very cool. It has perfect grafics(at least on the ps3) Its much better then the previous games madden has produced, as it has easy instructions, wich are easy to read , and also is a very fun game... careful, its very addicting :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Auto Pilot

posted by viper74 (RAEFORD, NC) May 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The graphics are good, but the game does so much for you automatically that you don't need to even touch the controls to play it well. Push any button and the plays will go down on their own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Expected more

posted by SlickJC (MOREHEAD CITY, NC) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

After playing this game on PS2, I expected more from the next gen version. The graphics on the PS3 didn't look up to par compared to the PS2 version. And the play call screen is a total mess, need a magnifying glass to scroll thru your playbook.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Madden '08 Dolfan

posted by krw2390 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Once again outstanding, every year just gets better and better. Game Play was outstanding, controls unbelievable, Graphics see for yourself, game modes impressive as always. Getting more and more realistic ever year. Can't wait 'till Madden 09' Anniversary Edition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Madden does it again

posted by Kozydawg (WAUREGAN, CT) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

Madden is awesome what a great game. Can't wait til 09 comes out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse