Rent Madden NFL 08 for PS2
view large frontback

Madden NFL 08

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

1266 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I LOVE THIS GAME!

posted by pizzaboy (ANCHORAGE, AK) Aug 17, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all, this game rocks!!! Graphics 10/10. They are way better than Madden 07. Sound 10/10. The announcers are the same people but are still AWESOME!! Gameplay 10/10. It is just typical Madden EXCELLENT gameplay!! Franchise Mode sounds fun but I haven't played it yet but past ones were AWESOME!!!! NFL Superstar Hall of Fame Mode 9.2/10. It's AWESOME you get an agent, a mentor, and a webmaster. You're player can get a hair cut, get a tattoo, or demand a trade!!! Except the BAD part is that like in Madden 07 when your player is playing in the game you can't choose your plays. I bought this the second day it came out and it was well worth the $50 I spent on it!$! A DEFINITE BUY OR RENT!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME!!

posted by JLawless (GRAHAM, WA) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best Madden's yet. The graphitcs are unbaleveable. The gameplay itself hasent really changed much. Online play is a little bit easier to work around. The really big differnce is going to be the graphics. The roster has also been updated. But yeah, i'll stand by whoever says that this is the best yet and that they keep getting better. I recomend this to any football lover.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Playstation 2 carries Sony

posted by Hoboken74 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Thank goodness for the PS 2. This years Madden is very similar to 2007, but some of the glitches have been fixed. Your corners actually defend like good corners and your receivers actually catch the ball when open. The graphics seem about on par with last years, too. The best thing is the new mini-games against the Giant dummies, lol. Lots of fun and highly recommend to rent AND buy. I'm buying mine...Thanks gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ps2 version went backward not forward

posted by midnightm (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This is the first time I have played any Madden game and stopped playing after two games. I got bored and I love football games. Nothing is new the kicking controls stink. The ps2 version was an afterthought and it really disappoints. Graphics -no improvement- hit stick nothing fun- manning and roethlisberger out after 2 quarters from lame injuries.this is not a step forward-I AM SICK OF THE SAME OLD maddenisms and the people that rate games as a 10 before they even play them. And I don't care if madden revolutionized football games this one is a DUD!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Chaos21 (SUMMERVILLE, GA) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Come on guys do I Really even need to say It.......................- ........................
It's Madden It's Awesomw,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FOOTBALL LOVERS PERADISE

posted by jon1296 (MESQUITE, TX) Aug 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This game was awesome and iv been noticing that games are a little shorter and that means its not Worth the money but since its sports you get the hole season and that also means you can go through the season over and over again on different levels of intensity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

why did you send me maden

posted by super23 (GREENVILLE, NC) Aug 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

i did not wont madden

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

YES!!! Finally a somewhat satifying Madden Game

posted by tsb2247 (VENTURA, CA) Jul 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

Well...hats off to EA on this one. The gameplay is great, graphics are very good and controls are easy to remember. My only problems are that the commentary is repetitive, there is not a lot of ways to customize your created teams, and the "Carrer" mode is fun for a while but you can retire and be done with a boring part of the game....The franchise mode is a great way to take over your favorite team or your created team...Overall...I hope that with a few tweaks Madden 09 will be a game to remember and/or keep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Madden NFL 2008

posted by Madden08 (Portland, OR) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

The game is very fun with a lot of new features. Although it is fun, it is a lot similar to Madden 07. The only differences are the rosters. I can say anything. I play it every day. If you can get it get it. If you can't, than don't beat your self up. So I rate it a 9 out of ten. Excellent :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My oh My

posted by jman211 (EAST LYME, CT) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

My oh my this game is perfect in all ways. It has great graphics, looks like a real football team,ect. I can not say one bad thing about this game but there is one. Creating teams is hard i just cant do it. But everything rocks out loud. Much better than 2007. Makes them all look bad. If i was you i would run down to the store and quickly buy it. Because you just cant rent it. Gittity Gittity Goo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good features

posted by johnejones (LANCASTER, PA) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

I love the option of saving the game halfway thru. All other games you must wait until the end of the game being played to save. This feature lets you save where you stop and then pick it up later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Madden 08

posted by seat19 (RICHMOND, KY) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This is a good game but it moves kind of slow. Sometimes it just stops for about 5 seconds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Madden 08

posted by kromzek (KINDE, MI) Jan 21, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

How much more can you improve the greatest sports game of all time? Madden is getting more challenging every year, but should it be a challenging game or a game filled with football stats? To put it simply, there are a lot more buttons to push that basically do the same as previous games. I'm not sure what Madden 09 has in store for us, but I hope the controls are somewhat less of a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Getting Old!

posted by Hyperspazz (Rockford, IL) Jan 14, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I been a madden gamer for years and I love the game. Well, up until the past few years. This is a review for the ps2 version. There are more Negatives about this game Than positives.
1. When you play a season game or franchise game doing things in your roster pauses when you are choosing a category. Also simulating the season and off season schedule portion is very slow. Why can't they just fly right past what your wanting to simulate instead of taking about 15-20 minutes or so to skip a season.
2. The ole create a fan bit is pointless use that on something that matters.
3. In game play it seems every time you are chasing down a guy down field and you switch to a player he dives a lot by himself when you don't do anything other than switching to him.
4. They need to add more create a team jersey types, more options, create your own team logos and have more to choose from. Different uniforms types and more.

I would really like to see them add coaching your own team option. Just like The Head Coach game but better and not as time consuming.
In Hall of Fame options I think it would be cool if you had your own place like they show but you can move around and unlock new items for your place. Yes, like the ESPN football that was out 3 years ago.
In game they should add new press box chatter instead the same old stuff over and over. Even add former players visiting the game. And Monday night games with different announcers etc.

In Conclusion, Madden is going downhill from not only my opinions but my friends and others as well I hear. The reason is simple. Nothing new nothing exciting. This is why games Like ESPN that came out a few years back was one of my favorites because the way they built the game. I may not buy Madden until there are some BIG strides to making this game worth even playing. Its boring anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

it great but

posted by uptown77 (PENSACOLA, FL) Dec 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Madden08 is great but it's missing the little thing's that make it the best ever by in franchise mode the one thing i loved about it was the ESPN radio and the hall of fame mode is good but madden07 had a better version and for some reason when i do franchise mode the defensive players voice's be the pa system
well good but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same as 07...

posted by MissTru (OMAHA, NE) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

Except for some extra options to gameplay. Same commentary, same endzone "celebrations" and then some. About the only thing new aside from the Hall of Fame option was MORE LAG TIME! I played Franchise, now an average game took 90 minutes and of the 5 games I got through, the game "STUCK" twice. I had this glitch with 2007 as well. All in all, frustrating experience to wait a few weeks to rent and get no satisfaction from playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Fun Football.

posted by Offlefttac (LONGWOOD, FL) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

A lot of action with very little downtime. Well researched and fun. Gotta run it's time for kick off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madden 08 On PS2

posted by FalconsFan (JONESBORO, GA) Nov 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

It Suck point blank its better on the New Gen(PS3 and Xbox 360)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same song, New verse

posted by SlimDiddy (EATONTON, GA) Oct 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

It's not that Madden 08 is a bad game. It really is another great football game. The problem is that they can't go much further at this point. They have done essentially all that they seem capeable of doing and now they just keep running out the same game each new year with updated rosters and not much more than that. I have been a dedicated Madden player since the very first one which I played on my Sega Genesis longer ago than I care to admit! This is another great game, but again, just more of the same.

As a side bonus, for those of you that enjoy gaming in an altered state of sobriety, the Rushing Skills Challenge on the hard level is REALLY FUN!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not much change from 07, but still fun

posted by ManRam (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

So my title says it all pretty much. The graphics and game play are pretty much the same as last years version. EA just added some new features with playcalling and player controls. I feel like they didn't upgrade the PS2 version because they were working on the PS3 version instead. Regardless, if you liked the 2007 version, then you will definetly like this one too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by szechwan (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

ea sports has impressed me with the release of madden 08. however, i wish there were tutorials to show you the new stuff. but this is no biggy. i think that madden is much more realistic with moves and one of my favorites is flipping into the endzone and the wr slide. i look forward to maddens new releases and for ncaa's new releases..my advice to ea would be to make ncaa more realistic like madden, because i am a college football fan and not so much pro...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What Happened Here?

posted by Jarivs100 (GREAT FALLS, MT) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game was terrible. I loved every Madden until this one. They say it has smoother gameplay when it has crappier gameplay. You go to tackle somebody. Your guy begins to wrap his arms around him, and then suddenly he falls to the ground. No tackle. The man keeps running. It is a game full of glitches. Sure it looks pretty, and there is a new Fantasy Challenge mode, but they can't save these horrid game. It is just plain out terrible. If you are a die hard Madden fan, this may make you want to vomit. It leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

Buy it Or Rent It: Stay Away From It This!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Madden 08

posted by Erndawg509 (GRANDVIEW, WA) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

The only thing good about this title is the updated roster. The game plays the same as 07,mabey the 360 or ps3 version is better , but don't waste you're time pass on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

SAME OLD GAME!!!

posted by nfl1922 (GIBSONIA, PA) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

Here's the deal other than a few small details and the rosters evrythings the smae which ain't bad but with all the hype I expected much more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

quarter-bleeped effort

posted by Firkis (SAINT PAUL, MN) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Well, if you're reading this then, like me, you do not as yet have a next gen console, which is too bad because having seen the 360 version, I am disappointed to report tht unlike the next gen maddens which got an all new game and graphics engines, those of us without a spare $500 to drop on new hardware are, yet again, getting the same old madden we've been getting since Madden 05. I think the most frustrating part is the inclusion of the weapon ranking system (A deep threat reciver is listed as a deep threat reciver), but not the actual weapon system it's self. so, you can have your big arm QB and your deep threat WR, but the weapon system isn't there, so these rolls are nothing more than window dressing. In short, keep the Franchise, superstar, rosters and everything else you've already got unless you've got the next gen machine of your choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse