Rent Madden NFL 07 for Wii
view large frontback

Madden NFL 07

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.2

871 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Throwings fun, but hit myself in face w/ cord! ha

posted by PiercedLip (BARBERTON, OH) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love the way the passing is setup, but running and catching I sometimes found myself flickering the controls around like a madman hoping to do something!

My friend and I both seem to hit ourselves in the face with the cord when doing kickoffs or field goals though. You swing it down and up real fast and the nunchuk side of the cord flies up and hits you in the face. haha

The graphics are pretty dated looking, but I have the component cables which help. The gameplay is just plain fun against a friend. It makes winning feel like you really were playing against them.

If you like football you will like this game...because I don't like real life football, but this games fun as can be to battle a friend on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

few yards short

posted by Tufferz (BUENA PARK, CA) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

22 out of 23 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

MADDEN ON THE WII! Exciting! no? well kinda, the team at ea did a great job with the control scheme for the wii. Madden on the wii delievers everything madden does every year, but does fall a few yards short. They arent big deals to some, but i wanted to see a little more effort in this game. Lets point out the good first. The controls! Work like a charm on offense, playing as the qb really pulls you in and and makes it alot more fun than i've had on a 360! The brilliant use of the wii was the selling point right away. From the motion controlled jukes and passing, to the use of the built-in-speaker to hear the qb call out the plays! Those who have a 360 (like myself) will miss the high end graphics and hd quality, but it will be forgotten from the first snap. All the features are there as they are in the current gen title.(Kudos to ea for not nerfing this system!) The new mini-games for multiplayer are a blast. Madden on wii has alot going for it. But now the bad. The menus on wii are just so poorly done. I know this isnt a huge issue, but i really miss the animated menus of the 360 when i'm playing my wii, it makes it feel like its not as next-gen as it should be. Another complaint is the controls work wonders on offense, but defense doesnt really get to take as much advantage, sure you can strip and swat at the ball, but the offense is complimented alot better with the controls. Also, the kicking interface is hard to master, or even get used to for that matter. Since i've gotten the game i've missed most of my point after attempts (i'm also sure thats cause i suck)! But i think they could have done better with the kicking. And lack of online play hurts this title from being great. Nintendo needs to incorperate online play alot more with this generation of games to survive!
All that aside though, madden is tons of fun with your friends or by yourself. The little flaws of the game dont take away from the big picture, which is "Gameplay over graphics"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great multiplayer, good new way to look at Madden!

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Feb 24, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow, what a great game for the Wii. Great controls, decent visuals, same ol Madden sounds.

The Good:
Offensive controls are near perfect. Anyone could easily pick it up and do it. Defensive and kicking was a little tricky. At first, these were a little hard but the game a good tutorial (one you can use in-game, and one for practice) to teach you how to perfect it. One of the best multiplayer games (can't wait for Wi-fi).

The Bad:

No online play, sound quality isn't the best, and the graphics are sub-par with the other systems.

Overall:

Great game, almost a must own for anyone who enjoys doing Wii-mote motions (Even if you're not a Madden fan!, I know I wasn't)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A very very good game

posted by christ (RICHMOND, VA) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game that really helps the wii. The graphics are much better than I expected them to be(They don't compete with the PS3 but better than the PS2) The controls in this game are very well aligned, I think that passing, running, ect. are very very well a ranged. Although most of the features in this game are pretty much the same as on the other consuls the controls are definitely better. Also the fact that the loading and saving in the game is lightning fast compared to the other systems, that makes it that much better.
GRAPHICTS= 9
CONTROLS= 10
LOADING/SAVING= 10
FEATURES= 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good, but slightly hard to control

posted by hegrose (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) Jul 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is really fun, but when you start out it is very hard. i didnt play the game for weeks cause it made no sense, but when i figured out the controls i couldnt stop playing this game. all in all it is fun when you know how to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Phenomenal First Season

posted by dapimple (ANAHEIM, CA) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Madden 07 for the Wii is a great kick off of the sports genre. The game feels as if it was built from the ground up for the Wii rather than being a quick and dirty port for launch.

While the graphics are expectedly below that of the PS3/X360 versions, they are still pleasing to the eye, with sharp textures, environment mapping, shadowing, field of depth blur and and silky smooth animations. The licensed music is great, and the sound effects are crisp.

What really sets the Wii version apart, though, are the well executed motion controls. Passing, juking, stiff arming, tackling, kicking, pumping the crowd...all the actions that are relegated to simple button presses on other consoles are now effortlessly performed using the wiimote and nunchuk. This added dimension makes Madden more visceral and involving than it has ever been. The motions just make sense.

Football games have an inherently high learning curve. I've been playing since Joe Montana on the Genesis. The Wii makes football accessible, so you can worry about the X's and O's, rather than thinking about what triangle, square circle, L1, L2 , etc does.

Madden Wii has made football games appealing again. Even my girlfriend, who would never touch a football game previously, enjoyed the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A blast to play

posted by Kritter (SALINAS, CA) Nov 20, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game doesn't look as good as its PS3 and 360 counterparts, but it more than makes up for that in fun factor. The Wii controller and controls allow you to become the quarterback, find the reciever, go through progressions, and throw the pass. This game has flaws, but its fun as heck to play. Give it a shot!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not Great.

posted by PeaNutHull (HOPE MILLS, NC) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I started out playing this game thinking it was going to be awesome. The whole idea of actually passing the ball around with the wiimote was exciting to say the least. I didn't expect too much graphically so I wasn't really let down with the less than stellar look of the game. It is a step up from the Gamecube but that's a small step in my opinion. The game does offer some pretty fun multiplayer mini games but there isn't any online support so you have to have real friends. All in all the games control is pretty spot on. The passing game along with the running game is pretty fun. Although catching the ball and defense has a steep learning curve and the kicking game just seems broken. If you are a fan of Madden its worth the rent just to see how it works for you. I personally like it better on the 360 with a standard controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not ok

posted by cdoggy (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) May 2, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i thought the game was not user friendly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Gameplay!

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Dec 10, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a must have game for Wii... The controls are off the hook! Graphics arn't xbox 360 quality, but the Wii is about gameplay and a new way to play games... Graphics are the least of my worries, but with that said, the graphics are still extremely nice!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not bad, but not great either

posted by 35yrgamer (CLIFTON SPRINGS, NY) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Tough to review. We know the graphics aren't going to be a selling feature. Anyone reading this knows that. So looking beyond graphics, we are left with sound, presentation, depth, and control/gameplay.
The sound is good fine. The play calling is weak as it tends to be in every other Madden Game. But the on field action sounds nice. Everything is solid but nothing really stands out.
Presentation is very good. Being the bread and butter of Madden for awhile now, the Wii Madden won't drop the ball. The storyline, newspapers, radio, do a great job of putting players in the game.
Depth is also very good - nothing is missing in this game. The only mode left out is the online play. And IMO, that is no loss, with all of the cheese play and griefers found online, I don't miss them at all. The Wii Madden feels like a full fleshed out game, because it is. This is the most complete Madden on a new/next gen system(yes I own a ps3 and a 360).
And now we have the gameplay. And what we are really talking about here is the Wiimote. It just doesn't feel right. At all. For starters menus are a pain to navigate. Getting to the formation/play you want is more trouble then it should be. But the real problem begins when your players hit the field. The kicking is woefuly broken. After many hours of play, I still go for it on 4th downs, can't get kick offs consitantly, and worry everytime I need a PAT. Everything else just takes too long. In other Madden versions you do actions from throwing the ball to throwing a stiff arm at the instant press of a button. Not on the Wii. You have to make the right motion. Often the game doesn't pick up the motion you just made correctly. The result is bad passes, missed ints, badly timed jukes/stiff arms etc.
In the end I think it comes down to "does the Wiimote enhance gameplay?". The short answer is no. In fact it hurts it.
If you like football play it somewhere else. 'Nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Only good Madden on the Wii

posted by DadMinMac (COLONIA, NJ) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This is the only good Madden on the Wii because the controls were right. It is a complete port of the PS2 version from that year but that was a good thing, because EA was not trying to please the casual gamers like they tried on later Wii versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madden Football 07

posted by Tokens99 (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game has not worked with my Wii. We had to call Nintendo so they could fix it. I wish you would alert that it has problems!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another football game

posted by IliaWanaB (NORWICH, NY) Dec 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2004

If you have an 'old' version of madden theirs no point renting or buying a new one. <- madden style comment

The motion controls that they put in are not too obnoxious nor do they infuriate you by doing the exact opposite as you would like.

Nothing new as in ALL 0X releases to make this any better then an old version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great beginning for Wii Madden

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

Pros
- Great Wii Controls
- Great mini games

Cons
- Missing some features like superstar
- No online play
- Last gen graphics/physics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MADDEN 07

posted by Timmytim (CHESTER, NY) Aug 31, 2007

Member since May 2004

Madden 07 for Nintendo Wii is an awesome game. It will take some time to get used to,once initial learning of controls is out of the way you will have a blast. Superstar mode impressed me. I think the way superstar mode is put together is perfect. I would recommend this to anybody who enjoys taking full use of the Wii remote controller and nunchuck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Upright Scores!!!

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 9, 2007

Member since May 2007

This is a fine example of building a game specifically for the Wii. They have done a marvelous job in this department. But, could you expect less from EA?

Pros:
Very smooth and fluid graphics at 480p. Very easy tutorials and interface. Intuitive controls and use of the Wiimote and Nunchuck, I love the idea of actually being able to throw the Football. Easy learning curve for children.

Cons:
Hardcore fans may get disappointed by how simple this game is. I guess it's like riding a bike, once you played one Madden you can play them all with ease. Moving both controllers forward for a tackle from the opposite perspective was a bit confusing. I'm sure this can be quickly corrected if there is an option to reverse the camera. I wish they put that sprint button on the Wiimote instead of the Nunchuck (my thumb was beginning to hurt after 30 minutes).

The only benefit that I see for hardcore fans of the series is being able to use the Wiimote and Nunchuck interface. Other than that, it's the same 'ol same 'ol. This should be more fun for the casual gamer or newcomers to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another SO-SO Wii title

posted by OldManWii (LINDENHURST, IL) Jul 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

Ok, the Wii needs more titles like the included Sports pack but this ones does not live up.

The game play seems forced using the Wii's remotes and it is clear the game is a port with little time spent making it work for Wii's unique hardware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun just one thing wrong

posted by regguy43 (BARRINGTON, RI) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

I love this game, especciealy for the WII, not bad graphics, sound ok, gameplay awsome, eccept the controls don't always work, like on a kick sometimes the cord get in your face and the kick doesn't go through, sometimes i stif arm one way and the player stiff arms the other way.

But one thing i love is the the superstar feature, that's always been a key game mode in the madden series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Prep for Next Season

posted by gorilla91 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

Madden scores on its first release onto the Nintendo Wii. The biggest surprise is how easy it is to control the game.

The graphics may not be quite those of the PS3 and XBox 360, but it can quite possibly be the easiest one of the bunch. Many were worried of the transition of the controller to the Wii remote and nunchuck and EA did it perfectly. Performing dual moves and aligning the players for the upcoming play is a cinch. Gameplay is smooth.

The only downfall of the game is no online features for play and updating rosters. Some of the mini games are taken out, but are not missed.

Madden is a great prelude of what the future holds for the Madden series and EA Sports games on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FOOTBALL!!!!

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

I love football and this game for the wii is so cool.Its so easy to play.

GOOD:Graphics,Gameplay,Easy to play,Controlls,NFL hall of fame mode.

BAD:Gets boring fast.

overall:Exellent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WAY 2 GO MADDEN

posted by Dennis (VALLEJO, CA) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

THIS IS MY KIND OF GAME, AND IF YOU LIKE SPORTS, IT'S YOURS 2. THE CONTROLS ARE AWSOME, AND YOU DO ALMOST EVREYTHING WITH YOUR WII REMOTE AND NUMCHUCK, JUKE, SPIN, EVEN THROW A 9O YARD PASS. ALL I GOT 2 SAY IS IF YOU LIKE FOOTBALL AND YOU HAVE A WII, GET THIS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Confusing/Ouch

posted by petboy8910 (EDGEWOOD, WA) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This game is very good game for every station but the Wii! The game is very confusing (kicking)!The kicking I hit myself in the face with the chord! I love playing Madden, just not for the Wii! I don't recommend renting this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A whole new game, GREAT!!!!

posted by krazie8 (GREENDALE, WI) Jun 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

I don't know about you, but the Maddens for the other systems (PS2, Xbox, 360, PS3, etc.) were getting mighty boring. They never really had anything new except for in game stuff that not a lot of people like. But Madden NFL 07 for the Wii is nothing like you've experienced before. Not only do they have more features like more Multiplayer Minigames or NFL Network Mode, but the Freemotion controls make it unique in it's own way. Snap the remote back to hike the ball, swing the remote to kick or throw a football. Not everything changed though. You still press buttons to run, tackle, and move. This game would get a 10 except, but it doesn't for two things. First, the new NFL Superstar Mode sucks. It does on every system, not just the Wii. Mainly because you can't play anyone you want in the actual games and you can't call your own plays. That and the kicking system exclusive for the Wii is horrible. The remote is too sensitive and you end up slicing you kick each time. If anything, they need to fix the kicking system for next year. I give Madden NFL 07 for the Wii an 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another classic

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This was a game that made good use of the new wii remote. I liked jumping up in the air to catch the balls. I've cared less and less about all of the options that Madden gives you over the last few years. It's fun to go through the season again with the latest teams but I didn't feel up to it this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse