Rent Madden NFL 07 for Wii
view large frontback

Madden NFL 07

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.2

871 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madden Football 07

posted by Tokens99 (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game has not worked with my Wii. We had to call Nintendo so they could fix it. I wish you would alert that it has problems!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not ok

posted by cdoggy (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) May 2, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i thought the game was not user friendly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another SO-SO Wii title

posted by OldManWii (LINDENHURST, IL) Jul 23, 2007

Member since May 2007

Ok, the Wii needs more titles like the included Sports pack but this ones does not live up.

The game play seems forced using the Wii's remotes and it is clear the game is a port with little time spent making it work for Wii's unique hardware.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fans to NFL: We deserve better.

posted by Kagenin (ROCKLIN, CA) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

In December '04, the NFL and EA inked a 5-year deal that granted EA the exclusive license to make NFL Franchise games.

And every year since, the bar EA sets for Madden gets set lower and lower. The PC version of '07 is a Big Step Backwards, especially in regards to its input code - why does the NBA Live franchise have so much more robust code for gamepads? I digress.

EA spent a little more time on the Wii version's control scheme, but its very tricky. I almost prefer hitting a button over waiving my arms over my head to attempt an interception. In fact, playing the pass as a DB used to be my specialty. Now I'm a flailing madman.

The new "Hall-of-Fame Player" mode is interesting - create a player, and follow alongside his career, from practice before the draft, to getting drafted, preseason games and practice... its an interesting scheme. However, I had some game-ending glitches happen to me as my player was coming into the game - You get to pick stats to boost based on how psyched up your player is (ie, if you're a HB, and you tear a big chunk of the field off in a run, you get some points to add to an attribute, or if you have the appropriate role, you can affect other players or even the defense), but while trying to confirm my settings, the game refused to move forward, throwing up a blank dialog box that wouldn't let me get into the game. This is a SERIOUSLY bad bug that should have been caught by EA's quality assurance. What was frustrating is my HB had scored 4 TDs against the Colts when this bug decided to creep up on me.

Former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue was certainly one of the better Pro-Sports Commissioners of his era (especially when compared to the slimy Bud Selig). However, the contract with EA was a deal with the devil. The NFL will tell you, Competition is good. But when you don't have anything to compete against, you get complacent, and innovation suffers. Every sports gamer will be paying for Tagliabue's sins until 2009.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Madden 2007 Wii = Unintuitive

posted by tmonte (TRENTON, NJ) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

I am a casual gamer and I had high expectations for Madden on the Wii. I had Madden on the xbox and it was an intuitive, simple, and fun. I have also played Wii Sports and thought adding some hand motions would make the game even better.

Madden on the Wii was not fun and simple. The startup menus force you to create a profile before you can play a game. This took a few minutes longer to get setup, when I just wanted to one click into a game. Once I got into the game, It took a long time to figure it out and had too many options to really get a quick easy game in. If you aren't a die hard football fan or hardcore gamer, this game probably isn't for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not bad, but not great either

posted by 35yrgamer (CLIFTON SPRINGS, NY) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Tough to review. We know the graphics aren't going to be a selling feature. Anyone reading this knows that. So looking beyond graphics, we are left with sound, presentation, depth, and control/gameplay.
The sound is good fine. The play calling is weak as it tends to be in every other Madden Game. But the on field action sounds nice. Everything is solid but nothing really stands out.
Presentation is very good. Being the bread and butter of Madden for awhile now, the Wii Madden won't drop the ball. The storyline, newspapers, radio, do a great job of putting players in the game.
Depth is also very good - nothing is missing in this game. The only mode left out is the online play. And IMO, that is no loss, with all of the cheese play and griefers found online, I don't miss them at all. The Wii Madden feels like a full fleshed out game, because it is. This is the most complete Madden on a new/next gen system(yes I own a ps3 and a 360).
And now we have the gameplay. And what we are really talking about here is the Wiimote. It just doesn't feel right. At all. For starters menus are a pain to navigate. Getting to the formation/play you want is more trouble then it should be. But the real problem begins when your players hit the field. The kicking is woefuly broken. After many hours of play, I still go for it on 4th downs, can't get kick offs consitantly, and worry everytime I need a PAT. Everything else just takes too long. In other Madden versions you do actions from throwing the ball to throwing a stiff arm at the instant press of a button. Not on the Wii. You have to make the right motion. Often the game doesn't pick up the motion you just made correctly. The result is bad passes, missed ints, badly timed jukes/stiff arms etc.
In the end I think it comes down to "does the Wiimote enhance gameplay?". The short answer is no. In fact it hurts it.
If you like football play it somewhere else. 'Nuff said

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring

posted by desarrtrat (COLUMBIA, KY) May 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

The games are too easy to win. It did not seem to matter what team I play against...tooooo easy to win. I would not recommend this game for purchase. Just ok for short amusement. Gets old fast. Rent it and you will be sending it back soon. Thinking of buying this game....download tecmo bowl instead.
I don't like how the historical team players are not named. You might as well be playing with a bunch of John Does.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What were they thinking?

posted by HEMIII (MARTINSBURG, WV) May 4, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

Why when you play two player vs. you can see what play the other is picking? Do not buy this game if you want to play with a friend. What I really like about this game is the Hall of Fame mode. I picked a HB and playing it is really fun I enjoyed this alot and was almost going to buy it just for that reason but I don't think so, I'll wait for '08. The kicking is really clumsy, when I score a TD and go for the EP I just tap the A button and don't even try to swing the controler. They should of had an option so you could kick old school with the A button. Other than that I loved the game and love the way they use the Wii controls except for kicking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Man, Warren Sapp lost 300 LBS!!!

posted by rawsjwfam (THORNTON, CO) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

Madden 07' has good controls on the Wii. Obviously not a graphics wonder like on Xbox 360! What I did not like is the fact that EA decided to crop the screen...(Badly) to make use of the entire field so that you can see where to throw when using the Wii remote. The downside to this is that the players are stretched out like the kid on Willy Wonkas Chocolate Factory, The one that got stretched out in the taffy puller. Overall though It's a good game because it is fun to hike and throw the ball using the remote.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

madden is 50 yards short

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

the controlls are hard to do it takes more strength then wii sports it's A rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Confusing/Ouch

posted by petboy8910 (EDGEWOOD, WA) Jun 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This game is very good game for every station but the Wii! The game is very confusing (kicking)!The kicking I hit myself in the face with the chord! I love playing Madden, just not for the Wii! I don't recommend renting this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another football game

posted by IliaWanaB (NORWICH, NY) Dec 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2004

If you have an 'old' version of madden theirs no point renting or buying a new one. <- madden style comment

The motion controls that they put in are not too obnoxious nor do they infuriate you by doing the exact opposite as you would like.

Nothing new as in ALL 0X releases to make this any better then an old version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another classic

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Jun 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This was a game that made good use of the new wii remote. I liked jumping up in the air to catch the balls. I've cared less and less about all of the options that Madden gives you over the last few years. It's fun to go through the season again with the latest teams but I didn't feel up to it this year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I really can't stand John Madden

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

and I don't know why he insists on announcing in his games.

Gameplay: 7.0
Originallity for a madden game: 1.0
Originallity in use of Wii-Remote: 7.0
Replay Value/Amount of time gameplay remains fun: 8.0
Story: 5.0

Gameplay:
Standard Madden gameplay.

Originality:
Some new things happening with the Wii-Remote, but other then that it's the same madden game we've had since 03.

Replay Value:
As a football game with loads of multiplayer options, it's to be expected that it has good replay value

Story:
No story, but that's to be expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It Doesn't Grab My Attention

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Feb 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Even though you can hike, pass, and catch the ball in this game, I didn't find it too appealing. The running plays still didn't feel like you had total control, and there certainly can be a better way to be able to set up passes. I would have just as much fun with other consoles.
Needless to say...I sent it back within a few days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth Renting, Maybe Worth Buying

posted by Zcritic (AUBURN, ME) Feb 14, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

My full size review was eaten by the browser monster... so here it is in a nutshell.

Good: If you like Madden Games you will like that aspect. The innovative controllers on the Wii are used for plenty of things and are accurate and intuitive. They make the game a lot of fun.

Bad: Graphics, sub par, even for the Wii. There needs to be a lot more clarity on a game where you need to keep track of so many things on the field and make split second decisions based on what you can see. The GUI outside of the game was anti-intuitive.

Okay: The audio worked fine and had no glitches (and thank god you can still shut off the announcers if you want)

Bottom Line: Rent it! If you can deal with the graphics then its worth buying.

-Z

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very fun better then the leading maddens...

posted by Roofmaster (SPRING HILL, TN) Jan 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Pros:
Good use of the controller
Very fun
Good looking graphics
All star mode
4 players can play with wii motes

Cons:
Confusing
AI is kind of week
No online multiplayer

But other then the cons it's a great madden to play because it's on the Wii I always thought the madden on xbox and ps2 were boring but it's way more fun with controller

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not Great.

posted by PeaNutHull (HOPE MILLS, NC) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I started out playing this game thinking it was going to be awesome. The whole idea of actually passing the ball around with the wiimote was exciting to say the least. I didn't expect too much graphically so I wasn't really let down with the less than stellar look of the game. It is a step up from the Gamecube but that's a small step in my opinion. The game does offer some pretty fun multiplayer mini games but there isn't any online support so you have to have real friends. All in all the games control is pretty spot on. The passing game along with the running game is pretty fun. Although catching the ball and defense has a steep learning curve and the kicking game just seems broken. If you are a fan of Madden its worth the rent just to see how it works for you. I personally like it better on the 360 with a standard controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

few yards short

posted by Tufferz (BUENA PARK, CA) Nov 25, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

22 out of 23 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

MADDEN ON THE WII! Exciting! no? well kinda, the team at ea did a great job with the control scheme for the wii. Madden on the wii delievers everything madden does every year, but does fall a few yards short. They arent big deals to some, but i wanted to see a little more effort in this game. Lets point out the good first. The controls! Work like a charm on offense, playing as the qb really pulls you in and and makes it alot more fun than i've had on a 360! The brilliant use of the wii was the selling point right away. From the motion controlled jukes and passing, to the use of the built-in-speaker to hear the qb call out the plays! Those who have a 360 (like myself) will miss the high end graphics and hd quality, but it will be forgotten from the first snap. All the features are there as they are in the current gen title.(Kudos to ea for not nerfing this system!) The new mini-games for multiplayer are a blast. Madden on wii has alot going for it. But now the bad. The menus on wii are just so poorly done. I know this isnt a huge issue, but i really miss the animated menus of the 360 when i'm playing my wii, it makes it feel like its not as next-gen as it should be. Another complaint is the controls work wonders on offense, but defense doesnt really get to take as much advantage, sure you can strip and swat at the ball, but the offense is complimented alot better with the controls. Also, the kicking interface is hard to master, or even get used to for that matter. Since i've gotten the game i've missed most of my point after attempts (i'm also sure thats cause i suck)! But i think they could have done better with the kicking. And lack of online play hurts this title from being great. Nintendo needs to incorperate online play alot more with this generation of games to survive!
All that aside though, madden is tons of fun with your friends or by yourself. The little flaws of the game dont take away from the big picture, which is "Gameplay over graphics"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great beginning for Wii Madden

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

Pros
- Great Wii Controls
- Great mini games

Cons
- Missing some features like superstar
- No online play
- Last gen graphics/physics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Upright Scores!!!

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 9, 2007

Member since May 2007

This is a fine example of building a game specifically for the Wii. They have done a marvelous job in this department. But, could you expect less from EA?

Pros:
Very smooth and fluid graphics at 480p. Very easy tutorials and interface. Intuitive controls and use of the Wiimote and Nunchuck, I love the idea of actually being able to throw the Football. Easy learning curve for children.

Cons:
Hardcore fans may get disappointed by how simple this game is. I guess it's like riding a bike, once you played one Madden you can play them all with ease. Moving both controllers forward for a tackle from the opposite perspective was a bit confusing. I'm sure this can be quickly corrected if there is an option to reverse the camera. I wish they put that sprint button on the Wiimote instead of the Nunchuck (my thumb was beginning to hurt after 30 minutes).

The only benefit that I see for hardcore fans of the series is being able to use the Wiimote and Nunchuck interface. Other than that, it's the same 'ol same 'ol. This should be more fun for the casual gamer or newcomers to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent Prep for Next Season

posted by gorilla91 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

Madden scores on its first release onto the Nintendo Wii. The biggest surprise is how easy it is to control the game.

The graphics may not be quite those of the PS3 and XBox 360, but it can quite possibly be the easiest one of the bunch. Many were worried of the transition of the controller to the Wii remote and nunchuck and EA did it perfectly. Performing dual moves and aligning the players for the upcoming play is a cinch. Gameplay is smooth.

The only downfall of the game is no online features for play and updating rosters. Some of the mini games are taken out, but are not missed.

Madden is a great prelude of what the future holds for the Madden series and EA Sports games on the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good, but slightly hard to control

posted by hegrose (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) Jul 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is really fun, but when you start out it is very hard. i didnt play the game for weeks cause it made no sense, but when i figured out the controls i couldnt stop playing this game. all in all it is fun when you know how to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

WAY 2 GO MADDEN

posted by Dennis (VALLEJO, CA) Jun 25, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

THIS IS MY KIND OF GAME, AND IF YOU LIKE SPORTS, IT'S YOURS 2. THE CONTROLS ARE AWSOME, AND YOU DO ALMOST EVREYTHING WITH YOUR WII REMOTE AND NUMCHUCK, JUKE, SPIN, EVEN THROW A 9O YARD PASS. ALL I GOT 2 SAY IS IF YOU LIKE FOOTBALL AND YOU HAVE A WII, GET THIS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A whole new game, GREAT!!!!

posted by krazie8 (GREENDALE, WI) Jun 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

I don't know about you, but the Maddens for the other systems (PS2, Xbox, 360, PS3, etc.) were getting mighty boring. They never really had anything new except for in game stuff that not a lot of people like. But Madden NFL 07 for the Wii is nothing like you've experienced before. Not only do they have more features like more Multiplayer Minigames or NFL Network Mode, but the Freemotion controls make it unique in it's own way. Snap the remote back to hike the ball, swing the remote to kick or throw a football. Not everything changed though. You still press buttons to run, tackle, and move. This game would get a 10 except, but it doesn't for two things. First, the new NFL Superstar Mode sucks. It does on every system, not just the Wii. Mainly because you can't play anyone you want in the actual games and you can't call your own plays. That and the kicking system exclusive for the Wii is horrible. The remote is too sensitive and you end up slicing you kick each time. If anything, they need to fix the kicking system for next year. I give Madden NFL 07 for the Wii an 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse