Rent Madden NFL 07 for PS3
view large frontback

Madden NFL 07

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

811 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Always worth playing

posted by NixsMom (Littleton, CO) Jan 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Although the expectations may have not of been met, it ultimately gives a fun and fulfilling experience.
I have been playing Madden for years now, and Madden 07 is my first next gen experience. After reading all the reviews and seeing a lot of negative press about the game, I decided to pick it up because I really wanted to taste next gen football. My expectations were not very high but I was pleasantly surprised with the game. The controls threw me off at first but once I got the hang of them it was smooth sailing. The graphics are beautiful and the animations are extremely impressive. I'm not a huge fan of superstar mode and online play has been horrible so far. I have played about 5 games and all are beyond the point of playing because of the lag. The core game itself is a blast though and I am having a great time just playing franchise mode. I think this is a great start to Madden on the PS3 and I am excited for future improvements because this game shows great potential.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

madden nfl 07

posted by scarfacexx (WESTVILLE, FL) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphics are awesome it looks like the players are real!!!!the stadiums looks for real!!!the only thing i didnt like was the superstar mode in the ps2 version was better but other than that it was awesome if i was you i would rent it and if you like it buy it but rent it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by sonicflood (COOLIDGE, TX) Jan 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty good when you think of EA's Madden's History the new controls take time to adapt to but are overall better controls then last times......this game is really fun expecially the mini game mode me and my cousin were playing that for hours the main Madden GAME is really good if you like madden yuou will love this version PS2 gameplay plus PS3 Graphics! just fix a few framrate issues and you have yourself a 9 star game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Graphics are Pretty,, but...

posted by Kdiggy (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is a Carbon Copy of the Xbox360.. With some minor additions on the sixaxis. The Graphics are very nice,, but just like the 360 version the gameplay lacks. The players just don't move smoothly like they do in the PS2 version.. And when it comes to madden,, Gameplay is king..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

MADDEN 07 PS3

posted by ANDYman (FENTON, MI) Jan 11, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

1-10 rating

Graphics-10/10-Look amazing on HDMI and plasma Tv

Superstar Mode-8/10-Can be fun but most of the time challenging.

Gameplay-7/10-moves overall pretty good but can improve the motion on the passing plays.

Franchise mode-10/10 As good as any other Madden game.

In my opinion a good game but i highly suggest you rent it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My 2nd game

posted by sfontana (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 24, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Okay so...its Madden...if you ever played a Madden game then you know the drill. The graphics look incredible in HDMI but there are a few frame rate issues. The game is full of presentation's before and after every play and sometimes when skipping them(if you don't skip them the play clock will run out on you)there is a bit lag. The games difference from PS2 and even 360 is apparent only if you really disect the game. There are more attributes and mini games and more crizzle to worry about in franchise mode. Seeing the graphics on this machine goes to show you...the best is yet to come...Just wait a year..the Madden 08 is going to be sick. Buy this game..if you rent it you will just be taking up a spot in your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game.

posted by mshanley87 (SPENCER, MA) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is nearly perfect. online is great, franchise is deep. computer AI is very smart. the only problem i had with the game is superstar mode, i didn't like the camera, or the fact that i had to participate in plays that my superstar was not involved it. i would recommend this game to anyone who liked any previous madden, anyone who, likes football, or anyone who just likes a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game thats 4 sure

posted by drlectur (POTTERVILLE, MI) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

jut got madden in da mail today played a game stomped the packer 42 -nota with the pats and i gotta say i was expecting worse this game is great good visuals cool gameplay simpler then 2006 all around this game is nice cant wait to see the online feature and the lead blocker exc.. exc... if you like prev maddens youll luv this one i only played 1 full game and im sold i will prob. buy it too the disc is pristine im getting F n rd 3 soon my reviews for that is coming soon stayed tuned folks this is the ps3 generation and another thign DOOOOONT trust the reviews on this site all the way ps3 haters giving all the ps3 games bad reviews with out even playing them do a lil more research before renting the reviews on this site are bogus for almost all the ps3 games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Resistance fall of MADDEN?

posted by GameDude99 (BURBANK, CA) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

This year I was very excited to get my hands on Madden NFL 07 for the Playstation 3. It has been the best sports game around since the start of the Playstation gaming era. But to my dismay, in this year’s version, it didn't seem to flow like the previous Madden's. To start off, where did John Madden and Al Michaels go? The game just doesn't feel the same when you’re missing your two favorite announcers you once had. Complete button switch? Why after having the same button scheme for the past 5 years, switch it to something completely foreign to Madden gamers. It's a difficult pickup and play, and doesn't make any sense. One Frame Per Second? Any player you run with looks like they have a stick up there you know what. Their slow and sluggish and don't seem to have any running technique whatsoever. Meaning every player basically runs and moves in the same ugly old fashion. If you want to play Madden on a HDTV, EA almost forces you to buy this year’s version because of the 720p resolution it carries. (1080p is the greatest resolution, so this game having a 720p resolution is a joke in itself). It's not all bad though, there are a few pluses like the live NFL, NBA and MLB scores you get or the live roster updates you occasionally receive through online mode. But other than that, there’s nothing special in this one, and I would DEFINETLY suggest waiting for next years version.

If you like this game review, and would like to read others like it, comment it and tell me what other game you would like reviewed. Thank you and I hope this review was helpful to you.

Peace,
GameDude99

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A step back

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game plays more like the Gameday titles of the late 90's than a Madden game. The animations are clunkly when transitioning from animation to animation. The cameras before the play looks good but during play it looks slightly better than the PS2 version with clunkier framerate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as it should have been

posted by scooterge (BALLWIN, MO) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Well with EA's exclusive NFL license they certainly have football fans as a captive audience. This incarnation of Madden needed it too, this game visually is not any more stunning than the '06 model, and the audio just plain stinks. You're made to belive that you're listening to ESPN radio of the game, Madden really doesn't make any appearances audio wise, unless you ask for his assistance in picking a play. This was a title I picked up when I got my PS3, and boy what a disappointment. Al Michaels, nowhere to be found, Madden, nowhere to be found. In order to get a challenging game you have to use the All-Pro method or Madden difficulty settings, otherwise get ready to blow through the computer AI.
If this is the caliber of the NFL games we have to look forward to from EA, this will probably be my last Madden purchase. This was a total disapointment. Looking forward to trading this game in for some other PS3 game that has some quality behind it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madden o7 PS3

posted by atlbwoy (DECATUR, GA) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 24 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is the worst madden I've ever played. Its best if you play your ps2 version on your ps3 you will enjoy it better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely Horrible

posted by zendba (WILMINGTON, DE) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008


I wouldn't play this game if you paid me. As a die hard football lover, I'm completely amazed at how bad this game actually is.

This game doesn't even have franchise fantasy draft. Thanks NFL for signing the exclusive gaming rights to EA Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

worst of the Maddens

posted by garyda1 (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I'm so disappointed in EA Sports to have exclusive rights to this title and produced a bunch of mess. The game always freezes up in the franchise mode after your 4th year in, and freezes up in the training before the games alot of times. I have had to start my franchise over twice running 2 teams... do the math. I have been faithful at buying everyone of the EA Madden football games since 97 or 98. I'm so mad at the fact that they wait til they have a platform like playstation 3 before they go down hill with the game in title. I really don't even want to give them another chance at taking my money for such a incomplete game. I even called the help line to see what was going on and all they could say is, " oh, download the online roster and it shouldn't happen again. What if I didn't have online services? What about heads up about the situation instead of letting people find out on their own? Mind you, this was after my PS3 just lost power while playing it only for 1 1/2 hours, with my game stuck in it. It took over 1 1/2 months to ship and receive another. Boy was I mad, that has never happened to me and I've had every playstation they ever came out with. They may have lost a loyal customer... some days I wish I could get my money back and be done with gaming all together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Madden 07 is a good Football experience.

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Presentation: 3/10

I won the Superbowl but their were no celebrations? Weak!

Graphics: 6/10

Field and the player models look great. Feels like you are watching a real game.

Sound: 2/10

Commentary is horrible, soundtrack is weak.

Gameplay: 8/10

Lots of modes and a lot of things to do. Realistic football experience.

Overall, Madden NFL 07 is a good football game that should not be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its kool

posted by freezebite (DETROIT, MI) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

Its and ok madden game but could of been better way better the tackles are weak, the create a player mode even weaker and the cut scenes between plays are just aggravating i can take a cut scene every now and then but theirs can make a 30 minute game take an hour..if u wanna play online buy if not rent and send back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good

posted by yourmama (TRACY, CA) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

i liked this game. it had a lot of problems but it was good overall. the online lags like heck, so dont get it for the online. i didnt like the superstar mode, but the franchise was good. dont buy it unless you like madden. its worth a rent though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good

posted by madgamer95 (MEMPHIS, TN) Jun 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

this game was awesome the graphics were the bomb and the superstar was great but the fanshise was terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DO WORK SON!!!

posted by dwill32 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This is a great game. The graphics are amazing and it does a good job of taking advantage of the sixaxis motion control. The traditional franchase is still there and the recently added SuperStar mode, but the best part of the game is the online play. It runs smooth and has quick loading times. This is a great feature because with sony it's free and every one knows it's all about competion!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Maden Review

posted by Priex1 (ANDERSON, SC) Apr 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

They made the game too complicated...to many options to choose a play by the time u get one u ran out of time...

All the new option are pretty fun specially the superstar...over all its fun for a bit but it gets old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Madden 07

posted by ps3isbest (SEVERNA PARK, MD) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

As an avid fan of both Madden games and the NFL, I was certainly excited to get my hands on the first edition of the Madden for the Playstation 3. Shortly thereafter, I was left severely disappointed. Most of the disappointments can be diserned within about 5 minutes of playing the game. First of all, the graphics (despite what some user reviews say) are not good at all. Maybe compared to other games they are respectable, but I played Madden 2005 for Playstation 2 to compare, and I can say with absolute honesty that there is almost no difference graphically between the two games. It seems that EA simply did not care about Madden for the PS 3 the way they do/did about Madden for the PS2/X box. Madden and Michaels are not even featured as game commentators as they have been on every other Madden released in the last 4 years. WHile I admit i can't stand madden, i must say that he is an upgrade over the awful EA radio announcer that the game pathetically tries to replace him with. Another disturbing shortcoming is the fact that you can't even change the quarter length. Thats right, you're forced to play long boring 5 minute quarter games, while listening to awful commentary (or if you do what i did, be forced to just turn the volum off), while looking at extremely disappointing graphics. I gave EA the benefit of the doubt by giving this game a 6, because i realize that it is still one of the top 5-10 games out right now for the ps 3, but if you are an avid fan of the series like me, prepare to be thoroughly disappointed in the playstation 3 Madden debut. I would take madden 2005 for the PS 2 over Madden 07 for the PS 3 any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is this PS3 or XBOX?

posted by Hoboken74 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Apr 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

I rented Madden 2007 for the PS3 with great expectations. However, I was quickly brought back to reality when I began playing a game and almost all the controls were different. The playcalling is completely different for the playstation 3 than any playstation madden (XBOX owners would be proud). The graphics are definitely top notch and I loved the intros, replays, and in-game graphics. However, I was very disappointed that the PS3 Madden has reverted to the XBOX style of playcalling and all the controls have been changed from previous maddens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Shame on EA

posted by BrianF (NOBLESVILLE, IN) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I've grown tired of EA's complacency with it's sports titles. It used to be that I would play the EA version of every major sport...MLB, NHL, NFL, and NBA. Now, I can barely stomach any of them. Ever since EA acquired exclusive rights to the NFL franchise, the quality of their Madden games has dipped considerably. This iteration is far from an exception to what is becoming the rule. The controls felt VERY sloppy and unresponsive. I had a hard time simply making tackles during the "Tackling Drill". I wasn't impressed with the graphics either. I usually LOVE football games, but I only had this at home for a couple of days before sending it back to Gamefly. I'll wait for Football 2K8 to come out. I don't even care that it won't have real players and teams anymore. I'm absolutely disgusted with EA Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

my review 4 madden07

posted by mike23 (COATESVILLE, PA) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

from what i remember from the last time i played the game ithuoght the grafics r great and any1 who likes football games will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best football game

posted by Piempster (CORONA, CA) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

another amazing success from the best ongoing football series ... graphics are amazing with hdtv ... and gameplay is jus a tad smoother then madden 06 ... some new additions have really made the game richer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse