Rent Madden NFL 07 for PS3
view large frontback

Madden NFL 07

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

813 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely Horrible

posted by zendba (WILMINGTON, DE) Feb 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008


I wouldn't play this game if you paid me. As a die hard football lover, I'm completely amazed at how bad this game actually is.

This game doesn't even have franchise fantasy draft. Thanks NFL for signing the exclusive gaming rights to EA Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible, cant wait for the 2K football game...

posted by prod4288 (FREMONT, CA) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

this game is horrible, very unrealistic.. the graphics try way to hard to look real, the kickers look like linebackers its ridicules... its too bad 2k games cant make nfl games anymore cause the 2k football games where the best...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madden o7 PS3

posted by atlbwoy (DECATUR, GA) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

6 out of 24 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is the worst madden I've ever played. Its best if you play your ps2 version on your ps3 you will enjoy it better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Resistance fall of MADDEN?

posted by GameDude99 (BURBANK, CA) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

This year I was very excited to get my hands on Madden NFL 07 for the Playstation 3. It has been the best sports game around since the start of the Playstation gaming era. But to my dismay, in this year’s version, it didn't seem to flow like the previous Madden's. To start off, where did John Madden and Al Michaels go? The game just doesn't feel the same when you’re missing your two favorite announcers you once had. Complete button switch? Why after having the same button scheme for the past 5 years, switch it to something completely foreign to Madden gamers. It's a difficult pickup and play, and doesn't make any sense. One Frame Per Second? Any player you run with looks like they have a stick up there you know what. Their slow and sluggish and don't seem to have any running technique whatsoever. Meaning every player basically runs and moves in the same ugly old fashion. If you want to play Madden on a HDTV, EA almost forces you to buy this year’s version because of the 720p resolution it carries. (1080p is the greatest resolution, so this game having a 720p resolution is a joke in itself). It's not all bad though, there are a few pluses like the live NFL, NBA and MLB scores you get or the live roster updates you occasionally receive through online mode. But other than that, there’s nothing special in this one, and I would DEFINETLY suggest waiting for next years version.

If you like this game review, and would like to read others like it, comment it and tell me what other game you would like reviewed. Thank you and I hope this review was helpful to you.

Peace,
GameDude99

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

so-so

posted by Nickaliss (HAMLIN, NY) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

I thought it was an okay game, the graphics are stunning and beautiful, as I expected. The gameplay was choppy and weak, the camera angles were terrible. The interface for the game menu I found to be pretty annoying to get around to what I wanted to find. While I usually adore Madden games, this one I didn't at all, I'm glad I didn't buy and decided to rent. I played this for two days and was already sick of it.

RENT, DON'T BUY. That's my suggestion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

worst of the Maddens

posted by garyda1 (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

I'm so disappointed in EA Sports to have exclusive rights to this title and produced a bunch of mess. The game always freezes up in the franchise mode after your 4th year in, and freezes up in the training before the games alot of times. I have had to start my franchise over twice running 2 teams... do the math. I have been faithful at buying everyone of the EA Madden football games since 97 or 98. I'm so mad at the fact that they wait til they have a platform like playstation 3 before they go down hill with the game in title. I really don't even want to give them another chance at taking my money for such a incomplete game. I even called the help line to see what was going on and all they could say is, " oh, download the online roster and it shouldn't happen again. What if I didn't have online services? What about heads up about the situation instead of letting people find out on their own? Mind you, this was after my PS3 just lost power while playing it only for 1 1/2 hours, with my game stuck in it. It took over 1 1/2 months to ship and receive another. Boy was I mad, that has never happened to me and I've had every playstation they ever came out with. They may have lost a loyal customer... some days I wish I could get my money back and be done with gaming all together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WORST MADDEN EVER!!!!!!!!!

posted by lizogan (POST FALLS, ID) Feb 13, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

What the heck is wrong with sony on this one!!!!
Boy they really made a mistake rushing this one as a launch title. Iam baffled that this game turned out so bad! I mean come on! Here is how i will rate this game in terms everyone can understand.

(game play 5) the game play is very confusing and hard to get use to. It is very choppy and dull.

(controls 4) they managed to cut out half of the controls that madden 07 had on ps2. Terrible and not recremended to do this way again.

(graphics 8) they graphics are slightly better than ps2 but nothing to get hung up on

(overall 4) they also managed to cut out half the fun game modes that the ps2 had. they still have franchise mode but without owner mode and the menu is very hard to get the hang of.

In conclusion i suggest dont wast your time with this one and wait for madden 08 to see if it gets better than this hopefully it will

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Superstar Mode

posted by Sylvia1123 (NORTH ARLINGTON, NJ) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

One of the reasons I bought the PS3 was to play Madden. At first I liked it but as time went on, it wasn't fun at all. They really need to think about the Superstar Mode. It gets very boring since one quarter is set to 5 minutes and you can't change it. I was disappointed and that is why I sent the game back to GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

VERY POORLY PUT TOGETHER

posted by DCM2020 (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 19, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

I REALLY HOPE THAT EA WAS JUST TRYING TO PUT A MADDEN GAME ON THE SYSTEM FOR NOW. BECAUSE THAT GAME IS THE WORST MADDEN I'VE EVER PLAYED. THE GAME PLAY IS HORRIBLE, WHY THEY FELT THE NEED TO CHANGE ALL THE BUTTONS I DON'T KNOW. BUT WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED.I BELIEVE THEY REALLY JUST THREW THIS GAME OUT THERE TO HAVE IT.I COULD GO ON AND ON ABOUT HOW BAD THIS GAME IS!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A step back

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Dec 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game plays more like the Gameday titles of the late 90's than a Madden game. The animations are clunkly when transitioning from animation to animation. The cameras before the play looks good but during play it looks slightly better than the PS2 version with clunkier framerate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as it should have been

posted by scooterge (BALLWIN, MO) Dec 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Well with EA's exclusive NFL license they certainly have football fans as a captive audience. This incarnation of Madden needed it too, this game visually is not any more stunning than the '06 model, and the audio just plain stinks. You're made to belive that you're listening to ESPN radio of the game, Madden really doesn't make any appearances audio wise, unless you ask for his assistance in picking a play. This was a title I picked up when I got my PS3, and boy what a disappointment. Al Michaels, nowhere to be found, Madden, nowhere to be found. In order to get a challenging game you have to use the All-Pro method or Madden difficulty settings, otherwise get ready to blow through the computer AI.
If this is the caliber of the NFL games we have to look forward to from EA, this will probably be my last Madden purchase. This was a total disapointment. Looking forward to trading this game in for some other PS3 game that has some quality behind it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its kool

posted by freezebite (DETROIT, MI) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

Its and ok madden game but could of been better way better the tackles are weak, the create a player mode even weaker and the cut scenes between plays are just aggravating i can take a cut scene every now and then but theirs can make a 30 minute game take an hour..if u wanna play online buy if not rent and send back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Maden Review

posted by Priex1 (ANDERSON, SC) Apr 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

They made the game too complicated...to many options to choose a play by the time u get one u ran out of time...

All the new option are pretty fun specially the superstar...over all its fun for a bit but it gets old.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is this PS3 or XBOX?

posted by Hoboken74 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Apr 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

I rented Madden 2007 for the PS3 with great expectations. However, I was quickly brought back to reality when I began playing a game and almost all the controls were different. The playcalling is completely different for the playstation 3 than any playstation madden (XBOX owners would be proud). The graphics are definitely top notch and I loved the intros, replays, and in-game graphics. However, I was very disappointed that the PS3 Madden has reverted to the XBOX style of playcalling and all the controls have been changed from previous maddens.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Shame on EA

posted by BrianF (NOBLESVILLE, IN) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I've grown tired of EA's complacency with it's sports titles. It used to be that I would play the EA version of every major sport...MLB, NHL, NFL, and NBA. Now, I can barely stomach any of them. Ever since EA acquired exclusive rights to the NFL franchise, the quality of their Madden games has dipped considerably. This iteration is far from an exception to what is becoming the rule. The controls felt VERY sloppy and unresponsive. I had a hard time simply making tackles during the "Tackling Drill". I wasn't impressed with the graphics either. I usually LOVE football games, but I only had this at home for a couple of days before sending it back to Gamefly. I'll wait for Football 2K8 to come out. I don't even care that it won't have real players and teams anymore. I'm absolutely disgusted with EA Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

same name, same game

posted by ps3guy (KATY, TX) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

this game is the same as the xbox 360 version. It plays identical. The features are the same. I was hoping for a cool game with a bunch of motion controls, but all i got was a game that gets boring after a few minutes. Advise: don't waste your money on a clone of the already boring xbox 360 version!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Worse Maddden ever

posted by Skiingrule (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

I bought this on the PS2 when it came out, when I gat my ps3 it came with this game. I play the PS2 game in my ps3. I lovesd the ps2 version, but the ps3 doesn't evn have as many extras. The graphics are a little better but the gameplay is awful. It's not smooth, it freezes and unfreezes while you're passing or running. plus the weight training section is almost impossible. My advice is play your PS2 vwersion on your PS3.
Come on Ea.
Plus, how can it be so much less than the PS2 version????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This version was hurried out, wait to buy in 2008

posted by MoniQAZ (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 20, 2007

Member since May 2003

The plus sides, graphics excellent, but the same as the Xbox360.

Minuses:
Slow game play, xbox360 is faster and smoother
Weird tackling, they did something to make the tackles look weird when players hit the ground. The xbox360 is much smoother in this area.

Summary:
I would not buy the P3 version, if you have a xbox360 buy that version instead. It appears they rushed to port it over and it's shortcomings come out in the game play area.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

360 port

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

It seems like this game is just a port of the 360 version which was rushed into production and is therefore not fine tuned at all. I hope next year is better or ea lets sega make another football game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dear NFL Licensing, End exclusive deal w/EA ASAP

posted by TusknRaydr (WILSONVILLE, OR) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

This is my second purchase of a Madden incarnation since NFLs exclusive licensing agreement with EA. Sega's 2k franchise had far exceeded the Madden franchise in innovation, gameplay, and graphics. With the help of HD technology at least Madden has finally surpassed the graphics of NFL 2k5. The gameplay of Madden 07 is a substantial improvement over the 06 version.

Where Madden 07 fails miserably is in the online experience. Getting an online opponent to play against should be regulated by the gaming commission as it is largely determined by chance in which the odds are greatly stacked against you. The joke that is the online menu is clearly the fault of EA whereas the management of the game servers must fall on the vastly inferior PSNetwork. The PSNetwork is free, but I think it may be worth $50/year to subscribe to an Xbox Live calibur service.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game lvl

posted by Ericent (LEWISBURG, WV) Jan 30, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

For one of the first ps3 games the graphics were pretty good. AI was nice also. However there is a great gap in the game lvls..... at least when i or my friend played it. On pro lvl i would beat opponents 100-10, but when i put it on all-pro I lost every game I played like 35-7 or worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Madden 07

posted by ps3isbest (SEVERNA PARK, MD) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

As an avid fan of both Madden games and the NFL, I was certainly excited to get my hands on the first edition of the Madden for the Playstation 3. Shortly thereafter, I was left severely disappointed. Most of the disappointments can be diserned within about 5 minutes of playing the game. First of all, the graphics (despite what some user reviews say) are not good at all. Maybe compared to other games they are respectable, but I played Madden 2005 for Playstation 2 to compare, and I can say with absolute honesty that there is almost no difference graphically between the two games. It seems that EA simply did not care about Madden for the PS 3 the way they do/did about Madden for the PS2/X box. Madden and Michaels are not even featured as game commentators as they have been on every other Madden released in the last 4 years. WHile I admit i can't stand madden, i must say that he is an upgrade over the awful EA radio announcer that the game pathetically tries to replace him with. Another disturbing shortcoming is the fact that you can't even change the quarter length. Thats right, you're forced to play long boring 5 minute quarter games, while listening to awful commentary (or if you do what i did, be forced to just turn the volum off), while looking at extremely disappointing graphics. I gave EA the benefit of the doubt by giving this game a 6, because i realize that it is still one of the top 5-10 games out right now for the ps 3, but if you are an avid fan of the series like me, prepare to be thoroughly disappointed in the playstation 3 Madden debut. I would take madden 2005 for the PS 2 over Madden 07 for the PS 3 any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

WHY?!

posted by KRAZYK (EULESS, TX) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

i am a long LONG time madden fan, (im talking waiting outside of gamestop until the midnight the game comes out each year for the past 5 years)but this year has kinda worried me. i have the PS2 version and love it but.. the PS3 version.. kinda sucks. they changed way too much and changed the whole feel of the game. i gave it a 6 because i find myself playing the PS2 version more then the next gen PS3 version.. it is more like a 4 or a 5 but i'll give it a 6 just because its the beloved Madden franchise, but i pray to god they change back to the old controls and game play for 08.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Graphics are Pretty,, but...

posted by Kdiggy (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is a Carbon Copy of the Xbox360.. With some minor additions on the sixaxis. The Graphics are very nice,, but just like the 360 version the gameplay lacks. The players just don't move smoothly like they do in the PS2 version.. And when it comes to madden,, Gameplay is king..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Madden 07 is a good Football experience.

posted by Bratallica (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

Presentation: 3/10

I won the Superbowl but their were no celebrations? Weak!

Graphics: 6/10

Field and the player models look great. Feels like you are watching a real game.

Sound: 2/10

Commentary is horrible, soundtrack is weak.

Gameplay: 8/10

Lots of modes and a lot of things to do. Realistic football experience.

Overall, Madden NFL 07 is a good football game that should not be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse