Rent Madden NFL 07 for Xbox
view large frontback

Madden NFL 07

Not Rentable
Also on:PSP Games, GC, Wii, GBA, Xbox 360, DS, PS3, PS2
GF Rating
8.4

602 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Madden 07

posted by MHKL13 (SIOUX CITY, IA) Dec 31, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game's awesome. Dynasty isn't fun if you do it with one team because the people on your team will get all the awards. The AI doesn't play that good of a defense. Online play is fun but frustrating. Some people just lob it deep and get lucky all the time. They get lucky INT's and fumble recoveries. It makes you want to throw your controller at the screen. The game is good though. The Highlight Stick is overused in online play. The game's fun to play on both sides of the ball however. I recommend anyone to buy the game. If you don't like football, this game'll change your mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ausome!!

posted by Sweet13 (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Aug 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This game is ausome!! The new in depth NFL Super Star mode is completely revalutinized! You get to do every thing almost from bench presses to choosing your Celebrations! The new game play includes the new Highlight Stick and it is very hard when you first get the game but you will get used to it eventually. The Panthers are PIMP along with Larry Johnson in this game. The Steelers are even better than last year also. The only thing they really changed in graphical talk is the overall appearance and bumps in there jerseys, but it is still better than last year. You get more options in the franchise mode. The kicking mode is different and fun.

This is a VERY GOOD game but it is not much of a rental it is a buyer game like always.
Get this Game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the greatest game VERY REPETITIVE

posted by Bengals123 (WARE, MA) Aug 27, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well, when I first got this game I thought it was going to be amazing because I saw the commercial when they were playing on the XBOX 360 with Daunte Culpepper and Chad Johnson and the graphics looked amazing and the features looked great. When I recieved this game the game has the EXACT same graphics as Madden 06 and the only new thing besides the players (Reggie Bush, Vince Young etc.) There are only some new juke moves and also the new ROLES each player can recieve example if a Quarterback is drafte in the first round he will recieve a boost ratings of 2% But, but if he fails to perform he will loose those stats and become a distraction and the teams morale will go down there are about 20 roles that the players can get it gets quite boring and dumb after awhile because if ur players get to be a distraction ur star players the QB and HB will drop an overall of about 2 or 3 stats so you will have to trade them away etc. So this game gets repetitive and the "new" superstar feature is exactly the same you have a new apartment and you can run some combines which will increase your stats a bit before the draft so play this game on the 360 and do not buy it unless you never get sick of football games. I like em' but i would buy it but put it in every day or two for maybe a game or two at a time. So buy or rent its ok but not great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could've been better..

posted by Hurricane1 (HEMET, CA) Aug 23, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I found this year's Madden a little disappointing...I guess it's because the next generation consoles have all the extras, like the signature running. I thought this Madden for the Xbox could've had the signature running, but your left with the same type of running as previous years..but other than the running, it's decent. While some of the new features can be kind of fun, it gets old rather quick. Hopefully EA will bring the same type of gameplay for the Xbox as the Xbox 360 next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Madden Does It Again!

posted by Whitesox11 (CAROL STREAM, IL) Aug 22, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Madden 2007 is a great football game if you exclude previous knowledge of other Madden's. It has everything gameplay wise, but some of it's other features were left out of the Xbox's version. I.E, Editing a players ratings, Owners mode to name the main two.

The new running stick and lead blocking features are sweet, but the lack of a passing cone makes it a lot easier to pass then to run. You have the option to turn it on( and get bonuses for it), but it is not mandatory.

The various glitches have been fixed, ranging from FG blocking to fumbiling on punt returns. Weather DOES affect fumbles now so be careful running the ball in the snow of Denver or New England.

Madden's gameplay is unmatched by any other game out there, but it lacks that powerful punch it once had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

WHY...Why does Madden even try anymore??

posted by TigerNate (JONESBORO, AR) Aug 28, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

As you can see from my title.. I was very dissapointed in this version of Madden. The running game was WAY to easy. What is up with the defense anyway. Nobody gets 700 yards of offense in a game. I had to put the game on the hardest difficulty just to have a good challenge. The NFL superstar mode is horrible and way too time consuming and the controls in the game sometimes can be really unresponsive.

I know it sounds like I am a Madden hater but i have been playing for years. I just dont like having my hopes and dreams in virtual football dashed by an inferior product.

To me it just feels like ever since EA got the exclusive license to the NFL they dont have the passion or the desire to make a superior product.

EA.....please stop sitting on you laurels and actually try like you do have a little competion because...you mailed this years game IN!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Couldn't play on XBox 360

posted by Cashac (KENNEWICK, WA) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Even though I updated my console, I still couldn't play this game. It kept telling me there may be an update, but there wasn't one.
Don't know if it was just this game or my console or what.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Are you ready for some football!? Anybody...

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Sep 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Let me preface this with the disclaimer that I know little to nothing about football. That's right, I'm the guy, the guy who knows nothing about football. That was one of the reasons I wanted to play a football title like Madden 07 to see if I could brush up on my mad ballin' skillz. So my review is very much about the accessibility of Madden, which is a mixed bag. On the one hand, I know more about football now from playing the game than I did before. However, I still don't really understand half of what I did in the game. But I have to judge Madden on it's merits and it has many. First, there's just an overwhelming amount of content. If you've ever seen a football game, you know how long each one runs. Imagine playing every game in a season all the way to the Super Bowl. Now imagine playing that season in franchise mode, trading and training your players, setting ticket prices and upgrading your stadium along the way. Now imagine using the new feature to build your own hall of famer, taking your guy from the draft all the way to the top in every game along the way. It's a lot of stuff and you could easily spend your natural life playing this, even if you didn't jump online to play with everyone else who's spending their natural lives playing the same game. And, hey, if you don't want to play every practice, training exercise and game, you can simulate it, although that leaves your success up to the game and you tend to lose as much as you win in regular games. In the franchise mode you can utilize something called "Total Simulation Control" where you call every play and the game does the math, but if your like me, you'll start making random plays hoping something works and if you don't know what your doing, you'll still win only half the time. This is a great game for fans and people who know the tactics of the sport well. However, it's not for the inexperienced.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NFL 07

posted by Biglu666 (LANCASTER, CA) Mar 26, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

The game is really good if you know how to play it people who Love this series will fall in love with the game it has help for beginners like me it can play for 4 people fun to play with also you can go online and to have fun also it has a create a player mode only bad thing is the toughness for people who don't know how to play it its a great game for people who know how to use it but if this is knew just don't play it at all its too confusing that's why i give it a 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

what i like and what i dont like

posted by bobby32 (ST LOUIS, MO) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

i like the hall of fame super star, but i dont like is the franchise it was a bummer this year i hope it gets better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Madden 07

posted by cbears3485 (BROWNS SUMMIT, NC) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

This is an excellent game. It really gives great insite into the exciting world of Football, It is pretty easy to play from the novice to the extreme gamer. Plus it helps everyone to understand the complexities of the spectacular game of Footbal!! Awesome Game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is tight

posted by aaron1 (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

yo this shet is tight all yall that havent played it better play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

its ok

posted by 57766hh (OMAHA, NE) Nov 3, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

you no the new ones are sometimes arent the best ones i tend to like old ones better there more realtistic the new ones have to many flaws like running through poeple and more anhuman like abilities but its just my point of view but the old ones are better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The nest madden yet!

posted by Rhombus (AKRON, OH) Oct 23, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

Its pretty much unbelieveable how much they keep packing in to the madden games. The fact that you can combine your Madden 07 and NCAA 07 to create a character and work him through his entire career is amazing. Graphics are great, gameplay as well, if you have played any madden (or havent) play this, its a good place to start or continue your madden experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

iight

posted by Jerome (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Oct 20, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

this game is alright could be better it u play the last 2 maddens then u played this one same thing but new roster and a couple add ons like the NFL Network with they tell u how the nfl run plays or some then like that the camera is stuck on one person in superstar mode, and before the draft in the franchise you can play the college allstar game to see how people play that's about it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Maddens Best

posted by Smirky (MONROEVILLE, NJ) Oct 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

I have to say this is the best Madden they have made. Yea, the graphics are about the same but with the new stuff they put in it; makes up for it. They added roles to the players, to make the game better. (Donte Stallworth has Deepthreat role) this makes it better to play the game. You have players who fumble the ball alot, and make them Fumble prone.
The hall of fame game play is Sweet as well. You make your player and you only control that player on the field. No more picking plays either. Computer does it all.
If you are a Madden Fan, Then this is a Game you need to Rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you have '06, It's not worth it

posted by Rafguevara (LONGMONT, CO) Oct 4, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

I played the 360 version and I was expecting something similar to that just with played down graphics, but what I got was basically '06 with new kicking. But it is still Madden with makes it the best football game around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

2006 Minus?

posted by ShadowHawk (ARLINGTON, VA) Oct 2, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

The rating is due to the fact this is supposed to be an upgrade from 2006. Yet, it isn't.

The graphics seem to be more stable, but the NFL Superstar mode is gone and is replaced by the Hall of Fame. Ok, I can get this. The default play mode for this is pretty cool. The bigger the plays you make the more points you can spend in your role. I like that.

What I don't like is the inability to control the plays. I cannot choose the plays and when I hand the ball off or throw the ball, I no longer have control of the play. Very frustrating.

If they combined the two games together 2006 and 2007 this would be a solid upgrade to an already solid franchise, but as it stands, if you have Madden 2006 you don't need this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by blackjack6 (MIRA LOMA, CA) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

this game was the bomb when i played it.
it was so awesome when you can make a super star and try to make him a hallifamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by JKnotts (GRAFTON, WV) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

EA Sports have outdone themselves again with the new Madden 07. The new blocking techniques are very useful when trying to play a two-player mode or trying to face the computer during a short yardage gain. The highlight stick is better. The NFL Legend Mode is very realistic. If your character is a quarterback, then the only character you control is the quarterback. I can't wait to see what they do with next year's Madden. If you like Madden football, rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nothing great

posted by cdogger73 (GLENDALE, AZ) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

If you have Madden 05 and Madden 06 then you have Madden 07. The only difference is you have updated rosters in 07. The new features are too much. Playing with an offensive line player is a waste of time and fun for all about 5 minutes. This is still the best football game made, just not many changes in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

SAME OLD SAME OLD

posted by TreVyTreV (COLVILLE, WA) Sep 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

dont get me wrong.. i am a HUGE fan of the series, but this version on the regular xbox is just the same game with worse graphics and updated rosters (which is GREAT if ur a cardinals fan... GO cards!) but other than a couple litle diffs here and there... same game which is still REALLLY fun! BUT, if u have '06 and ur team didnt change drasticly dont bother.. UNLESS u have a 360!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same O'l Thing

posted by RussTbags (AVON, CO) Sep 11, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

So let me start by saying this is a very good game, the new running features add a lot to game play making the running more balanced w/the passing. I will say that I liked controlling my blocker w/the right stick (from 2004 I think) instead of becomming the blocker and having the computer take over as the running back. I found that the computer didn't break off from the designed play to break big gains often enough but it still works fairly well and is pretty fun to do.

Ok now the bad....

I hated that they didn't take a chance and change some things like they did in this years version of NCAA. I really love the 3rd person view on punts, field goals and kick-offs. I really think these were solid additions to the game play and I was disappointed when they didn't include them in Madden. I also think the presentation could use a huge revamping. I really liked the ESPN TV broadcast feel of NFL 2K series and I think Madden needs to do stuff like that. They did a little more w/replay's in NCAA but again doesn't show up in Madden.

Overall it's a good game I just think there "writing in" the versions for the "old" consoles. It's a shame EA doesn't realize not everyone is on the "next-gen" bandwagon. I personally am waiting till' PS3's are better priced.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game Rocks my Socks

posted by emmitts210 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 9, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

This game is freaking awesome. This is byfar the best madden yet I rented this game and I'm now buying it from gamefly. Try this game if you love sports games its fun and easy to learn. Online play is really good aswell.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

whain the name is Madden o7

posted by marcus1316 (SAINT FRANCISVILLE, LA) Sep 4, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

Madden 07 is probley is a game that all right the grafics are awesome but the game itself is another category. The new superstar is cool if you want o be an ledgen then play ir there are all the old team's like in any Madden Nfl Football game there are two new teams in there the NFL NFC ledgens and the NFL AFC ledgens who is on here find out for yourself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse