Rent Madden NFL 06 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Madden NFL 06

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GBA, PSP Games, DS, Xbox, GC
GF Rating
5.7

3577 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

For the Achievement Hunters

posted by tweakster (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

For the complete 1000G, the 30 seasons achievement will drain your afternoon. It's slow and daunting. The rest of the achievements can be gained through menus or one single game.

Set your CPU toggles down and PLAYER toggles up, place the game on 15 min quarters, difficulty on Starter, and have at it.

I wasn't able to sit through those seasons in one sitting so I'd say you can get all achievements in a solid weekend at best. To break up the monotony, rent another 06 achievement game like NBA or NHL so you can knock those horrible games out in one swoop.

What more can I say?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old, Same old

posted by NightRaven (BENTON, AR) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Oh look, a football game on the new next-gen console. Be prepared to be blown away... by the suckage.

First, we'll start with the gameplay. It's the same old thing. Not that there's anything wrong with that of course, there's not much that can be further done with the genre as far as control is concerned. Don't fix it if it ain't broken.

But that's the thing. It's not broken. This is just a revamp of Madden '05 with the new rosters. Unless you're going to do something amazing and spectacular, don't do anything at all. Would we buy Half-life every year if it were the same levels/gameplay, only the main character's name was Jerry this year instead of Gordon?

Then again, there are some things that *are* broken that have never been fixed. Why does my player have to turn a huge 5ft radius circle and run the wrong way just to turn around instead of just turning around?! Why do my blockers run *right* in front of the QB and trip him up when there are no defenders coming?

The Xbox live achievements are a joke. "Get a touchdown", "get a first down", "win an offline game", and they're all for like 100 points each. Seems like they were all a last minute decision when they found out they needed to have achievements online.

Oh, and there's online play and Franchise mode, same as usual.

All in all there is absolutely no need to play this game other than to see what it looks like on the 360. And did I mention that it really doesn't look much better on the 360 than on anything else? If you've never played a football game on a console, please rent this game. If you have, pick something else.

Oh, and the perfect offensive play? Hail mary. But don't waste time throwing the ball; all the defense pulls back, and your QB can run a good 15-20 yards before they realize what's happening. Sometimes the defenders will run *past* the QB to lock up with one of the linemen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Save your $

posted by Nicholas (CLEVELAND, OH) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Graphically, this game is AMAZING! However, I was very dissapointed in the fact that a ton of features were left out. For one reason or another EA was not finished with this game when Microsoft wanted it realeased, which for the record was on the 360 launch date. Gameplay is just, ok, nothing spectacular. Stick with the PS2 or Xbox version. Come August we will see a much needed change and a much better, complete game from EA in Madden NFL '07.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Solid, Not Spectacular

posted by schtumpy (NEW ALBANY, IN) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Having played Madden 06 to death on the Xbox I looked forward to playing some of the next gen version just to see what it was like.

It was good. The visuals on everything from the players to the menus were beautiful. The attention to detail on the stadiums was also top rate. The gameplay was smooth and easily translatable from the Xbox version.

I was having fun, then I realized, where's the "wow factor?"

Answer, there wasn't one.

Many of the features were left out. I won't rant, I understand the time crunch they were under to get this game out. But, it never felt rushed, just a little thin.

If you like the NFL, this is a fun game. It won't blow your socks off, but it won't disappoint either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Why Madden rocks on 360 - despite the nay sayers

posted by CreszZ (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok, first things first. I am 41 years old and have played Madden since it's inception on Sega Genesis. During that time the versions I had the most fun with were Madden 93'on Genesis and Madden on 3DO (yes I had a 3DO - Road Rash was great as was FIFA). I am the proverbial "early adopter" and have always owned all the platforms of each generation. This keeps me from making the usual fan boy "Sony/Sega/Nintendo, etc. rules" biased review.
What made Madden 93' and Madden 3DO so much fun was their playability when playing 1 on 1 against a human opponent. I played so many tournaments with friends and strangers alike that it became almost an addiction. After a few steps in the wrong direction Madden 97 on Playstation brought the series back, then in 99' great features and mini-games made for an improved single player/franchise game, but "loose" control hurt the 1 on 1 aspect of the game. This trend continued through 2005 when the control began to tighten back up on XBOX and PS2.
Like a lot of sports fans I discovered NFL2K on Dreamcast with it's online multiplayer and was immediately hooked - the 2k/ESPN series continued to improve and by it's 2K5 incarnation was clearly the better player on player game.
Flash to the present.... with an exclusive NFL license, EA had a lot to prove with "Madden 2006". Personally I think the Xbox/PS2 versions didn't really stack-up to ESPN in the multi-player aspect, but made great strides in the singleplayer game. On Xbox360 the multi-player both on and offline totally rocks! The players look and move more realistically, the control is tight, and you feel much more "in the game".
The downside is a bare bones(no mini-games)franchise and season mode, and no instant replay or challenges in the online multiplayer. Also QB's fumble way too much when they often clearly should have had the play called an incomplete pass. These quibbles aside, if 1 on 1 is what your all about - this is the best version yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another quick 1000 achievement points...

posted by sNakel337 (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

For those who want points and don't care about anything else, look no further. RENT Madden ASAP. In about 2 hours you can have your 1000 points.

To earn everything simply set up a Franchise series, and sim your way through it. Make sure you pick a good team(patriots). Practice in a few games so you'll know how to play and when you get up to the superbowl play and win that. Sometime during your practice and superblowl you'll probably achieve everything you need from the game.

(the easiest achievement is to click the right anolog stick in while in any menu)
My score: no motivation other than xbl pts to play this game, therfore I cannot rate it on those terms.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Madden 06 A Downgrade

posted by rebel1388 (LISBON, OH) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I have bought madden 06 and there are some nice features like the up close cams in the huddle, and the key player play calling. But it can't get past the flaws. For instance with the up-close cams it can make you get a delay of game. Also on the live portion of the game it lags very bad so it is hard to play because players just bounce everywhere. Making it almost impossible to tackle. My favorite part superstar mode is not there so that really hurts. One pet peeve is the instant replay is gone. Now when I am playing with my friends you cannot replay that awesome hit stick. Yet the graphics are good the refs are clear and the crowd doesn't look like cardboard anymore. The kicking controls are also weird. I still play it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what was ea thinking

posted by youngjeezy (JUPITER, FL) Jun 27, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i don't no where to begin this game sucks the game play is horrible there is nothing to do but play online and play with friends what happen to superstar mode create a player stuff like that i no they where pressed for time but at least show some effort that you tried to put a good game together this game was so bad i might not even try 2007's version i hate this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

At your own risk....

posted by Damascus (Schaumburg, IL) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I dont know what else to say. This game is absolutley horrible. Why did EA ever do this. Easy 1000 gamerscore but thats it. I cant really write anything educated about this game because after playing it I feel less inteligent. Not worth the buy not worth a rent (unless going for the gamerscore) in my eyes.

Wish there was still 2K

Stay away stay far far away

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What the heck was EA thinking?

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful


This stripped down joke of a football game is a disastrous disappointment. The visuals are marginally better than the X-Box version and not worth half the price. Please save your money, if you have the X-Box 1 version keep it and wait for a hopefully better effort from Augusts target release of Madden 2007. There is just not much to say about this other than shame on you EA Games for pushing out the worst iteration of the Madden Football franchise ever that can only be described as insulting to Madden fans and the gaming world in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sigh.. EA Sports... why...

posted by Shootist (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) May 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok... Now, I'm a sports game fanatic. I LOVE THEM. And I know I will probably catch flak for this, but the truth must be told. If 2k Sports were making a football game as well, it would be 20 million times better than Madden 06 for the 360. I can honestly say that Madden 06 for the original xbox is 100 times better than the 360 version. You can't even challenge a play? That's a good feature! But beside that. The AI is horrible. Yes the graphics are nice... sorta.. but there are WAY too many flaws in this game.

Honestly, you will still rent it, because it's the only NFL game you can get. EA Sports bought the rights to NFL games for the next few years. NFL 2k5 for xbox, was the greatest football game to date. The PRESENTATION was AMAZING. Sure, there were flaws, it wasn't perfect... but imaging a NFL 2k6 on 360. Would be great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I have three words to say: this game sucks

posted by REDCLOUD (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) May 9, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

WHAT?
HOW CAN ANYONE MAKE A GAME THIS BAD.
THEY DUMBED IT DOWN FROM THE XBOX VERSION SO FAR IT HAS BECOME RETARDED.
THEY TOOK A LOAD OF GAME MODES OUT OF IT. THEY TOOK OUT ALL THE STUFF THAT MAKES THE GAME GOOD.
I GAVE THE GAME BACK THE DAY I GOT IT.
DO NOT GET THIS GAME UNDER ANY SIRCUMSTANCES!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't Even Bother

posted by slappy9851 (OLYMPIA, WA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game looks great with it graphics but that is it. There are plenty of features missing that make this game so much worse than the previous years. One of te worst things is that you cannot challenge plays and believe me you will want to because you get hit while throwing a lot and it is always a fumble. Another feature that is missing is the owner mode. That is one of the best parts to the game. Superstar mode is also not there which is very disappointing. The last thing that i hate about this game is that the freaking camera is either way to close or too far away. So don't even bother with this game because EA took out all of the good features.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Achievements only

posted by SaintJames012 (AMES, IA) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

no really, achievements only

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This deserves to be burned.

posted by kaihg (ARCATA, CA) Aug 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Granted, it's an old game. But still. Even judging it just from when I first played it back in the day, it's awful. The Madden franchise starting declining around the time of this games release, and for good reason. It picked back up in 2009 but by then they had worked out the kinks of next gen titles, which was the largest problem with this game. The games release was pushed for the Xbox 360 and it shouldn't have been. Many glitches and just overall game play flaws. The game has some serious kinks but can be played for about 2 hours before wanting to bang your head on the wall, smash, drown, and burn this game. In a nutshell, this is the worst piece of garbage I've played since "Who Framed Roger Rabbit." Which literally made me throw my NES back into my basement and smash the game with a small hammer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

about madden 06

posted by clownlove (SEDALIA, MO) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

this game was really easy got all 1000 gamerscore in about 5 hours. six of the achievements i got in the frist game i played. it takes a long time to simuate 30 years of franchise but you get 400 gamerscore for doing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Achievements

posted by Deetz4205 (FRANKLIN, NC) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I just got this game for the quick and easy achievements done it easily in one game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by james34 (GLASGOW, KY) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

hated it. bought it and took it back on the same day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

madden 06

posted by realdeal44 (CLEVELAND, OH) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Bad game. Better off buying a newer version of madden. If your just looking for a cheap football game though....still avoid this game. Get All Pro Football 2K8 instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's Madden...

posted by CTs2Cents (LANSING, MI) Jun 22, 2010

Member since May 2008

If you like Madden NFL, and/or football in general, you should like this game. As far as I'm concerned, all Maddens are pretty good. They just get a little better as they years go back. As with most games, the previous years always have a lack of certain features or something that is hindering. Well worth renting though. I don't care much for sports, but I play most Maddens. Most of my football education was provided by playing Madden with my cousin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Madden NFL 06

posted by pacmankock (NEW LISBON, WI) Feb 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

easy achevments crapy game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Easy Achievements

posted by MauleR5150 (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Took about 5 hours to get 1000/1000gs. Play 2 games and simmed a full 30 years. That is it, your done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy Easy Achievements

posted by nickman26 (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

If you want an easy 1000, here's your game! Other then that, return it asap

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

bad

posted by TeccaNina (WHITAKERS, NC) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

graphics are actually really good...everything else is pretty bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Easy 1k

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Oct 26, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

That's about all I have to say about this game. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse