Rent Madden NFL 06 for PS2
view large frontback

Madden NFL 06

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.3

1862 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best!

posted by stickdude (JAMAICA PLAIN, MA) May 1, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love the new passing feature and the truck stick is the best. The full field view is excellent for finding a perfect WR.I had to go on april vacation with out it and with 2k3 instead it was relief when I got back I was so so happy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another year of Madden

posted by MrGibbons (ARLINGTON, TX) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Madden has stepped it up in it's first year as the sole benefactors of the NFL license with the new QB precision passing feature. Gone are the days of having your route set up to throw to Glenn on the right side of the field and then launching it without changing your target to the other side of the field to Keyshawn with superb accuracy. Now you must have your target inside your vision cone, size determined by the QB's stats, for an accurate pass.

The Superstar mode is a nice touch. You randomly generate the stats of two parent's to make up your character and while some like to put themselves into the game, that is hard for me to do with a black QB, being that I'm white. Unfortunately you cannot change the appearance of your character so if you are looking to put yourself in the game in superstar mode you will find yourself randomly generating until you find a character that matches your stat wants, ideal position wants, and look wants.

On top of creating a superstar you could also import your NCAA football 2006 Race for the Heisman player into your Madden 06 and have him drafted in the Superstar mode.

Presentation could use a little more than a pregame huddle, a coin toss and a victory celebration after games. I personally would like to see some in game interviews with the super star if you are playing Superstar mode to help develop his character, and maybe some more sideline cut scenes in game between plays than just the looking miserable near the end of a blow out defeat, and maybe some better commentary, but that is nitpicking on what I feel was a nice offering from EA Sports.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Madden at it's best

posted by BigPapi (JOHNSON CREEK, WI) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is without a doubt the best Madden game ever. With the new Precision Passing and QB Vision Madden is a must buy if you love football. You can create your team, stadium, playbook, and fan. If you love football and are looking for a quality football game this one is a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

needs major over hall not enough change from yty

posted by maddencrid (PROCTOR, AR) May 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

ok ea needs to stop wasting our time and money with grafic upgrades!!!!!! it's time to rebulid the player models and focus big time on presontation and realisum. if your going to buy all the gaming rights and put out all the comp.
you better start hearing fans veiws on what they want and stop making the nfl the most popular sport in the world!!!!!!! a joke!!!!!!! for us comming up on 2007 and all the next gen consoles breaking open to me ea is about 5 years behind everyone else . they could have done this the 2nd year of the ps2 release . it's time for ea to start spending no.1 selling football dollars. to me this game is embarassing. rental sure !!!! buy it??? not even a second look!!! it gets old after 3hours or so!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Could have been better?

posted by Spargus (APO, AE) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I think Madden 06 could of have been better. The pass precision is great but, it doesn't always work with the best QB like Peyton Manning or Tom Brady. The NFL superstar could have been better as well. THe tackles could of been vary. Good parts about the game is truck stick and the the defensive choices

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Sports Game!

posted by stinkbert9 (TUCSON, AZ) Oct 11, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Madden is one of the best things invented! If you are asking if I am kidding i'm not. Madden 06 is year of the passer . The truck stick is worthless , but if you are a passing fan I highly advise GETTING THIS GAME!! The superstar mode is marvelous! If you crave running GET THIS! If you love passing GET THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this game is bad but has some good sides

posted by wuzupman (VALENCIA, CA) Aug 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

i played this game it was not good it froze up it took forever to load in some parts but that's my opinion but o well the up side was the games and how you could upgrade the stadium and the fans support on the game. Also i liked the news on the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just another football game

posted by Blockos (NEWPORT COAST, CA) Jul 14, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

This game is fun, but when will it end. Whatever if you like sports games like me, you'll like this one. I guess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

madden 06 is unbelievable

posted by adioking (MERRIMACK, NH) May 7, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

madden 06 brings sports gameing to a whole new level that can not be defined the graphics are good and they look so real and they look like they do in real life so it is a 10.0 game rateing people should play this game because it is so good and so intense and so fun to play even if uyour not the biggest football/sports fan or even if you dont have a favorite team that you route on

im out :) <:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Nice

posted by gorillaman (CHICO, CA) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

Not bad, hard for beginners with QB vision on;you'll throw a lot of interceptions if you don't turn it off. NFL Superstar mode is the only exciting new thing, except for Cadillac Williams and Ronnie Brown .More of a 7.5 , could use more exciting modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sucky game for sucks

posted by tanner22 (FARGO, ND) Feb 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

all i have to say is whoever invented the QB precison thing should be shot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ESPN NFL games are better than MADDEN

posted by UVAisking (WAYNESBORO, VA) Jan 11, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This game is not as good as last years ESPN NFL 2K5, bc that game has better graphics and more difficulty. It also does not have as good presentation as ESPN NFL 2K5. But after saying that it does pull off some good thingst through Superstar mode and a good soundtrack, but besides that last years ESPN NFL game is at least 5 times better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hmmm

posted by Streetz (GRIMES, IA) Oct 23, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

ok, heres the lay out. I bought this game right when it came out noteven trying it out. after i paid for it i was like wow this is going to be a bad idea.i got home and started playing the game... It was a good idea! the graphics are great, the game play is good, the only reson i rated this a 8 is because 07 was way beter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

yeah

posted by NyDude85 (WESTTOWN, NY) Aug 17, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

i have got to say i own madden 2004 and after seeing and playing this i couldn't stop the superstar mode was awesome and im using ncaa 06 to superstar mode to get a good manager well this is the best madden title and i played em all except 02,and 03 well if you like football get this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

EA Sports has another great game

posted by nfl1922 (GIBSONIA, PA) Jun 30, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

Madden 06 has alot of features that caught me by suprise. My favorite one and the best they ever came up with is the nfl superstar. My favorite part about this one is that you can import players from NFL street 2 and NCAA 06 so you can make one player and play his whole life. The procession passing is really hard to get used to expecially if your quarterback is throwing on the run you may want the pass to go to the receiver's front side but with precision he may throw it over his head or something depending on which way you are running. Madden 06 is a great game so if you like the NFL you will like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a good game, horrible superstar mode

posted by theburner (FOLSOM, CA) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

the new QB vision is easy to get a hang on to, and the new truck stick for the offense is a great addition, but the superstar mode is boring. The simulating between days takes a while and the practices are very long and tedious. it's only for the people who like all of the day to day things of the NFL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not That Bad

posted by santom72 (GALLINA, NM) May 20, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

This was an ok football game but trying to get used to the new quarter back controls is a pain in the butt. I myself like ESPN football game better it doesn't have the same graphics but it's a lot easier to control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BOOM! I have bumble bees in my helmet!

posted by ecco3benwa (HORN LAKE, MS) Apr 28, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

First I would like to say that I have been a Madden fan for a long time out of all of his titles this years Madden really has a lot more features thrown into it than any other, such as the QB vision, and the ability to set man lock, double coverage, the hit stick(my favorite) and you can now use your Created Teams in the full franchise mode. With all of this said I would like to know what happened to the overall polish on the game. I noticed a lot more collision detection problems this year than the previous 2 years. The graphics for some reason seem a lot choppier as well...does this mean the game is bad...by all means NO! Its Phenomenal! I am basically saying its just not as pleasing to the eyes this year as was last years, but it more than makes up for it in editions. The QB vision (if your a stickler for realism like I am) is great because you really notice the difference between say a Donovan Mcnabb VS. a Michael Mcmahon in terms of what the QB can do on the field, it effects accuracy if your not looking at the receiver your throwing too, and really forces the gamer to step up their game. This feature is optional (you can turn it off.) The Hit stick is great causing your key player to make huge hits and possibly cause fumbles when the game is on the line, but use wisely a big whiff could lead to the opponent scoring. (especially in Madden mode) I also find that being able to manually assign the double coverage on the field can really help out on those 3rd and long situations where you know they are throwing to Moss. The music selection is full of great bands and rappers and has a nice mix to it, the controls as always are pretty much flawless, except your analog stick will take heavy abuse. Unfortunately as with all his titles the commentary while good, still can follow behind a little, make no sense at times, and get very repetitive, fortunately for you it is also optional. Though its the only football game this year its still the best. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »