Rent Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa for Wii
view large frontback

Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox 360, DS, PS3
GF Rating
6.3

457 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Not good for beginners

posted by apratt (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is too hard for little kids or beginners. You have to use the nunchuk on almost every game. It's hard for the little ones to figure it out (4 and 6). They haven't played very many video games and this was too difficult for them to have to use 2 controllers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

To difficult for kids!

posted by Jayallan20 (BRONX, NY) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In my opinion this game is way to difficult for the viewer age range of the movie. I got this game for my 5 year old daughter and she just ended up watching my wife play the whole game. Good for die hard fans, but thats it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by kldood (FREMONT, MI) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My kids are 10, 8 and 6 and they all love this game. All the mini arcade games were great. My younger kids had a little trouble with the story. They all love the mini-golf, hot durian, and musical chairs. The animation, voices, etc. were great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Patience Needed

posted by loukerri (EAST ROCHESTER, NY) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's make this short and sweet. Loading between screens seemed to take a while. Controls are possibly a little tricky for younger players, and game-play is a little too simple for older players. Most kids around 10 may enjoy this, although I'm more than two decades beyond that age, I usually fall for the same types of games but not this one played less than an hour and got bored.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay

posted by MsMommyMam (MEMPHIS, TN) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it's good but, it's boring after a while

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

HARDER THAN IT LOOKS...

posted by nunckuk34 (WEST CHESTER, PA) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really quite fun for kids. The controls seem hard at first, but become easier through the game. The game starts out with simple tasks, such as catching butterflies, but gains difficulty. Overall, it IS a really fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just OK

posted by JamesE (HILTON, NY) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Cute game. Not for younger kids like my grandkids. Good game for older kids (ages 7 and up). Not one I would spend the bucks for at the suggested retail price, but great to rent and check out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Don't visit this version of "Madagascar"

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa the video game is the perfect example of a product that's solely made to make a buck from a hit movie.
This film's Single Player mode loosely resembles the movie, except it's nothing more than an exercise in mini games or finding items. Each mini game has you preforming a simple task.
Nothing wrong with that on the surface. But there's no logic behind the design and implementation of the mini games. They seem so far out of place.
A good example is the "Rite of Passage" set of mini games where Alex has to prove he's a lion. Does he hunt deer or other prey? No. Does he battle other lions? No.
Instead, he plays Musical Chairs, Dodge Ball and Hot Potato. What these have to do with being a lion is something I don't understand.
And that's how it plays out for the entire Single Player mode. These games do not fit at all with the setting.
Multi Player gets some slack from me because it's just a bunch of games that people can play together.
But the Wii is oversaturated with too many mini game compilations. There's nothing here that makes Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa stand out (other than the movie). SKIP IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun for kids

posted by spiderfist (BOWIE, MD) May 25, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is definitely a fun game for kids, my son just loved following the story line. For Adults? Maybe not so much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Madagascar 2 Escape To Africa

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I liked this game. Quick loading speeds. Ages 7 and up. Based on the movie sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for Madagascar fans

posted by JellyBean30 (SHELBY, MI) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

I am a Madagascar fan and I love this game, it is way easer to control on the Wii than on the Game cube which makes it Even more fun... You get to play all of the animals and they actually talk to you which is awesome...I hate games that have no talking Idk why I just do lol... ANYWAY.. If you are a Madagascar fan I strongly suggest checking this game out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

get this game game game it,s great great great

posted by ladaesha (TEXARKANA, AR) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

the last game was great a game and i am getting the next one too and you should too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tough for a 5 yr old

posted by Keoki (LOS GATOS, CA) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Was hoping my 5 yr old would like it since she like's Madagascar movie. Game was too difficult for her to do so she ended up watching me do it ... and I struggled a little moving from level to level. Better for older kid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Madagascar II

posted by gamerzzz (Manassas, VA) Mar 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

We are always suprised how much harder the games are than they look. At first our youngin's were perplexed by the roller-ball activity of motion.
But once they cuaght on, they balled their way through. Professionals at Super Monkey Ball, made this game both familiar and immediate experts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »