Rent Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, PS3, DS
GF Rating
5.9

607 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Completionists Stay Away!

posted by Vlennert (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is very cute, simple game for the family. If you are renting this because you have a kiddo, then your kiddo will love it. It's quite cute, has very simple and child manageable controls, and is entertaining at a child's level. There are dozens and dozens of little "mini games" that move the story along. For example, the zebra has to kick soccer balls in the air to hit balloons. There are races, diving contests, mini bosses, and obstacle courses. There are also lots of collectables (1600 coins and 100 monkeys) which are often challenging to locate and capture. Kids will have a good time with this and it will keep them busy for some time - it reminds me a bit of Viva Pinata Party Animals but with a story.

However, if you are a completionist for acheivements like I am, then stay away. The controls are SO simple that it is very difficult to get points for the things they want you to do. For example, there is a "perfect dive" acheivement that took me over 5,000 dives to complete because it is virtually impossible with the simple control scheme. There's a hole in one achievement that is also very difficult - you have to get a hole in one in mini-golf without the ball touching the ground. Yeah. Difficulty. So unless you want to spend hours and hours doing the same task over and over or be faced with having 900 points in a kids game on your gamercard - you might want to stay away from this one. It's not an easy 1000.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for the kids.. and adults.

posted by Newsense (ELK GROVE VILLAGE, IL) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My 6 year old daughter got this game for christmas. I figured it to be another lame side scroller or something similar. I was presently surprised to find a game that was very well done.

My 6 year old had no trouble picking up the controls and running with it. The game consists of what seems a ton of fun mini games that play into the same story line of the movie. Graphics are smooth and crisp. i have no clue how this game would give you motion sickness!? If this game makes you sick, you srsly need to go back to an NES and mario brothers.

There is also an "Africa Arcade" section where you can play multiplayer (on the same console) mini putt, jungle chess, musical chairs and a few others I cant think of at the moment.

I found myselft playing it a lot when we first got it with my lil girl. She still forces me to play it to this date. I dont think I have even stuck with a single game that long. This is an all around great game for the whole family.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

MADAGASCAR: ESCAPE 2 AFRICA

posted by GAMR13 (WATERTOWN, SD) Jan 23, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

i WAS PLEASED WITH THE CONTROLS FOR A CHILDS GAME AND THE SIMPLICITY OF THE CAMERA THE GAMEPLAY WAS ADDICTINGLY FUN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for lil gamers

posted by jcjrichter06 (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Feb 21, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

My 7 yr old son didn't need any help with this game, like most of the other games we've had. Kept him entertained for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great for my 4 year old

posted by kccat (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

My 4 year old loves playing games. He is pretty good at them, but being a 4 year old, does have his limits. This is a great game for young kids. Easy to follow and not too hard to achieve goals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

madagascar

posted by porkachop (GREAT FALLS, MT) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

this game was one of the easiest games i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tough 1000

posted by cnkt1964 (BREINIGSVILLE, PA) Apr 30, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

All in all not a bad game if your looking to pick up some achievements but don't count on an easy 1000 here. Some of the achievements are pure luck and next to impossible. I spent about 4-5 hours on this and got 600 achievement points out of it. I could have gotten another 200 (maybe) but I didn't feel like putting the time into it.

It is a good kids game as my kids definitely enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pretty fun & funny game, lots of minigames

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Apr 29, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

This is a better than average kid's game. I mean some kid games are absolute junk and I feel bad people actually shell out $60 at times for those hot garbage games. This game however had lots of variety, cool games and mini quests, and has very good replay value. It has the ability to be 1-4 players for certain games and quests, kind of like Mario Party format.

The graphics are terrible, and look like the game came from N64 however, so if you can accept that, let's move on. You roam along a map kind of like the Donkey Kong series for S-NES, in that you see it from above and follow different paths. You have to beat some levels to unlock other paths, and so on. Watering Hole has water levels, the Mountain levels have rocky terrain, and so on. There's different landscapes which have coordinating mini-games.

There's a ton of mini games throughout the map. The entire 'game' is basically a bunch of mini games in a Dk-like campaign . The levels are pretty fun but usually very very short and linear. You can collect coins and monkey icons, and other random goodies.

The games were a ton of fun and you keep high scores, which adds to replay value. And some you have to absolutely perfect to get the achievement for, which was very frustrating.

A solid rent for a kid. I'm just too old to give this game a higher rating unfortunately. But kids games are kind of fun to play after a few bowls. This game is not the easiest of kids game to get that 1000G from, as there are 49 achievements. Some are very hard.

Milt Drucker- xbox gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madagascar: Escape to Africa

posted by BeastOGwar (HAINES, AK) Jan 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game is horrible. I rented it to play with my young son and I couldn't even stand it. The movements are more sickening then riding in a sessna in the middle of a hurricane. It even managed to make my four year old motion sick to the point he threw up..I wouldn't recommend it for anyone who is sensative to motion sickness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »