Rent MadWorld for Wii
view large frontback

MadWorld

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

5575 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mad world - love it!

posted by davekite (SLATINGTON, PA) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

I am a big fan of games that you can just sit down and get right into it. I don't want to have to make a character or plan a career ar any of that non-sense I just want to race or blow things up or in this case cut people in half!!! I wasn't sure I was on board with the whole black and white play but it turned out to be really cool, it is like playing a comic book! The levels are easy enough to get through and still have fun doing it. the combo moves are awsome...how many games let you ring the guy with a tire,stick a sign post through his head and then repeatedly throw him against a spiked wall!!!! It is for adults the language is harsh and the amount of blood (while super cool) is not meant for kids. The only bad thing I have to say is that when you are attacking a person your thumb tends to hit the + button and that brings you to the map page but that is no fault of the game and may just be the way I hold the controller. I was very happy to see a "grown up" game for the wii, we bought the system for my 3 young ones and while they never get tired of it, I was wishing for a non cartoony game and this is it. I loved it and don't want to give it back so I might just end up buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sin City meets GTA

posted by Derek6 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

33 out of 35 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Lets give credit where it's due. Nintendo has beat around the mature bush for far too long and finally decided it was time to step up their game. Granted there were a few before it, but none with as much useless violence as this one.

The best part about this game is it's visuals. As basic as they are the graphics give you that nice Sin City feel that really lets the grunge set in. Basically, it's a comic book with all the old Batman "Wham" and "Kapow!"

Pretty much all the controls revolve around A and some swinging of the remote. Most kills when you're on a bike or just running around with filler opponents take on shot. The beginning of the game is as most Wii games are these days, tutorials. Useful as always and by the end you get the picture on how easy the game play is.

This game is great for the Wii but there is only one problem. After a while the black and white will begin to mess with your head and the "Wham," "Pow," and whatever other cheesy hitting sound ever produced on the 70's Batman show will drive you as crazy as the world you're running around in. Of course it's all easily curable by just taking a quick break and coming back to it.

the good: the killing (finally Wii), and the graphics!
the bad: Kaplow! and seeing only black and white when you turn off the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Blood Bath with an Amazing Soundtrack!

posted by RageGhost (EL GRANADA, CA) Apr 27, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

MadWorld, possibly the most bloody and violent game for the Wii. The controls took a little bit to get use too (probably because I'm mainly a 360 player). Everything is in black, white, and red. Very fitting for the atmosphere this game presents. But what really blew me away was the soundtrack. It was simply amazing and it fit the violence so very well. I really hope they start making more adult oriented games for the Wii, such as this bloody masterpiece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Different... and oddly entertaining

posted by strykermp5 (KENNESAW, GA) Jan 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I agree with most reviewers thus far. This is definitely a different game for Wii and a lot of fun at that! Mindless carnage and killing to relieve even the most stressful day.

The only downside, is that it is repetitive and the black and white does mess with your eyes after a very short time. I completed the game relatively quickly and do not forsee another run through.

Eitherway, this is definitely a fun game to rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Wii game to date!

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Call me sick and twisted but I've been waiting for a game like this. You don't have objectives or have to rescue anyone (at least not at the time of this review) you just turn it on and chop away. I love the comedy and the cussing is even good in that it's how people actually would talk if they were putting on a show like this not just cussing for the sake of cussing. THANK YOU WII for finally giving me a ruthless aggression game where I don't have any annoyances to distract me from going on a killing spree. The only flaw is the color scheme but compared to the rest of the game, so what? I will definately be buying this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Little like God Hand

posted by machete132 (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Over-the-top violence and more blood than the elevator scene from "The Shining" make this an enjoyable, but flawed game. The game is designed to resemble a black and white graphic novel. There is plenty of red (blood) and yellow (signs) thrown in, as well (a little green late in the game for variety). The game is short, but the time limits and limited number of lives will probably mean most gamers will need about eight to ten hours to complete the game. The game gets somewhat repetitive, but overall is quite enjoyable.
Perfect for rental. This game strongly resembles God Hand. If you liked that game you will have a spanking good time at one point in this game, as well.
One negative is that there is no save between the last level and the final boss battle. I barely beat it on my second try. That is something I find to be a cheap devise to extend the play time. There are a few extras for a repeat play, but I found one time through to be sufficient, yet satisfying.
An enjoyable and good, albeit short, game! Definitely worth playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

You MUST Rent This Game!

posted by BigScary (REDMOND, WA) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is action-packed and very unique. Every action gamer should play it. Due to short play time though, it's definitely a renter.

+Very unique, excellent visuals.
+Very satisfying combat.
+Original, refreshing main character, and super cool bosses.
+Nice music.
-Only about 6 hours of play time.
-Too easy - bad guys barely try to hit you until the last levels.
-Black and white makes spotting bad guys, weapons and other power-ups difficult.
-Motion controls are a little over-sensitive, I was constantly using the wrong moves by accident, right up to the end.

New game elements aren't added as you go along, so the last levels feel pretty much the same as the early ones.

Trying for lots of points is an opportunity for creative carnage, but you have to spend time running around to grab the necessary equipment, which takes you away from the too-cool blood and gore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

NOT FOR KIDS...BUT VERY AWESOME!!!!!

posted by DanteHicks (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Finally, a Mature rated game for the Wii that is actually fun and worth your time. The violence has an incredibly comedic feel, so no worries about realism with this one. F-bombs being dropped every few seconds. The announcers are hilarious, and can be pretty specific about your actions. The black & white art style is really cool.

Most importantly, the control scheme is spot-on. Simple gestures and movements do the trick. The camera can be a bit of a pain, but nothing that ruins your playtime.

A game has been released on the Wii that pulls me away from my 360. About time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hack with Jack, then take it back

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Mar 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

MadWorld has been hyped and anticipated since it's announcement. The idea of bloody comic-book style action was definitely a selling point. Unfortunately, there's little else to this game.
First off, the game is visually stunning. Black and white high-contrast visuals meshed with crimson red make for an impressive style and art design. I'm also glad that a mature title has finally found it's home on the Wii.
The problem is really the content. Some have said this game is like GTA, but it's not. No open-world environment, no collecting, no side-quests, just creative carnage.
The format is more like Soul Calibur: Legends. You enter areas where your goal is to acquire a set amount of points, unlocking a boss battle. Beat the boss and the next area becomes available on the map.
You acquire these points by killing tons of enemies in the most violent ways imaginable. Burn them, impale them, grind them up into little bits or pull out your wrist-based chainsaw to cut them down to size. This can be very entertaining... for an hour. After that, you'll start to feel how repetitive this game is. After the 20th time you stick a caution sign through someone's head or throw someone against a spike wall, you'll start wondering if you want to do such activities 100 more times.
Each area has challenges where you can try killing lots of guys in special ways. Throw them in front of trains, toss them in a turbine, chuck them under a giant tenderizer, etc. You get more points, but even this gets tiresome.
Boss battles fare better. There are some cheap moves and difficult auto-targeting to contend with, but the change of pace helps punctuate each challenge.
There are some technical issues. For instance, Jack has trouble performing actions (such as punching or extending his weapon) while moving. Movement controls feel jerky and the camera has trouble keeping an opportune angle.
This is a nice distraction and a guilty pleasure. But it's also a one-trick pony and the trick gets old fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful and Bloody.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

MadWorld is a must play for Wii owners (over 17, of course), plain and simple. The game's artistic flair and over-the-top violence have garnered jeers from the "opposition" (PS3/Xbox-only owners) claiming that its critical praise is unjustified. I'm here to debunk those rumours. The gameplay is solid, the story is better than average, and the art style is amazing.

You play as, "Jack, just Jack" in a city taken over by terrorists and turned into the game show "Death Watch" where anything goes. The plot initially resembles the film "Running Man", but as the game progresses, turns into a web of betrayals and underhanded dealings. It really is comparatively good to what you might expect from a beat-em-up title. You begin the game in a tutorial level of sorts and work your way through different parts of the city, each with its unique set pieces/bosses and finishing moves.

The Wii gesture controls work fairly well here, though side-to-side movements and uppercuts sometimes are convoluted by the sensor bar. Granted, the bad guys go down regardless, so it isn't a big gripe. The finishers are brutal and bloody, some even being restricted to certain areas of the game in order to prevent total monotony (even though it is inevitable in a brawler title.)

The soundtrack to the game features several hip-hop artists lending tracks to create an overall fantastic backdrop to the black and white world. What I first thought would be ridiculous turned into one of my favorite parts of the game.

While MadWorld is by no means perfect, lacks a co-op mode, is terribly short (6 to 8 hours), and will inevitably become stale to some, it remains a unique experience that most Wii owners will be enthralled with. If you own Nintendo's white box, you are no doubt looking for something unique to make it worth while. MadWorld fits that bill perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Breath of Fresh Air Eventually Gets Stale

posted by SkinnyJr (DEERFIELD, IL) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

MadWorld brings some mature content over to the Wii. Surely this game lures in 'core' gamers but how long can this blood soaked chainsaw run? Gameplay wise, MadWorld plays a lot like 'no more heroes'. Most attacks are handled by pressing the 'A' button while bigger finishing moves require manipulation of the wiimote and nunchuk. The most noticeable feature is the 'sin city' style black and white graphics and bright red blood. The story is nothing special, its just an excuse for why the game is played so violently. The city is taken over and you are forced to fight in a 'game show', killing everyone by any means possible. The environment is meant to enforce the use of 'combo killing'. The more imaginative you are with a kill, the more points you get (i.e. trapping an enemy by stuffing them in a tire, shoving a sign through their head and then impaling them on a spiked wall). Mini-games such as 'man darts' are fun for a while, and this wouldn't be a wii title without them. As with most third person action titles, the camera is frustrating at times but doesn't hamper gameplay too much. This is one of the best, most polished wii games Ive had the pleasure of playing, unfortunately the gameplay can get old and repetitive. If any of you have children or younger siblings, as Im sure most wii owners do, do not play this in front of them. Im not suggesting this due to the violence, for it is fairly comedic and unrealistic, but the language is vulgar and unnecessary. I bought this game on day one, and I love it. This is the reason I dusted of my wii. If there were more mature games on the system, MadWorld would be nothing special other than the stylized black and white world. The fact that it is the only game of this kind earns it a 9/10
PROS
- Unique graphic design
-Over the top comedic violence
-Solid gameplay
CONS
-Language is as over the top as the violence. Can't play around younger siblings. Might make teens uncomfortable around a parent
-too short/repetitive

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Innovative game with limited content

posted by Canaan (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is the kind of game that gamefly is made for. Its good to play once through and then be done with. I really enjoyed playing this one but I did not feel that it had enough there to keep me coming back. Graphics were very well done for a Wii title and the motion controlls seemed extremely effective. I did encounter some slowdown in situations with several explosions.

Beware though, this is quite possibly the goriest game that I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Way too repetitive.

posted by borislav (DES PLAINES, IL) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I've played my share of repetitive games in the past, and some of them were actually fun despite the fact (No More Heroes comes to mind). MadWorld just doesn't have enough redeeming qualities however.

After an hour or so of playing you'll realize that really, the entire game boils down to you running down a black-and-white street and tossing bad guys into various objects. Apparently there are other ways to kill your enemies too, but the game doesn't adequately reward you for figuring them out--you just get extra points, which means you get to face the level's boss a little quicker--so you probably won't feel determined enough to experiment. I sure didn't.

Back to the black-and-white thing though, it's just not cool... or original. I mean it's a little strange that after the success of Sin City and Gears of War a game would come along that tries to combine the two concepts, because let's face it, the game looks like Sin City and the protagonist looks like a Gears of War reject. Moreover, every environment feels the same, and it's easy to get lost and overly reliant on your mini-map--a game concept which I've despised since its inception.

One final note, and THIS IS IMPORTANT IF YOU'RE A HOMEBREW SUPPORTER. MadWorld forces your Wii to update to version 4.0, otherwise you can't play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What's black, white, & red all over...?

posted by Cavalier41 (CORONA, CA) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Madworld is one of the few mature wii titles on the market, but is that enough to make it interesting? Sadly, I think not. The game is a visual marvel, no doubt, the stark contrast of black and white works well, and the game is well polished. Sadly the presentation was the most interesting part of the game.

Gameplay - For the most part the concept is simple. The main character Jack, involved in a running man style gameshow where the object is to kill or be killed. We quickly learn that Jack's motives for being in this maniacal wasteland are not so simple, but I won't get into the story. The basics are these: you enter a section of the city, you kill all the guys (in satisfyingly gruesome ways) and you earn points based on style and combination kills. For example: stab a guy through the throat with a street sign, you get points. Stab a guy with a street sign, stuff him in a burning trash can, then throw him into a spiked wall, and you get a nice bonus. This; however, gets kind of boring and since this is mostly what you do, it makes it hard to stay interested. The monotony is occasionally broke up by mini games, boss fights, and driving sequences, but all in all it's pretty repetetive. Finally the controls are for the most part solid, with a few minor problems, but the camera can be frustrating, especially since the lock on feature doesn't always perform well. A final note, The announcers are hilarious, foul mouthed and crude, but hilarious for these reasons.

Graphics - Good, stylized, comic style graphics that run smoothly, and work well on the wii.

Sound - The voice acting is above average, and the soundtrack is a hip hop mix that works especially well.

In the end, this is a technically solid game that sadly, is way too repetitive. The Combat becomes shallow, and in a game that is based on the combat, I would expect more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The point? Score points!

posted by Deltree (NEW BRIGHTON, PA) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I saw trailers for this title I was expecting a free roaming fragfest in a stylized metropolis. What I found when I put the disc in was a completely different story. Instead, Sega dished up an M game with an EC level concept. For as much as I could stomach, the only real goal was to run though the horrifically linear environment slaughtering the same enemy type over and over again until a certain amount of points are accumulated. As you butcher your way through the weakling enemies, two commentators continuously repeat the same jokes time and time again. I can't remember if any of them were funny the first time as I was already getting bored five minutes after the tutorial ended. It's a real shame, Sega has the core of a really good game, the motion attacks in particular work very well, and the feel of the game is great. Most of the voice overs are good, but I wish they wouldn't have got the guy who did wolverine from marvel alliance to play the lead role, if he had claws and healing factor I wouldn't mind so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Total Boredom

posted by Raxpacket (ALANSON, MI) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Excessive violence and language for no other purpose other than shock which gets boring fast. Repetitive game play. Interesting B&W look but that gets old quick also. The only bright spot.....Bender does the commentary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mature? You're kidding right?

posted by TXgamer (ELECTRA, TX) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I know the Wii needs some mature titles, but I think the use of the word 'mature' is pretty ironic here since the game is totally immature. Sure theres lots of carnage - but really theres not much else. To make matters worse, the game is really too easy. If your experienced with action games you might get bored quickly. I also didnt like the graphics at all, but that may just be a matter of personal preference. I didnt find the graphics 'visually stunning' like some of the other reviewer. To me, it just looks like a poorly drawn cartoon in three colors,black, white and red. Its too bad really, this game could have been really good, but they missed the mark.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Guilty Pleasure

posted by loudinni (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

OK, I'm a 50 year old man, but I found this game to be kind of a guilty pleasure. It is VERY, VERY violent. Occasionally the gameplay is random (not quite sure why you did or didn't achieve something) but not terribly difficult.
The graphics are remarkable albeit gruesome.
Not for kids!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WEAK game

posted by RobbyN (CHURCHTON, MD) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its basicall a arcade game the point is to kill as much as possible in various ways to gain a certain point range. the various ways to kill your retaarded opponents ket me interested a total of 30mins but as you can guess its gets boring. so after recieving this game im sending it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Madworld for Wii

posted by purpbutter (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Aug 4, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Before playing the game for myself i had read a review that said "Do not pick this game up unless you are a big fan of mindless chainsaw violence". This was indeed a very accurate warning. The cut scenes are bad, and the edgy black and white style seemed promising but turned out disappointing, with it seeming that the only reason for it was to emphasize the blood more. and after playing the game for maybe and hour and a half with only holding the b button and swinging the wii remote left and right while following the mini map, i realized that it was really a huge waste of time. There is truly no need to pick this game up unless you are a huge fan of mindless chainsaw violence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Snooze-fest

posted by Nergle (SPRING VALLEY, CA) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I was bored of this game after about 20 minutes. The most fun I had with this game was discussing the crazy lame storyline with my friends. Thank goodness for GameFly so I didn't have to buy this cowpat of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game was repetitious

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game was repetitious

this game was repetitious

this game was repetitious

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Mad World? Bad World.

posted by onlyme902 (LAKEWOOD, WA) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Putting a new face on the "hack and slash" genre, this game will give you plenty of opportunity to test your controller's button strength.

Don't let it's black and white, post-modern veneer pull you in, without considering what a 3-D environment will look like in only 2 colors. While the cut scenes can be impressive, and the violence is really accentuated due to the fact that the only 'color' is buckets of bright red blood, the game play is stunted by the fact that you rarely know where you are, or what you are looking at.

I would only recommend this game to people who enjoy gratuitous pan shots of big men in zip-up unitards, or people who like to swing the controller around, pressing buttons hap-hazzardly, and getting full results without effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great idea - Not so great controls

posted by MontyP (SPARKS GLENCOE, MD) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was extremely excited about this game. I saw videos and previews for months. However, once I was finally able to play it, I realized that it is really not much more than an amazing gaming concept with a "button-mashing" control scheme. This would be okay on any other system because there are mashable buttons-a-plenty there. On the Wii, though, instead of mashing a button, you have to shake the Wiimote. For me, this got really old really quickly.

On the 360, I would have rated the game a 8 or 9. However, I have to stick with a solid 7 on this one because the poor control scheme really takes away from the gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by swebbina (KNOXVILLE, TN) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've been anticipating this game since I saw the first glimpses of the graphics. I actually signed up for gamefly just to get it. On receipt, we immediately were in love with the graphics - the black and white with splashes of red were perfect! But the game falls short of its potential. Amazing graphics, but boring game.

The play is fine but not challenging. It just becomes a rote "kill this one, turn, kill this one" with no real motivation. We didn't even finish it, just sent back in after just about 4 hours of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse