Rent Mad Dog McCree: Gunslinger Pack for Wii
view large frontback

Mad Dog McCree: Gunslinger Pack

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.6

291 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Should've stayed back in 1990

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 7, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Mad Dog McCree was an arcade game that came out in 1990, and it tried to revolutionize the shooting genre by putting live action guys for the player to shoot instead of computer generated things.
Problem is, good arcade games don't make good console games.
The Wii version, Mad Dog McCree: Gunslinger Pack gives you three games - Mad Dog McGree, Mad Dog II the Lost Gold and the Last Bounty Hunter
But each game plays out the same - they're rails shooters where you have to shoot the bad guys without getting shot or shooting innocent bystanders.
It was thrilling at first to play a live action game, but the excitement wore down because of the repetition.
Now, if the game played fair, then you should get through this collection in about an hour (way too short). But the game's targeting system is off track, forcing me to play the same spots over and over again.
Another thing that annoyed me about this collection is the game makers' attempts to pad out the meager content. I could see the stretch marks as they used gimmicks like difficulty levels and playing the same game with a second player tagging along (you'll have to beat it solo in order to unlock this feature.)
Mad Dog McCree: Gunslinger Pack is just too short and too repetitive for me to enjoy - even at $20. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT, DO NOT BUY!

posted by boyking (SANTA MARIA, CA) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

DO NOT RENT OR BUY THIS GAME! I have found numerous problems with it! Your have to hide the sensor bar on your wii remote to reload which is a major problem and this game should have stayed WAY BACK! The voice acting is HORRIBLE and the fact that they had the IDEA to REMAKE this atrocity for the wii was just unforgiveable.. EPIC FAIL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just awful

posted by Fausett (CHICO, CA) Dec 31, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well for one, they have terrible acting. the story plot was awful. I didn't even wanna play more It was so awful. They don't even give u enough time (Like any game) to shoot the enemy before he shoots you. This game was just a bad pointless idea and it failed. Im sorry I even ordered this trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh, avoid like the plague

posted by NotJayKay (ASHBURN, VA) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I originally got this because I loved alot of the old school lasergun game. Mad Dog Mcree, Crime Patrol, they were tons of fun as a little kid. This reincarnation for the Wii system is absolutely terrible. To quote my wife "Wow, you spent more time opening the package, putting the game in the system, and starting the system than actually playing the game."

Yes, it's that bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not the greatest game I have played

posted by us2121 (MERRILL, WI) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Probable one of the worst game I have rented in while... The acting and the way the game was played I would not recommend this game to anyone. Th game is played like a movie in which you shoot the actors. The acting is so bad I sent the game back only after 10 min. Maybe someone else may like it but not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

suxs

posted by acannizzar (WILLOWS, CA) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game blows thought i was like gun on ps2 but was wrong its lame!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Killer Game

posted by Rickmus66 (TIMBERLAKE, NC) Jun 24, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

I played this game back in the mid 90's on a Saga Genasis(the very first DVD game system) and it was awesome.I like shooting real people(no matter how cheesy the acting is) rather than graphic ones.
To me it makes it more realistic.I played all the old real live action games back then.Phychic Detective,About a Detective who was trying to stop a devil worshiper from taking over the world.Johnny Gun,about a gangster who was trying to get out,but had his own people and other gangs trying to kill him.
All of them was great games.Yes Im old school but I like playing the new games as well.But there is just something more realistic about shooting real people than non real ones.Maybe Im morbid lol.Check out the screen shots on this site also.Rent it and judge it for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this is bad game do rent it

posted by vmj904 (EMERSON, AR) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

this is bad game do rent it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Bad Game

posted by hugh261 (UPPER DARBY, PA) Sep 1, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

This game is the worst game I have had in my hand in years. The authors took no time or effort in anything to do with game play the films was nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not-So Blast from the Past

posted by emt1171 (NEW HAVEN, CT) Feb 5, 2012

Member since May 2011

I really wanted this game to be good—I really did, as I have fond memories of playing it in my youth. When I heard that it was available for the Wii, I had to try it.

Unfortunately, the game is marred by lousy hit detection, no matter what angle you shoot from. Even when I walked up to the TV and fired at point blank range, I was unable to hit opponents. As you might imagine, this made the game unplayable. It's a shame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

mad dog

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Jan 22, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

mad dog mcree gunslinger pack is a game that should have stayed in the arcades and laser disc. Nothing in the wii version has changed except having to use the wii controller as your gun. It follows the same story line as the arcade version with nothing new added to bring it up to date on wii. Don't waste your money buying this one stick with it as a weekend rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!!!!

posted by kypoolstik (MANCHESTER, KY) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This is game was so bad that my son put it in to play, 30 seconds later it was back in the mailbox for return. dont waste your time on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ive played in my entire gaming career

posted by snowfly (BRIDGTON, ME) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

This is the worst game I have ever played in the last 20 years of video games. Do not make the same mistake I did in renting this game, please dont buy it for your own sake. I was done with this game in the first 5 mins of gameplay but tried to suffer through and ended up almost throwing it out the window....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by rgural1 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

it sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Trip Back to Childhood

posted by fixittech (WOODLAND PARK, CO) Jan 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

When I was a kid, my dad used to take me to the penny arcade, and Mad Dog was there. I used to love that game, mostly because of the new Laserdisc technology. It was kinda cool shooting real people. (Yeah, that statement still sounds weird).

I will have to admit, that I agree with some of the other reviews. This game did not transfer very well to the Wii. The acting is horrible, and it can get repetitious. Although is gets silly, I'm pretty sure by The Last Bounty Hunter, the campyness was on purpose.

Regardless, this game was a quick journey back to my childhood, and I enjoyed it a lot. A never got very far in the game at the arcade, and since it was a buck a credit, my dad never let me try very many times. At least this way I was able to see how the story ended. Funny thing is, I repair arcade games now for a living, and this experience just inspired me to build my own Mad Dog cabinet to try and recapture what this game was missing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Blast From the Past!

posted by SammyT (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jan 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2005

This is an old arcade game from the 90's that was released on several home consoles such as the Sega CD, 3DO, and anything that could show video. Back then you needed a light gun to play, otherwise you would have to use your controller. However, with the Wii, your controller is the light gun!

The controls take a little while to get used to, and be sure you read the manual online, otherwise you'll end up like the other reviewer on here who thought you had to hide the sensor bar to reload your gun. Psst...All you have to do is aim off screen to reload.

For nostalgia's sake, I'm happy to see this game make a return, and wouldn't mind seeing more FMV movies coming back. Digital Pictures I'm looking at you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Talk About Originality

posted by JSugarsmak (SHALLOTTE, NC) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This game bristles with originality. The game play is fun and very unique. The graphics arent graphics at all, the game uses real video during gameplay. This game is a remake of three earlier laserdisc games. Those of you who remember laserdisc games will recall that the gameplay is a little jerky at times, I expect this is why the game is receiving low ratings. If you are looking for a totally different and unique game experience for the Wii you should at least give this one a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

what???

posted by metaspiral (ASHEVILLE, NC) Sep 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

this is more a response to rickmus66's review than anything: what are you talking about? first of all, the sega genesis (note the spelling) was a 16-bit cartridge system which was released several years before the invention of dvds. even the dreamcast, which was a bad enough system to take the company out of the hardware business altogether, used cds (not dvds).
then there's this actual game. except for nostalgia it has absolutely nothing going for it.the graphics are horrible by today's standards, the game mechanics are broken, and there is distinct lack of content. if you want to shoot at realistic targets there are several much better options (lethal enforcers, anyone?). or you could put the wiimote down and go to the target range. i guarantee you'll have more fun than with this piece of trash.
only reason i rated it a 3 is that it's got the nostalgia factor and i'm trying to consider it in the context of an early 90's arcade game rather than as a horrible wii port. avoid like the plague.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Flashback!

posted by damianrock (DULUTH, GA) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

If you loved it in the 90's, you still enjoy renting it today... and without having to dump 20 dollars of quarters in! Greatly matches the arcade. Acting is so bad it's hilarious! Only downside is that without quarters as a concern, the games are just too short. A good weekend rental at best. I give it a ten for the memories!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

laughably unplayable

posted by gueche13 (VANCLEAVE, MS) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

This game is worth a brief rental just for the nostalgia of the arcade days. My first thought is why don't they make more games in FMLV? Then I played it and found the .05% hit detection rate, combined with one shot one kill mechanics, just make this game an old quarter eater in the most horrible sense. Now if it actually worked, it might be a hellva game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really bad

posted by tempest (HOMOSASSA, FL) Aug 11, 2009

Member since May 2007

This was one of the worst games I've played. The game continually locked up, (and that wasn't even the bad part). We got it ready to head back in the mail after about 15 minutes of playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This used to be cutting edge, kids.

posted by PanicBlitz (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

One shouldn't expect a great (or even good) game from this collection. What one should expect is a slice of video game history, a snapshot of a time when companies were trying to figure out what the next big thing in gaming was going to be, and when the public was wowed for at least a short time by new technology (anyone remember Sega's hologram arcade game, Time Traveller?)

The game, formerly a laserdisc-based arcade game, operates like Dragon's Lair; for the most part, you have to go through, keep getting killed, and memorize where to shoot next time. It IS possible to get the draw on the first try, but not terribly likely as the stages progress. The cheesy acting is just icing on the cake for being so absurdly comedic. For those of us who lived through these times, this is a great nostalgic trip worth a few hours of playing.

If nothing else, I hope this brings us one step closer to having a modern port of the game Night Trap, or maybe at least Gallagher's Gallery.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Needs to Shot

posted by mwood5033 (NORTH FORT MYERS, FL) Aug 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

The arcade version of this game was great. Who ever designed the gameplay for the wii on this game needs to shot in the knee caps and hung by the neck till dead. Such a waste of what was a great arcade. If they were just going to ruin the game they should have just left it alone. Absolute worst game ever played on the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The memories

posted by TheCROW74 (GRAND PRAIRIE, TX) Aug 2, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I was at the store back in June and saw this game and didn't really pay attention to it at first. Then I started thinking back to the day when I played this in the arcade and how many quarters I spent playing this along with games like Dragon's Lair and Space Ace.

It does not matter how cheesy the acting maybe or the quality of the video. Keep in mind this is a port. For the Wii this is greatness. This is the 1st live action shooter. This game has 3 games. Mad Dog McCree, Mad Dog McCree 2 and The Last Bounty Hunter. You get 3 games for a very reasonable price and if you have game fly dollars it's almost a crime not to buy.

I got this game in the mail Saturday and played it Saturday night. Something about this game and using the Resident evil type shot gun in the wild west. LOL. I had to buy this game. Now if American Laser Games will bring all their collection to the Wiil.

Give this game a shot. It may not be the best, but it's fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible Controls

posted by KQswst104 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

In the original arcade version this game was played with a light gun, which allows you to use your reflexes and hit targets faster. In this version you use the wiimote and have a little pointer on the screen you use to shoot instead of relying on any skill you might have. This ruins the game, because the targets in the wii version move at the same speed as the arcade version and you need a little more time when using a pointer, however easier it may seem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »