Rent MX vs ATV Untamed for Xbox 360
view large frontback

MX vs ATV Untamed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2, PSP Games, DS, Wii
GF Rating
5.9

4040 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool game but it gets old FAST!!!

posted by GamerBoy (METAMORA, MI) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

When I first played this game it was really fun and exciting. It's sweet how many choices of vehicles you have (monster truck, atv, mx, dirt buggy, other off-road vehicles) and how each one of them is fun to use. The graphics are awesome and the gameplay is fast paced and fun. There's also a lot of play time in this game, and this is where the problem lies. There is too much gameplay!!! In order to win a race event, you have to win like 4 mini events, and inside those mini events are 2 races!!!! Going through a race track that takes like 10 minutes to complete and then having to do it again is so boring. Also, the game is really tricky if you dont know how to use the turns and how to execute the tricks. Some of the races are pretty hard and if you dont beat em your probably going to start the race over. Honestly, who wants to re-start races? Once you master the controls though, there's a lot of fun to be had with this game. I would definitely rent it, but I'm not into dirt bikes or off-road racing enough to buy it. If you love that stuff, pick this one up right away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME ROCKS!!!!!!

posted by ACustomer (JACKSON, MS) Jan 15, 2008

Member since May 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, the X-Cross Tournament offline is just incredible. Graphics are incredible, and so is the gameplay. The only problem I have with it, is you fall off the bike or atv way too easily sometimes, when you try and land jumps. But Online is also great, I like how there's so many vehicles to drive from, mx, to atv, to monster trucks. It's just amazing, You can also unlock extra driving gear, and unlock extra vehicles, and the best online game mode to me is free ride, you can just roam around, and have fun with your friends. This game rocks....I suggest this game to anybody, at least rent it, but just give it a shot, the game is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game deserve's a higher rating

posted by avalanche (DENVER, CO) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I can't believe this game has a 6.1 rating overall. gamers are being to picky. If your a fan of motorcross, atv, or any of the vehicles they have to choose this is a must buy. The graphics are awesome. The game play is great, it even has a free ride session where you can fly around freely which i havent seen in any race game. the single game play and online play are both great. i really can't say a bad thing about this game. This game is a must rent dont let the 6.1 fool you. the game is much better then the rating it got.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining for a while

posted by Vlennert (HOUSTON, TX) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

I am not a MX or ATV fan, but so many people were so eagerly awaiting this game I figured I'd check it out on my Gamefly account.

Basically, I don't like it much. It is midly entertaining for a while, but it gets old really fast. I'm not the type to get bored with a game quickly, but this one just isn't holding my attention.

My main complaints are as follows:

1) Air time is just ridiculous. Yes, they added more air to do tricks in this one, but um, jumping like 60 feet in the air and getting tangled in the trees on the side of the course is a little bit over the top, especially when you're driving an ATV.

2)AI is just STUPID and GLITCHED. I am either finishing 45 seconds ahead of the rest of the pack (yes, FORTY FIVE SECONDS AHEAD!!) or I go flying off my bike with the slightest tap from an AI rider. Oddly enough, if I tap or hit HIM, I also go flying and he just keeps right on going. This can get very frustrating very quickly.

3) Graphics and sounds are not good for a next gen 360 game. The people (other than the bike riders, those are fine) are seriously blobs. The chick that holds the sign up before the race starts looks like they took 10 minutes to render her. Even her clothes are terrible looking. The people in the stands are just blobs. The guys along the sidelines, blobs that run if you get too close. I think you get the idea. The only really believeable surface for me is the sand and water...all other surfaces and the trail you leave as well as any dirt that flies up..all look terrible. I won't even get started on the sound...for most of the vehicles it is really bad. The ATV is really the only thing that sounds believeable to me.

4) No restart of a race without either A backing all the way out and losing your progress in the series or playing the whole race and then restarting.

Bottom line, some easy achievement points, but this one is a definate rental UNLESS you are a MX/ATV fanatic. It may even get old for you die hards!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like to MOTO? Rent it!

posted by mxmarshall (PLEASANT HILL, CA) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game has it all bikes, quads, trucks and buggies and don't forget minis. Great racing and freestyle. The best is you can race your buddy's online. 12 of them at the same time. The graphics can be a little better for next gen console. For the most part recommend the game for any moto guys or gals.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My 4 Year Old Boy Loves this Game!

posted by Spidey008 (KING, NC) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My 4 year old son loves this game. He has only played the demo, but he plays it over and over. We don't see many atv racing games on the xbox 360. For kids, this is a great game that they will love. I'm planning on getting it for Christmas.

I'd also recommend Pure, it is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Cool

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Jun 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

If this is state of the art for MX and ATV, then I would hate to see what else is out there. Visually, this may be a very cool game. Actual game play is horrible. Please explain to me how other MX riders can land on my head and wipe me out while they continue to progress around the track. This happens with enough frequency to turn me off to the whole game experience.

Actual play time of about 5 hours before this was packed up and returned with a sigh of disgust.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad

posted by Aflacc (WARWICK, NY) Dec 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is beat, the racing is nothing like racing a real motocross bike. The whole game just needs to be thrown out. Its really bad because the older one for ps2 is better than this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by Jaseguin (AUSTIN, MN) Dec 18, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

7 out of 20 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

This game is fing awesome. i would highly recommend it. the graphics are great and well as the game play is. GET THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the sickest game ever

posted by deathrock (MIAMI, FL) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is the best game that i have ever played. to me i will highly recommend it to everyone to play. the graphics are great and so is the multiplayer. GO AND GET THIS GAME, IT IS WORTH IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BORING AS HE//

posted by splinter54 (ROCK VIEW, WV) Dec 26, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The bikes sound the same as everything else.there's no damege.Two much air time.But the game looks good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The worst single player I have ever played.

posted by l2yaaan (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This games collision mechanics is the worst thing I've ever seen in any game. You can't even get a race started because every time you go off the start you get knocked down before the first turn and the person in 1st gets a 8 second lead (This is on easy difficulty by the way). I'm not even going to do the single player because its so bad. The multiplayer is just as bad but at least it can be more enjoyable. They should have delayed the game and worked on the game mechanics, its completely whack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best

posted by jbproper (HESPERIA, CA) Oct 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

i think this game is by far the best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by 123BLODDY (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

so the game was good but could be way better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun concept Poor programming

posted by Nwrig004 (ARLINGTON, VA) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This title had so much promise when it came out however after you get this game you will quickly realize that while the idea was stellar the coding wasn't lack luster at best. Sounds aren't as realistic and don't match what is happening in certain situations. The physics are solid but the developer needs to EXPLAIN this to the common gamer. I figured it out quickly but i read review after review bashing the game for being too difficult to play.

This is a good technical game once you understand how to race within it. If you don't get the whole shot, and even when you do get it, there is a 99% chance you will get wrecked and end up in the rear of the pack. Also the last lap super acceleration by the CPU is a little outrageous.

There are no differences between the types of ATVs and Cycles in the game, which defeats the purpose of having them. The Atom 450R and the Storm 450S only differ by the name they all share your suspension setup. And the bottom half of the X-Cross bracket could be eliminated all together. The sand rail and truck racing is BORING!!!!!

Good game overall but prepare to be frustrated and upset at this game for a the first few plays. The newer version is out "Reflex" and it too proves to have the same inherent flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

watch out

posted by motoman204 (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

If you were expecting the fun physics that worked from the older versions of Mx vs. Atv then do NOT rent this game. If a rider bangs bars in a corner with another competitor, you can expect to be doing a flat spin 720, instead of just bumping into the rider like what happens in real life and in the old games. now that reflex is out, skip this game and go pick up Reflex.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mx vs Atv

posted by jimbo55 (NEW CANEY, TX) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

My 6 year old loves it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

sucks

posted by longdick (VICTORVILLE, CA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

this game is not a good game, its like a play station 1 game....dont rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A downgrade from previous MX games

posted by grefranger (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

I have been playing this series ever since it's first title launched on the Xbox, MX Unleashed. Being a motocross racer myself I admired the game for it's aim to be as realistic as possible. They accomplished this in their second title MS vs ATV Unleashed as well. After so much success I was stunned in the first ten seconds of playing Untamed when I noticed that the realistic physics of the game were not even traceable. Untamed is just another one of those mediocre dirt bike games.

However, if you're not playing this game for it's realism. It has grown in it's diversity from the last game, and you might enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mx vs atv

posted by Matthew115 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

best gave ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mx

posted by DAWNOFTHE6 (FARMINGTON, NY) May 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

this is the best open world game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mx vs atv untamed

posted by tmw2323 (Snohomish, WA) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

it is a great game but once u beat it it gets really boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not worth it

posted by GOAT3904 (NEW WINDSOR, NY) Apr 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

i expected this game to be as good as a.t.v. off road fury (original xbox) it fell way short the physics were way off base and the graphics sucked. rating it a 4 just because i love quads.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of a rental!

posted by TimA2287 (GILL, MA) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I rented this game with high hopes of it being similar to the old one I owned for PS2. It wasn't... It just turned out to be a waste of a rental and a waste of another week to get a good game through Gamefly. This game might be fun for some people but I didn't enjoy it at all. I played it for about 30min and sealed it back up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

like to race? try it.

posted by racer4 (SOUTH BEND, IN) Jan 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

This game is very good. It has good graphics realistic handling. It does not have real life tracks but i wish it did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse