Rent MX vs ATV Untamed for PS3
view large frontback

MX vs ATV Untamed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

1227 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mx vs atv BEST RACING GAME YET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by baumboy32 (FAIRFIELD, OH) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome great tracks to race on, great places to free ride ,awsome stunts , great gear,u can switch ur vehicle in the start menu , and amazing graphics the best racing game yet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

bleak at first but gets good

posted by sedition (DERRY, NH) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i felt that the game was a bit to grasp at first, most races get exteremly fustrating. the landing system well... flat out sucks. sometimes you can land on your side and you'll just spring up, others you'll land perfect on both wheels and end up smashing the ground. otherwise this is a relatively good game. honestly, the mini games were the most fun overall. ""snake"" (tron rip-off) was a blast, i spent more time doing that than the regular races. worth a rent, but not winning game of the year by any stretch of the imignation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good

posted by Jayro79 (NEWARK VALLEY, NY) Dec 21, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

well this is a must own game for the ps3. There are alot of different events to play which keep the game interesting. The only problems i see are how the computer riders don't really try in race but try to take you out at all costs. The customization of vehicles is very well done. I guess if you really want to know how the game is just rent it and find out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not That Great

posted by Rabastan (COLUMBUS, OH) Jun 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I really didn't like this game. Definitely not one of the better games in this franchise. I found the Menu Structure Confusing. No good Season or Career mode. Upgrading sucked, and the graphics are no means up to par for the PS3. I DO NOT RECCOMMEND THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another mediocre if not terrible game.

posted by Phatslugga (FARMINGTON HILLS, MI) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First things first, what about this game is supposed to seperate it from the other mx, atv, dirt racing, etc... games? The answer here is completley unrealistic physics, and not in a good way.

I'd like to think that most people agree with me, but these days completley unrealistic physics are usually an unwelcome feature in a game. Certain games can pull it off, but in order to do that, the game has to be ridiculously fun, and I mean so fun that wetting your pants is a constant danger. In the case of MX vs ATV, it just feels like they lazily pumped out another mx vs atv clone with a face-lift, and just hoped that the graphics would distract us enough to stop us from realizing how insanley terrible the game is.

Nowaday, gamers usually crave a good amount of realism in the games they play. Perhaps not at the level of Gran Turismo, or Forza, but enough realism where it actually feels like your driving a car, or riding a bike of some kind. There's no good sense of speed, and it feels like you're driving an RC car.

I popped this game in (now keep in mind that racing games are my achilles heel) and started it on hard mode, which I normally sorely regret after having thrown my controller at the wall with enough force to make it shower plastic bits of anguish. At one point I hit a jump going 90 MPH, and landed right in front of a very sharp right turn. I thought there would be no way I would make the turn, surely within seconds, my rider would be lying on the ground, just like me... just that tears of unfathomable sadness would be rolling down my cheeks while I pounded my fists onf the ground and kicked my legs uncontrolably. However, I still tried, and viola, at 90 MPH I made the turn easily and stayed in first place.

All in all, this game is just easy and boring. Don't buy it unless you want an ego boost (but really, how much of an ego boost can you get from a game aimed at 12 year olds.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MX vs. ATV Untamed - BIG letdown

posted by pinkman95 (LEWIS CENTER, OH) Jun 13, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought that this game would at least as good as the last few, but I was wrong. Not to take anything away from track racing games, but it just wasn't my kind of game. I like free roam/search for somebody to race with kind of games. And I would say that most of the gaming population would agree with me. So, as a fellow Gameflyer, I ask you to not rent this game, let alone buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good with great potential?

posted by jcca77 (GLEN ROCK, PA) Dec 30, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been cussing at this game since I got it 5 days ago but at the same time I keep coming back to it because there is something there in the way of a mx game you will not see anywhere else... not that we have a lot of choices.

but you have to work at it, a steep learning curve that at times you wonder what the heck am I doing playing this. But you really have to work at making the jumps without casing them... the tracks are as cool at all get out... I am using a PS3 with a 50inch Plasma... I have heard people say it does not look as good as Motorstorm... well I don't want to play motorstorm I want to ride a bike and this is where I can. The maps or tracks are biggg. I mean big. You ride all over the place. Some tracks are easier than others... The hard ones are worth the challenge of working on them... It pay...
Sure there are a lot of problems... On line and getting a game is like pulling teeth... I have only had one game when there were 8 people... the rest of time is is 2 to 3 or 4 people at the most... usually 2. Seems like everyone knocks me down or you get knocked down then he or she is ten seconds and you never catch them... unless they have some class and wait for you and then you can race again... The yo yos that knock you down just to get a win ought to have there game taken from them... it is so hard to get a game it is only you and the other person you waited forever to get in a game and now you want to knock me down and race all by yourself up front. wow you are just to cool.

I have seen a lot of people say this game sucks... I have screamed at the game and the kids while playing it but I keep coming back.

unlike Unreal 3 that I waited forever to come out and have not picked it up but a few times when I got it.

If you want a easy to use game that goes where you point it DO NOT get this game. If you want something like a real mx game then get this or rent. I plan on buying it. Thankss

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME

posted by john76 (BLOSSVALE, NY) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Great game tons of different things to do great online all around fun game. Graphics good A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

just didn't like it

posted by Landy316 (SCRANTON, PA) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i just didn't like it there was noone online playing it and i wanna play games online its more fun that way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not good at all!

posted by Alexander1 (OAKLAND, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is just normal dirt racing. Its just like any other really bad game!
Its also too easy I like beat every track and got in first like in 2 hours.
So if you want a easy boring beginners game then this is the game you want.
And I think MX unleashed and ATV would be better apart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Just Okay

posted by BabyDaddy (LAWTON, OK) Jan 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game would be 100% better if it had voice chat. Inexcusable that a "next gen" game on a "next gen" system, doesn't have online voice chat.

Otherwise, everything else is cool. The addition of the trucks and buggys is sort of fun, breaks the traditional MX/ATV style. They aren't fast and don't handle well, so the bikes and ATVs are much more exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is why you shouldn't buy from the sales rack!

posted by pokegod (ONTARIO, CA) Sep 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This Game TOTALLY left me very unimpressed. I'm not even gonna stress the details. But the only reason i let my mom buy it for only $9.99 was because it sported online play. and the other good thing is that the crashes are the most realistic thing. This game could've done way better, and also locked in my opinion for racing games, which, without any twist (like burnout has awesome twists), just plain suck...
DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS GARBAGE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great all around but graphics suck.......

posted by Trureviews (SLOUGHHOUSE, CA) Jan 11, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this is a great all around game with plenty of tracks and vehicles but the graphics just ruined it for me. It is 2008 and the PS3 can play up to 1080P. Why are games still being produced at 720P?? Anyways, on a few tracks the display is drawing the graphics about 10 feet ahead of my rider as I race the course! This is just unacceptable for me. This would have been one of the best games of the year if it were not for such degradated graphics. Other than that the music rocks and the tempo is great. My advise is wait until it goes on sale for $29.99 because that is all it is worth in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ATV classic

posted by hurricanehayes (SPANISH FORT, AL) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

this game is absolutely amazing. an amazing choice because of its freeride gives you the freedom of riding.
reminds me of the one on ps2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME RACING GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by MASON32267 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This is one of the best games I have ever played. it is so fun and the graphics are decent. there are so many different levels and ways to play. please buy it. it is so worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is way better on ps2!!!

posted by dankyboy55 (LOWER LAKE, CA) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

the graphics suck and the way the tricks are setup are straight dumb dont waist your time unless your getting it for ps2 its waaay better!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Once you've played one...

posted by znadynot (BREMERTON, WA) Jul 25, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

After playing this game for quite a few hours, I realized that I had already played it years ago under the title MX Unleashed. While there were a few differences, they didn't really make up for the large amount of similarities.

The graphics were definitely improved, but that would be an expected difference between a PS2 and PS3 game. If there wasn't an improvement in this area, I would have been surprised. I did, however, like the wider selection of vehicles in this version. I also enjoyed the playable practice room during the loading sequence.

The music selection was pretty much the same, just expanded updated since Unleashed was released. I would have expected to be able to add music from my PS3 in the game's jukebox, but that was just a hope I found out pretty fast. The menu options are not arranged in a very user-friendly manner, although they do make a little more sense after using them for a while.

While the default controls for Untamed were very close to those from titles like the Motorstorm series (which I never liked; probably because I grew up with racing games demanding I mash a face button on the controller vice a trigger/shoulder button) it is completely (and thankfully) customizable.

Overall, I suppose this game delivered close to what I expected from it, I was just hoping for a bit more; at the very least, a customizable jukebox on the PS3. It's definitely worth checking out if you've never played any of the dirt-style racing games for the PS3, but there are definitely other, much better titles out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ok...

posted by nthayer75 (LOMITA, CA) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

not real experienced in this field of gaming and wasnt totally sure what to expect... the game looked good graphics wise. the scenery was clean looking and the areas seemed pretty large with quite a bit to check out with lots of jumps etc. the controls were pretty good and i liked the variety of vehicles that were available. but honestly after a bit it got old. only so much can be done on these games and i found that you really need to be a big fan of off road racing to get hours of enjoyment out of this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best

posted by 05RMZ450 (WESLEY CHAPEL, FL) Nov 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The game is terrific, looks real, but in the replay, it looks very toyish. I can wait till the reflex comes out!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

ITS OK

posted by xAMPEDx (HANOVER, IN) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

this game was ok but it was not great. i thought mx vs atv unleashed on ps2 blows this game away and this was on PS3 it is really fake looking and i couldn't even play anything to unlock stuff in the career mode and i would wreck off a little hill that i shouldn't wreck on but i can land a 20 foot drop on my front wheel only thing i really did was play freemode till i got tired of it and that was not long if you want a good mx vs atv i say wait till mx vs atv reflex comes out that that looks mean or even get unleashed thats better then untamed any day

LIKE I SAID OK BUT NOT THE BEST GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

MX vs ATV Untamed Review

posted by coolreview (WESTVILLE, NJ) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

MX vs. ATV Untamed I thought was a great game. When I started playing it, I didn't think so. So I don't like it. Therefore I gave it a rating of a 6 because, 1. It was hard to control, and 2. It didn't really have good vehicles. So i'm not getting this again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

extremely boring

posted by hillbilly2 (RED OAK, TX) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

the game is pretty basic stuff over and over the upgradeing the vehicles wasnt that great and trying to do major stunts wasnt easy not enough time in the air to get points it just wasnt as good as the old ones they could've left the stunts out didnt do nothin for me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent game: Crashes make it rent/buy worthy.

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Dec 23, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

Everyone says this game is bad, and they are mostly correct. But this is a decent game and I give it a 7.
This game has it's flaws, like only three or four places are enjoyable to play at, graphics are not impressive, and only the Mx and ATVs are any good. There are lots of glitches all around the game, and the career is so bad it is useless to even play it.
But, it has it's good things too. Like, crashes are what make this game playable. Sometimes you see your character twitch which is cool, and the 3 or 4 places that are fun are really fun. It is also fun to play with friends because you get to watch yourself crash like an insane driver! LOL

Pros: Crashes are sensational and so fun! When you twitch it's realistic, a few really fun places, great game to play with friends.

Cons: Bad graphics, most places are pathetic, career mode is so bad it is sad. Lots of glitches, most vehicles suck.

This is a decent game and because of the crashes you should rent it. My brother bought it and we occasionally have lots of fun crashing on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

MX vs ATV Untamed

posted by Swayman (MIDDLESEX, NC) Sep 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

First off, im a huge fan of offroad games, however this game managed to turn me into a no-return customer for the MX series, the gameplay is shallow, the tracks are too similar, the physics are terrible, the graphics are something you'd expect from PS1 or a release game for PS2. The AI is horrific, you can win every single race with the starter vehicles... and you feel like your racing at about 30 miles an hour no matter what you're driving. the game overall is a complete waste of digital existance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very weak game.

posted by Yupinauta (MIAMI, FL) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Whoever made this game didn't feel like doing it right, or I guess he just did it for the money, not to end up with a good game. Well maybe I just didn't like it, but looking at the overall rating I guess I'm not the only one thinking the same. I just don't recommend anyone buying it, rent it if you want to try it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse