Rent MX vs. ATV Reflex for PS3
view large frontback

MX vs. ATV Reflex

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.7

886 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mx vs atv reflex

posted by racer113 (PHOENIX, AZ) Mar 13, 2010

Member since May 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mx vs atv reflex is the best motorcross game I have ever played!! The game just takes a day to get used to the new control system called rider reflex. The graphics are great. The physics are great. Every thing about this game is great. If your a supercross or mortocyle fan you will love this game.

Here are some cheat codes for mx vs atv reflex.

1.ALLAI unlocks all riders in arcade mode.

2. GEAREDUP unlocks all jersy/pants or gear.

3. READYTORACE unlocks ktm bikes and Justin Braytin.

4.BRAPBRAP unlocks all mx bikes.

I truly recommend buying this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Liked It!

posted by TTROM54 (GLENSHAW, PA) Dec 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

There has been alot of people saying that this game isn't any good. It is. If you have played all of the Mx Vs. Atv games you know how good they are, and this one is no exception. I'll talk about the bad first, I really had to nit-pick.

I have a PS3 so i cant speak for the xbox 360 but AT LEAST once a race there is a "lag" if you can call it that since its not online. Nothing major but it does seem to throw off timing a bit.
Another thing is that sometimes you can crash very easily and sometimes you hit something, do a 360, and land it sideways. In a way that is realistic but not that drastic of a difference.
There is a series called Omnicross in which you can use any vehicle in the game. Sounds fun, it is, except the frist time you do it, there are 3 series in each type of races. Anyways the first time you do Omnicross you do not have any thing but MX, MX Lite, and ATV's unlocked. That sucks. I couldnt hit a jump or make a turn without getting smashed by a truck. I had to finish in 2nd and come back and beat it when i unlocked a truck.
The last negitave i can think of is not being able to go into as much custumization as i would like. There are a set amount of paint jobs that you can have, but i was satisfied with all the choices for the rider.

Now on the the good, which heavily outweighs the bad.

The graphics are great. The game is fun. Those are the two most important things. It does take about an hour or two depending on how fast u can pick it up to learn but you can just do free ride after doing the tutorial. Another thing that is huge with me is the trophies are pretty easy to get. I have only had it for 6 days and havent played it every day, probley about 20-24 hours all together, and i only need to win an online race with 11 human racers to get the platinum. The online is hard to win in, but fun. There are 2 fun mini game, tag and snake. All together i would have to give this game a 9.2. Deffantaly a fun game and WELL worth renting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bah

posted by MadMike76 (BARTLESVILLE, OK) May 22, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall I guess the game was decent... I think I enjoyed the demo more than the actual game... The game is cool but only THREE Free-Ride maps? That sucked... I really enjoyed the other versions of MX where I could free-ride anything in the game... It was much more fun... Also the free-ride tracks sucked. Great for the truck... But sucked for the bikes and quads unless you're more into trail blazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Same as all the others

posted by Bubba90827 (MONTGOMERY, TX) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty much like MX vs. ATV untamed only different levels and a different campaign mode. They added things like freestyle mode which is where you try to gain as many points as possible in two minutes on a dirtbike freestyle course. Also they took out the Monster Truck which was my favorite part in the Untamed. So rent it, beat it, return it. Simple.

Oh and the multiplayer online is the same as well. Not worth buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mx Vs ATV Reflex

posted by mxkid80 (MILLERSBURG, OH) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Mx vs ATV Reflex isnt that bad in my opinion. I have played all of the mx vs atv serries and the originals. Yes there are a few things that need to be fixed i the physics engine, but you get use to it and the game becomes really fun. i havent tried out the online feature yet but i have been entertained with the carrear. If anyone wants this game i say go ahead and try it out first, then buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excitebike on Steroids, Good but not Great

posted by JARock (AMITYVILLE, NY) Dec 23, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Couple notable areas

Graphics
Lots of hitching, in both gameplay and cut aways.
Gameplay for both Arena and mountainscape venues suffers in ill attempts to sustain not so breathtaking background detail that cause tremendous Nintendo like hitching and confuses the heck out of LCD TV attempts to control brightness....but overall the graphics were still pretty sick.

CPU
WAY too many dudes go straight through a 90 degree hairpin at full throttle. Don't get me wrong, I was able to advance a bit easier, but looks really funny.

Overall
Game's a lot of fun, especially in MX class on closed tracks. The freestyle mode is a bit bland. The lack of equipment licensing shows some budget issues and lack of support for the franchise as does the limited size and narrow genre playlist of double bass pedal metal...

It takes a while to get used to the physics, watching the track get "beat in" is cool, but random 90 degree endos in a rut are a bit much.

Get for a week have some fun, I’d recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome!!!!!!!

posted by ksmith0 (NEVADA CITY, CA) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If ride or race you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I Am So Unimpressed...

posted by Baum20 (ABILENE, TX) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Here I was thinking that games are getting better in gameplay with graphics....and along comes Reflex.

The graphics are great...but there a few issues I have with the controls and the physics engine:

Last time I was on a dirtbike; if someone bumps into me, it doesn't cause me to do a 180 endo into a crash. If I hit a rut, I don't jump across the track and off the other side to crash. If I try to line up a jump before the face, my rear tire doesn't randomly come off the ground and beat the front tire to the jump.

Also...there is a lot of popup and stuttering on the PS3 version. And there are some issues with the draw-rate.

Don't think I'm just bashing this game...I've played worse (thank God for GameFly). I just expected more with all the hype that's preceded this game.

Now I didn't get very far into the game (8 races and two different bikes) but I didn't see any type of improvement in any of the formats or on a different bike so I gave up on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most realistic Motocross Game ever.

posted by sinbadd (ORLANDO, FL) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am an avid game player as well as motocross fan. I have played every motocross game on every console ever made, and will say that even though the game has a steep learning curve this may be the most realistic simulation of motocross I have ever experienced. I realize that most of you are spoiled by expecting a certain control scheme and have gotten used to the other views offered by previous versions of this game. I however beg to differ, the track degrades which changes the game immensely. Controls are the biggest issue however even though new I believe that this makes the game much better especially when playing multiplayer, most players on the older games were just pinning the throttle around the track no real technique involved. I like that on this version you have to actually learn the track learn different lines because they will change and the new controls make it harder to learn and yes can be frustrating but this is a whole new scheme and it will only get better on the next game. I love the game, I wish there were more tracks keep the DLC coming and I love beating you all on the track!!! Keep up the good work Rainbow you are definitely not afraid to add changes and that is what it takes to keep on top.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun yet frustrating...

posted by rnmike (LA MESA, CA) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The overall game is great fun and can be played for hours without boredom. However, there is some frustrating moments when the physics engine make preposterous failures and leaves you feeling frustrated. For the most part the game is graphically and aesthetically pleasing. The variety of environments, types of races and vehicles is sufficient to make it interesting. All that said, I don't think I will keep it. I enjoyed the game but I do not think it is worth $40, maybe wait until later this year when it is sub-$20 then I'd get it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is why i rate it 10

posted by liltwitch (HANOVER, PA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is so cool if you race dirtbikes or atv this is the game for you. You can do crazy whips and scrubs i love the rider reflex it is so cool. you controll the rider and the bike sonds hard but its not. the online play is cool you have ranks in it to see how many races you win very fun. this mx vs atv the already mad a track pack so more tracks come out later in the year with will be cool and on playstation 3 there only 1.99 so its cheper than xbox.This is why you should rent this game .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by 50pennies (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

someone please make a motorcycle game that acts and moves like a real motorcycle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I hate this game

posted by uttz2009 (COVINGTON, TN) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is as bad as gaming gets

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

soooo stupid

posted by corbin90 (GILBERT, AZ) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i played this game for 10 min and went and shoved it back in the mail... FAIL!!!!! DONT WASTE YOUR TIME THIS GAME SUCKS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre at Best

posted by mattj106 (PRIOR LAKE, MN) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is quite possible that I am just not very good on a motocross course. I found the game difficult to control and very unrealistic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boo...I'm seriously dissappointed

posted by Brnwshd (EL DORADO HILLS, CA) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

With the last few MX vs. ATV outings being two of my most favorite games, I had my level of expectation obviously overinflated for Reflex. I turned it on and began to get excited as I went through the beginning stages. Then, I began to play the game...unbelievable! It was extremely hard to play and very uncontrollable. "Maybe I need to give it some time and get use to it", I thought to myself...Noooooo, it only got worse.

How could THQ go backwards??? I could barely keep it on the track, could hardly land any tricks, even though the were awesome tricks. This is only with the MX bikes...the 4 wheel stuff wasn't as bad, but I bought it for MX.

Well, I've got it for 7 days, I'll put some more time into it and come back with the verdict.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad Game

posted by steelfox78 (FORT MYERS, FL) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game was very plane didnt not take advantage of the ps3's graphics abilities at all the game contorls are not set up in an easy format at all and it is just very uneventful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game Sucks

posted by beebe9 (GERMANTOWN, TN) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Hard to control the bikes and other vehcials and you are not really able to do tricks. Your charactor does not get muddy at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by DEEZLE805 (SPRING, TX) Feb 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was genuinely upset at the handling and how the game is controlled. Too much going on upset me very much!! Just kidding it was alright... Just hard to control

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

mx vs atv reflex

posted by thorflesh (BILLINGS, MT) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

worst mx game i have ever played. excitebike for old school nintendo is far superior

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what i expected

posted by chilton123 (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 19, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i thought this was going to be an awesome game but it turrned me down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

0,000,000,000,000!

posted by DXfan98 (CREOLA, AL) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Everything perfect! The physics aren't as realistic as they said bu the graphics were the greatest of any game of all time! I could have rode a real MX and it wouldn't be as realistic! This game is a must buy for anyone collecting sports games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MX vs. ATV Reflex

posted by jonesl19 (COLUMBUS, OH) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

very very sorry game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ATV Fun

posted by Kenny45 (METAIRIE, LA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Pretty cool game i had my 4 year old nephew playing it he loved it. I get the games for my nephew for the weekend something to teach him how to play very easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! but with one flaw

posted by venom96 (LEANDER, TX) May 17, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

this game is amazing. the graphics are so beautiful, and its like a real race game. i rade SX and MX so ik what im talking about. the game is extremly realistic. the whips are so sexy and the crash's are real. only thing is .......... no real bikes. they have all the sponsers, FMF, pro surcuite, alphinstar, ect. however no real bikes such as yamaha, honda kawasaki, suzuki, only real bike is KTM, in other words real disapointment. i would have rated a 10 id it werent for this. other than that amazing. sure you can rent this game for fun, but me ..... im going to buy as soon as posible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse