Rent MX vs. ATV Alive for PS3
view large frontback

MX vs. ATV Alive

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.3

560 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but can get boring.

posted by MarvinJ (NEW YORK, NY) May 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Due to the Sony outage, this game can get boring really quick due to the fact that you have to be a certain level to unlock the other races. 10 and level 25, I'm only level 13, and I completed every single race. If this game had online working, it'd be more fun, so thank Sony for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How did they mess up a good thing?

posted by ubdead4life (KINGMAN, AZ) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After almost 2 years of competitive online Mx vs Atv REFLEX Racing, I looked forward to trying the new "Alive" version. Very disapointing in almost every way over Reflex!!!! This game hurts your eyes! How could James Stewert put his name on this?? $$$ :)

THQ- All you had to do was take "REFLEX" and improve "ONLINE NETWORK". Reflex Rocks, Alive doesn't. Shame on THQ and Bubba.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS!!!!!!!!!

posted by mglg03 (DERBY LINE, VT) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

hated it completly. giant waste of time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game is horrible

posted by Nickel (SAINT FRANCIS, WI) May 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

game is just horrible if you dont play online you have too do the 1st courses over and over and over again to unlock just a few more race and then guess what ? rinse and repeat all over >>>>HORRIBLE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Good At All

posted by hurleyjordan (SANFORD, NC) May 11, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I have to say I played this game soon as it came in the mail.Within 30 mins of playing it i'm ready to return it!!! I was really looking forward to the game but boy was I wrong!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

MX ATV SNOOOOORE

posted by jdavidtz (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

Good graphics and trick sequences, but lamest story mode ever!
I want more bikes, more challenges, more storyline and perhaps a career mode?
This game is fun for an hour...then its a snoooooooooooooore. I would rather ride a bicycle then play this game again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just No

posted by AaronDodson (GLOUSTER, OH) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Just......No

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing

posted by MacSspeed17 (FORT ATKINSON, WI) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Graphics were good, but the overall gameplay was less than satisfactory. No where near as good as Reflex.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

mx vs atv alive

posted by miketittle (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad Game

posted by bozo1025 (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game is bad The controls are weird and wonky the camera is just terrible and the graphics look like a Ps2 game from 2003 which is sad considering that was not only 8 years ago but a wii game looks better than this even Ninjabread man looks better don't buy maybe rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dirt 3

posted by shanesaw (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Best Dirt game of the series so far, very excited to see the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun buuuut

posted by venom96 (LEANDER, TX) Oct 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

this game is extremly good, however, the whips are terrible, if you want a real bike (yamaha, kawaski, honda etc.) you have to waist YOUR MONEY to buy it on PSN. frankly, this game is taking a steep back from reflex. this is very disapoiting sience stewart is my favorit rider, and he is on this terrible game. not to metion there is no true campain mode. in the end, i think that all of the MX VS ATV lines have been getting worse and worse. everything after MX unleashed became bad. for instance the game play got worse, there wasnt many gear selection, AND NO REAL BIKES! just its very frustrating, THQ and rainbow need to go back to the PS2 game MX unleashed and go from there. cause now every game has been a cheap, down graded, load of garbage that francle aint fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disapointment

posted by tima113 (ARNOLD, MD) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Overall this game is just a huge disapointment to anyone who has played MXvsATV Reflex. Like me a lot of my friends race motocross, when Reflex came out we couldn't put it down for months, played online forever. When Alive came out we were all pumped, after 2 weeks I put it down and haven't played since.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I LOVE IT

posted by cblackmore88 (TUCSON, AZ) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

this game is amazing! I love every part of it! Gameplay is very smooth and controls are easy to use. I could play it for hours! And i have. The only thing that bugs me is the lack of trophy trucks! But i do love how u can buy DLC of real quads and dirtbikes. I was so glad when i got my yahmaha YFZ 450. If you have a real connection to riding in real life u will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mx Vs Atv Alive

posted by Joebwan18 (RICHFIELD, WI) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Originally this game was very frustrating, due to the issues with the online outages at it's release date. But the DLC is quite nice for people who are interested in realism and having actually name brand bikes. Their DLC doesn't have too many new tracks to offer to you. But overall this game is quite nice. The only thing someone might not enjoy picking this game up for the first time is the control system, also how to level up. You have to have prior knowledge of the control scheme in order to really get good at the game and winning races. To the veterans of the MX series, they might enjoy the racing atmosphere. But the true complaint I have is that whenever I go to race online you will occasionally be slapped into a room which seems to have no host. So you will either be stuck there for a half hour, or you will be quitting to go to the main menu again. To any dirtbike fan I would highly recommend this game to you, from one fellow rider to another ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

uhhhhh

posted by BFELI12 (BALTIMORE, MD) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

i never played it.... and never will. i knew this game would suck. eCAUSE EVERY OTHER ATV GAME SUCKED. it is fun at first BUT GETS BORING. in all the other atv games all your doing is race in off rode atvs or dirt bikes or trucks or bigger trucks. COME ON THQ WE ARE BASICALLY GETTING BORED OF THE SAME GAME OVER AND OVER. the things that change is more tracks and more rides thats it nothing very new. we are getting bored of it thats wy all the atv games gets boring, and very fast. CAUSE NOTHING NEW EVER COMES

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MX vs ATV

posted by medic87 (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Ok gameplay, disappointed in level up to unlock new tracks, Only 4 tracks are unlocked when you start, 2 long tracks, 2 short tracks and 2 free rides. I finished 1st in all 4 races and was only at level 3, you have to get to level 10 before you unlock the 1st group of tracks, then level 25 to unlock the rest. So pretty much you driving the same 4 tracks over and over and over again until you are so bored with doing the same boring tracks you just quit playing and return it. BTW i got to level 7 before i was bored out of my skull and slipped it back in the mail. Weak game at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

disapointment

posted by shellymurphy (DIXON, CA) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

first thing it goes way to fast you would have to be on something to keep up with sheer speed of the game play. And realism is definitely something to be desired what ever happened to honda , suzuki , kawasaki , and yamaha ? In short if I had bought this game I would have been murderously angry!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

MX VS ATV ALIVE

posted by BoxingBink (WASHINGTON, DC) Aug 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game need more boards & online access.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

blah

posted by gamelover123 (OMAHA, NE) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

pretty boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Takes patience

posted by Campsite (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

You have to get the feel of the tracks and the races, then it starts to feel good. Yes it does suck to wait and race the same tracks over and over before you level up, that makes the game redundant. It would be sweet to have a sponsorship thing going on, or earn money for races to add towards products for rider and bike, but if you place top 3 you should be able to advance to the next tracks. As for online I haven't played because I can't get the game to update. Online would be fun, what's up with Sony?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »