Rent MLB Power Pros 2008 for Wii
view large frontback

MLB Power Pros 2008

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, DS
GF Rating
6.8

579 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Baseball Sim

posted by dabluesman (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Aug 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This baseball sim is way better than the graphics would initially lead you to believe it was. You have many options for controls, such as plugging in your nunchuk or not, using a GameCube controller, or the VC controller. The controls are implemented well and you can make the controls as manual or automated as you like. In fact, for every aspect of the game you can customize each option to tailor the game to play exactly as you want it to, from fielding, running, hitting pitching, you name it. I find both the success mode and MLB mode simply the best part of the game. In these modes you can become a character and manage all aspects of his life, from practicing and playing games (of course) to dating, buying cars and houses, and participating in various hobbies. MLB Power Pros was a great game, and this new 2008 version is even better. This is one of the few games that I would say to skip the rental and just go and buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A MUST rent for Baseball Fans!!!!

posted by Vannyfresh (MORGANTOWN, WV) Aug 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing!!!!! Even better the Power Pros 2007. This game is for people who have a wii and want to play a sports game but dont want to break a sweat doing it. Its like playing a 3D nes game with cool graphics. The players are advanced MIIs and are real MLB players. Season mode is standard nothing advanced and also you can do a solo mode and build your AA player up the ranks to the MLB!! So if you like the idea of using MLB pros with a gamecube or classic controller and want to have a lot of fun with ur friends I highly suggest this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"MLB Power Pros" Built for some players

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Aug 5, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

MLB Power Pros 2008 may look like another WiiSports knock off, but it's much, much deeper than that.
The controls are tougher to get used to, but they are solid; you use the thumbstick and the A button to pitch and bat. Problem is, the thumbstick is really sensitive, so use light touches.
There are many modes in this game; you can play a simple game, take control of a newbie player trying to make in the big leagues, create a team and manage them to the championship, arrange a league with your friends, or practice.
And when you get into manager mode, you will have control over many things about your team; who plays, how they practice, and so on. Players looking for a hands-on experience will get a lot of mileage out of this game.
But the game lacks a simple season mode where I can just pick a team and play a season without all the bells and whistles.
Also, fielding continues to be a problem; my guys tend to over run the grounder, and the other team gets an easy hit. Hitting any home runs can be an overwhelming task.
But this game has a cute look, has great controls, and some of you will like the extensive modes it has to offer. Try it - you may like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game stinks!!!

posted by Doyle005 (SILVER SPRING, MD) Aug 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I played Power Pros last year and the game was close to perfect. There were tons of stats and success mode was incredibly fun and highly addictive. So after playing last years, I could not wait for MLB Power Pros 08 to come out in July.

So I pop the game in and start with success mode, this is a mode whereby you create a player and do things in order to add to his stats, such as hitting the weights in order to increase batting power. Last year you played as a college player, this year as an AA prospect. So I created a closer. I added to his stats such as speed and get him several different pitches. Well it seems that at the AA level, there are only starting pitchers as my character was forced to start, keep in mind I did not waste points on stamina as he is a closer and should only be in one inning. So he gets rocked and was fired from the team.

Ok, I’ll try creating a first basemen as maybe being a fielder is easier. I decided to create a power hitting first basemen. At the AA level, he is awesome with great contact and power. He gets the call up to AAA, only to sit on the bench the whole season and be booted off the team. Yes, you get one season at AAA to prove yourself before you are fired. My character had B power and contact, 3 hitting trajectory and C and D for the remainder of the stats, but he did not get but in for one stinking at bat the whole season. So I guess they only have starters at the AA level and they do not have subs at the AAA level.

The game also has a new play mode called MLB Life, where you pick a major leaguer and play their life. This mode is even worse than success. The tasks you do are so mundane, such as eat dinner with teammate or play chess. In a word, boring.

This game held such promise as I loved the 07 version, but this year they took three steps back. But there is always next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I want from a Baseball Game

posted by Gorworr (GRESHAM, OR) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game was not what I expected. I was excited at first. Cause first off I played Homerun Derby then a practice game and it was loads of fun. I then tested out some of the other options, like season, ect... And found that there is way to much dialog and not enough baseball. There also is way to many things you have to do inbetween games. I apperciate that they were trying to make the game fun on new levels. But for me its just to much. I don't want 45 minutes inbetween games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Game had potential

posted by GoTigers15 (MISHAWAKA, IN) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

Good game other than the fact that it is way too limited in the motion controls...which is perfect for a baseball game and the reason why I rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rented it... Bought it. Love it!

posted by RoscoeLaw (APPLETON, WI) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

I wasn't sure what to expect from this baseball game but I was not disappointed. MLB Power Pros 2008 is a lot of fun. I started a career and I'm in my 5th year now and it doesn't get old. I like the fact that there are a number of different ways to play the game which doesn't make it a one- or two-trick pony.

You can unlock a number of extra features in the game like stadiums, stances and uniforms. The capper for me was being able to unlock the throwback Brewers home uniforms with the "mitt" logo. Sold!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best sports games for the Wii

posted by ZekeMan (CANTON, MS) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

My 10 year old son usually returns or beats rental games from GameFly in a few days. We had this one for a couple weeks because we both loved it so much. If you're wanting a better playing baseball for the Wii than the baseball that comes with Wii Sports...run do not walk to try this one first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

“Success Mode” is Not a Success

posted by AlexRein (LAKELAND, FL) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

MLB Power Pros gives us a brief glimpse of a great game, however most the time you’re confused and wondering to yourself why you are even playing it. It is a game with a good idea with a nice core, but the different game modes are not as you’d expect.

The graphics are what you’d expect from a Wii game, bobble heads with even less detail. However, this system obviously isn’t bought for its graphics, so no complaints here.

Game play is simple and easy to pick up. There’s a small learning curve, but a seven or eight year old could easily pick this up and play along side you. Every team is in there with current line ups so you won’t be missing a key player that could easily change your team.

The only reason this game is just above average is the fact that its RPG aspect, is less to be desired. You are left uniformed, and the game quickly becomes repetitive; increase energy, practice, energy, practice, energy…. It’s difficult to grow as a player without any guidance, and more than likely you will be fired over a period of time. I’ve tried this mode several different ways and you need to be an ace in every game to meet the scout’s expectations. The different scenes that try to make it a real life experience (trying the item on the menu at the steakhouse) are nothing but dialogue and you will soon be zooming on by without even reading.

Rent this game, enjoy it for a couple days, but be prepared to become frustrated and send it back in a fit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!

posted by ANNJ40 (STRATFORD, CT) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

MY 7 YEAR OLD DIEHARD YANKEE FAN ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS GAME! 1 OR 2 PLAYERS OR AGAINST THE COMPUTER - EITHER WAY ITS VERY FUN! THEY ALSO HAVE A SETTING WHERE YOU CAN USE JUST THE REMOTE TO CONTROL THE GAME SO IT WAS VERY SIMPLE FOR THE YOUNGER GAMER! YOU CAN ALSO CHOOSE MORE ADVANCED SETTINGS AND WAYS TO PLAY FOR THE OLDER BASEBALL FAN! I AM BUYING THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyable Game

posted by novana47 (SAND LAKE, MI) Nov 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

My husband and I enjoyed playing this game for a couple of days. glad I was able to rent this to decide if we wanted to spend the money on it to buy it or not. I think thisis more for younger kids to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

if you're willing to spend time

posted by aardvark (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

learning this game it pays off. playing a full season is a good time. wish it took advantage of wii motion sensing, but regardless, definitely satisfied my desire to play ball. will not be renting a baseball game for a while!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not as good as the classic

posted by bobman (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

mlb power pros is a decent game it is pretty much the same as 07 but in this they added mlb life witch is ok don't expect to get to mlb right off the bat. one thing made this review of this game a six SUCSESS MODE that mode makes this game a disgrace, me and my friend both have this game and together we have been fired 10 times!!!!!. so if you are looking for the all around best mlb power pros go with 07

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »