Rent MLB Front Office Manager for PS3
view large frontback

MLB Front Office Manager

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.2

421 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

needed revision

posted by ltlane777 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's quite a simple game but the game play isn't any good at all. For me I didn't care for the game play, I like to control my team with trades and controlling my roster and this game allows you to do that. It was first complicated on what to do as in signing the players and it also has poor option settings in the career mode. Overall, its a decent game if you don't play the games and just want to sim through it and manage the team. But I'd recommend playing the regular games like MLB The Show or MLB 2k series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its a little more work then fun

posted by str8sixxx (ORLANDO, FL) Feb 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

if you think you can just do like a quick sign here, release there, draft there your in for a surprise your going to spend a little while managing not only your MLB team but also your Minors (if you want)and the auto fix option that you get the computer is so dumb if you do that after a whole season i guarentee you that you wont have the same team as you did in the begginging....

in the beggining no matter what you do sign or trade your team is going to suck i hade the seattle mariners felix hernandez went the 2009 season with 6wins 12Losses ERA 5.3 and Ichiro's avg was .267....and dont think by signing big named players that it will change... the key to being a great GM in this game is to build your stat like leadership, batting, pitching, and managing influence and with your team doing so bad that usually means going threw a few lame duck season, probably even getting fired once or twice...

but once you get your stats high enough stats your team will be awesome my batting influence level was all the way up and my manager/pitching influence was half way my team won 125 games, and every pitcher in my starting rotation won over 20 games

all in all when your team is really good and your stats are good and your winning over a 100 games a season it will get a little boring so unless your a stubborn MLB fanatic like me this might not be the game for you.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was better than expected

posted by whitesox (TINLEY PARK, IL) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

All in all I think it shaped up to be a little bit above average. For the first of its kind in baseball I thoink they starterd in right direction but could use some upgrades like create your own ballpark or create your own team. 7 out 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game

posted by Bostonbaby (SHARON, MA) Feb 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game does a terrific job on how to be a general manager but there are a few flaws like that players on other teams don't test the free agency by your team's players do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Mlb Front Office Manager

posted by gamegrade (EVANSTON, WY) May 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game sucks! There are no sports casters. The graphics are terrible compared to some of the other games on the PS3.
I really thought this game would be more like head coach, which isn't a bad game. Really this game is just you sit there and watch.
Career mode is the worst mode of them all, but the fantasy mode was o.k. I am for sure going to send this game back and never play it again. I will NOT buy this game. I hope this review was use full

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Thank you 2K...

posted by Vignirsson (SANTA CRUZ, CA) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

You finally made me realize that I am too old for baseball. Usually I dig the whole season simulation, I was even a sucker for buying both Head Coaches and even PC simulation games but you made me realize that indeed, baseball was something of my youth.

Gameplay is basic based off of any standard sports simulation game that you might have played before. Advance the day, do whatever it takes to keep your team alive and well and hope that your efforts can translate into something positive. Where it falls short is where baseball has it's weakness, too many games and too many days between "events".

Where as other simulators will warn you and give you a timing bar to make your decision, Baseball manager gives you a quick prompt saying "X" will happen and do you want to stop the sim. While you can easily stop the sim and move onto what you need to do, the simpleness of that prompt makes it mighty tempting to move on and ignore the issue.

The depth of the game is nice, they have a nice cache of players and a somewhat realistic way of negotiating, but other games do it a bit better. There is no instant feedback on the status of your offer, you just have to sit there and wait to see if the player is insulted by your offer. Don't even get me started on trades. I saw way too many lopsided trades that pretty much break the game even before the season starts.

Really, there is no excuse for this other than there is too much information that made the programmers forget some other features. The game needs to come with the Billy Beane book on Money Ball and a three hundred page strat guide on top of it to break down what you need to do in the first week.

In other words, if you are looking for a quick sports sim, please move on. If you play this, be prepared to have the notepad out and spend hours advancing one day at a time... This isn't fun at all, it is more like work without the pay!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bbbbbaaaaaddddd

posted by portalman (LAKE WORTH, FL) Oct 29, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

all I didi was watch

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not as good as expected

posted by ashanks2004 (PALO CEDRO, CA) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

This game isn't too good. You can do the same exact same when you're the coach in the mlb: the show games. When I got it yesterday I thought it would be fun, but I guess I was wrong. I'm glad I just rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont bother

posted by kyle82 (BARTLETT, IL) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

game really stinks the mlb show game are better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not interesting at all

posted by hookem10 (FORT LEAVENWORTH, KS) Mar 8, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

i rented this game with the expectation of something simular to head coach. even though that game was not great at least in the menus before an event there was alot more to do and alot easier to figure out. this game is one that even while you are playing it you can fall asleep with the contoller in your hand, when you sim a game as a manager you select hit bunt and something else lol and watch as the pitcher zooms through how ever many pitches until you either strike out badly watching a fastball down the middle on 0-2 or poping out to the pitcher on a 3-0 count come on really, my sugestion is getting a tee ball stand a rubber bat and a wall, you are sure to have more fun doing that then playing this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by mooutlaw (IMPERIAL, MO) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

this game was not at all what i expected it to be, it was very boring and lacked any kind of intrest...i would not reccomend anyone wasting thier time and renting this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this games sucks

posted by danoliver (DEXTER, ME) Oct 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

never buy or rent you can't even play a baseball only manage your team

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

mlb front office

posted by lisa311247 (QUINCY, IL) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I will put it simply, this game is horrible. I gave it a rating of two just for the sake of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

about mlb front office

posted by badboy08 (WEST HAVEN, CT) May 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

the graphics are terrible and its just like head coach way to boring.they needed to implement more stuff in the game other then having just 2 options career and fantasy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very boring

posted by wesleysh21 (SHREVEPORT, LA) May 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

I'm all about the sim games, and have spent much of the last 6-7 years simming thru seasons of games to get to the offseason activities. I even like NFL Head Coach, which some people find boring. This game, however, is just too boring to build a franchise. I'll say it again, its too boring to build a franchise. I could definitely see the fun in trying to maintain or improve a good team. But the favorite thing for sports gaming fans everywhere is to turn a doormat into a powerhouse. The time and effort it would take to build a franchise simply wasn't worth it to me.
The tedious part is they want you to monitor and set the lineups of your minor league teams. You have access to your entire farm system like never before, easily sending players up/down the baseball ladder. This becomes important, because in my years I simmed I couldn't buy a team...there were few good free agents available...and those guys were grossly overpriced. Your young talent is mostly bums (like real life), meaning much of the time you put in with your farm system is all wasted.
So, in short, you are expected to keep up with 5 different franchises at once. If you can do this, regularly, day after day, hour after hour...I have zero doubt the satisfaction you'll feel for building a winning team has to be one of the best in sports gaming. For me, it wasn't worth the investment in time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful Game

posted by Frink78 (SAN MARCOS, CA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

This game is possibly one of the most blatant attempts to repackage a very boring aspect of every baseball game. Even if you enjoy the managing aspects of your favorite baseball game, it's poorly executed here. The menu system is redundant which quickly becomes a pain because you spend 90% of your time doing the same things over and over. I'm only grateful I wasn't unlucky enough to have purchased this title. STAY AWAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It was an ok game

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Its very challanging. Didn't like the carrer mode, but I love the Franshise mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW

posted by gogocats (OWENSBORO, KY) Mar 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

Absolutely the worst game in the history of video games. Amazingly boring. Amazingly stupid. I wouldnt wish this game on my worst enemy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Maybe it will be better next year

posted by Irishsaint (LAS CRUCES, NM) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

Like NFL Head Coach, the first installment of this game was not good at all. The menu system is too coomplex, the salary cap doesnt make sense, its not a true SIM because if you SIM a regular season game, even if your team is stacked, you going to lose. with a 162 game season in order to make the playoffs you must participate in every game, which will take like 70 hours of playing time to finish one season and it takes like 10 hours of play time if you go through every idiotic pre-season activity which most of them dont make sense and the ones that do make you go through like 5 different screens to accomplish one activity, this game is flawed and boring. Maybe it will improve next year. But for now, leave it off your Q and out of your collection and just wait for MLB 2K9 or The Show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Absolutely terrible.

posted by pjbno4 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

I had high hopes for this game. I enjoy baseball sims, and mostly spend the time in the franchise mode simulating through seasons while making trades and taking care of the offseason tasks -- all of which I was allowed to do with this game.

The pros: Super intricate contract system, allowing the use of option years, minor league contracts, signing bonuses, incentives. A rule V draft, for the first time in a console baseball sim. Worldwide scouting, deep draft.

The cons: Terrible user interface. In order to be a successful GM of a small market team, you need to carefully build an entire minor league system for yourself. However, the game starts out with almost nobody on your team signed to a contract. So you must go sign every single player to a new deal. That's probably at least half of the ML roster, and all of the AAA, AA, A+, A, & Short season leagues. So you're scrolling through hundreds of player names with no option other than to go through one by one. You can sort some lists, but after making a selection, the list returns to its original state. Most minor league players don't want more than a 1 year contract, which means you must go through this excerise each year -- or else recycle your entire farm from scratch.

There are just so many little things that are bad about this game it's hard to remember them, even though I spent all day trying to make the best of them. Players do get better and worse as the years progress, however, there's no report that tells you how, when, or why this is happeneing.

If players retire, they simply disappear.

And the simulations aren't even realistic. The players are rated on the scouts 20-80 scale (20 being the worst). Ervin Santana, rated an 80, pitched a simulated 2010 season where he went 4-24 with a 6.54 ERA.

The contract requests are ridiculous too. Brian Giles after his 2010 season wanted $16M/yr, whereas the aforementioned Santana signed for 9M/yr.... I'm out of characters, this game is a bad joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »